DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/995,855 originally filed 01/17/2025. The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 06/11/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 14-15, 17, and 20 and Claims 13 is cancelled is hereby acknowledged.
Currently claims 1-12 and 14-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly asserts that “Song merely discloses an exemplary arrangement of pixels, but does not involve any definition of sub-pixel clusters, sub- pixel groups, a drive circuit, or drive terminals, let alone the correspondence between the sub-pixel groups and the drive terminals.” however, The Office respectfully disagrees. Song teaches at [0095] (and others) “the pixel electrodes 200G1, 200G2, 200R, and 200B may be arranged in pentile form” which expressly implies pixel clusters and/or pixel grouping. Furthermore, the remaining aspects of Song are directly related to the wiring connections which are expressly taught by the cited paragraphs among others. Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant secondly asserts that the disclosure of Song “reflects a physical-location-based driving architecture” however, The Office respectfully disagrees. Song teaches in FIGS. 13 and 14 providing pixel connections to pixels of, for example, the same color (ie. green ie. 200G1, 200G2) which, does in fact constitute a color-based logical driving architecture as green pixels in different rows may be connected to a pixel circuit in the same row. Paragraph [0102] expressly states “green pixels may be connected to a pixel circuit in the same row”. Song teaches that this connection allows image quality to be improved as the same color green, being the first green pixel and the second green pixel, in the same pentile arrangement (ie. 201G1 and 201G2), are disposed adjacent to each other and can be simultaneously driven. The Office contends the disclosure of Song in these paragraphs expressly suggests a color-based logical driving architecture Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant finally asserts that “Song fails to disclose that red, blue, and green sub-pixels are driven by corresponding fixed drive terminals across the entire display panel.” however, The Office respectfully disagrees. The Office notes that the embodiments of Song throughout the disclosure are only a portion of the entire display. The patterns are expressly taught as being “a plurality of pixels repeatedly arranged in a first direction, the pixel columns being repeatedly arranged along a second direction”. As mentioned above, the teachings of the same color green, being the first green pixel and the second green pixel, in the same pentile arrangement (ie. 201G1 and 201G2), are disposed adjacent to each other and can be simultaneously driven. Given that this arrangement is repeated as taught by Song, The Office contends that all color pixels “are driven by corresponding fixed drive terminals across the entire display panel.” Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant further and continues to appear to assert (see pgs. 14-15) that Song does not suggest some sort of cluster or grouping. As mentioned above, Song expressly teaches a pentile arrangement that includes one red, one blue, and two green subpixels. Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant asserts with respect to the reference of Hwang that “a pentile arrangement structure, and each pixel includes only two sub-pixels (one green sub-pixel and one red sub-pixel, or one green sub-pixel and one blue sub-pixel).” however The Office strongly disagrees with this assertion. The reference does not suggest only two pixel per arrangement, or grouping, but expressly teaches that different colors are alternatively arranged in the panel (i.e. “PenTile arrangement”). The grouping itself is still one red, one blue, and two green alternatively arranged and identified in Hwang by PR1 or PR2 seen in Figure 10 and expressly stated at [0056]. Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Therefore, upon review, Applicants arguments are not found persuasive and the rejections in view of the cited art will be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0217744 A1 hereinafter Song and further in view of Hwang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0279563 A1 hereinafter Hwang.
Consider Claim 1:
Song discloses a display panel, comprising: (Song, See Abstract.)
a base substrate; (Song, [0056-0058], [0056], “FIGS. 4 to 8 illustrate embodiments of layouts of the pixels. Referring to FIG. 4, one layout embodiment includes a substrate, an active pattern 110, a gate insulation layer, first gate electrodes 120 and 121, second gate electrodes 125 and 126, third gate electrodes 130 and 131, fourth gate electrodes 135, and 136 and fifth gate electrodes 140 and 141.”)
