Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (Claims 22-32 and 37-41) in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. The restriction requirement is now made FINAL with Claims 33-36 now withdrawn from further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-30 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 27, the recitation of, “the plurality of outlet openings” in Line 3 lacks antecedent basis. Applicant is suggested to change the dependency of the claim to Claim 25 to overcome the rejection.
Regarding Claim 28, the claim depends from itself rendering the scope of the claim unclear and indefinite. Applicant is suggested to change the dependency of the claim to Claim 27 to overcome the rejection.
Regarding Claim 37, the recitation of, “the fluid outlet” in Line 4 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding Claim 38, the recitation of, “the fluid outlet” in Line 4 lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 29-30 and 38-39 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency.
**Any and all claims rejected above under 112(b), if rejected with art below under sections 102 and/or 103, is/are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kastenmaier et al. (DE 102010038909 A1) hereinafter referred to as Kastenmaier.
Regarding Claim 22, Kastenmaier discloses a turbocharger housing (figures 1-2, also reproduced/annotated above) comprising:
a first fluid passage (see annotated figure 2) having an exhaust gas inlet (11, figure 2), a volute (structure forming 2, figure 2), and an exhaust gas outlet (inherent outlet in axial direction, see figure 2), the volute extending from the exhaust gas inlet in a circumferential direction relative to a central axis of the exhaust gas outlet (see figure 2); and
a second fluid passage (3, figure 2) extending parallel to the first fluid passage (see annotated figure 2) between the exhaust gas inlet and the exhaust gas outlet (see annotated figure 2), the second fluid passage having an outlet opening (8, figure 2) that is offset from the exhaust gas outlet (best seen from figure 2).
Regarding Claim 23, Kastenmaier discloses that the second fluid passage further comprises a fluid inlet (7, figure 2) that is arranged coaxially with the exhaust gas inlet (see figure 2).
Regarding Claim 24, Kastenmaier discloses that the second fluid passage is structured to direct a flow of fluid parallel to a flow of an exhaust gas discharged from the first fluid passage through a single gasketed interface that is shared between the first fluid passage and the second fluid passage (intended use recitation, see figure 1-2 for capability where flow through first and second fluid passage is at least partially parallel and 7 and 11 sharing a common interface).
Regarding Claim 25, Kastenmaier discloses that the outlet opening is one of a plurality of outlet openings (see 8, figure 3 also reproduced below) that are arranged coaxially with or at least partially surround the exhaust gas outlet (see 8 at least partially surrounding exhaust gas outlet, best seen from figure 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 26, Kastenmaier discloses that each one of the plurality of outlet openings is reniform (see shape of 8, figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kastenmaier.
Regarding Claim 40, Kastenmaier discloses all of the limitations of Claim 22 as discussed above but is silent on an exhaust manifold that is fluidly coupled to the exhaust gas inlet, wherein the exhaust manifold is structured to direct a flow of fluid through therethrough parallel to a flow of exhaust gas along an entire length of the exhaust manifold.
It is well known and conventional in the art to have an exhaust manifold that is fluidly coupled to an exhaust gas inlet, wherein the exhaust manifold is structured to direct a flow of fluid through therethrough parallel to a flow of exhaust gas along an entire length of the exhaust manifold. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbocharger housing of Kastenmaier and include an exhaust manifold that is fluidly coupled to the exhaust gas inlet, wherein the exhaust manifold is structured to direct a flow of fluid through therethrough parallel to a flow of exhaust gas along an entire length of the exhaust manifold for the purposes of collecting exhaust gases from the engine's cylinders and channeling them into the turbocharger's turbine.
Regarding Claim 41, Kastenmaier discloses all of the limitations of Claim 22 as discussed above but is silent on an exhaust system comprising a plurality of turbocharger housings, wherein the turbocharger housing is a first turbocharger housing of the plurality of turbocharger housings, further comprising a second turbocharger housing that is fluidly coupled to the first turbocharger housing and has the same gas and fluid flow path therethrough as the first turbocharger housing.
It is well known and conventional in the art to have a series configuration of turbochargers that includes an exhaust system comprising a plurality of turbocharger housings, wherein the turbocharger housing is a first turbocharger housing of a plurality of turbocharger housings, further comprising a second turbocharger housing that is fluidly coupled to the first turbocharger housing and has the same gas and fluid flow path therethrough as the first turbocharger housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kastenmaier and include an exhaust system comprising a plurality of turbocharger housings, wherein the turbocharger housing is a first turbocharger housing of a plurality of turbocharger housings, further comprising a second turbocharger housing that is fluidly coupled to the first turbocharger housing and has the same gas and fluid flow path therethrough as the first turbocharger housing for the purposes of increasing power output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27, and 37-39 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 27 and 37, the claims further distinguish over the closest prior art i.e. Kastenmaier. Therefore, it is not known in, nor obvious from the prior art to construct a turbocharger housing as claimed.
Claims 38-39 also contain allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependency.
Claims 31-32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 31, the claim further distinguish over the closest prior art i.e. Kastenmaier. Therefore, it is not known in, nor obvious from the prior art to construct a turbocharger housing as claimed.
Claim 32 also contain allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency.
*Examiner’s Note: Regarding Claims 28-30, an indication of allowability or prior art rejections is/are reserved until the pending 112(b) rejections have been addressed.
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 Il): Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file. If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is sabbir.hasan@uspto.gov.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0266273 A1 discloses a turbine housing of a turbocharger (see 3, figure 1A).
/Sabbir Hasan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745