DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a retaining structure” in claim 1. This is disclosed in the Applicant’s specification as (64 and 70) or 61b or (65c and 65d).
Claim Objections
The claims should be formatted with proper indentations in accordance with Rule 1.75(i), where appropriate, particularly in Claims 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 17-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, “a gearbox cover” is recited however this is already introduced in parent Claim 1. It is the Examiner’s position that only one such gearbox cover exists therefore proper antecedent basis should be used.
Regarding Claim 5, lines 5-6, “the front end of the gear” should be recited as --the rear end of the gear--. This because the front end (32b per the Specification, [0048]) is not in contact with a plane (12 per the Specification), rather it is the rear end (32a) of the gear. Similarly [0049] should be corrected as it appears Figs. 3-4 are correct.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "an other end surface" in lines 12-13 however this is already introduced in lines 7-8. It is the Examiner’s position that only one such structure exists therefore proper antecedent basis should be used.
Regarding Claim 5, line 13, “the rear end of the gear” should be recited as --the front end of the gear--. This is because the wedge shaped block (60 per the Specification) is not in contact with the other end surface of the thrust bearing set at the rear end (32a) of the gear but at the front end (32b) per Fig. 4 and [0050].
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the large force distribution hole" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 23, line 4, the phrase “the rear end of the gear” should be recited as --the front end of the gear--. This is because no surface of the wedge shaped block (60) is in contact with the other end surface of the thrust bearing set at the rear end (32a) rather is in contact at the front end (32b) via 62 ([0050]) per Fig. 4. Similarly [0050] should be corrected (i.e. with 32b instead of 32a) as it appears Figs. 3-4 are correct.
Claim 23 recites the limitations “the thrust bearing set” and "the slope" in lines 4 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 18 and 19 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 15, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arndt et al. (US Patent No. 9,546,716 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Arndt et al. discloses
a gearbox casing (10), a gearbox cover (3), a transmission assembly (comprising 12 and 4), and a wedge-shaped block (5), wherein the transmission assembly is arranged inside the gearbox casing, the gearbox cover is mounted on the gearbox casing (Fig. 7), the wedge-shaped block is configured to eliminate an axial clearance between the transmission assembly and the gearbox casing (lines 28-30 of Column 7), and the wedge-shaped block further comprises a retaining structure (i.e. 19 and the hole in 5 into which 19 is screwed, Fig. 7) capable of retaining the wedge-shaped block in a position to eliminate the axial clearance (lines 35-40 of Column 8).
Regarding Claim 2, Arndt et al. discloses
a gearbox cover (3), wherein the gearbox cover is mounted on the gearbox casing (Fig. 7), and the retaining structure is pressed by the gearbox cover (i.e. 19 is contacted by 8/3, Fig. 6-7) to retain the wedge-shaped block in the position to eliminate the axial clearance (i.e. intended use). It is noted that no pressing structure is required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 3, Arndt et al. discloses
a slope (17) is provided in the gearbox casing, one end surface (16) of the wedge-shaped block is in contact with the transmission assembly (at 11), and an other end surface of the wedge-shaped block (13) is in contact with the slope (lines 28-38 of Column 7, Fig. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Arndt et al. discloses
the transmission assembly is a lead screw gear assembly, the lead screw gear assembly comprises a lead screw shaft (the threads to which ’4’ points in Fig. 7) and a gear (12) mounted on the lead screw shaft, the gear is arranged in the gearbox casing, and the slope (17) is arranged in the gearbox casing and close to a position at which the lead screw extends out of the gearbox casing (i.e. 17 is at the right end of casing 10, near where the shaft extends out of the casing).
Regarding Claim 7, Arndt et al. discloses
the retaining structure comprises an oblique hole provided at a top of the wedge-shaped block (see Fig. 7, where 19 screws into 5), and further comprises a second fastening screw (19), and the second fastening screw is obliquely screwed through the gearbox cover (via 8) to come into contact with the oblique hole to drive the wedge-shaped block to move (i.e. intended use).
Regarding Claim 8, Arndt et al. discloses
a diameter (i.e. the narrower diameter, at the tip end of the hole) of the oblique hole is less than a diameter (i.e. the larger diameter/shoulder portion) of the second fastening screw.
Regarding Claim 15, Arndt et al. discloses
the wedge-shaped block is integrally formed by injection molding (i.e. is integral as in Fig. 5 and product by process), and the retaining structure is arranged on an upper half of the wedge-shaped block in contact with the gearbox cover (Fig. 6-7, wherein the cover includes 8).
Regarding Claim 22, Arndt et al. discloses
the wedge-shaped block or a lower half of the wedge-shaped block is of an inverted U-shaped structure (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 23, Arndt et al. discloses
a surface (16) of the wedge-shaped block or a lower half of the wedge-shaped block which is in contact with the other end surface of the thrust bearing set at the rear end of the gear is a plane, and a surface of the wedge-shaped block or the lower half of the wedge-shaped block which is in contact with the slope in the gearbox casing is a slope (13). Also see the 112 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 16, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al. (US Patent No. 9,546,716 B2) in view of Yang et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0370635 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Arndt et al. does not disclose first fastening screws.
Yang et al. discloses the gearbox cover (12) is fixed to the gearbox casing (11) through a plurality of first fastening screws (13, Fig. 1), for the purpose of securing the cover to the casing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Arndt et al. by including the first fastening screws as
disclosed by Yang et al., for the purpose of securing the cover to the casing.
Regarding Claim 16, 20 and 21, Arndt et al. does not disclose force distribution holes or symmetric weight-reducing holes.
Yang et al. discloses a plurality of force distribution holes/symmetric weight-reducing holes (i.e. see the holes provided in 50, between the central hollow oval and the outer periphery, Fig. 3) provided on the upper half of the wedge-shaped block in contact with the gearbox cover, and the plurality of force distribution holes transversely run through the wedge- shaped block, for the purpose of reducing weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Arndt et al. by including the force distribution
holes/symmetric weight-reducing holes as disclosed by Yang et al., for the purpose of
reducing weight. It is noted that the claim does not define or characterize ‘force
distribution’ and by the modification, the holes would be disposed at least in the upper
half of the wedge-shaped block of Arndt et al.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al. (US Patent No. 9,546,716 B2) in view of Napau et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0339654 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Arndt et al. does not disclose a screw to be tapped.
Napau et al. discloses a fastening screw (1202) tapped into a hole (464), for the purpose of securing two structures together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Arndt et al. by including the self tapping screws/holes arrangement as disclosed by Napau et al., for the purpose of securing two structures together. It is noted that this may be applied to the second fastening screw and oblique hole of Arndt et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10-14 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a pair of thrust bearing sets arranged as claimed (Claim 5) or a spring steel bar as claimed (Claims 12-14), a large elliptical force distribution hole and a plurality of small force distribution holes above it (Claims 17-19) or the hardness of portions of the wedge shaped block to be as claimed (Claims 10 and 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0244142) discloses casing 20, cover 50 and wedge 70.
Bruhn et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0124158) discloses casing 12a, cover 12b and wedge 50.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 July 16, 2026