DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 01/17/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 01/17/2025 is recognized.
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 07/18/2022 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/17/2025 are acknowledged.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 5-9 are pending in the application. Claims 5, 7-9, are rejected. Claim 6 is Objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Pfeilschifter (US 2025/0042271) in view of Pfeilschifter (US 2025/0033508).
Regarding claim 5, Pfeilschifter 271’ in view of Pfeilschifter 508’ discloses the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
A method for operating a high voltage on-board power supply of a vehicle, the method comprising: Pfeilschifter 271’, Abstract, Paras. [0034]-[0036], Fig. 1, teaches a method for operating a monitoring circuit for a high-voltage DC charging apparatus within a vehicle electrical system FB. measuring, by a voltage measuring device, a voltage between a high voltage potential of the high voltage on-board power supply and a reference potential of the high voltage on-board power supply, Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0019], [0034]-[0038], Fig. 1, teaches analyzing a voltage change rate of “voltages that exist between the reference potential and one of the high-voltage busbars”. And further teaches measuring a voltage between a high voltage potential and a reference potential using measuring devices. The system monitors electrical variables between a first high-voltage potential (HV+), a second High-voltage potential (HV-), and a reference potential GND.
wherein the high voltage on-board power supply comprises a protective device for protecting a human body in event of physical contact with the high voltage potential and the reference potential when charging a high voltage battery of the vehicle using a direct current charging station, Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0040]-[0043], Fig. 1, teaches a Control device C and circuit breakers (i.e., protective device) to protect a human body in the event of an insulation fault representing physical contact while charging from a DC station stating: “If there is an insulation fault resistance F………….., a fault current IF flows. In this case, a person, for example, can represent the resistance”.
wherein the vehicle is attached to the direct current charging station by a charging cable, Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0034]-[0040], Fig. 1, teaches connecting the system FB to a DC charging station LS via a DC charging cable LK.
wherein, between the high voltage potential and the reference potential, the protective device includes the voltage measuring device and a protective circuit with a circuit breaker, Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0036]-[0043], Fig. 1, teaches that the protective device includes measurement components and a circuit comprising circuit breakers S1-S4.
determining a slope of the measured voltage between the high voltage potential, in which the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter is arranged, and the reference potential; Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0019], [0036]-[0039], Fig. 1, teaches calculating the slope (the rate of change) of the measured variables with respect to time stating: “voltage change rate” and “time derivation of these variables” or “first time derivative”.
determining, based the determined slope of the measured voltage, there is the physical contact with the high volage potential between the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter and the direct current charging station; Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0036]-[0040], Fig. 1, teaches detecting the insulation fault, representing physical contact by a person, based on analyzing the slope. “The control device C emits a signal if the common-mode current (its magnitude or the magnitude of the time derivative thereof) exceeds a limit”.
Pfeilschifter 271’ does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a galvanically coupled DC/DC converter is arranged in the high voltage potential between the protective device and a direct current charging connection of the vehicle, and wherein the direct current charging station provides a charging voltage that is lower than a nominal voltage of the high voltage battery;
However, Pfeilschifter 508’, Paras. [0012]-[0015], [0028]-[0029], Fig. 1, teaches a vehicle charging circuit having a “galvanically non-isolating converter” (i.e., galvanically coupled ….) arranged in the high-voltage charging path between the DC charging connection and the battery. Paras. [0020]-[0023], [0030]-[0031], [0052]-[0054], teaches that the DC charging station can supply a charging voltage that is below the nominal voltage of the high-voltage traction battery, where a 500V charging station connected to an 800V battery.
and determining whether to trigger the protective circuit or a further protective circuit responsive to the determining that there is physical contact, wherein the further protective circuit is arranged between the high voltage potential, in which the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter is arranged, and the reference potential at a position between the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter and the direct current charging connection. Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0043], Fig. 1, “The control device C can be connected to circuit breakers S1, S2 or S3, S4 in a controlling manner. If it is determined that the magnitude of the common-mode current is above a limit, then the control device C controls the circuit breakers to open”, teaches trigger to open the circuit breakers to open in response to determining that the fault limit is exceeded. And
Pfeilschifter 508’, Paras. [0013]-[0014], [0044]-[0051], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 1, teaches that the protective switching elements are positioned along the charging path around the voltage converter and are triggered open when a fault current exceeds a tolerance value indicative of “dangerous for a humans”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the charging system of Pfeilschifter 508’, into the charging monitoring system of Pfeilschifter 271’, in order to allow the vehicle to safely charge at the charging stations and isolate the battery in the event of dangerous human contact.
Regarding claim 7, Pfeilschifter 271’ in view of Pfeilschifter 508’ discloses the limitations of claim 5. Pfeilschifter 271’ in view of Pfeilschifter 508’ discloses:
The method of claim 5, wherein the determined slope is compared to a predetermined threshold value, wherein it is determined whether the predetermined threshold value is not met or is exceeded, Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0039]-[0040], Fig. 1, “The control device C emits a signal if the common-mode current (its magnitude or the magnitude of the time derivative thereof) exceeds a limit. The limit may be predefined by storage in a memory of the control device C …..”, to determine if the limit is “exceeded/undershot” which teaches evaluating whether the magnitude of the time derivative (the slope) exceeds a limit/threshold.
and thus it is determined whether the physical contact occurs between the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter and the direct current charging station. Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0039]-[0040], Fig. 1, teaches detecting the location of the fault, stating: “determine which high-voltage potential is affected by the insulation fault with respect to the reference potential”. And teaches that the insulation fault is related to physical contact by a human.
