DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Application filed on January 17, 2026 in which claims 1-7 and 9-13 are presented for examination. Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “DRC processes”, which is indefinite since it is unclear as to what the abbreviation DRC is referencing and undefined abbreviations are indefinite since the claim does not define what the abbreviations are supposed to mean. Additionally, Applicant' s Specification does not appear to provide a definition for
the abbreviations “DRC”.
All dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi (2008/0141432) in view of Seidel et al. (2011/0256791)[Seidel].
Regarding claim 1, Kakiychi teaches, A process for production of a multi-layer cloth product, which comprises at least one cleaning layer and one core layer, each of which contains cellulose and/or consists entirely of natural fibres and/or regenerated fibres, wherein the cleaning layer and the core layer are bonded to one another by means of hydroentanglement wherein the hydroentanglement of the cleaning layer with the core layer and optionally one or more further layers is carried out in a device (“The cleaning sheet 1 according to this embodiment is a wet sheet impregnated with an aqueous detergent, the sheet having a unitary multilayered structure comprising an inner layer 2 and a pair of outer layers 3 and 3, between which the inner layer 2 is sandwiched.”, [0021], “the surface layer of the cleaning sheet 1 which is brought into contact with a floor when used, i.e., the outer layer 3 in this embodiment, is made of nonwoven fabric formed by fiber entanglement of a fiber web, and it is preferred for the individual fibers constituting the surface layer to have a high degree of freedom, that is, it is preferred for the fibers of the surface layer to have a low degree of entanglement.”, [0022], “It is preferred for the fiber constituting the outer layer 3 to comprise a hydrophilic cellulose fiber and a low-melting thermoplastic fiber to maintain the cleaning performance, the manageability, and the sheet strength.”, [0036], “the outer layer 3 can further contain other synthetic fiber in addition to the above-mentioned hydrophilic cellulose fiber and low-melting thermoplastic fiber. Useful other synthetic fibers include polyester fiber, polyacrylonitrile fiber, nylon fiber, acetate fiber, polyvinyl alcohol fiber, and polyvinyl chloride fiber.”, [0040], “The inner layer 2, which constitutes the multilayered sheet, can be made of various sheeting materials, such as paper, nonwoven fabric, woven fabric, and resin nets. For securing the strength of the cleaning sheet these sheeting materials preferably have high strength, for example, a breaking strength of 200 cN/25 mm or higher. With a basis weight of the multilayered sheet being 100 g/m.sup.2 or less, it is preferred that the inner layer 2 be low in density and bulky so as to retain an aqueous detergent and to develop the multilayered sheet strength, thickness feel and cushioning properties. Preferred materials for making up the inner layer with such characteristics include thermally bonded (air-through) nonwoven fabric, spun lace nonwoven fabric, and air-laid nonwoven fabric.”, [0043], “Where the inner layer 2 is made of fiber, hydrophilic fibers such as rayon, cotton, pulp, and polyvinyl alcohol fiber, can be used. It is also preferred to use hydrophobic fiber as a main constituent to form the inner layer 2 with an increased thickness and improved cushioning properties. Examples of the hydrophobic fiber are polyolefin fiber, such as polyethylene or polypropylene, polyester fiber, polyamide fiber, such as nylon, polyacrylonitrile fiber, and conjugate fiber of these fibers such as core/sheath fiber and side-by-side fiber.”, [0044], “a fiber web formed by carding, etc. is superposed on each side of thermally bonded nonwoven fabric, which becomes the inner layer 2. The three layers are needled with a high pressure water jet (water needling), whereby fibers of the fiber web are entangled among themselves to form spun lace nonwoven fabric as the outer layer 3 and, at the same time, the fiber webs are entangled and united with the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as the inner layer 2 to provide a composite spun lace nonwoven fabric of low entanglement. The nonwoven fabric thus obtained has a unitary structure comprising the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as a sheeting material having, on both sides thereof, a nonwoven fiber aggregate (spun lace nonwoven fabric) formed by fiber entanglement of the fiber web, in which the fibers of the fiber webs are entangled not only among themselves but with the sheeting material to form a unitary body.”, [0048], therefore, A process for production of 1, which comprises at least one 3 and one 2, each of which contains cellulose and/or consists entirely of natural fibres and/or regenerated fibres ([0036], [0040], [0044]), wherein 3 and 2 are bonded to one another by means of hydroentanglement wherein the hydroentanglement of the cleaning layer with the core layer and optionally one or more further layers is carried out in a device ([0048]), figure 1).
