DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Terzian (US 2961681).
Regarding claim 1, Terzian discloses a sponge block having an outer cover replacement function comprising:
a sponge layer (item 14 in figure 2); and
an outer cover (item 26 in figure 4) coupled to cover remaining surfaces of the sponge layer except for front and rear surfaces thereof (item 26 is described as a tubular sheath, column 3 lines 10-16, C3:L10-16, shown in figure 4, that is slipped endwise over the block item 32), configured to be replaceable (C3:L25-28 describe removing and replacing the cover) depending on a purpose of use, and provided with a waterproof layer on an inner surface of the outer cover (C2:L9-18, describe a rubber layer, item 22 in figure 2, and an adhesive layer, item 24 in figure 2, between the fabric layer and the sponge layer as combining to be impervious to water), wherein the waterproof layer prevents polish or coating solution on the outer surface of the outer cover from being wasted by being absorbed into the sponge layer after penetrating the outer cover (C2:L44-52 describe preventing the penetration of extraneous matter, including the coating material, into the sponge layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terzian (US 2961681) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al (KR 20200100930).
Regarding claim 5, Terzian discloses the sponge block according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the upper part and lower part of the sponge layer have different hardness each other, and wherein selected one among the upper part and the lower part of the sponge layer can be used for coating.
Kwon, which is also concerned with applying a coating, teaches that the upper part (item 31 in figure 4) and lower part (item 32 in figure 4) of the sponge layer have different hardness each other (paragraph [0014] of the included translation, discloses that the main block and stacking block have a hardness that allows them to be used as a handle), and wherein selected one among the upper part and the lower part of the sponge layer can be used for coating (the abstract on page 1 of the included translation details use for coating).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Terzian with the layers of differing hardness of Kwon to provide a portion that can act as a handle that won’t scratch the coating surface (Kwon paragraph [0014] of the included translation).
Regarding claim 6, Terzian disclose the sponge block according to claim 1. However, Terzian fails to disclose that the outer cover is provided with a microfiber fabric.
Kwon, which is also concerned with applying a coating, teaches that the outer cover (item 40 in figure 8) is provided with a microfiber fabric (paragraph [0011] of the included translation, describes the cloth as a microfiber cloth).
Thus, Terzian and Kwon each disclose a means for applying a coating to a surface. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the microfiber cloth of Kwon could have been substituted for the pile fabric of Terzian because both the microfiber cloth and the pile fabric serve the purpose of providing a material to apply a coating to a surface. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of having a material for applying a coating to a surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the microfiber cloth of Kwon for the pile fabric of Terzian according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a material to apply a coating to a surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is determined to contain allowable subject matter based on the guides being part of the cover, reducing friction, and preventing sagging of the cover layer.
Claim 3 is determined to contain allowable subject based on the structure of the guides and their interaction with the sponge layer.
Claim 4 is determined to contain allowable subject matter based on the guides interacting with grooves on the sponge layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20040117935 describes using projections to attach a cleaning cover to a base.
US 5483720 describes using a dovetail joint to attach a cleaning pad to a base.
US 5671498 describes a cleaning pad using a sponge as a base and includes a hydrophobic layer.
CN116638451A describes a buffer damping cloth for polishing.
/FREDERICK A. HINDMAN JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723