DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the arguments that:
Claims 3-4, 9, 11, 15, and 16, were not clearly identified as rejections.
The claim that D1 and D2 are improperly combined and would render one or both inventions inoperable.
D1 and D2 do not teach the limitation “positioning at least two parts of at least one display to different distances from a reflective surface” and “reflecting at least two portions of a plurality of images using the reflective surface to be perceived at a plurality of perceived distance”
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
With regard to claims 3-4, 9, 11, 15, and 16 while not included in the subheading due to a typographical error, were included under the heading as well as in the CTFR (office action summary) they however have been corrected below in the current action to be included in the correct heading.
With regard to the “improper combination” of Lu and Morohashi, the examiner respectfully disagrees due to those reasons stated in the advisory action mailed 03/23/2026. However, after further consideration the rejection has been reformed into a new rejection relying more on Morohashi for the sake of clarity and compact prosecution.
With regard to the arguments about different display distances and reflecting images to different positions, Morohashi, in at least (figure 1), clearly has displays 23 and 24 at different distances from the reflective surface 30 and by extension 40, and as for reflecting images to different positions paragraph [0019] “the invention may display images at three or more different positions.”
As such the rejection has been adjusted below and is believed to be proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morohashi (US 20210011286) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method to create images (Figure 1), the method comprising: setting a second display (24, second screen) behind at least one transparent display (23, first screen; considered to be transparent because it receives L1, first projection light, and displays M1, first image, from the projection light) by a distance (Figure 1 depicts 24, second screen, is offset behind 23, first screen, by a distance); generating a first image by the second display (M2, second image); generating a second image by the at least one transparent display (M1, first image); reflecting the first image and the second image with a reflective surface (40, concave mirror, or 2, windshield; [0016] teaches 2, windshield can be a transmission reflection unit); creating a perceived distance between the first image and the second image from the reflective surface ([0016]; Figure 1); and wherein the reflective surface is a concave mirror (both 40, concave mirror, and 2, windshield, are concave), so that a small change in the distance between the at least one transparent display and the second display creates a larger change in the perceived distance between the first image and the second image (at least [0016] teaches M1, first image, and M2, second image, are displayed such that a distance of N1, first display right, to reach E, viewer, is shorter than a distance of N2, second display light; [0031-0032] teach P1, first projection distance, and P2, second projection distance; Examiner notes that this distance between 24, second screen, and 23, first screen, directly cause the change in perceived distance between M2, second image, and M1, first image).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an in-vehicles information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1); wherein the reflective surface (40) has a curvature selected from: a 2D curvature or a 3D curvature ([0016]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches an in-vehicles information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1); wherein the curvature if the reflecting surface corresponds to a windshield (2) of a car (fig. 1), and the at least one transparent display and the second display (M1 and M2) follows curvature of the reflective surface ([0016]) so that the perceived distance for an entire image is perceived at a same distance ([0016]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); further comprising aligning the at least one transparent display (23) and the second display (24) so at least some second display (24) pixels are set behind (second display 24 is set below (or behind) display 1) the part of the pixels in the at least one transparent first display (23).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a method to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); wherein optical material (30) is used to direct the light from the second display (24) toward the first display (23).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a method to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); further comprising enhancing a coupling of the light between the second display (24) and the at least one transparent display (23) with the optical material (30); the optical material selected from: is an adhesive material, a lens, a micro-lens or a structure enhancing light coupling (30, [0032]: plane mirror) between the second (24) and first displays (23).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1
teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1); wherein the reflective surface (40) and displays (23 and 24) are in an automotive transport (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches a method to create images using a reflective surface and a display, in at least (fig. 1); the method comprising: having a reflective surface (40); having at least one display (23 or 24); having at least two parts of the display (23 and 24) having different distances from the reflective surface (40); and using the reflective surface (40) to create images wherein the at least two parts of an image (M1 and M2) are perceived or appear at two different distances (at least [0016] teaches M1, first image, and M2, second image, are displayed such that a distance of N1, first display right, to reach E, viewer, is shorter than a distance of N2, second display light; [0031-0032] teach P1, first projection distance, and P2, second projection distance; Examiner notes that this distance between 24, second screen, and 23, first screen, directly cause the change in perceived distance between M2, second image, and M1, first image).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1
teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1); wherein the display (M1 and M2) or the reflective surface (40) is curved ([0016]) to create at least two different distances ([0004] [0016], and [0031-0032]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a method to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); where two displays (23 and 24) are set at two different distances (([0004] [0016], and [0031-0032]) to create the two different parts of the images (M1 and M2).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches a display system, in at least (fig. 1); to create images perceived at least two different distances (M1 and M2 the system comprising: a reflective surface (40); at least one transparent display (23) and a second display (24) set behind the at least one transparent display (23); and reflecting the images from the reflective surface (40) to the viewers to create two images of the two displays (23 and 24) that are perceived at different distances ([0004], [0016], and [0031-0032]) from the reflective surface (40); wherein the reflective surface is a concave mirror (40), so that small changes in a distance ([0004], [0016], and [0031-0032]) between the two displays (23 and 24) result in larger distances between the two images (M1 and M2).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1
teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1); wherein the reflective surface (40) has a 2D or a 3D curvature ([0016]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1
teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1); wherein the 2D or the 3D curvature corresponds to a windshield (2) of a car (fig. 1), wherein further the two displays (M1 and M2) have a curvature following a curvature of the reflective surface (40) so that an entire image (V) is perceived at a same distance ([0061]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); where the displays (23 and 24) are aligned so the part of the pixels in the second display (24) creating image is set behind the part of the pixels in the first display (23) that is transparent (23, first screen; considered to be transparent because it receives L1, first projection light, and displays M1, first image, from the projection light).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); wherein optical material (30) is used to direct the light from the second display (24) toward the first display ().
