DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on October 5th, 2026 is acknowledged. One pages of amended drawings and three pages of amended claims were received on 10/5/2026. The drawings have been amended such that they are no longer objected to. Claims 1, 3, and 9 have been amended. Claims 2 and 5-7 have been cancelled. Claims 10-15 are newly presented. The claims have been amended to overcome previous claim objections in the non-final rejection mailed 7/6/2026. Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as noted below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2004/0079339 A1 to Reiter (“Reiter”) in view of US PGPUB 2019/0055910 A1 to Scheller (“Scheller”).
As to Claim 1, Reiter discloses a fuel injector for metered delivery of a gaseous or liquid fuel (See #1 in Fig. 3 and See Paragraph 0030) having a housing (See H in Annotated Fig. 3, which is made up #22 and #17) in which a compensating chamber (See CC in Annotated Fig. 3 and See Paragraph 0002 disclosing compensation) bounded by a tubular crimping bellows (#3) and fillable with a lubricant is formed (See Annotated Fig. 3, the compensating chamber CC is capable of being filled with some lubricant), wherein the crimping bellows is connected at one end with a first connecting part (#16) and at another end with a second connecting part (#4) in a fluid-tight manner (See Fig. 3 and Paragraphs 0030-0031),
wherein
a thread (#6) and a screwing surface accessible from an interior of the crimping bellows are formed on the first connecting part (See SCS in Annotated Fig. 3, an interior surface SCS of #16 is a surface that is capable of being used to screw #16 to #17 and can be accessed from within #3), wherein a screwing force can be applied to the first connecting part on the screwing surface by a force-locking or positive-locking connection with a tool or with another component of the fuel injector (See Annotated Fig. 3, the screwing surface SCS on #16 is arranged such that some tool is capable of forming a force-locking or positive-locking connection with the screwing surface SCS), in order to screw the first connecting part into a fastening thread in the housing (See Paragraph 0030 disclosing a fastening thread on #17 that #6 screws onto. See Annotated Fig. 3 showing fastening thread FT.).
Regarding Claim 1, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter as applied to Claim 1 above, Reiter does not specifically disclose wherein the screwing surface in the first connecting part is formed as a polygonal socket (See Annotated Fig. 3. Reiter does not specifically disclose a cross sectional shape of SCS).
However, Scheller discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fuel injection (See Paragraph 0002), a fuel injector (See Fig. 3) comprising a first connecting part (#24) having a thread (#34) and a screwing surface (#44) , wherein a screwing force can be applied to the first connecting part on the screwing surface by a force-locking or positive-locking connection with a tool (See Paragraph 0046) in order to screw the first connecting part into a fastening thread (#36) in a housing (#14), wherein the screwing surface is formed as a polygonal socket (See Fig. 4 and Paragraph 0011 disclosing a hexagonal socket).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fuel injector of Reiter as applied to Claim 1 above such that the screwing surface of the first connecting part is formed as the hexagonal socket of Scheller, since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing screwing with a suitable socket connection while protecting against misuse and allowing for a smaller design (See Scheller Paragraph 0032).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied to Claim 1 above, Reiter as modified by Scheller further discloses wherein an opening is formed in the second connecting part (See OP in Annotated Fig. 3), through which a tool with a polygonal profile can be inserted into the interior of the crimping bellows such that the tool can be brought into a positive-locking connection with the polygonal socket (See Annotated Fig. 3. If SCS is modified to be the hexagonal socket of Scheller, then some tool can be inserted through OP and into #3 that can be brought into a positive locking connection with the hexagonal socket on SCS).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied to Claim 3 above, Reiter further discloses wherein the opening in the second connecting part can be sealed fluid-tight by a closure element (See Annotated Fig. 3. The opening OP in #4 is capable of being sealed fluid-tight by some closure element inserted into #13).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied to Claim 1 above, Reiter further discloses wherein a sealing surface is formed on the first connecting part, which causes a formation of a fluid-tight connection when the first connecting part is screwed into the fastening thread at a sealing seat (See SES in Annotated Fig. 3 and See Paragraph 0030. The sealing surface SES forms a fluid tight connection between #16 and #3 when #6 is screwed onto FT such that SES seals on #19).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied to Claim 1 above, Scheller further discloses wherein the screwing surface of the first connecting part is formed as a hexagonal socket (See Fig. 4 and Paragraph 0045).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, in combination with other limitations recited in independent Claim 10: “wherein the screwing surface, which has a polygonal profile, is formed on the first connecting part and a polygonal socket is formed on the second connecting part such that the second connecting part can be brought into positive-locking engagement with the polygonal profile of the first connecting part by compressing the crimping bellows”.
