DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2014/0039318 A1) in view of Schneider et al. (US 2019/0059858 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. (‘318) teach a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving as input from an ultrasound acquisition system a 3D ultrasound image dataset comprising at least one 3D image frame spanning a 3D field (see [0039]); applying a disease detection module adapted for processing input 3D image frames and detecting one or more suspected disease features therein of a pre-defined set of possible disease features (see [0043]); and applying a plane-mapping module adapted to determine for each 3D image frame a set of one or more 2D slices through the 3D field of the image frame based on an output from the disease detection module, for imaging one or more disease regions associated with the detected one or more disease features (see [0052], [0054]-[0055]), but fails to explicitly teach generating control instructions for output to the ultrasound acquisition system for causing automated acquisition of set of new 2D image frames with corresponds to the set of one or more 2D slices. However, Schneider et al. (‘858) from the same field of endeavor do teach generating control instructions for output to the ultrasound acquisition system for causing automated acquisition of set of new 2D image frames with corresponds to the set of one or more 2D slices (see [0025]-[0026]; and Fig. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Zhang et al. with the features of Schneider et al. for the benefit of improved image feature tracking.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the input 3D ultrasound image dataset comprises a stream of 3D image frames, and wherein the steps of the method are performed in real time with receipt of each 3D image frame (see Zhang et al. [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the plane-mapping module is adapted to use a look-up table to select a pre-determined plane based on the one or more detected disease features (see Zhang et al. [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the disease detection module is adapted to generate for the at least one 3D image frame a 3D spatial map of disease regions within the 3D field of the image frame corresponding to the disease features; and wherein the plane-mapping module is adapted for receiving as input a 3D map of detected disease regions within a 3D field, and is adapted for determining a set of one or more 2D slices through the 3D field intersecting with the disease regions, in dependence upon the map (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0052], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 4, wherein, the plane mapping module is adapted to perform a spatial fitting of planes to the one or more disease regions, to determine a set of one or more 2D slices which intersect all of the regions, and optionally which meet a further one or more constraints (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 4, wherein, for at least a subset of the pre-defined set of disease features, the detection of the disease feature by the disease-detection module comprises segmenting and classifying one or more spatial regions as suspicious regions, and wherein the 3D spatial map output by the disease detection module comprises a map of the segmented suspicious regions (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0044], [0052], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 4, wherein, for at least a subset of the pre-defined set of disease features, the detection of the respective disease feature by the disease-detection module comprises computing a 3D saliency map spanning the 3D field in relation to the disease feature, and deriving a discrete classification of the 3D image in relation to the feature based on the saliency map, and wherein the saliency map is used as the 3D spatial map of disease regions (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0044], [0052], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 7, wherein the plane mapping module is adapted to determine the set of one or more 2D slices based on fitting planes of maximum saliency through the saliency map (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0044], [0052], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the control instructions are adapted to cause the ultrasound acquisition system to interleave acquisition of the set of one or more 2D slices with any other acquisition sequence which the ultrasound acquisition system is currently performing (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0044], [0052], [0054]-[0055]; and Schneider et al. [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the control instructions are adapted to control acquisition of 2D slices which are of higher spatial resolution than the input 3D ultrasound image data (see Zhang et al. [0042], [0044], [0052], [0054]-[0055]; and Schneider et al. [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises receiving the acquired set of one or more 2D slices; and controlling a user interface to generate a visual output representative thereof (see Zhang et al. [0042]; and Schneider et al. [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, after determining the set of 2D slices, controlling a user interface to generate a user-perceptible prompt requesting approval to acquire the set of 2D slices, and wherein the generating of the control instructions is performed only responsive to receipt from the user interface of a user input indicative of approval (see Zhang et al. [0042]; and Schneider et al. [0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach a computer program product comprising code means configured, when run on a processor which is operatively coupled with an ultrasound acquisition system, to cause the processor to perform a method in accordance with claim 1 (see Zhang et al. [0039], [0042]-[0043], [0052], [0054]-[0055]; and Schneider et al. [0025]-[0026]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2014/0039318 A1) in view of Schneider et al. (US 2019/0059858 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hope Simpson et al. (US 2019/0336108 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. (‘318) in view of Schneider et al. (‘858) teach the method of claim 1 as cited above but fail to explicitly teach, wherein the disease detection module comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN). However, Hope Simpson et al. (‘108) from the same field of endeavor do teach a convolutional neural network (CNN) (see [0036]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of claim 1 with the features of Hope Simpson et al. for the benefit of improved object detection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797