Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s assertion of the differences between the cited prior art and the applicant’s amended claims; while claims are read in light of the specification limitations are not imparted from the specification and claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation.
Specifically regarding the amended limitations as currently written the claims do not require two separate operations (one for a singular user and one for multiple users). As such the applicant’s arguments that the cited art fails to disclose such is not persuasive in that the independent claims do not require such a feature.
The amended limitation reads as follows:
“wherein the passive operation information includes quantity information, and the determining passive operation information corresponding to at least one digital vehicle key in the at least one mobile terminal comprises:
determining the quantity information of mobile terminals within a preset range from the vehicle, and/or determining the quantity information of digital vehicle keys within a preset range from the vehicle;
and wherein the controlling, based on the passive operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle to perform a corresponding operation further comprises:
controlling, in response to a number of the mobile terminals being one, and/or in response to a number of the digital vehicle keys being one, the vehicle to perform an operation corresponding to single user; or
controlling, in response to the number of the mobile terminals being greater than one, and/or in response to the number of the digital vehicle keys being greater than one, the vehicle to perform an operation corresponding to multiple users.”
As such the broadest reasonable interpretation of the applicant’s claims only requires: performing of an operation corresponding to a singular user or an operation corresponding to multiple users. The independent claims not require that the invention has a different operation for a singular user compared to an operation for multiple users as it argued by the applicant.
The rejections are maintained as cited in claims 2-3 (which are now integrated into claim 1) of the non-final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4 it was amended to recite determining if the distances between mobile terminals/keys are less than a preset threshold; and correspondingly performing a singular user or multiple user operation in response to this determination. When the applicant’s specification was reviewed there were no clear teachings found for calculating the distances between keys/terminals and subsequently performing a singular or multiple user operation as appropriate.
As such amended claim 4 recites new matter not described in the as filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20150149042 A1, Cooper et al, “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR CONFIGURING AN INTERIOR OF A VEHICLE BASED ON PREFERENCES PROVIDED WITH MULTIPLE MOBILE COMPUTING DEVICES WITHIN THE VEHICLE”.
Regarding Claim 1, Cooper teaches “A method for operating a vehicle that corresponds to at least one digital vehicle key located in at least one mobile terminal, comprising: establishing a communication connection between the vehicle and the at least one mobile terminal; determining passive operation information corresponding to at least one digital vehicle key in the at least one mobile terminal, wherein the passive operation information includes one or more of quantity information, location information and trajectory information; and controlling”( [0010] Still further, according to one aspect of the disclosure, a mobile computing device communicate with at least one of (i) one or more other mobile computing devices in the vehicle, or (ii) a controller of the vehicle. The mobile computing device determines, from communicating with the one or more other devices in the vehicle, when multiple mobile computing devices are present within the vehicle.” Here teaches determining if multiple (quantity information) devices are within the vicinity of the vehicle);” based on the passive operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle to perform a corresponding operation.”([0010]” The mobile computing device determines an occupancy zone for each mobile computing devices that is determined as being present within the vehicle. Additionally, the mobile computing device determines profile information for each mobile computing device. The mobile computing device further initiates configuration of at least one of an operational or usage facet of the vehicle at each occupancy zone in which one of the mobile computing devices is determined to be present. The operational or usage facet of the vehicle provided at a location of each occupancy zone can be based at least in part on the profile information determined from the mobile computing device that is deemed to be present at that occupancy zone.”), “wherein the passive operation information includes quantity information, and the determining passive operation information corresponding to at least one digital vehicle key in the at least one mobile terminal comprises: determining the quantity information of mobile terminals within a preset range from the vehicle, and/or determining the quantity information of digital vehicle keys within a preset range from the vehicle.”