Pfeilschifter 508’ teaches the arrangement of the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter within the high-voltage charging system to manage the mismatch.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Pfeilschifter 271’ in view of Pfeilschifter 508’ discloses the limitations of claim 5. Pfeilschifter 271’ in view of Pfeilschifter 508’ discloses:
The method of claim 5, wherein, by closing the circuit breaker, at least one electrical resistor is switched between the high voltage potential, in which the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter is arranged, and the reference potential. Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0023]-[0024], [0040]-[0045], Fig. 1, “The control device is preferably configured, in the event of a first type of fault signal, to close a discharge switch which connects the first high-voltage busbar to the reference potential (or the reference potential busbar) in a switchable manner, in particular via a discharge resistor”, “…provide discharge resistors which are connected in series with the discharge switches ..”, so closing the switch places the resistor between the high voltage potential and the reference potential.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 5 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Pfeilschifter 271’ in view of Pfeilschifter 508’ discloses the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
A method for operating a high voltage on-board power supply of a vehicle, wherein the high voltage on-board power supply includes a high voltage potential and a reference potential, the method comprising: Pfeilschifter 271’, Abstract, Pars. [0034]-[0036], Fig. 1, teaches a method for operating a monitoring circuit for a high-voltage DC charging apparatus within a vehicle electrical system FB, including a first high-voltage potential (HV+), and a second high-voltage potential (HV-), and a reference potential GND.
determining the vehicle is attached to a direct current charging station by a charging cable and a high voltage battery of the vehicle is being charged using the direct current charging station; Pfeilschifter 271’, Pars. [0019], [0034]-[0036], Fig. 1, teaches the control device determining that the vehicle is attached to the charging station, stating: “The connection time interval begins with the time of connection or with the occurrence of a signal indicating the connection (opening of the tailgate, plug-in signal from an interlock, closing command for a circuit breaker, etc.)”. And further teaches that the vehicle is charged by the station via a DC charging cable.
measuring, by a voltage measuring device of a protective device, a voltage between the high voltage potential and the reference potential of the high voltage on- board power supply, Pfeilschifter 271’, Pars. [0019], [0034]-[0036], Fig. 1, teaches a protective device that measures variables between the high-voltage potentials and the reference potential.
determining a slope of the measured voltage; Pfeilschifter 271’, Pars. [0019], [0034]-[0039], Fig. 1, “time derivative of these variables”, “first time derivative”.
determining, based the determined slope of the measured voltage, there is physical contact with the high volage potential between the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter and the direct current charging station; Pfeilschifter 271’, Pars. [0019], [0034]-[0040], Fig. 1, teaches detecting an insulation fault caused by physical contact by a human.
Pfeilschifter 271’ does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a galvanically coupled DC/DC converter is arranged in the high voltage potential between the protective device and the direct current charging connection of the vehicle, wherein the direct current charging station provides a charging voltage that is lower than a nominal voltage of the high voltage battery;
However, Pfeilschifter 508’, Paras. [0012]-[0015], [0028]-[0029], Fig. 1, teaches a vehicle charging circuit having a “galvanically non-isolating converter” (i.e., galvanically coupled ….) arranged in the high-voltage charging path between the DC charging connection and the battery. Paras. [0020]-[0023], [0030]-[0031], [0052]-[0054], teaches that the DC charging station can supply a charging voltage that is below the nominal voltage of the high-voltage traction battery, where a 500V charging station connected to an 800V battery.
and determining whether to trigger a protective circuit of the protective device or a further protective circuit responsive to the determining that there is physical contact, wherein the protective circuit includes a circuit breaker, and wherein the further protective circuit is arranged between the high voltage potential and the reference potential at a position between the galvanically coupled DC/DC converter and the direct current charging connection. Pfeilschifter 271’, Paras. [0043], Fig. 1, “The control device C can be connected to circuit breakers S1, S2 or S3, S4 in a controlling manner. If it is determined that the magnitude of the common-mode current is above a limit, then the control device C controls the circuit breakers to open”, teaches trigger to open the circuit breakers to open in response to determining that the fault limit is exceeded. And
Pfeilschifter 508’, Paras. [0013]-[0014], [0044]-[0051], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 1, teaches that the protective switching elements are positioned along the charging path around the voltage converter and are triggered open when a fault current exceeds a tolerance value indicative of “dangerous for a humans”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the charging system of Pfeilschifter 508’, into the charging monitoring system of Pfeilschifter 271’, in order to allow the vehicle to safely charge at the charging stations and isolate the battery in the event of dangerous human contact.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
DÜNSBIER (US 2017/0179738) teaches a charging device for securing a charging process of a high-voltage battery of a motor vehicle.
Takei (US 10,897,190) teaches a storage device that includes a first switching circuit connected to a direct-current voltage bus and a second switching circuit connected between the first switching circuit and a DC-DC converter.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 5-9 are pending.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615