DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0130311 A1 to Zhao et al.
As to claim 1, Zhao discloses a pixel circuit, comprising a driving circuit, a data-writing circuit, a data-writing control circuit and a light-emitting element; wherein
the driving circuit is configured to drive the light-emitting element to emit light (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where driving transistor (T1) is the driving circuit which drives light-emitting element (D1));
the data-writing circuit is coupled to a control end, a data line and a first end of the driving circuit, and is configured to control a connection or disconnection between the data line and the first end of the driving circuit under a control of a control signal provided by the control end (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where data-writing transistor (T2) is connected to data line (Vdata), driving transistor (T1) and scan line (Scan3));
the data-writing control circuit is coupled to the control end and is configured to control the control signal to control whether the data-writing circuit writes a data voltage provided by the data line into the first end of the driving circuit under the control of the control signal (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0041, where scan line (Scan3) controls data-writing transistor (T2) by providing a control signal to the gate of transistor (T2) and when turned on, data voltage (Vdata) is sent through transistor (T2)), and
the data-writing control circuit is further coupled to the data line and a scanning end, and is configured to control the control signal according to a scanning signal provided by the scanning end under a control of the data voltage provided by the data line (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0041, where data-writing transistor (T2) is connected to data line (Vdata) and scan line (Scan3) and transistor (T2) controls when data voltage (Vdata) is sent through based on the scan signal (Scan3) on the gate of transistor (T2)).
As to claim 4, Zhao discloses the pixel circuit, wherein the data-writing control circuit is further coupled to a first node, and is configured to control a connection or disconnection between the scanning end and the first node under the control of the data voltage, and control the control signal according to a potential of the first node (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where data-writing transistor (T2) is connected to a node as shown in the figure).
As to claim 7, Zhao discloses the pixel circuit, further comprising a compensation control circuit; wherein
the compensation control circuit is coupled to the control end, a control end of the driving circuit and a second end of the driving circuit, and is configured to control a connection or disconnection between the control end of the driving circuit and the second end of the driving circuit under a control of a control signal provided by the control end (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where compensation transistor (T3) is connected to scan line (Scan1) and the gate and one end of driving transistor (T1)).
As to claim 18, Zhao discloses a display substrate, comprising the pixel circuit (Fig. 9, paragraph 0068, display panel (10), pixel circuit (100)).
As to claim 19, Zhao discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate (Fig. 9, paragraph 0068, display panel (10)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0130311 A1 to Zhao et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0358407 A1 to Xu et al.
As to claim 14, Zhao discloses the pixel circuit, further comprising a first light-emitting control circuit, a second light-emitting control circuit, an energy storage circuit;
the first light-emitting control circuit is coupled to a light-emitting control end, a first voltage line and the first end of the driving circuit, and is configured to control the connection or disconnection between the first voltage line and the first end of the driving circuit under a control of the light-emitting control signal provided by the light-emitting control end (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0032, where the first light-emitting control circuit is transistor (T5) and it is connected to voltage (Vdd), driving transistor (T1) and signal input terminal (EM1));
the second light-emitting control circuit is coupled to the light-emitting control end, a second end of the driving circuit and the first electrode of the light-emitting element, and is configured to control the connection or disconnection between the second end of the driving circuit and the first electrode of the light-emitting element under the control of the light-emitting control signal (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0032, where the second light-emitting control circuit is transistor (T6) and it is connected to light-emitting element (D1), driving transistor (T1) and signal input terminal (EM2));
the energy storage circuit is coupled to the control end of the driving circuit and is configured to maintain the potential of the control end of the driving circuit (Fig. 2, paragraph 0067, where storage capacitor (Cst) is connected to driving transistor (T1));
a second electrode of the light-emitting element is coupled to a second voltage line (Fig. 2, paragraph 0031, where light-emitting element (D1) is connected to voltage (Vss));
the driving circuit is configured to generate a driving current for driving the light-emitting element under the control of the potential of the control end (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where driving transistor (T1) generates a driving current to drive light-emitting element (D1)).