… n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two; (Song, [0093-0102], [0028], “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of pixels of an organic light emitting display device. Referring to FIG. 1, the pixels include a pixel (N) in an even-numbered row (even row) in a first direction and a pixel (N+1) in an odd-numbered row (odd row).”)
a plurality of sub-pixel clusters, disposed on the base substrate, (Song, [0049-0051], [0093-0102], [0049], “FIG. 2 illustrates an embodiment of a plurality of data wirings (DATA_ODD1, DATA_ODD2, DATA_EVEN1, DATA_EVEN2) and pixels (1-1, 2-1, 3-1, 4-1, 1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-2). The pixels (1-1, 2-1, 3-1, 4-1, 1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-2) may be arranged in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. The pixels (1-1, 2-1, 3-1, 4-1) are arranged in a first pixel column in the first direction. The pixels (1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-2) are arranged in a second pixel column in the first direction. The pixel columns may be arranged along the second direction. Each of the pixels may include a plurality of transistors (TR1-TR7), an organic light emitting diode, and one or more capacitors, as described, for example, in FIG. 1.”)
wherein each of the sub-pixel clusters comprises n rows of sub-pixels emitting light of m colors, wherein m is a number of colors of the sub-pixels, and m is greater than or equal to n; and the n rows of sub-pixels forming n sub-pixel groups, each of the n sub-pixel groups comprising at least one sub-pixel of at least one color, and adjacent sub-pixel groups comprising sub-pixels of different colors, (Song, [0093-0102], [0060], “In some example embodiments, a part of the active pattern 110 corresponding to a pixel (N) in an even-numbered row may have a symmetrical shape with a part of active pattern 110 corresponding to a pixel (N+1) in odd-numbered row with respect to an axis extending in the first direction. For example, the active pattern 110 of the pixel (N) in the even-numbered row and an active pattern 110 of the pixel (N+1) in the odd-numbered row may have symmetrical shape relative to each other. Therefore, the first to seventh areas (a, b, c, d, e, f, g) of the active pattern 110 corresponding to the pixel (N) in an even-numbered row may be symmetrical to the first to seventh areas (a′, b′, c′, d′, e′, f′, g′) of the active pattern 110 corresponding to the pixel (N+1) in an odd-numbered row.”)
wherein the n sub-pixel groups are in correspondence with the n rows of drive terminals respectively and row numbers of the drive terminals corresponding to the sub-pixel groups comprising the sub-pixels of a same color in different sub-pixel clusters are the same, the sub-pixels in the sub-pixel groups of a Kth row are electrically connected to the drive terminals of the Kth row, 1 <K< n, the sub-pixels of the same color are driven via the same row of the drive terminals; (Song, [0093-0102], [0102], “In accordance with one or more embodiments, second connecting patterns 177 and 178 and connecting portions 204R, 204G, and 204B are included and pixel electrodes 201G1 and 201G2 of green pixels may be connected to a pixel circuit in the same row. Therefore, image quality may be improved.”)
wherein m is 3, and the sub-pixels of three colors comprise red sub-pixels, blue sub-pixels, and green sub-pixels; and the sub-pixels in one row comprise a plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises two green sub-pixels, one red sub-pixel. and one blue sub- pixel. (Song, [0084], [0095], [0098-0102], [0014], “The pixel electrodes may include a first pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the even row of an even pixel column, the first pixel electrode in a first light emitting diode emitting a first color; a second pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the even row of an odd pixel column, the second pixel electrode in a second light emitting diode emitting a second color; a third pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the odd row of the even pixel column, the third pixel electrode in a third light emitting diode emitting a third color; and a fourth pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the odd row of the odd pixel column, the fourth pixel electrode in a fourth light emitting diode emitting a third color. The first color may be red, the second color may be blue, and the third color may be green.”)
Song, while implying that a gate/scan drive circuit would exist in the device as Song expressly teaches n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two. (Song, See Fig. 1 items n and n+1) Song however does not expressly recite a drive circuit, disposed on the base substrate and comprising a plurality of drive units, wherein the plurality of drive units comprise n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two.
