35 USC 112(b) rejections
Claims 26-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26-45 are rejected because the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained because of the following reasons.
The phrases “Robotic energy converter” starting line 1 of claims 27-44 and the phrase “a robotic energy converter” on line 1 of claim 45 are multiple inclusion of the same claimed element because “said” or “the” has not been used to refer to those elements after the first occurrence.
For examination purposes the offending limitations above will be interpreted to be the same elements with “said” or “the”.
The term “in particular” has been repeatedly used on line 2 of claim 26, line 2 of claim 27, is vague/indefinite and should be avoided in claim language.
The term “preferably” has been repeatedly used on line 11 of claim 26, line 2 of claim 29, line 2 of claim 34, line 2 of claim 35, line 2 of claim 38, lien 2 of claim 40, line 2 of claim 41, lines 2, 3, 4 of claim 43, line 6 of claim 44, is vague/indefinite and should be avoided in claim language.
The term “such as” has been repeatedly used on line 3 of claim 38, line 2 of claim 44, is vague/indefinite and should be avoided in claim language.
For examination purposes the offending limitations above will be interpreted to be without the claimed subject matter following those terms “in particular”, “preferably” and “such as”. Please also recheck all claims for similar errors.
35 USC 102 rejections
Claim(s) 26-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 7,908,854 (Raikamo).
Regarding independent claim 26, Raikamo discloses a robotic energy converter (8, the term “robotic” is broad, the movement of the links 10-11, 13, 14, 15 can be considered a robotic mechanism), for converting movement of a movable object into on average usable energy, in particular electrical energy, comprising: at least one base structure (32, 34 in figure 8, 37, 60 in figure 13a, 13b; also most figures have a base), wherein said base structure is, directly or indirectly, connected or connectable to a fixed world (ground or some type of supports), at least one kinematic chain comprising at least one link and at least one joint (figures 2a, 11a, 11b disclose collector 8 having many linkages 10, 11, 13, 14 with joints), wherein a first end of the at least one kinematic chain is, directly or indirectly, connected to the at least one base structure, and wherein a second opposite end of the at least one kinematic chain is connected or connectable to a movable or moving object, wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least one energy converting unit, for converting the movement of a movable object connected to the second end of the kinematic chain into usable energy, preferably electrical energy (electric generator 15 is connected with link 14, element 60 is connected with device 13b).
Regarding claim 27, Raikamo comprises at least one generator 15, in particular a rotational generator, wherein at least one joint of the at least one kinematic chain is at least partially formed by said generator, for converting a rotation of a link connected to said joint into usable energy.
Regarding claim 28, Raikamo discloses that wherein the at least one energy converting unit comprises a plurality of generators (figures 6, 7, 13a disclose many electric generators 15), wherein each joint of the at least one kinematic chain is at least at least partially formed by at least one generator, for converting rotational movement between adjacent links into usable energy.
Regarding claim 29, Raikamo discloses that wherein the at least one kinematic chain is configured for moving outside a 2D-plane, preferably in a 3D-space (figures 6-7, 13a show 3D-space).
Regarding claim 30, Raikamo discloses that wherein the at least one kinematic chain comprises at least 3 or more degrees of freedom (device 8 has more than 5 links and more than 3 degrees of freedom).
Regarding claim 31, Raikamo discloses wherein the at least one kinematic chain comprises at least four separate rotational axis, mutually connected by at least three links (device 8 has more than 3 links).
Regarding claim 32, Raikamo discloses that wherein the base structure is mounted in a substantially vertical position (figures 6-7) and/or wherein the at least one kinematic chain is suspended to or from the at least one base structure (figure 13a).
Regarding claim 33, Raikamo discloses wherein the at least one kinematic chain is at least partially formed by a robotic arm and/or robot manipulator (the term “robot” is broad, the movement of the links can be considered a robotic mechanism).
Regarding claim 34, Raikamo discloses that wherein the at least one kinematic chain is movably, preferably rotatably connected to the at least one base structure (device 8 is connected to the bases).
