DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 10/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the identified inventive groups share the same special technical feature recited in claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the state of the prior art, as exemplified by at least Urasaki (see below), already discloses all the features of claim 1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 29-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Group 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2025, 10/6/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The claims are replete with grammatical errors. For example:
In claim 1, the various limitations should be separated by semicolons and/or commas.
In claim 13, the recitation of “rows-and columns” should read “rows and columns”;
In claim 18, the second recitation of “humid gas feed terminal” should read “the humid gas feed terminal.”
Examiner requests Applicant assistance in reviewing the claims to ensure proper sentence formatting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Urasaki (JP 2009051081A).
Regarding claim 1:
Urasaki discloses an electrohydrodynamic inkjet print head comprising:
a plurality of ink nozzles (5) at a front side of the print head (Fig. 3);
a plurality of ventilation openings (8) at the front side of the print head (Fig. 3);
at least one ink feed terminal (9); and
ink feed ducts (10, 13, 6) connecting the ink feed terminal to the nozzles (Fig. 3),
wherein the front side has an active region (encompassing the nozzles 5: Fig. 3a) surrounded by a passive region (encompassing the surrounding airflow generating holes 8: Fig. 3a), wherein all the ink nozzles are arranged in the active region (Fig. 3) and wherein the ventilation openings are arranged in the active and the passive regions (Fig. 3) such that the active region is surrounded by the ventilation openings (Fig. 3).
Examiner notes that the claim preamble is directed towards an “electrohydrodynamic” print head. However, this feature does not breathe life into the claim since the claim body does reference the particular technology used for drop ejection actuation.
Regarding claim 2:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the ink nozzles are arranged in the active region in rows and columns (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and also that the active region is elongate having a short axis (e.g. horizontally, in Fig. 3) and a long axis (e.g. vertically, in Fig. 3), with the columns of the nozzles extending along the long axis and the rows of the nozzles extending along the short axis (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and also that the ink feed ducts comprise a plurality of ink feed slit vias (6, 13) and at least one horizontal bulk ink feed duct (10) with each ink feed slit via having a backward end connected to the bulk ink feed duct (Fig. 3) and a forward end connected to several nozzles arranged in a row (Fig. 3), wherein the ink feed slit vias are arranged parallel to the rows of the ink nozzles (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and also that the bulk ink feed duct is located behind and centered on each feed slit via (Figs. 3a-b).
Regarding claim 6:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and also that the ink feed slit vias are arranged parallel to each other (Fig. 3) with one ink feed slit via for each row of nozzles (any particular slit via 6, 13: Fig. 3),
wherein the ink feed slit vias are connected to the same bulk ink feed duct (paragraph 62 & Fig. 3), and
wherein the bulk ink feed duct extends parallel to the columns of the nozzles (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and also that each ink feed slit via is adapted to feed ink along a vertical direction through at least one layer (2, 3) of the print head (Fig. 3), wherein the layer or layers comprise slit-shaped openings at the location of the ink feed slit vias (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 38:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the print head is comprised in an printing system that also comprises an ink source (liquid tank 62) connected to the at least one ink feed terminal (Fig. 14), and a dry gas source (“atmosphere”) connected to at least one dry gas feed terminal (inlets to 8) of the print head (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 39:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 38, and also that the system comprises a gas cooling unit (chamber component 12) to cool the gas fed to the print head (at least via convection: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 40:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and also that each ink feed slit via is arranged vertically behind a row of nozzles (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urasaki (JP 2009051081A) in view of Inou et al. (US 2010/0208010 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose ink withdrawal.
However, Inou et al. disclose a print head that provides ink circulation flow with a downsized structure (paragraph 13) by comprising at least one ink withdrawal terminal (outlet of path 2a/b) and ink withdrawal ducts (at least ink outlet port 19) connecting the nozzles to the ink withdrawal terminal (Fig. 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Urasaki’s print head to include an ink circulation configuration, such as that taught by Inou et al.