While Kakiychi discloses in [0048] that the three layers are needled with a high pressure water jet (water needling), Kakiychi fails to teach, wherein the hydroentanglement is carried out in a device which has at least two drums in which the layers to be joined are treated with water jets, wherein the water jets in the first drum act on the layers to be joined at a lower pressure than in the second drum.
Seidel teaches, wherein the hydroentanglement is carried out in a device which has at least two drums in which the layers to be joined are treated with water jets, wherein the water jets in the first drum act on the layers to be joined at a lower pressure than in the second drum (wherein the hydroentanglement (bonding within hydroentangling processor 60 (Figure 2B)) is carried out in a device which has at least two drums 62'' and 62''' in which the layers to be joined are treated with water jets ([0102-1013]), wherein the water jets in the first drum 62'' act on the layers to be joined at a lower pressure than in the second drum 62''', see Example 1 in which module 46 is bypassed and the web goes directly to module 60 for hydroentangling (Fig. 2B), and see Example 23 in which the jets of the first drum 62" impinge at the lower pressure than the jets of the second drum 62" (Example 23 discloses jets of 25-75 bar for the first drum 62", per Examples 17 and 20, and jets of 100 bar for the second drum 62" per the last two lines of Ex. 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Kakiychi as being a device with at least two drums with the first drum acts at a lower pressure than the second drum as taught by Seidel in order to provide a hydroentanglement device that is well known in the art and shown by Seidel.
Regarding claim 2, the combined references teach, wherein one or more optional further layers, which also consist entirely of natural fibres and/or regenerated fibres, are also bonded to the cleaning layer and/or to the core layer by means of hydroentanglement (Kakiuchi, “the surface layer of the cleaning sheet 1 which is brought into contact with a floor when used, i.e., the outer layer 3 in this embodiment, is made of nonwoven fabric formed by fiber entanglement of a fiber web, and it is preferred for the individual fibers constituting the surface layer to have a high degree of freedom, that is, it is preferred for the fibers of the surface layer to have a low degree of entanglement.”, [0022], “The inner layer 2, which constitutes the multilayered sheet, can be made of various sheeting materials, such as paper, nonwoven fabric, woven fabric, and resin nets. For securing the strength of the cleaning sheet these sheeting materials preferably have high strength, for example, a breaking strength of 200 cN/25 mm or higher. With a basis weight of the multilayered sheet being 100 g/m.sup.2 or less, it is preferred that the inner layer 2 be low in density and bulky so as to retain an aqueous detergent and to develop the multilayered sheet strength, thickness feel and cushioning properties. Preferred materials for making up the inner layer with such characteristics include thermally bonded (air-through) nonwoven fabric, spun lace nonwoven fabric, and air-laid nonwoven fabric.”, [0043], “Where the inner layer 2 is made of fiber, hydrophilic fibers such as rayon, cotton, pulp, and polyvinyl alcohol fiber, can be used. It is also preferred to use hydrophobic fiber as a main constituent to form the inner layer 2 with an increased thickness and improved cushioning properties. Examples of the hydrophobic fiber are polyolefin fiber, such as polyethylene or polypropylene, polyester fiber, polyamide fiber, such as nylon, polyacrylonitrile fiber, and conjugate fiber of these fibers such as core/sheath fiber and side-by-side fiber.”, [0044], “a fiber web formed by carding, etc. is superposed on each side of thermally bonded nonwoven fabric, which becomes the inner layer 2. The three layers are needled with a high pressure water jet (water needling), whereby fibers of the fiber web are entangled among themselves to form spun lace nonwoven fabric as the outer layer 3 and, at the same time, the fiber webs are entangled and united with the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as the inner layer 2 to provide a composite spun lace nonwoven fabric of low entanglement. The nonwoven fabric thus obtained has a unitary structure comprising the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as a sheeting material having, on both sides thereof, a nonwoven fiber aggregate (spun lace nonwoven fabric) formed by fiber entanglement of the fiber web, in which the fibers of the fiber webs are entangled not only among themselves but with the sheeting material to form a unitary body.”, [0048], therefore, wherein one or more optional further layers ([0043]), which also consist entirely of natural fibres and/or regenerated fibres ([0043], [0044]), are also bonded to the cleaning layer and/or to the core layer by means of hydroentanglement ([0048]), see also [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references teach, wherein the cleaning