Hwang however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that a display panel would have gate/scan driver to drive the rows. Hwang therefore teaches a drive circuit, disposed on the base substrate and comprising a plurality of drive units, wherein the plurality of drive units comprise n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two. (Hwang, [0055-0058], [0081-0085], [0083] The display panel 510 may have a plurality of pixel regions PR1 and PR2, and each pixel region PR1 and PR2 may include two sub-pixel regions SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4. Further, in each sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4, one OLED G1, R1, B1 and G2 and one sub-pixel circuit SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 may be disposed. In the display panel 510 of FIG. 10, unlike a display panel 110 of FIG. 1, each sub-pixel circuit SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 may drive the OLED G1, R1, B1 and G2 in a sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4 the same as a sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4 in which the sub-pixel circuit SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 is disposed.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide gate/scan drivers as this was a known technique in view of Hwang and would have been utilized for the purpose of having the ability of the panel to be driven under different driving conditions (e.g., different SOTs, different off period ratios, etc.) (Hwang, [0084])
Consider Claim 2:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein n is 2, and the row numbers of the drive terminals corresponding to the sub-pixel groups comprising the sub- pixels of the same color in different sub-pixel clusters have the same parity. (Hwang, [0081-0085], Song, [0093-0102], [0102], “In accordance with one or more embodiments, second connecting patterns 177 and 178 and connecting portions 204R, 204G, and 204B are included and pixel electrodes 201G1 and 201G2 of green pixels may be connected to a pixel circuit in the same row. Therefore, image quality may be improved.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting unit and a sub-pixel circuit, wherein the sub-pixel circuit is electrically connected to the light-emitting unit, and the sub-pixel circuit is further electrically connected to a drive terminal corresponding to the sub-pixel where the sub-pixel circuit is disposed. (Hwang, [0081-0085], Song, [0093-0102], [0028], “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of pixels of an organic light emitting display device. Referring to FIG. 1, the pixels include a pixel (N) in an even-numbered row (even row) in a first direction and a pixel (N+1) in an odd-numbered row (odd row). Each of the pixels (N, N+1) includes organic light emitting diode (OLED), a first transistor (TR1), a second transistor (TR2), a third transistor (TR3), a storage capacitor (CST), a forth transistor (TR4), a fifth transistor (TR5), a sixth transistor (TR6) and a seventh transistor (TR7). According to some example embodiments, each of the pixels (N, N+1) may further include cell capacitor (CEL) formed by a parasitic capacitor.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 3, wherein sub-pixel circuits of the n rows of sub-pixels are arranged in n rows on the base substrate, wherein the n rows of sub-pixel circuits correspond to the n rows of drive terminals respectively, and each of the n rows of sub-pixel circuits is electrically connected to a corresponding drive terminal. (Hwang, [0081-0085], Song, [0093-0102], [0094], “The pixel electrodes 201G1, 201G2, 201R, and 201B may have a diamond shape including sides extending in the first direction and the second direction. The electrodes 201G1, 201G2, 201R, and 201B may have a different shape in another embodiment.” See Fig. 13.)
