DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claims 2-3 and 12.
Claims 2-3 and 12 are interpreted under 35 USC 1129f) because they recite generic place holders, a road condition detection unit and a horizontal line setting unit that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. :
Applicant provided the hardware structure for these generic placeholders as CPU as shown in “[0084] As shown in FIG. 7, the motion sickness reducing apparatus 10 includes an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 30, an inertial sensor 40, an imaging device 50, a navigation device 60, and an interior light 70. [0085] The ECU30 is, for example, a control device including a CPU, a RAM, and a ROM, although not shown. The ECU30 functions as a detection result acquisition unit 31, a vehicle tilt calculation unit 32, a horizontal line display unit 33, and a road condition detection unit 34 when the CPU executes a predetermined program read from the ROM into the RAM. A part or all of these units may be realized by hardware.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bollier et al. ( US patent Publication: 20230013174, “Bollier”).
Regarding claim 1, Bollier teaches, A motion sickness reducing apparatus ( Fig.1 the device is flitted in a vehicle), comprising:
a display device that is provided in a riding space of a vehicle having the riding space in which an individual rides and displays a horizontal line extending in a horizontal direction orthogonal to a gravity direction of the vehicle in the riding space regardless of a tilt of the vehicle. (Refer to Fig.1, A display device have two horizontal display that provides horizontal line in horizontal direction perpendicular to gravitation
“[0071] By suitably driving the light source(s), it is thus possible to align the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ in a horizontal plane A which is always perpendicular to the gravitation vector. Thus, a person seated next to the rear lateral window 13 and behind the front seat 15 and fixing said artificial horizon lines 14, 16 will have the same visual sensations as the driver looking at the road: he will therefore no longer be subject to motion sickness. To achieve this result, the vehicle 10 is advantageously equipped with a triaxial accelerometer configured to detect the accelerations of the vehicle along the 3 axes X, Y and Z and emit corresponding acceleration signals, and a control unit able to receive the acceleration signals emitted by the accelerometer and to drive the light source(s) so that the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ are aligned in a horizontal plane A, perpendicular to the gravitation vector, whatever the accelerations of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 9, Brollier teaches, wherein the display device is a film-shaped film light source.(Fig. 7 and “a first artificial horizon line 14 is formed by the virtual straight line passing through the highest activated light points 17 and 17 "on the first and third light columns 12, 12" respectively, and a second artificial horizon line 16 is formed by the virtual straight line passing through the highest activated light points 17 and 17 'on the first and second light columns 12, 12' respectively. In this configuration, the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 are perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to each other. In an advantageous variant of the invention, each of the light columns 12, 12 'and 12 "may for example comprise a linear array of electronic diodes. vertically aligned troluminescent, each of the light emitting diodes forming one of the light points of the light columns. In another configuration of the invention, the light points can be activated starting from the top of each light column. In this case, the first artificial horizon line 14 will be formed by the virtual line passing through the lowest activated light points on the first and third light columns 12, 12”)
Regarding claim 10, Brollier teaches, wherein the film light source is an organic EL or the film-shaped LED. (.(Fig. 7 and “a first artificial horizon line 14 is formed by the virtual straight line passing through the highest activated light points 17 and 17 "on the first and third light columns 12, 12" respectively, and a second artificial horizon line 16 is formed by the virtual straight line passing through the highest activated light points 17 and 17 'on the first and second light columns 12, 12' respectively. In this configuration, the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 are perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to each other. In an advantageous variant of the invention, each of the light columns 12, 12 'and 12 "may for example comprise a linear array of electronic diodes. vertically aligned troluminescent, each of the light emitting diodes forming one of the light points of the light columns. In another configuration of the invention, the light points can be activated starting from the top of each light column. In this case, the first artificial horizon line 14 will be formed by the virtual line passing through the lowest activated light points on the first and third light columns 12, 12”)
Regarding claim 14, Bollier teaches, wherein the display device is provided on at least a part of a wall surface surrounding four sides of the riding space. (See Fig. 1, The display device is provided on back of front seat and side of the passenger seats,)
Claim 15 is directed to a method and its steps are similar in scope and functions of the elements of the device claim 1 and therefore claim 15 is rejected with same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Bollier in view of Park ( US patent Publication: 20220024459, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 2, Bollier teaches the display device displays the horizontal line as shown in claim 1 but doesn’t expressly teach, a road condition detection unit for detecting a road condition where the vehicle is traveling; wherein the display device displays the horizontal line when the road condition satisfies a predetermined condition.
