DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19-21 and 23-32, 34-36, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimura et al., US 2016/0215084 A1, in view of Dougherty et al., US 5468820.
Regarding claim 17, Shimura teaches a curable inkjet composition for printed circuit boards (Abstract), the composition comprising a polymerizable compound having a vinyl group ([0081], corresponding to the claimed component “(i)”), a blocked isocyanate crosslinking agent ([0054], corresponding to the claimed component “(ii)”), and a polymerizable methacrylate ([0038]-[0041]).
The teachings of Shimura differ from the present invention in that although Shimura teaches the use a polymerizable compound having a vinyl group as an active diluent, Shimura of does not teach any of the specific polymerizable vinyl compounds listed in the present claim 1. Dougherty, however, teaches that the use of n-vinyl caprolactam as a reactive diluent in such compositions results in a product with improved adhesion, reduced discoloration, and improved protective properties (Abstract, col. 1 ln. 5-35, col. 2 ln. 3-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use n-vinyl caprolactam as the vinyl-containing reactive diluent of Shimura, because doing so would result in a product with improved adhesion, reduced discoloration, and improved protective properties.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Shimura teaches the use of a blocked isocyanate ([0054]) that may be an isocyanuate ([0065]).
Regarding claim 21, Shimura teaches the use of a triazine compound ([0044]).
Regarding claim 23, Shimura teaches that the methacrylate may be present in an amount of 5-50 parts by mass relative to the total weight of the composition ([0041]).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Shimura teaches the use of lauryl acrylate or lauryl methacrylate ([0082]).
Regarding claim 26, Shimura teaches a viscosity of 5 to 20 mPa.s ([0086). Although Shimura teaches this viscosity range at 50 ⁰C rather than the claimed 45 ⁰C, it is highly likely that the viscosity of the product of Shimura would still overlap with the claimed range at 45 ⁰C. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an appropriate viscosity for the ink of Shimura based on the intended use and desired application temperature, as Shimura explicitly teaches adjusting the viscosity of the ink to facilitate jet printing ([0086]).
Regarding claims 27-30, Shimura teaches a PCB board comprising a solder mask made by applying the above ink composition to a dielectric substrate and heating to a temperature of 80 – 200 ⁰C ([0090]).
Regarding claim 31-32, 34-36, and 38, Shimura teaches that the ink composition may be used to make a solder resist layer (ie, a solder mask) on a PCB ([0135]). Regarding claim 31 specifically, although Shimura does not explicitly state that such a PCB comprises a dielectric substrate and conductive circuitry, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that such a PCB would necessarily comprised a dielectric substrate and conductive circuitry.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3-18-2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to claims 22 and 37. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 22 and 37 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7, 19-21 and 23-32, 34-36, and 38 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the present rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN A RUMMEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785