DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 21-23, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHANG (CN 110061136 A, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a solar cell (see the back-contact perovskite solar cell; see Figs. 1-3), wherein a structure of the solar cell (see the structure of the back-contact perovskite solar cell) comprises a photoactive layer (see the three-dimensional perovskite layer 3 & two-dimensional perovskite layer 4), the photoactive layer is a perovskite photoactive layer (see the perovskite layer 3, 4), at least one first p-type region (see the hole transport layers 5; [0039] The material of the hole transport layer 5 is any one of Spiro-OMeTAD, PTAA, NiOx, CuSCN, and P3HT, which are p-type material) and at least one first n-type region (see the electron transport layers 8; [0039] the electron transport layer 8 is made of any one of SnO2, TiO2, and ZnO, which are n-type material) are disposed at a bottom of the photoactive layer (see Fig. 1), each first n-type region is spaced apart from any first p-type region (see Fig. 1), and electrodes (see the electrodes 10 and the intermediate transparent electrode layers 9) are independently disposed below each first p-type region and each first n-type region, respectively (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches the photoactive layer is in contact with each first n-type region to form a heterojunction structure, and the photoactive layer is in contact with each first p-type region to form a heterojunction structure (The three-dimensional perovskite layer 3 & two-dimensional perovskite layer 4 is in contact with each of the hole transport layers 5 and in contact with each of the electron transport layers 8, which are heterojunction structures) (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches each first p-type region and each first n-type region are each in a rectangular shape (see the rectangular shape of each of the hole transport layers 5 and each of the electron transport layers 8), and at least one first p-type region and at least one first n-type region are alternately disposed and spaced apart from each other along an extending direction perpendicular to the rectangular shape, and one first n-type region is disposed between adjacent two first p-type regions (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches each first n-type region includes at least one first n-type layer (see the electron transport layers 8; [0039] the electron transport layer 8 is made of any one of SnO2, TiO2, and ZnO, which are n-type material), and a material of each first n-type layer includes any one or a combination of at least two of n-type monocrystalline silicon, n-type polycrystalline silicon, n-type amorphous silicon, TiO2, SnO2, ZnO, ZrO2, GZO, IZO, FTO, ITO, BaSnO3, TiSnOx, SnZnOx, or fullerene and a derivative thereof, where 0<x≤4 (see the electron transport layers 8; [0039] the electron transport layer 8 is made of any one of SnO2, TiO2, and ZnO, which are n-type material).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches a thickness of each first n-type region is less than or equal to about 100 µm ([0038] the thickness of the electron transport layer 8 is 10-50 nm), and a thickness of each first p-type region is less than or equal to about 100 µm ([0038] the thickness of the hole transport layer 5 is 0-150 nm).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches each first p-type region comprises includes at least one first p-type layer (see the hole transport layers 5; [0039] The material of the hole transport layer 5 is any one of Spiro-OMeTAD, PTAA, NiOx, CuSCN, and P3HT, which are p-type material), and a material of each first p-type layer comprises includes any one or a combination of at least two of p-type monocrystalline silicon, p-type polycrystalline silicon, p-type amorphous silicon, 2,2',7,7'-tetrakis[N,N-di(4-methoxyphenyl)amino]-9,9'-spirobifluorene, polyethylene terephthalate, a polymer of 3-hexylthiophene, PEDOT:PSS, Spiro-TTB, F4-TCNQ, F6TCNNQ, TAPC, NiOx, CuSCN, CuAlO2, or V2O5 (see the hole transport layers 5; [0039] The material of the hole transport layer 5 is any one of Spiro-OMeTAD, PTAA, NiOx, CuSCN, and P3HT, which are p-type material).
Regarding claim 21, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches the photoactive layer comprises includes an organic metal halide perovskite material and/or an inorganic metal halide perovskite material ([0039] the material of the three-dimensional perovskite layer 3 is MAPbI3, FAPbI3, CsPbI3 any one of the above; the material of the two-dimensional perovskite layer 4 is (NH)3-R-NH3)MX4 or (R-NH)3)2MX4, which are organic metal halide perovskite materials).