Consider Claim 5:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 4, wherein light-emitting units of the n rows of sub-pixels are arranged in n rows on the base substrate, wherein among the n rows of light-emitting units, an orthographic projection of each of the light-emitting units of an xth row on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of each of the sub- pixel circuits of an xth row on the base substrate,1<x<n; a first sub-pixel group of the n sub-pixel groups comprises a target sub-pixel, the light- emitting unit of the target sub-pixel is disposed in the xth row, and the sub-pixel circuit of the target sub-pixel is disposed in an (x+a)th row, 1 < x+a < n, and a ≠ 0. (Hwang, [0081-0085], Song, [0093-0102], [0099], “In one embodiment, pixel electrodes 201G1 and 201G2 of a green pixel may be connected to a seventh area (g′) of the active pattern 110 in a pixel (N+1) of odd-numbered row. Electrodes 201R and 201B of a red pixel and a blue pixel may be connected to a seventh area (g) of the active pattern 110 in a pixel (N) of an even-numbered row.” See Fig. 13)
Consider Claim 6:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 5, further comprising: a plurality of connection structures, wherein the plurality of connection structures are disposed on the base substrate, a first connection structure of the plurality of connection structures is electrically connected to the light-emitting unit of the target sub-pixel disposed in the xthrow, and connected to the sub-pixel circuit of the target sub-pixel disposed in the (x+a)th row, respectively. (Hwang, [0081-0085], Song, [0093-0102], [0099], “In one embodiment, pixel electrodes 201G1 and 201G2 of a green pixel may be connected to a seventh area (g′) of the active pattern 110 in a pixel (N+1) of odd-numbered row. Electrodes 201R and 201B of a red pixel and a blue pixel may be connected to a seventh area (g) of the active pattern 110 in a pixel (N) of an even-numbered row.” See Fig. 13)
Consider Claim 7:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 6, wherein the light-emitting unit comprises a first electrode, an electroluminescent layer, and a second electrode stacked sequentially along a direction away from the base substrate, wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to the first connection structure. (Song, [0087], “The common electrode 220 may be on the pixel defined layer 215 and the organic light emitting layer 210. In one embodiment, the common electrode 220 may include a transparent conductive material. For example, the common electrode 220 may include indium a tin oxide, an indium zinc oxide, a zinc oxide, a tin oxide, a gallium oxide, an indium oxide, etc. In one embodiment, the common electrode 220 may be a cathode electrode, e.g., the common electrode 220 may be in an organic light emitting diode (OLED) in FIG. 1 and an organic light emitting layer and a pixel electrode 200G1 may correspond to the common electrode 220. In one embodiment, the common electrode 220 may be an anode electrode. The common electrode 220 may be supplied with a second power supply voltage (ELVSS).”)
Consider Claim 8:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the first connection structure and the first electrode are disposed in the same layer. (Song, [0089-0102], [0097], “In one embodiment, one or more of the pixel electrodes 201G1, 201G2, 201R, and 201B may be connected to a seventh area (g, g′; referring to FIG. 10) through second connecting patterns 177 and 178, connecting portion 204R, 204G, and 204B, and/or electrode contacts 205R, 205G, and 205B.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the sub-pixel circuit comprises a source-drain conductive structure, wherein the source-drain conductive structure comprises a source-drain connection terminal, wherein a second end of the first connection structure is connected to the source-drain connection terminal. (Hwang, [0081-0085], Song, [0089-0102], [0085], “FIG. 9 illustrates a cross-sectional view illustrating an embodiment of the seventh transistor in FIG. 8. Referring to FIG. 9, this embodiment includes the active pattern 110, a gate insulating layer 118, a fifth gate electrode 140, a first insulating interlayer 145, a second insulating interlayer 159, a seventh contact 186, a ninth contact 191, a first power supply wiring 165, a third insulating interlayer 198, an electrode contact 205, a pixel electrode 200G1, an organic light emitting layer 210, a pixel defined layer 215, and a common electrode 220 on a substrate 100.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the sub-pixel circuit comprises a source-drain conductive structure, wherein the first connection structure and the source-drain conductive structure are disposed in a same layer. (Song, See Fig. 11. [0091], [0080], “The first power supply wiring 165 may be supplied an internal voltage (VINT) in FIG. 1. The first power supply wiring 165 may be connected to the second conductive pattern 155 (referring to FIG. 5) apart in the second direction through a first contact 180 and a third contact 183. The first power supply wiring 165 may be connected to second conductive patterns 156 (referring to FIG. 5) apart in the second direction through a eighth contact 190 and a tenth contact 192. In another embodiment, the first power supply wiring 165 may be connected to fifth areas (e, e′; referring to FIG. 4) of an active pattern 110 through a second contact 181 and a ninth contact 191.