Regarding claim 9:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 8, and Inou et al. also disclose that the ink withdrawal ducts comprise a bulk ink withdrawal duct (unreferenced ducts at the outlets of pressure chambers 5: Fig. 6) having at least a first section (that corresponding to outlet 19a) extending horizontally along a first longitudinal edge of an active region (Fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 10:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 4, but does not expressly disclose ink withdrawal.
However, Inou et al. disclose a print head that provides ink circulation flow with a downsized structure (paragraph 13) by comprising:
at least one ink withdrawal terminal (outlet of path 2a/b); and
ink withdrawal ducts (at least ink outlet port 19) connecting the nozzles to the ink withdrawal terminal (Fig. 6), wherein the ink withdrawal ducts comprise a bulk ink withdrawal duct (unreferenced ducts at the outlets of pressure chambers 5: Fig. 6) having at least a first section (that corresponding to outlet 19a) extending horizontally along a first edge of an active region (Fig. 6A),
wherein the bulk ink withdrawal duct is arranged at the same height as the bulk ink feed duct (Fig. 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Urasaki’s print head to include an ink circulation configuration, such as that taught by Inou et al.
Regarding claim 11:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 10, and Inou et al. also disclose that the bulk ink withdrawal duct has a second section (that corresponding to outlet 19b) extending along a second longitudinal edge of the active region (Fig. 6), wherein a bulk ink feed duct (corresponding to ink supply port 17’) is horizontally arranged between the first and second sections of the bulk ink withdrawal duct (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 9, and Inou et al. also disclose that an ink withdrawal manifold (2a/2b) extends horizontally and arranged at a level above the bulk ink withdrawal duct (“above” is relative to a reference orientation: Fig. 6), and a plurality of withdrawal vias (19a, 19b) extending in parallel between the ink withdrawal manifold and the bulk withdrawal duct (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 12, and Urasaki also discloses that the ink nozzles are arranged in the active region in rows and columns (Fig. 3), and Inou et al. also disclose that the ink withdrawal manifold comprises:
at least a first manifold section (that leading to outlet 19a) extending horizontally along a first longitudinal edge of the active region (Fig. 6);
at least a second manifold section (that leading to outlet 19b) extending horizontally along a second longitudinal edge of the active region (Fig. 6); and
at least a third manifold section (those including outlets 19a/19b) extending parallel to transversal edges of the active region (Fig. 6), with one third manifold section for each row of the nozzles (Fig. 6), wherein each third manifold section is connected to at least one of a first and a second manifold section (Fig. 6).
also that each ink feed slit via is arranged vertically behind a row of the nozzles (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 41:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and also that the first and second sections of the bulk in withdrawal duct are interconnected by a third section (5) of the bulk ink withdrawal duct (Fig. 6A).
Claim(s) 18-20, 24-26, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urasaki (JP 2009051081A) in view of Kondo et al. (JP 2008221580A).
Regarding claim 18:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose humid gas feed.
However, Kondo et al. disclose a print head that is able to suppress an increase in viscosity of liquid discharged from the nozzle (paragraph 6) by comprising at least one humid gas feed terminal (between humidifying liquid supply port 44 and pipe 47: Fig. 2) and humid gas feed ducts (at least 41-42: Figs. 1-2) connecting the humid gas feed terminal to the nozzles (Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Urasaki’s print head to include the humid gas feed taught by Morita et al.
Regarding claim 19:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 18, and Kondo et al. also disclose that each nozzle is arranged in a nozzle chamber (40), and the humid has feed ducts enter each nozzle chamber at at least three entry points (55C) that are distributed along a circumference of the nozzle chamber (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 18, and Kondo et al. also disclose that the humid gas feed ducts comprise a bulk humid gas feed duct (channels 42) having at least a first section (e.g. left channel 42) extending horizontally along a first longitudinal edge of an active region (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 24:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 18, and Kondo et al. also disclose that the humid gas feed ducts comprises:
a humid gas feed manifold (at least through hole 43) extending horizontally and arranged at a level above the bulk humid gas feed duct (“above” is relative to a reference orientation: Figs. 1-3); and
a plurality of humid gas feed lines (the interface between through holes 43 and channels 42) extending in parallel between the bulk humid gas feed duct and the humid gas feed manifold (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 25:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose a manifold structure.
