DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 January 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0007], “…Especially, as the precision reducer of industrial robot core
spare part, compare with general reduction gear, need possess higher life-span and
precision to and lower production and installation degree of difficulty” is not idiomatic.
Also, numerous paragraphs end with a semicolon instead of a period, e.g., ¶[0011]-¶[0013], ¶[0015]-¶[0020], ¶[0022]-¶[0023], ¶[0025]-¶[0026], and others.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: power interface ‘30’ ¶[0052]; nut body ‘40’ (¶[0059]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: ‘51’ (Fig.2), ‘11’ (Fig.5).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “power interface (30)” (claim 1), the “physical assistance device” [sic], “driving mechanism” [sic] and “deceleration motor module set” [sic] (claim 10) must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: . Appropriate correction is required. Recitation “A speed-reducing electric motor module which characterized in that: comprises a driving end and a rotary output shaft (2)…” is not idiomatic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, “…a power interface (30) which is matched with the screw rod (3) and can be connected with a prime mover (5) to drive the screw rod (3) to rotate…” is vague and indefinite. The “power interface” is referred to in [0052] & [0064] but not shown in the drawings or defined in any particular structural terms.
Further, “the guide rail (1)” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 2, “feed screw nut (4)” and “the pipe wall…” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 3, “…through the pipe wall” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 7 “…wherein: and a motor connecting section is arranged on one side of the guide rail (1)” is indefinite.
In claim 10, “the mechanical framework” lacks antecedent basis. Recitation “…the driving mechanism is decelerated through the deceleration motor module set of claim 1 to output power to the mechanical framework” is vague and indefinite in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 110588955).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a speed-reducing electric motor module which [is] characterized in that [it]:
comprises a driving end (at motor/actuator 1/4 end) and a rotary output shaft 407;
the driving end comprises a screw rod 409 and a screw rod nut 404; one end of the screw rod is provided with a power interface (including screw bearing mounting seat 401) which is “matched with” [sic] the screw rod 409 and can be connected with a prime mover (motor/actuator) 1/4 to drive the screw rod to rotate (Fig.1);
when the screw rod 409 drives the screw rod nut 404 to move linearly, the screw rod nut rotates around the screw rod under the guidance of [a] guide rail (i.e., sleeve 408 has spiral groove); and
in the rotary motion process of the screw rod nut 404, the rotary output 407 is driven to rotate (abstract; Figs.1-5).
Regarding claim 2, the guide rail 408 is tubular (Figs.1-2&4); the axis of the guide rail is superposed with the axis of the screw rod 409; the guide rail guides the motion track of the feed screw nut 404 to be a cylindrical spiral line wound around the pipe wall of the guide rail (i.e., spiral groove in sleeve 408; Figs.2&4).
Regarding claim 3, the guide rail 408 is tubular, and a spiral rail groove penetrating through the pipe wall on one side of the guide rail is formed in the pipe wall of the guide rail (Figs.2-&4);
“the track of the spiral track groove” [sic] is a cylindrical spiral line wound around the pipe wall of the guide rail 408 (i.e., spiral groove; Figs.2&4);
a tubular hollow rotary output shaft 407 is arranged in the pipe wall of the guide rail 408 (Figs.1&5);
a linear track groove (not numbered) penetrating through the pipe wall on one side of the rotary output shaft 407 is formed in the pipe wall of the rotary output shaft (Fig.5);
the notch track of the linear track groove is parallel to the axial direction of the rotary output shaft 407; and
a screw rod 409 and a screw rod nut 404 which is arranged on the screw rod and can reciprocate along the screw rod are arranged in the pipe wall of the rotary output shaft 407 along the axial direction of the rotary output shaft (Figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 4, the feed screw nut 404 comprises a nut body 4041 moving along a feed screw 409 and a first (spiral groove guide) bearing 4044 and a second (output shaft guide) bearing 4043 arranged on the nut body (Fig.3);
the first (spiral groove guide bearing) 4044 passes through the linear track groove (in output shaft 407), contacts the spiral track groove (in guide rail/sleeve 408), and can roll in the spiral track groove (spiral groove in guide rail 408 which surrounds and is co-axial with output shaft 407; Figs.1&4);
the nut body 4041 is driven to do linear motion and simultaneously do rotary motion along the track of the spiral track groove;
the second (output shaft guide) bearing 403 contacts the linear track groove (in output shaft 407) and can roll in the linear track groove (Fig.5);
the nut body 4041 drives the rotary output shaft 407 to do rotary motion in the process of moving along the linear track groove (Figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 7, a motor connecting section (mounting base) 2 is arranged on one side of the guide rail 408 (Figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches a speed reducing method for an electric motor 1 characterized in that:
the rotary motion output by the rotor end of the motor 1/4 is converted into linear motion (when the motor drives screw rod 409 to rotate, the screw rod nut 404 generates axial movement), and
then the linear motion is converted into rotary motion ( the screw nut 404 moves axially and bears on the helical groove in sleeve 408 for generating rotary motion),
so that the rotating speed is reduced, and the output torque is improved (abstract; Figs.1-4).