( [0136] With reference to FIG. 5, the location of the mobile computing device 210 can be determined within a vehicle (510). In particular, location of the mobile computing device 210 can be determined within or relative to the vehicle after either (i) pairing of the mobile computing device 210 with the vehicle, and/or (ii) the mobile computing device 210 signaling the digital key 215 to the vehicle. Within the vehicle, the location determination resource 360 of the mobile computing device 210 can determine, for example, one or more of the following: (i) a range of the mobile computing device 210 from a steering wheel or other reference point within the vehicle, (ii) the position of the mobile computing device 210 within the vehicle to within some tolerance X (e.g., ten centimeters), (iii) the seat closest that the mobile computing device 210 occupies or is closest to (e.g., where the user of the mobile computing device 210 is most likely located).” Part of the detecting of a user device (terminal) includes determining is location + [0069]” After pairing, the mobile computing device 110 and the vehicle 20 communicate when the mobile computing device is in sufficient proximity so as to satisfy a proximity condition. In one implementation, when proximity conditions are satisfied, the mobile computing device is able to communicate commands 119 such as "unlock" and/or "start" in encrypted form to the vehicle 20 using the digital key 115.” Here teaches that the pairing/determining of location information is for those devices within proximity of the vehicle) “The method according to claim 2, wherein the controlling, based on the passive operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle to perform a corresponding operation further comprises: controlling, in response to a number of the mobile terminals being one, and/or in response to a number of the digital vehicle keys being one, the vehicle to perform an operation corresponding to single user; or controlling, in response to the number of the mobile terminals being greater than one, and/or in response to the number of the digital vehicle keys being greater than one, the vehicle to perform an operation corresponding to multiple users.”( [0010] “Still further, according to one aspect of the disclosure, a mobile computing device communicate with at least one of (i) one or more other mobile computing devices in the vehicle, or (ii) a controller of the vehicle. The mobile computing device determines, from communicating with the one or more other devices in the vehicle, when multiple mobile computing devices are present within the vehicle.” Here teaches determining if/when multiple devices are within the vicinity of the vehicle, [0010] “The mobile computing device further initiates configuration of at least one of an operational or usage facet of the vehicle at each occupancy zone in which one of the mobile computing devices is determined to be present. The operational or usage facet of the vehicle provided at a location of each occupancy zone can be based at least in part on the profile information determined from the mobile computing device that is deemed to be present at that occupancy zone.” Then based on this if multiple are detected the corresponding actions for each user (i.e. operation corresponding to multiple users))
Regarding Claim 11, Cooper teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein the operation corresponding to single user includes one or more of: manipulating the vehicle in sports mode, turning on global sound field, opening a front window, adjusting tire pressure, adjusting driver seat, and turning on air conditioner in front row, and the operation corresponding to multiple users includes one or more of: manipulating the vehicle in comfort mode, turning on partitioned sound field, adjusting driver seat, adjusting front passenger seat, adjusting seat in back row, simultaneously opening both front and rear windows, adjusting tire pressure, and turning on air conditioner in front and rear row.”( [0162] In some aspects, the vehicle controller 820 can implement user-specific preferences stored in association with the detected mobile computing device. At least some of these preferences can be implemented as pre-entry configurations 918. Preferences can include seat adjustments, temperature controls, mirror adjustments, music settings, and other similar adjustable vehicle features. These preferences can be stored on the controller, which loads the preferences based on detecting the mobile computing device in vicinity of the vehicle. In another implementation, the preferences are stored with the mobile computing device and can be sent along with or after the digital key and handshake are established.” Here teaches that based on the detect user device the seat(s) are adjusted, temperature control are adjusted (i.e. turning on an AC))
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190308614 A1, Lavoie et al, “INPUT SIGNAL MANAGEMENT FOR VEHICLE PARK-ASSIST”.
