DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (figure 2), including claims 1-6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 20-24, in the reply filed on 10/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the specific limitation “the fixing portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou et al. (CN 111552116).
Regarding claim 1, Zou et al. (figure 1) discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel comprising a display area and a non-display area around the display area (31 and 33); and
a first supporting frame (11 and 13) arranged at a light incident side of the display panel, wherein the first supporting frame is used for supporting a loaded part, and the loaded part comprises the display panel (31 and 33), and
the first supporting frame comprises a supporting portion (11 and 13), and the supporting portion comprises a first supporting surface facing the display panel and parallel to the display panel, the first supporting surface and the loaded part are bonded and fixed by a fixing adhesive (40), and an orthographic projection of the first supporting surface on the display panel overlaps with the non-display area (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zou et al. (figure 1) discloses a back plate (50), wherein the back plate and the first supporting frame form a cavity for accommodating the backlight assembly (70); wherein the first supporting frame further comprises a fixing portion, the fixing portion is at a side of the supporting portion facing away from the display panel, and the fixing portion is fixed with the back plate (60).
Regarding claim 5, Zou et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the supporting portion (13) further comprises a first side surface perpendicular to the first supporting surface and facing an inside of the display device, and the first side surface is aligned with an edge of the non-display area adjacent to the display area (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Lee et al. (KR 10-2017-0123972).
Regarding claim 2, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding the back plate comprises a main body portion parallel to the display panel and a bending portion perpendicular to the main body portion and extending in a direction towards the display panel. Lee et al. (figures 1-4b) teaches wherein the fixing portion comprises: a bottom surface facing away from the display panel and parallel to the display panel (110 and 210-220); a second side surface perpendicular to the bottom surface and facing an outside of the display device; and an inclined surface forming an acute angle with the bottom surface and facing an inside of the display device, wherein the back plate comprises a main body portion parallel to the display panel and a bending portion perpendicular to the main body portion and extending in a direction towards the display panel, the main body portion of the back plate is connected with the bottom surface of the fixing portion, and the bending portion of the back plate is connected with the second side surface of the fixing portion (151, 153, 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Lee et al. in order to achieve a lightweight display device having a narrow bezel with a wide display area.
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. (figures 1-4b) teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the bending portion of the back plate on the display panel is within an orthographic projection of the first supporting frame on the display panel (153, 220, 210).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Li et al. (CN 209690674); further in view of Chen et al. (CN 112735258).
Regarding claim 6, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding a glass diffuser. Li et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the loaded part further comprises a diffuser (162-164) between the first supporting surface of the first supporting frame and the display panel (50 and C), the diffuser and the first supporting surface are bonded and fixed by a fixing adhesive (200), and the glass diffuser is fixed with the display panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Li et al. in order to achieve direct type backlight module and a display apparatus with frameless visual effect.
In addition, Chen et al. (figures 1-3) teaches a glass diffuser and wherein a thickness of the glass diffuser is greater than 0.9 mm (glass substrate 1 thickness range is from 0.5mm to 1.1mm; the thickness range of the diffusion layer 12 is 30 microns to 80 microns). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Chen et al. in order to improve the optical performance of the display backlight and reduce the manufacturing costs.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Li et al. (CN 209690674) and Chen et al. (CN 112735258); further in view of Han et al. (CN 209946590) and Official Notice.
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the loaded part further comprises a diffuser (162-164) between the first supporting surface of the first supporting frame and the display panel (50 and C) and Chen et al. (figures 1-3) teaches the optical layers further includes quantum dot film (13). Zou et al. is silent regarding an edge sealant covering side surfaces of the display panel. Han et al. (figures 1-4) teaches an edge sealant covering side surfaces of the display panel (22b, figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Han et al. in order to improve the strength of the support frame.
The examiner takes Official Notice that the use of transparent optical adhesive layers between the display layers was well-known in the art at the time of the invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use those elements, motivated by the desire to securely fix the layers together and produce a high-quality display device. Claim 8 is therefore unpatentable.