layer and the core layer and optionally one or more further layers are produced in that for each layer the fibres of which it is composed are processed to form a nonwoven fabric, and thus the cleaning layer, the core layer and optionally one or more further layers are obtained as a nonwoven fabric, and wherein the nonwoven fabrics thus obtained, which are the cleaning layer, the core layer and optionally one or more further layers, are then bonded to one another by means of hydroentanglement (Kakiuchi, wherein 3 and 2 and optionally one or more further layers are produced in that for each layer the fibres of which it is composed are processed to form a nonwoven fabric, and thus 3, 2 and optionally one or more further layers (of 2) are obtained as a nonwoven fabric ([0048]), and wherein the nonwoven fabrics thus obtained, which are 3, 2 and optionally one or more further layers (of 2), are then bonded to one another by means of hydroentanglement ([0048]), see also [0065]).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references teach, wherein the core layer is produced by combining cellulosic fibres, lyocell fibres and/or pulp, optionally with a biobased binder and/or further plant fibres, to form a nonwoven fabric (Kakiuchi, “Where the inner layer 2 is made of fiber, hydrophilic fibers such as rayon, cotton, pulp, and polyvinyl alcohol fiber, can be used.”, [0044], “a fiber web formed by carding, etc. is superposed on each side of thermally bonded nonwoven fabric, which becomes the inner layer 2.”, [0048], therefore, wherein 2 is produced by combining cellulosic fibres, lyocell fibres and/or pulp, optionally with a biobased binder and/or further plant fibres, to form a nonwoven fabric).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references teach, wherein the fibres comprising the cleaning layer, the core layer and/or the further layer are bonded to form a nonwoven fabric by processes selected independently of one another from the group comprising air-laid processes, wet-laid processes, hydroentanglement, carding, calendering, melt-blown processes, spun-laid processes, air-through bonding, needle punching, spun- bonding processes and DRC processes (Kakiuchi, “a fiber web formed by carding, etc. is superposed on each side of thermally bonded nonwoven fabric, which becomes the inner layer 2. The three layers are needled with a high pressure water jet (water needling), whereby fibers of the fiber web are entangled among themselves to form spun lace nonwoven fabric as the outer layer 3 and, at the same time, the fiber webs are entangled and united with the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as the inner layer 2 to provide a composite spun lace nonwoven fabric of low entanglement. The nonwoven fabric thus obtained has a unitary structure comprising the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as a sheeting material having, on both sides thereof, a nonwoven fiber aggregate (spun lace nonwoven fabric) formed by fiber entanglement of the fiber web, in which the fibers of the fiber webs are entangled not only among themselves but with the sheeting material to form a unitary body.”, [0048], therefore, wherein the fibres comprising 3, 2 and/or the further layer (of 2) are bonded to form a nonwoven fabric by processes selected independently of one another from the group comprising air-laid processes, wet-laid processes, hydroentanglement, carding, calendering, melt-blown processes, spun-laid processes, air-through bonding, needle punching, spun- bonding processes and DRC processes).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the cleaning layer, the core layer and optionally one or more further layers are bonded to one another as a result of the hydroentanglement and the multi-layer cloth product is obtained (Kakiuchi, “a fiber web formed by carding, etc. is superposed on each side of thermally bonded nonwoven fabric, which becomes the inner layer 2. The three layers are needled with a high pressure water jet (water needling), whereby fibers of the fiber web are entangled among themselves to form spun lace nonwoven fabric as the outer layer 3 and, at the same time, the fiber webs are entangled and united with the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as the inner layer 2 to provide a composite spun lace nonwoven fabric of low entanglement. The nonwoven fabric thus obtained has a unitary structure comprising the thermally bonded nonwoven fabric as a sheeting material having, on both sides thereof, a nonwoven fiber aggregate (spun lace nonwoven fabric) formed by fiber entanglement of the fiber web, in which the fibers of the fiber webs are entangled not only among themselves but with the sheeting material to form a unitary body.”, [0048], therefore, wherein 3, 2 and optionally one or more further layers are bonded to one another as a result of the hydroentanglement and the multi-layer cloth product is obtained, figure 1).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi (2008/0141432) in view of Seidel et al. (2011/0256791)[Seidel] in view of Anderson et al. (2004/0121689)[Anderson].