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 10, wherein the source-drain conductive structure comprises a first source-drain conductive structure and a second source-drain conductive structure; wherein the first source-drain conductive structure and the second source-drain conductive structure are arranged in a direction away from the base substrate; and one end of the first connection structure is connected to the second source-drain conductive structure and the other end of the first connection structure is electrically connected to the first electrode. (Song, See Fig. 6-7, 11. [0091], [0080], [0077], “The first data wiring 160 and the second data wiring 161 may extend in the first direction and may be separated from each other along the second direction. The first data wiring 160 and the second data wiring 161 may correspond to pixels in one column. In one embodiment, the first data wiring 160 may be electrically connected to a third area (c; referring to FIG. 4) of the active pattern 110 under a pixel (N) in even-numbered column, through a fourth contact 183. In another embodiment, the second data wiring 161 may be connected to a third area (c′; referring to FIG. 4) of an active pattern 110 under a pixel (N+1) in odd-numbered column, through an eleventh contact 183.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the sub-pixel circuit comprises a source-drain conductive structure and an insulating layer stacked sequentially in a direction away from the base substrate, wherein the source-drain conductive structure is disposed between the light-emitting unit and the base substrate, and the insulating layer is disposed between the source-drain conductive structure and the light-emitting unit; (Song, See Fig. 9. [0091], [0080], [0085], “FIG. 9 illustrates a cross-sectional view illustrating an embodiment of the seventh transistor in FIG. 8. Referring to FIG. 9, this embodiment includes the active pattern 110, a gate insulating layer 118, a fifth gate electrode 140, a first insulating interlayer 145, a second insulating interlayer 159, a seventh contact 186, a ninth contact 191, a first power supply wiring 165, a third insulating interlayer 198, an electrode contact 205, a pixel electrode 200G1, an organic light emitting layer 210, a pixel defined layer 215, and a common electrode 220 on a substrate 100.”)
. wherein the first connection structure comprises an adapter wire, and a first via is disposed in the insulating layer, wherein one end of the adapter wire is connected to the source-drain conductive structure through the first via in the insulating layer, and another end of the adapter wire is connected to the light-emitting unit. (Song, [0097] In one embodiment, one or more of the pixel electrodes 201G1, 201G2, 201R, and 201B may be connected to a seventh area (g, g′; referring to FIG. 10) through second connecting patterns 177 and 178, connecting portion 204R, 204G, and 204B, and/or electrode contacts 205R, 205G, and 205B.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein n is 2, a first sub-pixel group among the two sub-pixel groups comprises the red sub-pixels and the blue sub-pixels, and a second sub-pixel group among the two sub-pixel groups comprises the green sub-pixels, the red sub-pixels and the blue sub-pixels are electrically connected to a first drive terminal among the two rows of the drive terminals, and the green sub-pixels are electrically connected to a second drive terminal among the two rows of the drive terminals. (Song, [0084], [0095], [0098-0102], [0014], “The pixel electrodes may include a first pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the even row of an even pixel column, the first pixel electrode in a first light emitting diode emitting a first color; a second pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the even row of an odd pixel column, the second pixel electrode in a second light emitting diode emitting a second color; a third pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the odd row of the even pixel column, the third pixel electrode in a third light emitting diode emitting a third color; and a fourth pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the odd row of the odd pixel column, the fourth pixel electrode in a fourth light emitting diode emitting a third color. The first color may be red, the second color may be blue, and the third color may be green.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 13, wherein each of the sub-pixels comprises the light-emitting unit and the sub-pixel circuit electrically connected to the light-emitting unit; the display panel further comprises a source-drain data signal line, wherein an orthographic projection of the source-drain data signal line on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of at least one of a light-emitting unit of the red sub-pixel and a light-emitting unit of the blue sub-pixel on the base substrate. (Song, [0075-0083], [0077], “The first data wiring 160 and the second data wiring 161 may extend in the first direction and may be separated from each other along the second direction. The first data wiring 160 and the second data wiring 161 may correspond to pixels in one column. In one embodiment, the first data wiring 160 may be electrically connected to a third area (c; referring to FIG. 4) of the active pattern 110 under a pixel (N) in even-numbered column, through a fourth contact 183. In another embodiment, the second data wiring 161 may be connected to a third area (c′; referring to FIG. 4) of an active pattern 110 under a pixel (N+1) in odd-numbered column, through an eleventh contact 183.”)