Regarding Claim 1, Lavoie teaches “A method for operating a vehicle that corresponds to at least one digital vehicle key located in at least one mobile terminal, comprising: establishing a communication connection between the vehicle and the at least one mobile terminal;”( 0027] As used herein, a “key fob” refers to a dedicated electronic mobile device that wirelessly communicates with a vehicle to unlock and/or lock vehicle doors), open and/or close the vehicle door(s), activate an engine of the vehicle, and/or control other function(s) of the vehicle. In some examples, a user of a vehicle utilizes another mobile device that functions as a phone-as-a-key for wireless communication with the vehicle. As used herein, a “phone-as-a-key” and a “PaaK” refer to an electronic mobile device (e.g., a smart phone, a wearable, a smart watch, a tablet, etc.) that includes hardware and/or software to function as a key fob.” Here teaches that the key fob is connected/detected through wireless communication, thus read in light of [0025] teaches the creating of a connection between the vehicle and the key fob(s));” determining passive operation information corresponding to at least one digital vehicle key in the at least one mobile terminal, wherein the passive operation information includes one or more of quantity information, location information and trajectory information; and controlling based on the passive operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle to perform a corresponding operation.”( [0025] Some examples disclosed herein prioritize input requests by monitoring a number of key fobs within a tethering range of a vehicle. In such examples, an autonomy unit of the vehicle performs motive functions for remote parking in response to a communication module of the vehicle receiving a remote parking signal from a mobile device of a user. A vehicle controller also is configured to receive an unlock request from a key fob to unlock a vehicle door while the autonomy unit is performing the motive functions of the remote park-assist features. To facilitate prioritization of input requests while remote parking is being performed, the vehicle controller determines the number of key fobs within the tethering range of the vehicle upon receiving the unlock request while the remote parking is being performed. If the number of key fobs is one, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent from a key fob of the user initiating the remote parking via the mobile device without having to identify a location and/or distance to the key and/or the mobile device. In turn, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent accidentally and prevents processing of the unlock request to facilitate prioritization of the input requests. Further, in some examples, the vehicle controller processes the unlock request in response to identifying that the number of key fobs within the tethering range is two or more. In other examples, the vehicle controller attempts to determine whether the key fob that sent the unlock request is the user's key fob by comparing a distance between the key fob and the vehicle to a distance between the mobile device and the vehicle. If the key fob distance matches and/or is within a threshold margin of the mobile device distance, the vehicle controller determines that the user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently prevents processing of the unlock request. If the key fob distance does not match and/or is not within the threshold margin of the mobile device, the vehicle controller determines that another user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently processes the unlock request.” Here teaches determining the number of keys within the tethering range and the vehicle responding appropritately to the number of determined keys) “, wherein the passive operation information includes quantity information, and the determining passive operation information corresponding to at least one digital vehicle key in the at least one mobile terminal comprises: determining the quantity information of mobile terminals within a preset range from the vehicle, and/or determining the quantity information of digital vehicle keys within a preset range from the vehicle.”( [0025] Some examples disclosed herein prioritize input requests by monitoring a number of key fobs within a tethering range of a vehicle. In such examples, an autonomy unit of the vehicle performs motive functions for remote parking in response to a communication module of the vehicle receiving a remote parking signal from a mobile device of a user. A vehicle controller also is configured to receive an unlock request from a key fob to unlock a vehicle door while the autonomy unit is performing the motive functions of the remote park-assist features. To facilitate prioritization of input requests while remote parking is being performed, the vehicle controller determines the number of key fobs within the tethering range of the vehicle upon receiving the unlock request while the remote parking is being performed. If the number of key fobs is one, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent from a key fob of the user initiating the remote parking via the mobile device without having to identify a location and/or distance to the key and/or the mobile device. In turn, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent accidentally and prevents processing of the unlock request to facilitate prioritization of the input requests. Further, in some examples, the vehicle controller processes the unlock request in response to identifying that the number of key fobs within the tethering range is two or more. In other examples, the vehicle controller attempts to determine whether the key fob that sent the unlock request is the user's key fob by comparing a distance between the key fob and the vehicle to a distance between the mobile device and the vehicle. If the key fob distance matches and/or is within a threshold margin of the mobile device distance, the vehicle controller determines that the user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently prevents processing of the unlock request. If the key fob distance does not match and/or is not within the threshold margin of the mobile device, the vehicle controller determines that another user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently processes the unlock request.” Here Lavioe teaches determining the amount of keys within the tethering range (preset range from the vehicle)) “wherein the controlling, based on the passive operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle to perform a corresponding operation further comprises: controlling, in response to a number of the mobile terminals being one, and/or in response to a number of the digital vehicle keys being one, the vehicle to perform an operation corresponding to single user; or controlling, in response to the number of the mobile terminals being greater than one, and/or in response to the number of the digital vehicle keys being greater than one, the vehicle to perform an operation corresponding to multiple users.”