However, Kondo et al. disclose a print head that is able to suppress an increase in viscosity of liquid discharged from the nozzle (paragraph 6) by comprising a manifold structure (Figs. 1-2) arranged at a level of the print head located in front of most parts of nozzles (Figs. 1-2) and extending over an active area of the print head (Fig. 1), wherein at the level of the manifold structure and at each nozzle, a closed-loop wall (that surrounding nozzle 22) separates the manifold structure from a passage (between nozzle 22 and recess 15: Figs. 1-2) providing a path from one nozzle to a nozzle opening at the front side of the print head (Fig. 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Urasaki’s print head to include the humid gas feed taught by Morita et al.
Regarding claim 26:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 24, and Kondo et al. also disclose a manifold structure (Figs. 1-2) arranged at a level of the print head located in front of most parts of nozzles (Figs. 1-2) and extending over an active area of the print head (Fig. 1), wherein at the level of the manifold structure and at each nozzle, a closed-loop wall (that surrounding nozzle 22) separates the manifold structure from a passage (between nozzle 22 and recess 15: Figs. 1-2) providing a path from one nozzle to a nozzle opening at the front side of the print head (Fig. 1),
wherein the manifold structure forms the humid gas feed manifold (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 42:
Urasaki’s modified print head comprises all the limitations of claim 25, and Kondo et al. also disclose that the manifold structure is connected to vias (at least 44, 46) that lead backwards to the nozzles as well as to other gas feed ducts that lead backwards to openings at a back side of the print head (to openings of 44, 46: Figs. 1-2).
Examiner notes that the relative term “backwards” does not necessarily impart any structure to the claimed vias and/or other gas feed ducts, because Kondo et al.’s symmetrical structure of vias and/or duct, as disclosed, appear fully capable of feeding gas in either direction.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urasaki (JP 2009051081A) in view of Koyama (US 2011/0316942 A1).
Regarding claim 27:
Urasaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose gas ducts comprising a first section and a second section.
However, Koyama disclose a print head that restrains thickening of ink near the nozzles (paragraph 66) by comprising gas ducts (air channels 141, 142) connecting openings (openings 130a, 130d) in a back side of the print head (Fig. 5) and openings (openings 141a, 142a) in a front side of the print head (Fig. 5), wherein the gas ducts comprise a first section (141) extending into a forward direction (Fig. 5) and a second section (142) extending into a backward direction of the print head (Fig. 5).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Urasaki’s print head to include the humidifying configuration taught by Koyama.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21 appears to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not expressly disclose or make obvious an electrohydrodynamic print head comprising a bulk humid gas feed duct that is “arranged at the same height as the bulk ink feed duct.” It is this limitation, in combination with other features and limitations of claim 21, that indicates allowable subject matter over the prior art of record.
Claim 23 appears to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not expressly disclose or make obvious an electrohydrodynamic print head comprising a bulk humid gas feed duct that is “arranged at the same height as the bulk ink feed duct.” It is this limitation, in combination with other features and limitations of claim 23, that indicates allowable subject matter over the prior art of record.
Claim 28 appears to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record does not expressly disclose or make obvious an electrohydrodynamic print head comprising a structure in which “the first section is located in a humid gas flow path between the at least one humid gas feed terminal and the manifold structure and the second section is located in the humid gas flow path between the manifold structure and the nozzles.” It is this limitation, in combination with other features and limitations of claim 28, that indicates allowable subject matter over the prior art of record.
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853