Regarding claim 35, Raikamo discloses that wherein the at least one link, preferably all links, of the at least one kinematic chain are substantially rigid or flexible links (all links are rigid).
Regarding claim 36, Raikamo discloses that wherein at least one link of the at least one kinematic chain is adjustable in its length direction for increasing or decreasing a range of motion of the at least one kinematic chain (the links 10-11 are pivotally connected so the range can be varied).
Regarding claim 37, Raikamo discloses that wherein the movable object is a moveable floating body (float 7).
Regarding claim 38, Raikamo discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter and/or floating body 7 comprises at least one stabilizing element, preferably a submersed or submersible element, such as a plate, for stabilizing the floating body.
Regarding claim 39, Raikamo discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter and/or floating body comprises at least one flow conducting element, for introducing a movement into the at least one floating body through a fluid flow (the system of Raikamo is wave energy converter so the fluid flow is the main energy source to drive the system).
Regarding claim 40, Raikamo discloses that wherein the base structure (32, 34, 37, 60) is mounted, preferably to the fixed world, in a substantially vertical direction and/or wherein at least one link and/or at least one joint comprises at least one actuator, for actuating said at least one link and/or said at least one joint.
Regarding claim 41, Raikamo discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least two kinematic chains (figures 6-7, 13a, 13b), preferably independently movable, each comprising at least one link and at least one joint, wherein a first end of the at least two kinematic chains is, directly or indirectly, connected to the at least one base structure, and wherein a second opposite end of the at least two kinematic chains is connected or connectable to a movable object.
Regarding claim 42, Raikamo discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least two base structures (figures 6-7), wherein the at least two kinematic chains are each, directly or indirectly, connected to a respective base structure via their first ends.
Regarding claim 43, Raikamo discloses that wherein the at least two kinematic chains, preferably all kinematic chains are configured to communicate (figures 6-7, 13a, 13b clearly show the connecting or communicating), preferably via at least one control unit, preferably wherein the control unit is configured for independently controlling the at least two kinematic chains, preferably all kinematic chains based on at least one environmental status parameter.
Regarding claim 44, Raikamo discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least one monitoring system (all systems have monitoring device, Raikamo discloses adjusting device 25 which is a type of control unit to vary the mass of floats 7 based on sensors 26, note lines 24-37 of column 6), such as a camera, for monitoring of the at least one kinematic chain and/or the movable object and/or wherein the robotic energy converter further comprises at least one control unit and/or a control system, wherein said control unit and/or control system is configured for actuating the at least one kinematic chain based on a predefined input signal, preferably wherein said predefined input is received by said at least one control system from the at least one monitoring system.
Regarding claim 45, Raikamo discloses that Ship and/or floating structure (floats 7) provided with a robotic energy converter connected to the hull either under or above the water according to claim 37.
Claim(s) 26-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by CN 105443309.
Regarding independent claim 26, CN 105443309 discloses (the references in parentheses applying to this document, see figure): robotic energy converter (see figure), for converting movement of a movable object into on average usable energy, in particular electrical energy (through the generators provided in the device, namely at least the generators 8,12,13,14,19,23,24,33,34,36, see description), comprising: - at least one base structure (41,43), wherein said base structure is, directly or indirectly, connected or connectable to a fixed world (see anchors 22,39), - at least one kinematic chain (see drawing) comprising at least one link (see e.g. 2-6) and at least one joint (see joint at 8,14 and the corresponding lower joints, with integrated generators), wherein a first end (the lowermost end) of the at least one kinematic chain is, directly or indirectly, connected to the at least one base structure (41,43), and wherein a second opposite end (upper end, at the element 2) of the at least one kinematic chain is connected or connectable to a movable or moving object (1), wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least one energy converting unit (cf. generators 8,12,13,14,19,23,24,33,34,36), for converting the movement of a movable object connected to the second end of the kinematic chain into usable energy, preferably electrical energy.
Regarding claim 27, CN 105443309 comprises at least one generator 8, 12, 13, 14, in particular a rotational generator, wherein at least one joint of the at least one kinematic chain is at least partially formed by said generator, for converting a rotation of a link connected to said joint into usable energy.
