DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a camera module and a computing unit in claims 14 and 26.
The corresponding structures are identified in the specification for a camera module and a computing unit in paragraphs [0002], [0013], [0015], and [0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 15, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oon et al. (US 7609291 B2) in view of Price et al. (US 20190305018 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, Oon discloses a camera system (fig. 1) comprising:
a camera module configured to generate camera images of a scene (12 and 18 of fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 4-9, the lens 18 is used to focus a scene of interest onto the color image sensor 12 to capture an image of that scene. The focusing mechanism 20 operates to move the lens 18 to focus the lens with respect to the scene of interest. The focusing mechanism 20 can be controlled manually using the user input interface 14 or automatically by the processor 24); and
a computing unit configured to control the camera module and to process the camera images (24 of fig. 1, Col. 4, line 59-Col. 5, lines 2-7, the processor 24 also controls various active components of the imaging device 10, such as the IR flash 16, the focusing mechanism 20, the image sensor 12 and the ADC 22. The processor 24 also performs operations commanded by a user through the user input interface 14),
wherein the camera module has an image sensor configured to record light in a visible spectrum using RGB pixels and light in an infrared spectrum using IR pixels (12 of fig. 1, 304 and 366 of fig. 3, Col. 5, lines 25-48, at block 304, a grayscale image of a scene of interest is captured using a flash of infrared light, which is produced by the IR flash 16, during a first exposure period without the IR filter 19 being positioned in front of the color image sensor 12. This grayscale image is captured as a frame of R.sub.0, G.sub.0 and B.sub.0 analog image signals, which are generated by the R, G and B photosensitive elements 32 of the color image sensor 12; at block 306, a color image of the same scene of interest is captured without using a flash of infrared light during a second exposure period with the IR filter 19 being positioned in front of the color image sensor 12. The color image is rich in visible color information of the scene of interest),
wherein the camera module is configured to capture at least two individual images of the scene by an exposure of the image sensor during at least two recording processes with different exposure durations (304 and 306 of fig. 3, a first exposure period and a second exposure period),
wherein the computing unit (24 of fig. 1) is configured to control the camera module in to expose the image sensor with light in the visible spectrum with a first exposure duration during at least one first recording process (306 of fig. at block 306, a color image of the same scene of interest is captured without using a flash of infrared light during a second exposure period with the IR filter 19 being positioned in front of the color image sensor 12. Col. 5, lines 5-6, the processor 24 also performs operations commanded by a user through the user input interface 14, so this suggests that the operations with the second exposure period would obviously be performed first as a first exposure duration by the processor commanded by the user), wherein a first RGB image is generated by the RGB pixels (306 of fig. 3, color image comprises a first RGB image), and
control an infrared light source to illuminate the scene with infrared light in addition to the light in the visible spectrum during at least one second recording process and
simultaneously control the camera module to expose the image sensor during the second recording process with a second exposure duration deviating from the first exposure duration (304 of fig. 3, Col. 5, lines 25-40, at block 304, a grayscale image of a scene of interest is captured using a flash of infrared light, which is produced by the IR flash 16, during a first exposure period without the IR filter 19 being positioned in front of the color image sensor 12. This grayscale image is captured as a frame of R.sub.0, G.sub.0 and B.sub.0 analog image signals, which are generated by the R, G and B photosensitive elements 32 of the color image sensor 12; Col. 5, lines 5-6, the processor 24 also performs operations commanded by a user through the user input interface 14, so this suggests that the operations with the first exposure period would obviously be performed second as a second exposure duration by the processor commanded by the user),
wherein, during the second recording process, the image sensor simultaneously generates a second RGB image using the RGB pixels and an IR image using the IR pixels (Col. 5, lines 25-40, Since each of the R.sub.0, G.sub.0 and B.sub.0 digital image signals includes both red, green or blue color component and infrared component, each of the R.sub.0, G.sub.0 and B.sub.0 digital image signals includes grayscale information, which is derived from the respective color and infrared components).
It is noted that Oon does not teach wherein the computing unit is configured to merge the at least one first RGB image and the at least one second RGB image to form an HDR image.
Price teaches wherein the computing unit is configured to merge the at least one first RGB image and the at least one second RGB image to form an HDR image (fig. 2, Images 205 and 210 include the same content but were taken at different times according to traditional HDR imaging techniques. Specifically, image 205 is an image that was generated using a prolonged exposure time (corresponding to exposure time 110 from FIG. 1), image 210 is an image that was generated using a short exposure time (corresponding to exposure time 120 from FIG. 1), and image 215 is the resulting HDR image that is formed by merging image 205 with image 210; the process of fig. 16A, [0100-0104] there is an act (act 1625) of generating a combined digital image based on the first readout and the second readout).
Taking the teachings of Oon and Price together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the merging of the first RGB image and second RGB image of Price to generate a digital image with reduced motion blurring artifacts ([0011] and [0034] of Price).
Regarding claim 15, Oon teaches the camera system of claim 14, wherein the camera module and the computing unit are configured to continuously record the scene with a sequence from a plurality of first and second recording processes (12, 18, and 24 of fig. 1, see also process of fig. 3 for recording presses, wherein the recorded image are stored in the storage device, 26 of fig. 1), wherein at least several first RGB images and second RGB images captured temporally one after the other are joined to form an RGB video stream (308-312 of fig. 1, store the output color image in the storage), several IR images captured temporally one after the other are joined to form an IR video stream (304 of fig. 3, capturing images to form a video stream), or Price teaches several HDR images generated temporally one after the other are joined to form an HDR video stream ([0100-0104] there is an act (act 1625) of generating a combined digital image based on the first readout and the second readout).
Regarding claim 25, Oon teaches the camera system of claim 14, wherein the computing unit is configured to control the camera module and the infrared light source to change, depending on an image statistic obtained by analyzing at least one RGB image, IR image, or HDR image already generated: the second exposure duration, a time duration with which the infrared light source is operated, or a sensitivity of the IR pixels during the second recording process (304 and 306 of fig. 3, for the first and second recording processes and the first and second exposure periods).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peng et al. (US 20210195087 A1) discloses a dual sensor imaging system and an imaging method thereof are provided. The dual sensor imaging system includes at least one color sensor, at least one infrared ray (IR) sensor, a storage device, and a processor.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425