DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig. 5, character h and character d are not defined in applicant’s specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities: “in any of claim 1”, should be “in claim 1”. Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, & 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, hereinafter Zhang (CN 110989863 A), in view of Han et al, hereinafter Han (U.S. 2015/0107978 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Zhang discloses: a touch panel (Zhang, title & abstract), comprising:
a base substrate, and a touch electrode layer, an insulation layer, and a bridge electrode layer that are arranged on the base substrate in sequence (Zhang, fig. 6 illustrates: base substrate 01, & sequence - touch electrode layer {i.e., first electrode 021 & second electrode 031}, insulation layer 05, & bridge electrode layer 032; disclosed in ¶ [0032]- ¶ [0033] & ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0042]);
wherein the touch electrode layer comprises a first electrode region, and two second electrode regions on two sides of the first electrode region and spaced apart from the first electrode region, wherein the two second electrode regions are electrically connected through a via in the insulation layer (Zhang, figs. 5-6 illustrates: base substrate 01, & sequence - touch electrode layer {i.e., first electrode 021 & second electrode 031}, insulation layer 05, & bridge electrode layer 032; disclosed in ¶ [0032]- ¶ [0033] & ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0042]; please note, illustrated downward via slope of the second electrode 031 onto the bridge electrode layer 032); and
in at least part of a region of the touch panel, a first orthographic projection of the bridge electrode layer on the base substrate is within a second orthographic projection of the touch electrode layer on the base substrate, wherein an area of the first orthographic projection is less than an area of the second orthographic projection (Zhang, fig. 6 illustrates: base substrate 01, & sequence - touch electrode layer {i.e., first electrode 021 & second electrode 031}, insulation layer 05, & bridge electrode layer 032; disclosed in ¶ [0032]- ¶ [0033] & ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0042]; please note, illustrated second electrode 031 area covers the claimed within bridge electrode layer 032 area).
Zhang fails to respectfully disclose: wherein the two second electrode regions are electrically connected to each other through a via in the insulation layer and through the bridge electrode layer.
However, Han respectfully discloses: wherein the two second electrode regions are electrically connected to each other through a via in the insulation layer and through the bridge electrode layer (Han, fig. 5 illustrates: multi-electrode 221 design, where the intermediate three electrode string has two separated edge electrodes that are connected with respect to the bridge 410 through the protrusion 411 with respect to via PA1 in the insulation layer 300; as disclosed in ¶ [0043]- ¶ [0048]).
Han and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to bridge touch electrode configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to respectfully modify the bridge touch electrode configuration of Zhang to include: wherein the two second electrode regions are electrically connected to each other through a via in the insulation layer and through the bridge electrode layer, as taught by Han, in order to reduce the sensing electrode resistance (Han, ¶ [0009]).
In regards to claim 15, Zhang in combination above discloses: the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein an outer edge of at least one of the first electrode region or the second electrode region is a polygon of which vertex angles all are obtuse angles (Zhang, fig. 6 illustrates: base substrate 01, & sequence - touch electrode layer {i.e., first electrode 021 & second electrode 031}, insulation layer 05, & bridge electrode layer 032; disclosed in ¶ [0032]- ¶ [0033] & ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0042]; please note, illustrated second electrode 031 area covers the claimed within bridge electrode layer 032 area; please note, claim is in alternative format {underlined and bolded selection}, fig. 6 illustrates 031 to include vertex obtuse angles).
In regards to claim 21, Zhang in combination above discloses: a touch device (Zhang, ¶ [0001]- ¶ [0006]), comprising: the touch panel as defined in any of claim 1, but fails to disclose: a touch chip, wherein the touch chip is configured to determine a touch position on the touch panel through a touch electrode layer in the touch panel.
However, Han further discloses: a touch chip, wherein the touch chip is configured to determine a touch position on the touch panel through a touch electrode layer in the touch panel (Han, fig. 1, PCB 600 includes driving chip, disclosed in ¶ [0057]- ¶ [0062]).
Han and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to bridge touch electrode configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to respectfully modify the touch device configuration of Zhang in combination above to include: a touch chip, wherein the touch chip is configured to determine a touch position on the touch panel through a touch electrode layer in the touch panel, as further taught by Han, in order to reduce the sensing electrode resistance (Han, ¶ [0009]).
In regards to claim 22, Zhang in combination above discloses: the touch device according to claim 21, but fails to disclose: wherein the touch device has a bendable region.
However, Han further discloses: wherein the touch device has a bendable region (Han, fig. 1, flexible plastic substrate 100, disclosed in ¶ [0028]- ¶ [0030]; example of flexible plastic is depicted below).
{https://www.etsy.com/listing/279989326/1-thick-25x23x116-006-flexible?gpla=1&gao=1&&utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=shopping_us_en_us_Bing_US_-_Craft_Supplies_and_Tools&utm_custom1=_k_4422947eda7f1975dc73fd2d8ad9076d_k_&utm_content=bing_412372913_1301822064972454_81363942714372_pla-4584963494665635:pla-4584963494665635_c__279989326&utm_custom2=412372913&msclkid=4422947eda7f1975dc73fd2d8ad9076d}
Han and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to bridge touch electrode configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to respectfully modify the touch device configuration of Zhang in combination above to include: wherein the touch device has a bendable region, as taught by Han, in order to reduce the sensing electrode resistance (Han, ¶ [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 allowed.
Claims 2-9, 11-14, & 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Duane N. Taylor Jr.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2626
/DUANE N TAYLOR JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626