Regarding claim 9, in Liu the method comprises the following steps of conveying a rotating torque output by a rotor end of a motor to a screw rod 409 to drive the screw rod to rotate; a screw rod nut 404 arranged on the screw rod is driven to linearly move through a rotating screw rod; when the screw rod 409 drives the screw rod nut 404 to do linear motion, the screw rod nut rotates around the screw rod under the guidance of the guide rail 408; in the process of the rotary motion of the screw rod nut, the rotary output shaft is driven to do rotary motion; the guide rail 408 guides the motion track of the feed screw nut to be a cylindrical spiral line wound around the pipe wall of the guide rail (i.e., helical groove in guide rail/sleeve 408; Fig.4).
Regarding claim 10, Liu further teaches a “physical assistance device” [sic] (i.e., for driving an aircraft wing, rudder, etc.) is characterized in that: the mechanical framework comprises a driving mechanism (motor/actuator) 1/4 and a mechanical framework driven by the driving mechanism (e.g., aircraft wing, rudder, etc.); the driving mechanism is decelerated through the deceleration motor module to output power to the mechanical framework.
Claims 1-2, 7-8 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stoll et al. (US 10,161,490).
Regarding claim 1, Stoll teaches a speed-reducing electric motor module which [is] characterized in that [it]:
comprises a driving end (at drive 6) and a rotary output shaft (output body/coupling) 5/9 ;
the driving end comprises a screw rod 2 and a screw rod nut (not numbered, at center of intermediate body 3);
one end of the screw rod is provided with a power interface (not numbered) which is “matched with” [sic] the screw rod 2 and can be connected with a prime mover 6 to drive the screw rod 2 to rotate (Fig.1);
when the screw rod 2 drives the screw rod nut (in intermediate body 3) to move linearly, the screw rod nut rotates around the screw rod 2 under the guidance of [a] guide rail (housing 21 with helicoidal guide counter-elements); and
in the rotary motion process of the screw rod nut, the rotary output shaft (output body/coupling) 5/9 is driven to rotate (abstract; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 2, the guide rail 21 is tubular; the axis of the guide rail is superposed with the axis of the screw rod 2; the guide rail guides the motion track of the feed screw nut to be a cylindrical spiral line 31 wound around the pipe wall of the guide rail (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 7, a motor connecting section (base plate) 22 is arranged on one side of the guide rail 21 (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 8, Stoll teaches a speed reducing method for an electric motor (drive) 6 characterized in that:
the rotary motion output by the rotor end of the motor 6 is converted into linear motion (i.e., first helical transmission 11 transforms a rotational movement of drive shaft 2 into a linear motion component of the intermediate body 3 relative to reference body 4/21), and
then the linear motion is converted into rotary motion (i.e., second transmission 12 transforms linear motion component of intermediate body 3 into a rotational movement of the output body/coupling 5/9),
so that the rotating speed is reduced, and the output torque is improved (c.11:10-15 & c.11:20-29; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Stoll further teaches a “physical assistance device” (i.e., for driving a valve) is characterized in that: the mechanical framework comprises a driving mechanism (motor) 6 and a mechanical framework (valve) 40 driven by the driving mechanism; the driving mechanism is decelerated through the deceleration motor module to output power to the mechanical framework (Fig.11).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 108468779.
Regarding claim 8, CN ‘779 teaches a speed reducing method for an electric motor (drive) 110 characterized in that: the rotary motion output by the rotor end of the motor 110 is converted into linear motion (i.e., “the rotating shaft of the rotation driving device 110 drives the screw 200 to rotate the lead screw 200 rotating under the action of the thread, the nut [210] will move along the lead screw 200…” English machine translation p.4,), and then the linear motion is converted into rotary motion (i.e., screw rod transmits the axial movement into belt wheel of rotating shaft output, p.3) so that the rotating speed is reduced, and the output torque is improved (i.e., final output speed of output wheel 410 is reduced by reducing mechanism and output torque range is larger; abstract; Fig.1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not appear to further teach the claimed speed-reducing electric motor module including, inter alia, “the first bearing (41) comprises a first rotating shaft (410) fixed on the feed screw nut (4) and a first roller (411) arranged on the first rotating shaft (410);the first rotating shaft (43) passes through the linear track groove (20) and reaches the spiral track groove (10); the first roller (411) moves only within the spiral track groove (10);the second bearing (42) comprises a second rotating shaft (420) fixed on the feed screw nut (4) and a second roller (421) arranged on the second rotating shaft (420); the second roller 421 moves only in the linear rail groove 20.”
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834