Consider Claim 18:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the sub-pixels on the base substrate form pixels of an RGBG structure; or the sub-pixels on the base substrate form pixels of a GGRB structure. (Song, [0084], [0095], [0098-0102], [0014], Hwang, [0057], [0056], “The display panel 110 may have a plurality of pixel regions PR1 and PR2, and each pixel region PR1 and PR2 may include two sub-pixel regions SPR1 and SPR2, and SPR3 and SPR4, respectively. Further, in each sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4, one OLED of G1, R1, B1 and G2 and one sub-pixel circuit of SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 may be disposed. ”)
Consider Claim 19:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 2, wherein sub-pixel circuits and light-emitting units of the n rows of sub-pixels are arranged in n rows respectively on the base substrate, the sub-pixel circuits of the n rows are electrically connected to the light- emitting units of the n rows respectively and the sub-pixel circuits are electrically connected to the drive terminals corresponding to the sub-pixel groups where the sub-pixel circuits are disposed. (Song, [0084], [0095], [0098-0102], [0014], Hwang, [0057], [0056], “The display panel 110 may have a plurality of pixel regions PR1 and PR2, and each pixel region PR1 and PR2 may include two sub-pixel regions SPR1 and SPR2, and SPR3 and SPR4, respectively. Further, in each sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4, one OLED of G1, R1, B1 and G2 and one sub-pixel circuit of SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 may be disposed.”)
Consider Claim 20:
Song discloses the display device, comprising: (Song, See Abstract.)
a housing and a display panel, wherein the display panel is disposed on the housing; and the display panel comprises: (Song, [0028], “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of pixels of an organic light emitting display device.”)
a base substrate; (Song, [0056-0058], [0056], “FIGS. 4 to 8 illustrate embodiments of layouts of the pixels. Referring to FIG. 4, one layout embodiment includes a substrate, an active pattern 110, a gate insulation layer, first gate electrodes 120 and 121, second gate electrodes 125 and 126, third gate electrodes 130 and 131, fourth gate electrodes 135, and 136 and fifth gate electrodes 140 and 141.”)
… n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two; (Song, [0028], “FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of pixels of an organic light emitting display device. Referring to FIG. 1, the pixels include a pixel (N) in an even-numbered row (even row) in a first direction and a pixel (N+1) in an odd-numbered row (odd row).”)
a plurality of sub-pixel clusters, disposed on the base substrate, (Song, [0049-0051], [0049], “FIG. 2 illustrates an embodiment of a plurality of data wirings (DATA_ODD1, DATA_ODD2, DATA_EVEN1, DATA_EVEN2) and pixels (1-1, 2-1, 3-1, 4-1, 1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-2). The pixels (1-1, 2-1, 3-1, 4-1, 1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-2) may be arranged in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. The pixels (1-1, 2-1, 3-1, 4-1) are arranged in a first pixel column in the first direction. The pixels (1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-2) are arranged in a second pixel column in the first direction. The pixel columns may be arranged along the second direction. Each of the pixels may include a plurality of transistors (TR1-TR7), an organic light emitting diode, and one or more capacitors, as described, for example, in FIG. 1.”)