Zhao is deficient in disclosing the pixel circuit, further comprising a first initialization circuit;
the first initialization circuit is coupled to the first reset end, a first initialization voltage end and the control end of the driving circuit, and is configured to write a first initialization voltage provided by the first initialization voltage end into the control end of the driving circuit under a control of a first reset signal provided by the first reset end.
However, Xu discloses the pixel circuit, further comprising a first initialization circuit (Fig. 11, paragraph 0114, where transistor (T6) is the first initialization circuit);
the first initialization circuit is coupled to the first reset end, a first initialization voltage end and the control end of the driving circuit, and is configured to write a first initialization voltage provided by the first initialization voltage end into the control end of the driving circuit under a control of a first reset signal provided by the first reset end (Fig. 11, paragraphs 0102-0114, where transistor (T6) is coupled to reset control line (17), initialization voltage (Vint) and driving transistor (T1)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pixel circuit as taught by Zhao by including an initialization circuit as taught by Xu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reset the pixel circuit (Xu, paragraph 0093).
As to claim 15, Zhao is deficient in disclosing the pixel circuit, further comprising a second initialization circuit;
the second initialization circuit is coupled to the second reset end, a second initialization voltage end and the first electrode of the light-emitting element, and is configured to write a second initialization voltage provided by the second initialization voltage end into the first electrode of the light-emitting element under a control of a second reset signal provided by the second reset end.
However, Xu discloses the pixel circuit, further comprising a second initialization circuit (Fig. 11, paragraph 0102, where the second initialization circuit is transistor (T7));
the second initialization circuit is coupled to the second reset end, a second initialization voltage end and the first electrode of the light-emitting element, and is configured to write a second initialization voltage provided by the second initialization voltage end into the first electrode of the light-emitting element under a control of a second reset signal provided by the second reset end (Fig. 11, paragraphs 0102-0114, where transistor (T7) is connected to reset control line (17), initialization voltage (Vint) and light-emitting diode (20)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 14.
As to claim 16, Zhao discloses the pixel circuit, wherein the driving circuit comprises a third transistor, the data-writing circuit comprises a fourth transistor, the first light-emitting control circuit comprises a fifth transistor, the second light-emitting control circuit comprises a sixth transistor, the compensation control circuit comprises a seventh transistor, and the energy storage circuit comprises a storage capacitor;
a gate of the third transistor is coupled to the control end of the driving circuit, a first electrode of the third transistor is coupled to the first end of the driving circuit, and a second electrode of the third transistor is coupled to the second end of the driving circuit (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where transistor (T1) is the driving circuit);
a gate of the fourth transistor is coupled to the control end, a first electrode of the fourth transistor is coupled to the data line, and a second electrode of the fourth transistor is coupled to the first electrode of the third transistor (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where transistor (T2) is the data-writing circuit);
a gate of the fifth transistor is coupled to the light-emitting control end, a first electrode of the fifth transistor is coupled to the first voltage line, and a second electrode of the fifth transistor is coupled to the first electrode of the third transistor (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0032, where the first light-emitting control circuit is transistor (T5));
a gate of the sixth transistor is coupled to the light-emitting control end, a first electrode of the sixth transistor is coupled to the second electrode of the third transistor, and a second electrode of the sixth transistor is coupled to the first electrode of the light-emitting element (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0032, where the second light-emitting control circuit is transistor);
a gate of the seventh transistor is coupled to the control end, a first electrode of the seventh transistor is coupled to the gate of the third transistor, and a second electrode of the seventh transistor is coupled to the second electrode of the third transistor (Fig. 2, paragraph 0030, where compensation transistor (T3));
a first end of the storage capacitor is electrically connected to the gate of the third transistor, and a second end of the storage capacitor is electrically connected to the first voltage line (Fig. 2, paragraph 0067, where storage capacitor (Cst) is connected to driving transistor (T1)).