Regarding claim 4, the combined references teach, the cleaning layer (Kakiuchi, 3, [0036], figure 1).
The combined references fail to teach, wherein the cleaning layer is produced by combining hemp fibres and viscose fibres to form a nonwoven fabric, with the proportion of hemp fibres being larger than the proportion of viscose fibres.
Anderson teaches, wherein the cleaning layer is produced by combining hemp fibres and viscose fibres to form a nonwoven fabric,with the proportion of hemp fibres being larger than the proportion of viscose fibres (“As used herein, the term "pulp" refers to fibers from natural sources such as woody and non-woody plants. Woody plants include, for example, deciduous and coniferous trees. Non-woody plants include, for example, cotton, flax, esparto grass, milkweed, straw, jute, hemp, and bagasse.”, [0018], “the nonwoven web is then hydraulically entangled. The nonwoven web may be entangled either alone, or in conjunction with other materials. For example, in some embodiments, the nonwoven web is integrally entangled with a cellulosic fiber component using hydraulic entanglement. The cellulosic fiber component can generally comprise any desired amount of the resulting fabric. For example, in some embodiments, the cellulosic fiber component can comprise greater than about 50% by weight of the fabric, and in some embodiments, between about 60% to about 90% by weight of the fabric.”, [0047], “When utilized, the cellulosic fiber component can contain cellulosic fibers (e.g., pulp, thermomechanical pulp, synthetic cellulosic fibers, modified cellulosic fibers, and the like), as well as other types of fibers (e.g., synthetic staple fibers). Some examples of suitable cellulosic fiber sources include virgin wood fibers, such as thermomechanical, bleached and unbleached softwood and hardwood pulps. Secondary or recycled fibers, such as obtained from office waste, newsprint, brown paper stock, paperboard scrap, etc., may also be used. Further, vegetable fibers, such as abaca, flax, milkweed, cotton, modified cotton, cotton linters, can also be used. In addition, synthetic cellulosic fibers such as, for example, rayon and viscose rayon may be used.”, [0048], “Referring to FIG. 2, one embodiment of the present invention for hydraulically entangling a cellulosic fiber component with a nonwoven web that contains staple fibers is illustrated.”, [0053], therefore, wherein the layer is produced by combining hemp fibres and viscose fibres to form a nonwoven fabric, with the proportion of hemp fibres being larger than the proportion of viscose fibres).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the nonwoven fabric cleaning layer of Kakiychi by combining hemp fibres and viscose fibres with the proportion of hemp fibres being larger than the proportion of viscose fibres as taught by Andersonto in order to provide a nonwoven with “excellent liquid handling properties can be achieved in accordance with the present invention without resulting in the poor liquid handling capabilities often associated with point bonded nonwoven webs. In fact, the entangled fabric of the present invention can have improved bulk, softness, and capillary tension.”, [0031].
Regarding claim 6, the combined references teach, wherein, in addition to the cleaning layer and the core layer, (Kakiuchi,
The combined references fail to teach, wherein, in addition to the cleaning layer and the core layer, a further layer consisting exclusively of viscose fibres is produced by combining the viscose fibres into a nonwoven fabric.
Anderson teaches, wherein, in addition a further layer consisting exclusively of viscose fibres is produced by combining the viscose fibres into a nonwoven fabric (“Referring to FIG. 2, one embodiment of the present invention for hydraulically entangling a cellulosic fiber component with a nonwoven web that contains staple fibers is illustrated.”, [0053], “The nonwoven web 20 is then placed upon a foraminous entangling surface 32 of a conventional hydraulic entangling machine where the cellulosic fibrous layer 18 is then laid on the web 20.”, [0054], therefore, wherein, in addition a further layer consisting exclusively of viscose fibres is produced by combining the viscose fibres into a nonwoven fabric).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in addition to the cleaning layer and the core layer of Kakiychi a further layer consisting exclusively of viscose fibres is produced by combining the viscose fibres into a nonwoven fabric as taught by Anderson in order to provide a nonwoven with “excellent liquid handling properties can be achieved in accordance with the present invention without resulting in the poor liquid handling capabilities often associated with point bonded nonwoven webs. In fact, the entangled fabric of the present invention can have improved bulk, softness, and capillary tension.”, [0031].