( [0025] Some examples disclosed herein prioritize input requests by monitoring a number of key fobs within a tethering range of a vehicle. In such examples, an autonomy unit of the vehicle performs motive functions for remote parking in response to a communication module of the vehicle receiving a remote parking signal from a mobile device of a user. A vehicle controller also is configured to receive an unlock request from a key fob to unlock a vehicle door while the autonomy unit is performing the motive functions of the remote park-assist features. To facilitate prioritization of input requests while remote parking is being performed, the vehicle controller determines the number of key fobs within the tethering range of the vehicle upon receiving the unlock request while the remote parking is being performed. If the number of key fobs is one, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent from a key fob of the user initiating the remote parking via the mobile device without having to identify a location and/or distance to the key and/or the mobile device. In turn, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent accidentally and prevents processing of the unlock request to facilitate prioritization of the input requests. Further, in some examples, the vehicle controller processes the unlock request in response to identifying that the number of key fobs within the tethering range is two or more. In other examples, the vehicle controller attempts to determine whether the key fob that sent the unlock request is the user's key fob by comparing a distance between the key fob and the vehicle to a distance between the mobile device and the vehicle. If the key fob distance matches and/or is within a threshold margin of the mobile device distance, the vehicle controller determines that the user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently prevents processing of the unlock request. If the key fob distance does not match and/or is not within the threshold margin of the mobile device, the vehicle controller determines that another user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently processes the unlock request.” Here Lavioe teaches determining the number keys in the vicinity of the vehicle and controlling the unlocking process (Performing corresponding function) in response to the determine number of keys being singular or multiple.)
Regarding Claim 6, Lavoie teaches “The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the quantity information of mobile terminals within the preset range from the vehicle, and/or determining the quantity information of digital vehicle keys within the preset range from the vehicle comprises: determining whether a speed of the vehicle is less than a preset threshold; in response to the speed of the vehicle being less than the preset threshold, “([0024] Some examples disclosed herein prioritize input requests by monitoring a vehicle speed while an autonomy unit of a vehicle is performing motive functions for remote parking. In such examples, an autonomy unit of the vehicle performs motive functions for remote parking in response to a communication module of the vehicle receiving a remote parking signal from a mobile device of a user. A vehicle controller also is configured to receive an unlock request (e.g., from a key fob, a vehicle keypad, etc.) to unlock a vehicle door while the autonomy unit is performing the motive functions of the remote park-assist features. To enable a user to access a cabin of the vehicle, the vehicle controller is configured to instruct the autonomy unit to stop movement of the vehicle in response to (i) receiving an unlock request and (ii) determining that a vehicle speed is less than or equal to a threshold speed. The user is able to unlock and/or open a vehicle door when the vehicle is stopped. Further, to facilitate prioritization of input requests while remote parking is being performed, the vehicle controller prevents unlocking of the vehicle door in response to (i) receiving the unlock request and (ii) determining that the vehicle speed is greater than the threshold speed. In such instances, the vehicle controller does not instruct the autonomy unit to stop the vehicle and the autonomy unit continues to perform the motive functions for remote parking based upon the remote parking signal(s) received from the mobile device of the user.” Here lavioe teaches determining if the vehicle speed is below a threshold before continuing with the unlocking process);”determining the quantity information of mobile terminals within the preset range from the vehicle, and/or determining the quantity information of digital vehicle keys within the preset range from the vehicle.”( [0025] Some examples disclosed herein prioritize input requests by monitoring a number of key fobs within a tethering range of a vehicle. In such examples, an autonomy unit of the vehicle performs motive functions for remote parking in response to a communication module of the vehicle receiving a remote parking signal from a mobile device of a user. A vehicle controller also is configured to receive an unlock request from a key fob to unlock a vehicle door while the autonomy unit is performing the motive functions of the remote park-assist features. To facilitate prioritization of input requests while remote parking is being performed, the vehicle controller determines the number of key fobs within the tethering range of the vehicle upon receiving the unlock request while the remote parking is being performed. If the number of key fobs is one, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent from a key fob of the user initiating the remote parking via the mobile device without having to identify a location and/or distance to the key and/or the mobile device. In turn, the vehicle controller determines that the unlock request was sent accidentally and prevents processing of the unlock request to facilitate prioritization of the input requests. Further, in some examples, the vehicle controller processes the unlock request in response to identifying that the number of key fobs within the tethering range is two or more. In other examples, the vehicle controller attempts to determine whether the key fob that sent the unlock request is the user's key fob by comparing a distance between the key fob and the vehicle to a distance between the mobile device and the vehicle. If the key fob distance matches and/or is within a threshold margin of the mobile device distance, the vehicle controller determines that the user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently prevents processing of the unlock request. If the key fob distance does not match and/or is not within the threshold margin of the mobile device, the vehicle controller determines that another user's key fob sent the unlock request and subsequently processes the unlock request.” Here teaches that the unlocking process includes determining the amount of keys (quantity information) which read in light of [0024] teaches this is done after determining the vehicle is below a speed threshold)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190299847 A1, “VEHICLE CONTROL DEVICE”, Mori et al.