However, Kim teaches, a road condition detection unit for detecting a road condition where the vehicle is traveling; wherein the display device displays state information when the road condition satisfies a predetermined condition (“[0114] The information collector 100 may collect state information of the occupant to check motion sickness state information, detect a curved road, an uphill road, and a downhill road on a travel route of the vehicle, which may affect motion sickness of the occupant, and collect information on road surface states which may affect vehicle vibration.
[0115] The driving display 300 may further include a tactile display 320 provided in seats of the vehicle and configured to allow the occupant to tactually recognize the driving information of the vehicle.”)
Bollier and Kim are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display for reducing motion sickness.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bollier to have included a road condition detection unit for detecting a road condition where the vehicle is traveling; wherein the display device displays the horizontal line when the road condition satisfies a predetermined condition similar to a road condition detection unit for detecting a road condition where the vehicle is traveling; wherein the display device displays state information when the road condition satisfies a predetermined condition as taught by Kim.
The motivation for the modification is to limit displaying motion sickness information based on condition.
Regarding claim 3, Bollier as modified by Kim teaches, wherein the predetermined condition is a slope, a curved road, or a straight road traveling at a predetermined acceleration force or less. (Kim, “[ 0114] The information collector 100 may collect state information of the occupant to check motion sickness state information, detect a curved road, an uphill road, and a downhill road on a travel route of the vehicle, which may affect motion sickness of the occupant, and collect information on road surface states which may affect vehicle vibration.”)
. The motivation for the modification is to limit displaying motion sickness information based on condition.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Bollier in view of Sasayama ( US patent Publication: 20240013501, “Sasayama”).
Regarding claim 5, Bollier teaches, the display device is a side glass constituting a wall surface surrounding the riding space but not teach, the display provided on a windshield
However, Sasayama teaches, the display provided on a windshield ([0023] FIG. 13 is a diagram showing a configuration of a motion sickness regulation device according to a second embodiment and an example of real scenery viewed through a windshield of a vehicle and a motion sickness regulation image displayed on the windshield;”)
Bollier and Sasayama are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display for reducing motion sickness.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bollier to have included the display provided on a windshield as taught by Kim.
The motivation for the modification is to provide an display to the driver to mitigate motion sickness..
Regarding claim 6. Bollier as modified Sasayama teaches, wherein the display device is further provided on a rear glass constituting the wall surface surrounding the riding space.( Bollier, “[0071] By suitably driving the light source(s), it is thus possible to align the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ in a horizontal plane A which is always perpendicular to the gravitation vector. Thus, a person seated next to the rear lateral window 13 and behind the front seat 15 and fixing said artificial horizon lines 14, 16 will have the same visual sensations as the driver looking at the road: he will therefore no longer be subject to motion sickness. To achieve this result, the vehicle 10 is advantageously equipped with a triaxial accelerometer configured to detect the accelerations of the vehicle along the 3 axes X, Y and Z and emit corresponding acceleration signals, and a control unit able to receive the acceleration signals emitted by the accelerometer and to drive the light source(s) so that the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ are aligned in a horizontal plane A, perpendicular to the gravitation vector, whatever the accelerations of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 13, Bollier teaches, wherein the display device the horizontal line. But doesn’t teach, displays an image including
However, Sasayama teaches, the display device displays an image including ([0023] FIG. 13 is a diagram showing a configuration of a motion sickness regulation device according to a second embodiment and an example of real scenery viewed through a windshield of a vehicle and a motion sickness regulation image displayed on the windshield;”)
Bollier and Sasayama are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display for reducing motion sickness.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bollier to have the display device to display an image including as taught by Kim.
The motivation for the modification is to provide motion sickness mitigation image to the viewers ..
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Bollier in view of Sivak ( US patent Publication: 20170291538, “Sivak”).