Zhao is deficient in disclosing the data-writing circuit comprising the first initialization circuit comprises an eight transistor;
a gate of the eighth transistor is coupled to the first reset end, a first electrode of the eighth transistor is coupled to the first initialization voltage end, and a second electrode of the eighth transistor is coupled to the gate of the third transistor.
However, Xu discloses the data-writing circuit comprising the first initialization circuit comprises an eight transistor (Fig. 11, paragraph 0114, where transistor (T6) is the first initialization circuit);
a gate of the eighth transistor is coupled to the first reset end, a first electrode of the eighth transistor is coupled to the first initialization voltage end, and a second electrode of the eighth transistor is coupled to the gate of the third transistor (Fig. 11, paragraphs 0102-0114, where transistor (T6) is coupled to reset control line (17), initialization voltage (Vint) and driving transistor (T1)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 14.
As to claim 17, Zhao is deficient in disclosing the pixel circuit, wherein the second initialization circuit comprises a ninth transistor;
a gate of the ninth transistor is coupled to the second reset end, a first electrode of the ninth transistor is coupled to the second initialization voltage end, and a second electrode of the ninth transistor is coupled to the first electrode of the light-emitting element.
However, Xu discloses the pixel circuit, wherein the second initialization circuit comprises a ninth transistor (Fig. 11, paragraph 0102, where transistor (T7) is the transistor);
a gate of the ninth transistor is coupled to the second reset end, a first electrode of the ninth transistor is coupled to the second initialization voltage end, and a second electrode of the ninth transistor is coupled to the first electrode of the light-emitting element (Fig. 11, paragraph 0102, where transistor (T7) is connected to reset control signal line (17), initialization voltage (Vint) and light-emitting diode (20)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “wherein the data-writing control circuit comprises a first transistor and a first capacitor; a gate of the first transistor is coupled to the data line, a first electrode of the first transistor is coupled to the scanning end, and a second electrode of the first transistor is coupled to the first node; a first end of the first capacitor is coupled to the first node, and a second end of the first capacitor is coupled to the control end”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 9.
The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “wherein the display area of the display device comprises a low refresh rate display area; the low refresh rate display area corresponds to at least one corresponding non-refresh display period; the at least one non-refresh display period is comprised in the display time; the display driving method comprises: in the low refresh rate display area, during the data-writing phase included in the non-refresh display period, controlling, by the data-writing control circuit, the data-writing circuit to stop writing the data voltage into the first end of the driving circuit under the control of the control signal”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 20 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, on pages 11-15, Zhao fails to disclose, “the data-writing control circuit is coupled to the control end and is configured to control the control signal to control whether the data-writing circuit writes a data voltage provided by the data line into the first end of the driving circuit under the control of the control signal” and “the data-writing control circuit is further coupled to the data line and a scanning end, and is configured to control the control signal according to a scanning signal provided by the scanning end under a control of the data voltage provided by the data line”. Examiner disagrees as Zhao discloses, “the data-writing control circuit is coupled to the control end and is configured to control the control signal to control whether the data-writing circuit writes a data voltage provided by the data line into the first end of the driving circuit under the control of the control signal” (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0041, where scan line (Scan3) controls data-writing transistor (T2) by providing a control signal to the gate of transistor (T2) and when turned on, data voltage (Vdata) is sent through transistor (T2)). In addition, Zhao also discloses, “the data-writing control circuit is further coupled to the data line and a scanning end, and is configured to control the control signal according to a scanning signal provided by the scanning end under a control of the data voltage provided by the data line” (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0030-0041, where data-writing transistor (T2) is connected to data line (Vdata) and scan line (Scan3) and transistor (T2) controls when data voltage (Vdata) is sent through based on the scan signal (Scan3) on the gate of transistor (T2)).
Applicant argues, on page 16, the application is in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627