Therefore, Zou et al. as modified by Li et al., Chen et al., Han et al. and Official Notice teaches wherein the loaded part further comprises a quantum dot film between the glass diffuser and the display panel, wherein the glass diffuser and the quantum dot film are fixed by an optical transparent adhesive, and the quantum dot film and the display panel are fixed by an optical transparent adhesive, the quantum dot film and the glass diffuser facing an outside of the display device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Li et al. (CN 209690674) and Chen et al. (CN 112735258); further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 10, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding an optical film at a side of the glass diffuser facing away from the display panel. Chen et al. (figures 1-3) teaches an optical film at a side of the glass diffuser facing away from the display panel (3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Chen et al. in order to improve the optical performance of the display backlight and reduce the manufacturing costs.
The examiner takes Official Notice that the use of transparent optical adhesive layers between the display layers was well-known in the art at the time of the invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use those elements, motivated by the desire to securely fix the layers together and produce a high-quality display device. Claim 10 is therefore unpatentable.
Therefore, Zou et al. as modified by Li et al., Chen et al., and Official Notice teaches the optical film and the glass diffuser are fixed by an optical transparent adhesive.
Claims 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Li et al. (CN 209690674).
Regarding claim 14, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding an overflow groove. Li et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the first supporting surface is provided with a first adhesive overflow groove, and wherein the first adhesive overflow groove is continuously distributed on the first supporting surface (200 and C, S2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Li et al. in order to achieve direct type backlight module and a display apparatus with frameless visual effect.
Regarding claim 16, Zou et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the supporting portion (13) further comprises a first side surface perpendicular to the first supporting surface and facing an inside of the display device, and the first side surface is aligned with an edge of the non-display area adjacent to the display area (figure 1). Therefore, Zou et al. as modified by Li et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the first adhesive overflow groove on the display panel is within the non-display area.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116).
Regarding claim 16, Zou et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a ratio of a width of the non-display area of the display panel to a width of the first supporting surface of the first supporting frame ranges from 0.6 to 0.8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a ratio of a width of the non-display area of the display panel to a width of the first supporting surface of the first supporting frame ranges from 0.6 to 0.8, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 14, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding an overflow groove. Li et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the first supporting surface is provided with a first adhesive overflow groove, and wherein the first adhesive overflow groove is continuously distributed on the first supporting surface (200 and C, S2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Li et al. in order to achieve direct type backlight module and a display apparatus with frameless visual effect.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Han et al. (CN 209946590).
Regarding claim 21, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding wherein the first supporting frame is made of aluminum material. Han et al. (figures 1-4) teaches wherein the first supporting frame is made of aluminum material (the material of the frame 20 can be a metal material with strong rigid, e.g., metal aluminum, metal iron or alloy material; see at least page 6, 4th paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Han et al. in order to improve the strength of the support frame.
Regarding claim 22, Zou et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the fixing adhesive provides an adhesive strength between the aluminum material and a glass material of more than 4 MPa. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixing adhesive provides an adhesive strength between the aluminum material and a glass material of more than 4 MPa, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 23, Han et al. (figures 1-4) teaches wherein the display panel is quadrangular, and the first supporting frame is arranged around a first side, a second side and a third side of the display panel.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111552116) in view of Han et al. (CN 209946590); further in view of Yang et al. (CN 107505755).
Regarding claim 24, Zou et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 23 above. However, Zou et al. is silent regarding a flip-chip film. Yang et al. (figures 1-8) teaches wherein a flip-chip film (4; figures 3-4) is arranged on a fourth side of the display panel, and the display device further comprises a decorative strip arranged on the fourth side of the display panel and at a light exiting side of the display panel, and the decorative strip at least partially shields the flip-chip film (4, 6, 6’; figure 7(. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel as taught by Yang et al. in order to achieve a frameless liquid crystal module.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871