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi (2008/0141432) in view of Seidel et al. (2011/0256791)[Seidel] in view of Ahoniemi et al. (2017/0022667)[Ahoniemi].
Regarding claim 9, the combined references teach, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzles in the first drum, wherein the water jets emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different nozzle may be the same or different and in each case lie between 10 and 80 bar (Seidel, see example 17 in [0165] and example 20 in [0169], wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of 48' in the first drum 62'', wherein the water jets from a first 48' emerge at a pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from a second and third 48' may be the same or different and in each case lie between 10 and 80 bar, figure 2B).
While Siedel discloses the first drum 62'' having three nozzles 48' with each nozzle 48' having different nozzle pressures, jets of 25-75 bar for the first drum 62'' (see example 17 in [0165-0166] and example 20 in [0169], shown in figure 2B), the combined references fail to teach, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzle strips, each nozzle strip having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from each nozzle belonging to the same nozzle strip emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different nozzle strips may be the same or different and in each case lie between 10 and 80 bar.
Ahoniemi teaches, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzle strips, each nozzle strip in the first drum having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from each nozzle belonging to the same nozzle strip emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different nozzle strips may be the same or different and in each case lie between 10 and 80 bar (“The fibrous web 14 is hydroentangled in a hydroentangling station 15 while it is supported on the forming fabric 10. Alternatively, the fibrous web is transferred to a second support member, for example a second forming fabric or a perforated drum, before hydroentanglement. The hydroentangling station 15 includes at least one jet strip 16. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, three jet strips 16 are provided. Very fine water jets under pressure are directed against the fibrous web 14 from these jet strips 16 to provide an entangling of the fibres and thus form a hydroentangled nonwoven web 19.”, [0032], “The entanglement was made with 3 manifolds (jet strips) on both sides of the web with 60 bars with standard entanglement nozzles having a hole diameter of 115 μm with a pitch of 0.8 mm (Table 1) or 0.6 mm (Table 2) between holes.”, [0049], “It may be desirable to use finishing steps and/or post treatment processes to impart selected properties to the composite material 46. For example, the material 46 may be lightly pressed by calender rolls, creped, or brushed to provide a uniform exterior appearance and/or certain tactile properties.”, [0037], therefore, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of 16, each nozzle strip 16 having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from each nozzle belonging to the same 16 emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different 16 may be the same or different and in each case lie between 10 and 80 bar).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of nozzles of the first drum of the combined references as nozzle strips each having a plurality of nozzles as taught by Ahoniemi in order to provide a “Very fine water jets under pressure are directed against the fibrous web 14 from these jet strips 16 to provide an entangling of the fibres and thus form a hydroentangled nonwoven web 19.”, [0032].
Regarding claim 10, the combined references teach, wherein the water jets in the second drum emerge from a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from a nozzle emerge at a pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from a different nozzle may be the same or different and in each case lie between 30 and 100 bar (Seidel, see example 17 in [0165] and example 20 in [0169], wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of 48'' in the second drum 62''', wherein the water jets from a first 48'' emerge at a pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from a second 48'' and third 48'' may be the same or different and in each case lie between 30 and 100 bar, figure 2B).
While Siedel discloses the second drum 62''' having three nozzles 48'' with each nozzle 48''' having nozzle pressures, jets of 50 bar/100 bar for the second drum 62''' (see example 22 in [0171] and example 23 in [0172], shown in figure 2B), the combined references fail to teach, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzle strips, each nozzle strip having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from each nozzle belonging to the same nozzle strip emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different nozzle strips may be the same or different and in each case lie between 30 and 100 bar.