Regarding claim 22, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 21.
ZHANG teaches the organic metal halide perovskite material and/or the inorganic metal halide perovskite material comprise includes a three-dimensional structure of ABX3, where A is a monovalent cation, B is a divalent cation, and X is a monovalent anion; the A comprises includes any one or a combination of at least two of cesium, rubidium, methylamino, or formamidine, the B comprises includes any one or a combination of at least two of lead, copper, zinc, gallium, tin, or calcium, the X comprises includes any one or a combination of at least two of iodine, bromine, chlorine, fluorine, or thiocyanate ion ([0039] the material of the three-dimensional perovskite layer 3 is MAPbI3, FAPbI3, CsPbI3 any one of the above).
Regarding claim 23, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches the photoactive layer is a photoactive layer without open porosity (The three-dimensional perovskite layer 3 & two-dimensional perovskite layer 4 does not have open porosity); a thickness of the photoactive layer is less than or equal to about 100 µm ([0016] A three-dimensional perovskite layer of 10-1000 nm is prepared by thermal evaporation, spin coating, blade coating, spray coating, etc.; [0017] A two-dimensional perovskite layer with n=1-60 (about 0.6 – 40 nm thick) is prepared by spin coating.); an absorption band gap of the photoactive layer is in a range from about 0.9 eV to about 3.0 eV (([0039] the material of the three-dimensional perovskite layer 3 is MAPbI3, FAPbI3, CsPbI3 any one of the above, of which band daps ranges about 1.43 eV – 1.73 eV).
Regarding claim 26, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches an anti-reflection layer (see the antireflection layer 2) and a substrate (see the substrate 1) are disposed above the photoactive layer (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches a material of the electrode comprises includes any one or a combination of at least two of Au, Ag, Al, Cu, graphene, or ITO ([0048] The material of the electrode 10 includes gold, silver, aluminum, etc.); and a thickness of the electrode is less than or equal to about 10 µm ([0048] An electrode 10 of 100-150 nm is prepared by vapor deposition or sputtering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 110061136 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “wherein a minimum distance between each first n-type region and any first p-type region is approximately greater than 0 cm and less than or equal to 1 cm”, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that when the distance between the electron transport layer and the hole transport layer is too short, the electrical short increases, but when the distance between the electron transport layer and the hole transport layer is too long, the solar cell efficiency decrease. As the electrical short and the solar cell efficiency are variables that can be modified by adjusting said distance between the electron transport layer and the hole transport layer, the precise distance would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed distance cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the distance between the electron transport layer and the hole transport layer in the apparatus of ZHANG to obtain the desired balance between the electrical short and the solar cell efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 110061136 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 26 above, further in view of FUJINUMA (US 20210193929 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 26.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the substrate comprises includes any one of an FTO conductive glass, an ITO conductive glass, a PI flexible substrate, or a PEN flexible substrate; a material of the anti-reflection layer includes any one or a combination of at least two of LiF, MgF2, Si3N4, SiO2, or polydimethylsiloxane; a thickness of the anti-reflection layer is less than or equal to about 5 mm”, ZHANG teaches a material of the anti-reflection layer includes any one or a combination of at least two of LiF, MgF2, Si3N4, SiO2, or polydimethylsiloxane ([0039] The material of the antireflection layer 2 is TCO film or SiOx, SiNx, MgF2 or any combination thereof); a thickness of the anti-reflection layer is less than or equal to about 5 mm ([0038] the thickness of the antireflection layer 2 is 60-100nm), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “the substrate comprises includes any one of an FTO conductive glass, an ITO conductive glass, a PI flexible substrate, or a PEN flexible substrate”. However, FUJINUMA discloses a perovskite solar cell, wherein the substrate is preferably made of a transparent resin, more preferably a polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) film [0241]. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) film for the substrate in the device of ZHANG as taught by FUJINUMA, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144).
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728