Regarding Claim 5, Cooper et al teaches “wherein the passive operation information further includes location information, and the controlling, based on the passive operation information corresponding to the at least one digital vehicle key, the vehicle to perform a corresponding operation comprises: obtaining, in response to a number of the mobile terminals being greater than one, and/or in response to a number of the digital vehicle keys being greater than one, the location information of the mobile terminals and/or digital vehicle keys, controlling, based on the location information, the vehicle”(Cooper [0010])
Cooper however does not teach one of the controls/responses by the vehicle includes “to turn on a path navigation function or a location reminder function.”
Mori et al teaches a keyless entry system which in response to detecting a user/mobile terminal ([0054]) causes the vehicle “to turn on a path navigation function or a location reminder function.”( [0096] Without being limited to this configuration, the ECU 10 may determine a guidance destination of the user in accordance with the vehicle exterior state, for example. An example in this case will be described with reference to FIGS. 15 to 18. FIGS. 15 to 18 are views illustrating an example of a process for determining the guidance destination of the user in accordance with the vehicle exterior state.” In response to detecting a user and determining the exterior surrounding state and interior state, the vehicle’s drawing unit (path navigation function) provides a guidance indication to the user, examples of which can be seen in figures 15/16 and 19 below)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application to modify Cooper to include the drawing unit and user guidance display as taught by Mori as part of the hands-free vehicle entry process. One would be motivated to implement the drawing unit to improve the operation of the device by allowing the system to better ensure that the user enters/opens a door to an unoccupied seat and/or avoids inconveniences (such as puddles) when entering the vehicle. Thereby improving user satisfaction. This motivation is taught in Mori ([0050] For example, the “vehicle interior state” includes an unoccupied state of the seats 2a to 2d. For example, the “vehicle exterior state” includes a position of the user which is determined by the user determination unit 11 (to be described later). For example, the position of the user means any one of the “right side of the vehicle 1”, the “left side of the vehicle 1” and “behind the vehicle 1”. In addition, the “vehicle exterior state” includes a state of the road surface around the vehicle 1, particularly, around a vehicle riding position. For example, the state of the road surface includes the presence or absence of an object which may interfere with vehicle riding, such as a puddle or an object placed on the road surface. For example, the “state of the vehicle 1” includes an open/closed state and a locked/unlocked state of the doors 3c to 3e serving as the electric doors, an on/off state of an engine, a state of an ignition switch, and a state of a dimmer switch.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 7-8 no prior art was found to teach or render obvious the different connections and protocols as recited in those claims
Regarding Claim 9 no prior art was found to teach the trajectory information and operation performances as recited in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10 no prior art was found to teach or render obvious the various areas and duration monitoring as recited in the claim.
Claims 20-21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claims 20-21 no prior art was found to teach or render obvious the first and second mobile terminals and their respective authentication and/or connection functions are recited .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH M DUNNE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669