Ahoniemi teaches, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzle strips, each nozzle strip having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzle strips, each nozzle strip having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from each nozzle belonging to the same nozzle strip emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different nozzle strips may be the same or different and in each case lie between 30 and 100 bar (“The fibrous web 14 is hydroentangled in a hydroentangling station 15 while it is supported on the forming fabric 10. Alternatively, the fibrous web is transferred to a second support member, for example a second forming fabric or a perforated drum, before hydroentanglement. The hydroentangling station 15 includes at least one jet strip 16. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, three jet strips 16 are provided. Very fine water jets under pressure are directed against the fibrous web 14 from these jet strips 16 to provide an entangling of the fibres and thus form a hydroentangled nonwoven web 19.”, [0032], “The entanglement was made with 3 manifolds (jet strips) on both sides of the web with 60 bars with standard entanglement nozzles having a hole diameter of 115 μm with a pitch of 0.8 mm (Table 1) or 0.6 mm (Table 2) between holes.”, [0049], therefore, wherein water jets emerge from a plurality of nozzle strips 16, each nozzle strip 16 having a plurality of nozzles, wherein the water jets from each nozzle belonging to the same 16 emerge at the same pressure and wherein the pressures of the water jets emerging from nozzles belonging to different 16 may be the same or different and in each case lie between 30 and 100 bar, figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of nozzles of the second drum of the combined references as nozzle strips each having a plurality of nozzles as taught by Ahoniemi in order to provide a “Very fine water jets under pressure are directed against the fibrous web 14 from these jet strips 16 to provide an entangling of the fibres and thus form a hydroentangled nonwoven web 19.”, [0032].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi (2008/0141432) in view of Seidel et al. (2011/0256791)[Seidel] in view of Conner (2007/0067973).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the multi-layer cloth product is subsequently dried at a temperatures (Kakiuchi, “The resulting nonwoven fabric is then subjected to heat embossing to form a multilayered sheet.”, [0048], therefore, wherein the multi-layer cloth product is subsequently dried at a temperature).
The combined references fail to teach, dried at temperatures above 150°C and/or by ultrasound.
Conner teaches, wherein the multi-layer cloth product is subsequently dried at temperatures above 150°C and/or by ultrasound (“From the hydro-entangling station 24, the composite material 46 is conveyed to any manner of drying station 42, which typically includes a non-compressive dryer, such as a conventional rotary drum through-air dryer 44 as shown in FIGS. 1 and 3. The through-air dryer 44 may include an outer rotatable cylinder with perforations in combination with an outer hood for receiving hot air blown through the perforations. A belt 47 carries the composite material 46 over the upper portion of the through-air dryer outer cylinder where the heated air forced through the perforations in the outer cylinder removes water from the composite material 46. The temperature of the air forced through the composite material 46 may range from about 200 degrees to about 500 degrees F.”, [0035], therefore, wherein 46 is subsequently dried at temperatures above 150°C and/or by ultrasound, examiner notes: at temperatures above 150°C as claimed in included in the disclosed range of 200 degrees to about 500 degrees F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drying of the multi-layer cloth of Kakiuchi as being dried at temperatures above 150°C as taught by Conner in order to provide a drying station that is well known in the art and shown by Conner.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi (2008/0141432) in view of Seidel et al. (2011/0256791)[Seidel] in view of Conner (2007/0067973) in view of Fleissner (2003/0106195).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the drying step is carried out in a multi-drum dryer in which the multilayer cloth product is dried and pressed (Conner, wherein the drying step is carried out in a dryer in which the multilayer cloth product is dried and pressed [0035], [0037], therefore, wherein the multi-layer cloth product is subsequently dried at a temperature).
The combined references fail to teach, wherein the drying step is carried out in a multi-drum dryer.
Fleissner teaches, wherein the drying step is carried out in a multi- drum dryer (“The drying process on a sieve drum device 8, 9 with through-ventilation then follows. In the case of device 8, the ventilator is assigned to the sieve drums directly at the front. Finally, yet another calendering 15, 16 should take place, but this time one with a greater force. The intenseness of the strengthening must be such that the end product has greater, satisfactory abrasion resistance. In the example in FIG. 1, only the roller 16, which is in contact with the spun-bonded non-woven fabric, needs to be heated.”, therefore, wherein the drying step is carried out in a multi- drum dryer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drying of the multi-layer cloth of Kakiuchi as being carried out in a multi- drum dryer as taught by Fleissner in order to provide a drying station with a multi drum that is well known in the art and shown by Fleissner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
2018/0303294 by Baker discloses a process for making a nonwoven material having cellulosic fibers using hydroentanglement.
2013/0157537 by Jackson discloses a process for making a nonwoven material having cellulosic fibers using hydroentanglement.
/Jillian K Pierorazio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732