Regarding claim 28, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the at least one energy converting unit comprises a plurality of generators (8,12, 13, 14), wherein each joint of the at least one kinematic chain is at least at least partially formed by at least one generator, for converting rotational movement between adjacent links into usable energy.
Regarding claim 29, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the at least one kinematic chain is configured for moving outside a 2D-plane, preferably in a 3D-space (figure 1 shows 3D-space).
Regarding claim 30, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the at least one kinematic chain comprises at least 3 or more degrees of freedom (device has more than 3 links and more than 3 degrees of freedom).
Regarding claim 31, CN 105443309 discloses wherein the at least one kinematic chain comprises at least four separate rotational axis, mutually connected by at least three links (device has more than 3 links).
Regarding claim 32, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the base structure is mounted in a substantially vertical position and/or wherein the at least one kinematic chain is suspended to or from the at least one base structure (figure 1).
Regarding claim 33, CN 105443309 discloses wherein the at least one kinematic chain is at least partially formed by a robotic arm and/or robot manipulator (the term “robot” is broad, the movement of the links can be considered a robotic mechanism).
Regarding claim 34, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the at least one kinematic chain is movably, preferably rotatably connected to the at least one base structure (device is connected to the base 41, 43).
Regarding claim 35, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the at least one link, preferably all links, of the at least one kinematic chain are substantially rigid or flexible links (all links are rigid).
Regarding claim 36, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein at least one link of the at least one kinematic chain is adjustable in its length direction for increasing or decreasing a range of motion of the at least one kinematic chain (the links are pivotally connected so the range can be varied).
Regarding claim 37, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the movable object is a moveable floating body (float 1).
Regarding claim 38, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter and/or floating body 1 comprises at least one stabilizing element, preferably a submersed or submersible element, such as a plate, for stabilizing the floating body.
Regarding claim 39, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter and/or floating body comprises at least one flow conducting element, for introducing a movement into the at least one floating body through a fluid flow (the system is wave energy converter so the fluid flow is the main energy source to drive the system).
Regarding claim 40, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the base structure (41, 43) is mounted, preferably to the fixed world, in a substantially vertical direction and/or wherein at least one link and/or at least one joint comprises at least one actuator, for actuating said at least one link and/or said at least one joint.
Regarding claim 41, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least two kinematic chains (figure 1 shows 3 links plus piston-cylinder 13), preferably independently movable, each comprising at least one link and at least one joint, wherein a first end of the at least two kinematic chains is, directly or indirectly, connected to the at least one base structure, and wherein a second opposite end of the at least two kinematic chains is connected or connectable to a movable object.
Regarding claim 42, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least two base structures (41, 43), wherein the at least two kinematic chains are each, directly or indirectly, connected to a respective base structure via their first ends.
Regarding claim 43, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the at least two kinematic chains, preferably all kinematic chains are configured to communicate (figure 1 clearly shows the connecting or communicating), preferably via at least one control unit, preferably wherein the control unit is configured for independently controlling the at least two kinematic chains, preferably all kinematic chains based on at least one environmental status parameter.
Regarding claim 44, CN 105443309 discloses that wherein the robotic energy converter comprises at least one monitoring system (all systems have monitoring device including at least human operator), such as a camera, for monitoring of the at least one kinematic chain and/or the movable object and/or wherein the robotic energy converter further comprises at least one control unit and/or a control system, wherein said control unit and/or control system is configured for actuating the at least one kinematic chain based on a predefined input signal, preferably wherein said predefined input is received by said at least one control system from the at least one monitoring system.
Regarding claim 45, CN 105443309 discloses that Ship and/or floating structure (floats 1) provided with a robotic energy converter connected to the hull either under or above the water according to claim 37.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu, Rosales, Cuong, McGillis, and Clement disclose wave energy converters having robotic linkages.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOANG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
HOANG NGUYEN
PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 3746
Hoang Minh Nguyen
3/5/2026