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); wherein additional optical layers (30) are added between the two displays (23 and 24) to adjust the distance of the two images (M1 and M2).
With regard to claim 21, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches wherein the at least one transparent display (23) and the second display (24) have no overlap or partial overlap (screens not overlapping).
With regard to claim 22, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 21, wherein D1 further teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 1); wherein the first image (M1) and the second image (M2) are created on the reflective surface (30) without overlap or partial overlap ([0019]: displays two images, which would not be discernable if overlapping) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morohashi (US 20210011286) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Lu (US 20120243087) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, however D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the two displays are of different sizes.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 3; [0014-0018]); wherein the two displays (310 and 320) are of different sizes (Field depth D set via a circular polarizer 430 so the two images can be blended).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the displays are of different sizes as taught by D2, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays at different distances and angles to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user while maintaining smaller form factor and correct image correction.
With regard to claim 30, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the reflective surface is semi-transparent to create one or two augmented images on different distances.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 3; [0014-0018]); wherein the reflective surface ([0018]) is semi-transparent to create one or two augmented images on different distances ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the reflective surface is semi-transparent to create one or two augmented images on different distances as taught by D2, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays at different distances and angles to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user while maintaining smaller form factor and correct image correction.
With regard to claim 31, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the transparent display is in front of the reflective surface creating an image in a same plane as the reflective surface.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 3; [0014-0018]); wherein the transparent display is in front of the reflective surface ([0017]) creating an image in a same plane as the reflective surface ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the transparent display is in front of the reflective surface creating an image in a same plane as the reflective surface as taught by D2, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays at different distances and angles to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user while maintaining smaller form factor and correct image correction.
With regard to claim 32, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the reflective layer is part of the transparent display.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 3; [0014-0018]); wherein the reflective layer ([0018]) is part of the transparent display ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the displays are of different sizes as taught by D2, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays at different distances and angles to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user while maintaining smaller form factor and correct image correction.
Claim(s) 24-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 20120243087) herein after referred to as D1, still further in view of Hirata (US 20220075189) herein after referred to as D3.
With regard to claim 24, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 21, wherein D1 further teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 3; 1) only one transparent display (23) is used.
However, D1 does not expressly disclose wherein ambient lights pass through the transparent display; and the ambient light is then absorbed by areas under the transparent display.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches wherein ambient lights (60) pass through the transparent display (6); and the ambient light (60) is then absorbed by areas under the transparent display (light absorption area 41 in figures 5 and 6 which is an area placed directly below the display area of the windshield 6, of figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the only one transparent display of D3, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user while maintaining smaller form factor.
With regard to claim 25, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 24, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein having only one transparent display enhances the contrast ratio.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1, 2, 3; and [0004], [0019], [0061]); wherein having only one transparent display (6) enhances the contrast ratio ([0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the only one transparent display of D3, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user while maintaining smaller form factor.
With regard to claim 26, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the displays have a curvature following the curvature of the reflective surface so that an entire image is perceived at a same distance.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1, 2, 3; and [0004], [0019], [0061]); wherein the displays have a curvature (6; windshield) following the curvature of the reflective surface ([0019]) so that an entire image is perceived at a same distance ([0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the curved Display of D3, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user.
With regard to claim 27, D1 further in view of D3 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 26, wherein D1 further teaches a system to create images using a reflective surface and transparent displays, in at least (fig. 3; [0014-0018]); wherein the system creates the image with one or more than one display (310 and 320; [0014-0018]).
With regard to claim 28, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein the displays have a curvature so that different parts of the displays are at a different distance from the reflective surface.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1, 2, 3; and [0004], [0019], [0061]); wherein the displays (6 and 100) have a curvature so that different parts of the displays (6 and 100) are at a different distance ([0061]) from the reflective surface ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the curved reflective surface that is the windshield of D3, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user.
With regard to claim 29, D1 in view of D3 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 28, wherein D1 does not expressly disclose wherein different parts of the images are moved to a different distance from the reflective surface.
In a related endeavor, D3 further teaches an in-vehicle information display system and apparatus, in at least (figs. 1, 2, 3; and [0004], [0019], [0061]); wherein different parts of the images are moved to a different distance ([0061]) from the reflective surface ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the curved reflective surface that is the windshield of D3, for the purpose of better transposing the 2D image of the displays to a curved 3D space (or HUD) for the user.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 20120243087) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Pappas (US 20190020858) herein after referred to as D4.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 does not teach wherein the OLED displays are OLED or MicroLED displays.
In a related endeavor, D4 teaches a light emitter architecture for scanning display device, in at least ([0054]), wherein D3 states light emitters can be one of LEDs, OLEDs, or microLED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of D1 with the OLED and microLED display of D4 to further reduce size and power draw of the transparent display.
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872