wherein each of the sub- pixel clusters comprises n rows of sub-pixels emitting light of m colors, and the n rows of sub- pixels forming n sub-pixel groups, each of the n sub-pixel groups comprising at least one sub- pixel of at least one color, and adjacent sub-pixel groups comprising sub-pixels of different colors, (Song, [0060], “In some example embodiments, a part of the active pattern 110 corresponding to a pixel (N) in an even-numbered row may have a symmetrical shape with a part of active pattern 110 corresponding to a pixel (N+1) in odd-numbered row with respect to an axis extending in the first direction. For example, the active pattern 110 of the pixel (N) in the even-numbered row and an active pattern 110 of the pixel (N+1) in the odd-numbered row may have symmetrical shape relative to each other. Therefore, the first to seventh areas (a, b, c, d, e, f, g) of the active pattern 110 corresponding to the pixel (N) in an even-numbered row may be symmetrical to the first to seventh areas (a′, b′, c′, d′, e′, f′, g′) of the active pattern 110 corresponding to the pixel (N+1) in an odd-numbered row.”)
wherein m is a number of colors of the sub-pixels, and m is greater than or equal to n the n sub-pixel groups are in correspondence with the n rows of drive terminals respectively and row numbers of the drive terminals corresponding to the sub-pixel groups comprising the sub-pixels of the same color in different sub-pixel clusters are the same, the sub-pixels in the sub-pixel groups of a Kth row are electrically connected to the drive terminals of the Kth row, 1 < K < n; and in each of the sub-pixel clusters, the sub-pixels of the same color are driven via a same row of drive terminals. (Song, [0093-0102], [0102], “In accordance with one or more embodiments, second connecting patterns 177 and 178 and connecting portions 204R, 204G, and 204B are included and pixel electrodes 201G1 and 201G2 of green pixels may be connected to a pixel circuit in the same row. Therefore, image quality may be improved.”)
wherein m is 3, and the sub-pixels of three colors comprise red sub-pixels, blue sub-pixels, and green sub-pixels; and the sub-pixels in one row comprise a plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises two green sub-pixels, one red sub-pixel. and one blue sub- pixel. (Song, [0084], [0095], [0098-0102], [0014], “The pixel electrodes may include a first pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the even row of an even pixel column, the first pixel electrode in a first light emitting diode emitting a first color; a second pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the even row of an odd pixel column, the second pixel electrode in a second light emitting diode emitting a second color; a third pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the odd row of the even pixel column, the third pixel electrode in a third light emitting diode emitting a third color; and a fourth pixel electrode connected to one of the pixels in the odd row of the odd pixel column, the fourth pixel electrode in a fourth light emitting diode emitting a third color. The first color may be red, the second color may be blue, and the third color may be green.”)
Song, while implying that a gate/scan drive circuit would exist in the device as Song expressly teaches n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two. (Song, See Fig. 1 items n and n+1) Song however does not expressly recite a drive circuit, disposed on the base substrate and comprising a plurality of drive units, wherein the plurality of drive units comprise n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two.
Hwang however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that a display panel would have gate/scan driver to drive the rows. Hwang therefore teaches a drive circuit, disposed on the base substrate and comprising a plurality of drive units, wherein the plurality of drive units comprise n rows of drive terminals, n being greater than or equal to two. (Hwang, [0055-0058], [0081-0085], [0083] The display panel 510 may have a plurality of pixel regions PR1 and PR2, and each pixel region PR1 and PR2 may include two sub-pixel regions SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4. Further, in each sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4, one OLED G1, R1, B1 and G2 and one sub-pixel circuit SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 may be disposed. In the display panel 510 of FIG. 10, unlike a display panel 110 of FIG. 1, each sub-pixel circuit SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 may drive the OLED G1, R1, B1 and G2 in a sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4 the same as a sub-pixel region SPR1, SPR2, SPR3 and SPR4 in which the sub-pixel circuit SPC1, SPC2, SPC3 and SPC4 is disposed.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide gate/scan drivers as this was a known technique in view of Hwang and would have been utilized for the purpose of having the ability of the panel to be driven under different driving conditions (e.g., different SOTs, different off period ratios, etc.) (Hwang, [0084])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0217744 A1 hereinafter Song and further in view of Hwang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0279563 A1 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0247452 A1 hereinafter Lee.
