Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101. The claimed invention is directed to a non-statutory subject matter. The claim does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a computer-readable storage medium encompasses a signal and signals are non-statutory. See MPEP 2106.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites at lines 9-10 “the candidate region corresponding to each of the first image collection apparatuses” renders the claim indefinite. As recited in lines 9-10 “the candidate region” is based on the scene image of the target scene (recited at lines 5-7), and the scene image is collected by only one or single first image collection apparatus (due to “at least one recited in lines 1-4 which is interpreted as only one image collection apparatus for the purpose of examination). Therefore, “the candidate region corresponding to each of the first image collection apparatuses”, i.e the candidate region corresponding to the plurality (each) image collection apparatuses raises ambiguity in the claim and renders the claim indefinite. Amendments/clarification are required. Claims 2-15, 17, 20 and 25-27depending directly or indirectly on claim 1 are also rejected.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second image collection apparatus" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 depends from claim 11, therefore it is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-15, 17, 20 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shang et al (US20240169585) hereafter Shang.
1. Regarding claim 1 as best understood by the examiner, Shang discloses a region calibration method (figs 1-5, and para 0045-0050 shows and discloses a calibration method and a system), comprising:
displaying a scene image collected by each of at least one first image collection apparatus located in a target scene, wherein the first image collection apparatus is used for performing image collection on part or all of regions in the target scene (fig 4-5 shows displaying a scene image collected by at least one first image collection apparatus 404-1-404-6, wherein the first image collection apparatus is used for performing image collection on part or all of regions in the target scene (402), examiner notes that due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus, only one image collection apparatus is required by the current claim);
displaying a candidate region selected by region drawing operation in a simulated image for simulating the target scene in response to the region drawing operation performed on the scene image (figs 4-5, paras 0045-0050 shows and discloses displaying a candidate region selected by region drawing operation (demarcated region 402 shown in figs 4-5 meets the limitations of candidate region selected by the region drawing operation) in a simulated image (502-1, 502-2) for simulating the target scene in response to the region drawing operation performed on the scene image);
(examiner notes that due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim, the striked-through limitations are not required to be met because they rely on the plurality of the first collection apparatuses).
2. Regarding claim 2, see the explanation of claim 1. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 2 are not required to be met.
3. Regarding claim 3, see the explanation of claims 1-2. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 3 are not required to be met.
4. Regarding claim 4, see the explanation of claim 1. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 4 are not required to be met.
5. Regarding claim 5, see the explanation of claim 1. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 5 are not required to be met.
6. Regarding claim 6, see the explanation of claims 1 and 5. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 6 are not required to be met.
7. Regarding claim 7, see the explanation of claims 1 and 6. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 7 are not required to be met.
8. Regarding claim 8, see the explanation of claims 1 and 6. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 8 are not required to be met.
9. Regarding claim 10, Shang discloses the region calibration method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a candidate region selected by region drawing operation in a simulated image for simulating the target scene in response to the region drawing operation performed on the scene image collected by the first image collection apparatus, comprises: generating a closed image region on the scene image in response to a plurality of position points where preset operation is executed on the scene image (figs 2, 4-6, paras 0039-40 shows and discloses wherein the displaying a candidate region selected by region drawing operation in a simulated image for simulating the target scene in response to the region drawing operation performed on the scene image collected by the first image collection apparatus, comprises: generating a closed image region on the scene image in response to a plurality of position points where preset operation is executed on the scene image (i.e volumetric modeling operations is performed on the scene image (i.e feature matching) as disclosed in para 0040) meeting the above claim limitations), and/or (Examiner notes that due to the recital of or in the claim, the strike through limitations are not required by the current claim).
10. Regarding claim 11, see the explanation of claim 1. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 11 are not required to be met.
11. Regarding claim 12, see the explanation of claims 1 and 11. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 12 are not required to be met.
12. Regarding claim 13 depending on claim 1, see the explanation of claim 1. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 13 are not required to be met.
13. Regarding claim 14, see the explanation of claims 1 and 13. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 13 are not required to be met.
14. Regarding claim 15, see the explanation of claims 1 and 13. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 15 are not required to be met.
15. Regarding claim 17, see the explanation of claims 1 and 13. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 17 are not required to be met.
16. Regarding claim 20, see the explanation of claims 1 and 13. Due to the recital of at least one first image collection apparatus (i.e only one first image collection apparatus is required by the claim 1), the limitations recited in claim 20 are not required to be met.
17. Claim 25 is a corresponding device claim of claim 1. See the corresponding explanation of claim 1. Shang shows the electronic device in fig 1.
18. Regarding claim 26 see the explanation of claim 1. Shang shows the computer-readable storage medium (memory 102), wherein a computer program stored therein (106) causes a processor (104) to execute the region calibration method according to claim 1 in fig 1.
19. Claim 27 is a corresponding device claim of claim 13. See the corresponding explanation of claim 13.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/JAYESH PATEL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677