Regarding claim 7, Bollier doesn’t expressly teach, the display device is a side door provided in the riding space. ( Bollier, “[0071] By suitably driving the light source(s), it is thus possible to align the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ in a horizontal plane A which is always perpendicular to the gravitation vector. Thus, a person seated next to the rear lateral window 13 and behind the front seat 15 and fixing said artificial horizon lines 14, 16 will have the same visual sensations as the driver looking at the road: he will therefore no longer be subject to motion sickness. To achieve this result, the vehicle 10 is advantageously equipped with a triaxial accelerometer configured to detect the accelerations of the vehicle along the 3 axes X, Y and Z and emit corresponding acceleration signals, and a control unit able to receive the acceleration signals emitted by the accelerometer and to drive the light source(s) so that the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ are aligned in a horizontal plane A, perpendicular to the gravitation vector, whatever the accelerations of the vehicle.”) but doesn’t teach that the display device is on a front dashboard.
Sivak teaches, the display device is on a front dashboard. Presenting such apparent motion and outside reference points in the viewer's peripheral field of view allows them to look away from the outside scene, such as would occur when working on a laptop, reading, playing video games, watching movies, etc., yet still being able to perceive the motion of the vehicle while performing such tasks. Elimination of outside visual motion stimuli, while retaining the motion stimuli within the vestibular system (i.e., the inner ear) is a main contributor to motion sickness. Conversely, retaining or simulating such visual stimuli should help reduce the frequency and severity of motion sickness, as the sensory mismatch (i.e., motion sensed in the vestibular system yet no perceived visual motion) is eliminated.”)
Bollier and Sivak are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display for reducing motion sickness.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bollier to have included the display provided on a front dashboard as taught by Sivak.
The motivation for the modification is to provide an display to the driver and front passenger to mitigate motion sickness..
Regarding claim 8, Bollier as modified by Sivak teaches, wherein the display device is further provided on a rear dashboard provided in the riding space, ( Bollier, “[0071] By suitably driving the light source(s), it is thus possible to align the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ in a horizontal plane A which is always perpendicular to the gravitation vector. Thus, a person seated next to the rear lateral window 13 and behind the front seat 15 and fixing said artificial horizon lines 14, 16 will have the same visual sensations as the driver looking at the road: he will therefore no longer be subject to motion sickness. To achieve this result, the vehicle 10 is advantageously equipped with a triaxial accelerometer configured to detect the accelerations of the vehicle along the 3 axes X, Y and Z and emit corresponding acceleration signals, and a control unit able to receive the acceleration signals emitted by the accelerometer and to drive the light source(s) so that the first and second artificial horizon lines 14, 16 and 14′, 16′ are aligned in a horizontal plane A, perpendicular to the gravitation vector, whatever the accelerations of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 11, Bollier doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the display device is a liquid crystal display installed in the riding space, or a projector for projecting the horizontal line onto a screen installed in the riding space.
However Sivak teaches, wherein the display device is a liquid crystal display installed in the riding space, “[0026] In some embodiments, the present teachings comprises a wearable array of lights or similar visual stimuli (such as LEDs, LCDs, or video displays, mounted on goggles, glasses, hat brims, etc.), or vehicle mounted arrays of lights or similar visual stimuli (mounted in the vehicle interior in such locations as the pillars, headliner, roof, sidewalls, doors, seats, floor, dashboard, console, windows or areas traditionally used as windows, and the like) presented in the viewer's peripheral field of view in such a way as to mimic the specific motion (such as velocity, yaw rate, and/or pitch rate) of the vehicle.”)
Bollier and Sivak are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display for reducing motion sickness.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bollier to have the display device to be a liquid crystal display installed in the riding space as taught by Sivak.
The motivation for the modification is to provide a standard display..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:.
Claim 4 is objected because the combination of prior art fails to expressly teach, wherein the display device displays a bright spot moving along the horizontal line in a direction corresponding to an acceleration/deceleration of the vehicle together with the horizontal line.
Claims 16-19 are also allowable by virtue of dependency.
Claim 12 is objected because the combination of prior art fails to expressly teach, horizontal line setting unit for setting at least one of a color and width of the horizontal line; wherein the display device displays the horizontal line in the color, and width set.
Conclusion
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615