Consider Claim 16:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, and while teaching a thin film transistor and a power line, however does not appear to specify the power line comprising a shielding block; wherein the thin film transistor is disposed on the base substrate, the power line is disposed on a side of the thin film transistor away from the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the shielding block on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the thin film transistor on the base substrate; and an orthographic projection of a light-emitting unit of the green sub-pixel on the base substrate overlaps the orthographic projection of the shielding block on the base substrate.
Lee however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a shielding layer in connection with the power and therefore teaches the power line comprising a shielding block; wherein the thin film transistor is disposed on the base substrate, the power line is disposed on a side of the thin film transistor away from the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the shielding block on the base substrate overlaps an orthographic projection of the thin film transistor on the base substrate; and an orthographic projection of a light-emitting unit of the green sub-pixel on the base substrate is overlapped with the orthographic projection of the shielding block on the base substrate. (Lee, [0066], [0085-0086], [0114], [0085], “As shown in FIG. 5, the first shielding electrode 172a and the second shielding electrode 172b of the driving voltage line 172 are disposed between the first data connecting member 174 connected to the driving gate electrode 155a and two data lines 171 disposed on two sides of the first data connecting member 174. The first shielding electrode 172a and the second shielding electrode 172b are connected to the driving voltage line 172 and supplied with the driving voltage ELVDD having a constant magnitude.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a shielding layer as this was a known technique as taught in Lee and would have been utilized for the purpose of interference between the data signal transmitted through the data line and the gate voltage supplied to the driving gate electrode can be prevented. (Lee, [0086])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0217744 A1 hereinafter Song and further in view of Hwang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0279563 A1 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Li et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0309981 A1 hereinafter Li.
Consider Claim 17:
Song in view of Hwang discloses the display panel according to claim 1, however does not appear to further specify a variation wherein n is 3, a first sub-pixel group of the three sub-pixel groups comprises the red sub-pixels, a second sub-pixel group of the three sub-pixel groups comprises the green sub-pixels, and the second sub-pixel group of the three sub-pixel groups comprises the blue sub-pixels; wherein the red sub-pixels are connected to a first drive terminal of the three drive terminals, the green sub-pixels are connected to a second drive terminal of the three drive terminals, and the blue sub-pixels are connected to a third drive terminal of the three drive terminals.
Li however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the same pixel colors wherein n is 3, a first sub-pixel group of the three sub-pixel groups comprises the red sub-pixels, a second sub-pixel group of the three sub-pixel groups comprises the green sub-pixels, and the second sub-pixel group of the three sub-pixel groups comprises the blue sub-pixels; wherein the red sub-pixels are connected to a first drive terminal of the three drive terminals, the green sub-pixels are connected to a second drive terminal of the three drive terminals, and the blue sub-pixels are connected to a third drive terminal of the three drive terminals. (Li, [0050-0055], [0051], “Further, different data lines are connected to red pixels R, green pixels G, and blue pixels B in an alternating way. For example, a fourth data line D4 is connected to all red pixels disposed in the fourth column of pixels, the fifth column of pixels, and a sixth column of pixels, a fifth data line D5 is connected to all green pixels disposed in the fifth column of pixels, the sixth column of pixels, and a seventh column of pixels, a sixth data line D6 is connected to all blue pixels disposed in the sixth column of pixels, the seventh column of pixels, and an eighth column of pixels, and so on. That is, all (3s+1).sup.th data lines are connected to red pixels R, all (3s+2).sup.th data lines are connected to green pixels G, and all (3s+3).sup.th data lines are connected to blue pixels B, where s is a positive integer.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide pixels of a same color connected to a same gate line was a known technique as taught in Li and would have been utilized for the purpose of the problem of color deviation caused by unnormal light mixing performed on the first column of pixels and the second column of pixels are prevented. (Li, [0055])
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626