Regarding Claim 10, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied above, Reiter does not disclose wherein the screwing surface, which has a polygonal profile, is formed on the first connecting part and a polygonal socket is formed on the second connecting part such that the second connecting part can be brought into positive-locking engagement with the polygonal profile of the first connecting part by compressing the crimping bellows (See Annotated Fig. 3, the screwing surface SCS is formed internally on #16, and no socket is formed on #4 that can be brought into positive-locking engagement with #16). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not be motivated to reconfigure the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied above such that the screwing surface is a polygonal profile that is formed on the first connecting part while a polygonal socket is formed on the second connecting part so that the second connecting part can be brought into positive-locking engagement with the polygonal profile of the first connecting part by compressing the crimping bellows as required by independent Claim 10, as making such a modification would require substantial reconfiguration of the fuel injector and there is no prior teaching in Reiter, Scheller, or other prior art that indicates that making such a modification would be an obvious design choice without utilizing improper hindsight.
Claims 11-12 depend from Claim 13, therefore Claims 11-12 are also allowed.
The prior art also fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, in combination with other limitations recited in independent Claim 13: “wherein the screwing surface is a first friction surface formed perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the thread on the first connecting part and a second friction surface is formed on the second connecting part aligned parallel to the first friction surface, wherein the first friction surface can be brought into contact with the second friction surface by compressing the crimping bellows for transmission of the screwing force”.
Regarding Claim 13, in reference to the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied above, Reiter does not disclose wherein the screwing surface is a first friction surface formed perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the thread on the first connecting part and a second friction surface is formed on the second connecting part aligned parallel to the first friction surface, wherein the first friction surface can be brought into contact with the second friction surface by compressing the crimping bellows for transmission of the screwing force (See Annotated Fig. 3, the screwing surface SCS is formed internally on #16. While SCS as a whole can be considered a first friction surface that is perpendicular to axis A1 of #6 and a surface S2 can be considered a second friction surface, the first friction surface on SCS is not capable of being brought into contact with S2 by compressing #3 to transmit the screwing force). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not be motivated to reconfigure the fuel injector of Reiter in view of Scheller as applied above such that the screwing surface is a first friction surface formed perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the thread on the first connecting part and a second friction surface is formed on the second connecting part aligned parallel to the first friction surface so that the first friction surface can be brought into contact with the second friction surface by compressing the crimping bellows for transmission of the screwing force as required by independent Claim 13, as making such a modification would require substantial reconfiguration of the fuel injector and there is no prior teaching in Reiter, Scheller, or other prior art that indicates that making such a modification would be an obvious design choice without utilizing improper hindsight.
Claims 14-15 depend from Claim 13, therefore Claims 14-15 are also allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claim 1, which is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter in view of Scheller, applicant argues that neither Reiter, Scheller, nor any combination thereof teaches or suggests a polygonal socket formed on a first connecting part through which a screwing force is applied to screw the first connecting part into a fastening thread in a housing as required by the claim. Applicant argues that Reiter already provides the functional benefit of a screwing interface on the outside of the inflow section 16 rather than on SCS shown in Annotated Fig. 3, and that because Reiter's screwing interface is provided externally, Reiter is not assembled by applying torque through SCS, thus a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Reiter to include Scheller's hexagonal socket 46 because Reiter already uses exterior thread 6 and union nut 17 to provide the screwing interface used to secure the corrugated-tube bellows 3 to the inflow section 16.
These arguments are not found persuasive. The claimed invention need not be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the applied references, taken as a whole, would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981) and In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971). A prima facie case of obviousness is established by presenting evidence indicating that the reference teachings would appear to be sufficient for one of ordinary skill in the relevant art having those teachings before him to make the proposed combination or other modification. See In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972). The motivation for modifying a primary reference need not come from the primary reference itself, but may come from a secondary reference. In re Laskowski, 10 USPQ2d 1397 (Fed. Cir. 1989). As to the desirability of the modification, the proper inquiry is “whether there is something in the prior art as a whole to suggest the desirability, and thus the obviousness, of making the combination,’ not whether there is something in the prior art as a whole to suggest that the combination is the most desirable combination available.” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
While Reiter does already provide an external screwing interface on the outside of #16, one of ordinary skill in the art would still have been motivated modify the fuel injector of Reiter such that the screwing surface of the first connecting part is formed as the hexagonal socket of Scheller, since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing screwing with a suitable socket connection while protecting against misuse and allowing for a smaller design as disclosed in Scheller Paragraph 0032. Scheller Paragraph 0032 explicitly states “In some embodiments, the screw drive in the internal bore is configured as a polygonal socket, in particular as a hex socket, or as a lobular socket, in particular as a hexalobular socket. When the existing internal bore of the fluid port is used for a further purpose, namely in order to transmit a torque to the screw connection between the fluid port and port receiving bore, a geometrically rounded form, for example the hexalobular socket, is most suitable. Resulting therefrom are a screw drive that is not apparent from outside and protects against misuse, and also the smaller design, which results in a cost reduction”, thus Scheller teaches the advantages of an internal screwing interface over an external screwing interface. Such a modification would still allow for securing of the first connecting part the fuel injector with the fuel injector still functioning properly, along with added benefits of preventing someone from inadvertently disconnecting the first connecting part in addition to having a reduced sized fuel injector that is lighter and easier to handle. Thus, even though Reiter already provides an external screwing interface, the teachings of Reiter and Scheller are sufficient for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed fuel injector in Claim 1, and the above rejections of Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 November 2nd, 2026