DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 02/25/2026. Claims 4-5 are pending; claim 4 has been amended; claims 1-3 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/10/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HÖHN (US 20230296162 A1) in view of Hiraiwa (US 20040229725 A1)
Claim 4: HÖHN discloses a unit (Fig.1) comprising:
a first planetary gear mechanism(10) ;
a second planetary gear mechanism (12);
a first brake (22, 34; Fig.3) connected to the first planetary gear mechanism(10);
a second brake (26,40) connected to the second planetary gear mechanism (12); and
an actuator (48, 50, 52) configured to drive both the first brake (22,34) and the second brake (26,40),
wherein the first planetary gear mechanism (10) includes a first sun gear (1’), a first carrier (S), and a first ring gear (14) that meshes with a first pinion gear (6’) between the first sun gear (1’) and the first ring gear (14);
the first brake (22,34) has a portion overlapping the first pinion gear (6’) of the first planetary gear mechanism (10) when viewed in a radial direction (as shown in Fig.3, synchronizer body 22 of the first brake overlaps in radial direction with planetary gears 6’- see annotated Fig below);
the second planetary gear mechanism (12) includes a second sun gear (1), and a second ring gear (16) that meshes with a second pinion gear (6) between the second sun gear (1) and the second ring gear (16)
the second brake (26,40) has a portion overlapping the second pinion gear (6) of the second planetary gear mechanism (12) when viewed in the radial direction (as shown in Fig.3, synchronizer body 26 of the second brake overlaps in radial direction with 6-- see annotated Fig below)
the first planetary gear mechanism (10) has a portion overlapping the second planetary gear mechanism (12) when viewed in an axial direction (as shown in Fig.1, carrier S of 10 overlaps with sun shaft 1 in X direction ), and
the actuator (48, 50, 52) includes a component (52) interposed between the first brake (22,34) and the second brake (26,40) in the axial direction (as shown in Fig.3, 52 is disposed between the two brakes),
the component (52) being different from the first brake (22,34) and the second brake (26,40).
HÖHN does not disclose a second carrier.
Hiraiwa teaches a planetary geartrain (Fig.1) having first planetary gearset (16) and second planetary gearset (18) having second sun gear (40); second ring gear (42); second carrier (48).
Note: Fig.6 of Hiraiwa shows alternative embodiment wherein a planetary geartrain (Fig.6) includes a common carrier (38) that supports both planet gears (34,44). This carrier is similar to the common carrier (S) in HÖHN.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a corresponding carrier (38 as taught Hiraiwa) in the planetary gear mechanisms of HÖHN as obvious matter of design choice. As demonstrated by Hiraiwa, the construction of planetary geartrain from Fig.6 and Fig.1 are alternative equivalents to one another, substituting one known equivalent for another involves only routine skill in the art, and upon making the modification one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at predictable results, such as increased design flexibility in torque transmission and gear ratio configuration.
Claim 5: HÖHN as modified by Hiraiwa discloses the unit according to claim 4, wherein the component is a worm gear (52, see ¶[0111]), the worm gear (52) has a portion (54) interposed between the first brake (22,34) and the second brake (26,40), and a longitudinal direction of the worm gear (52) intersects the axial direction (X).
Response to Amendment
The previous objection to the title has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the title.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4-5 under 35 USC§ 102 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
1-Applicant argues “At the outset, Applicant respectfully submits that HÖHN is directed to "a two-speed transmission for an electric drive system, and to an electric drive system having such a two-speed transmission." (HÖHN, paragraph [0002]; see also Abstract ("A compact and fast-shifting two- speed transmission for an electric drive system, such as an electric vehicle, has two synchronized-5- dog clutches"), and paragraph [0103] describing the arrangement of the second ring gear 16, the cylindrical connecting component 17, and the synchronizer body 22). HÖHN describes a compact two-speed transmission architecture in which the second ring gear 16 is connected on its outer side to a cylindrical connecting component 17 that "extends axially toward the first synchronizer body 22 with a radially inwardly stepped section," and in which "the second synchronizer body 26 is provided on the axial end projection of the radially inwardly stepped section." (HÖHN, paragraph [0103]; see also Figures 2 and 3).
HÖHN does not disclose or suggest such a unit, and instead describes a cylindrical connecting member that extends axially from the ring gear main body (i.e., the portion having teeth), and the brake (synchronizer body 22) is positioned at the end of that axial extension, positioned axially offset from the gear (pinion) rather than overlapping it in the radial direction. (HÖHN, paragraph [0103]; see also Figures 2 and 3).”
-In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees, paragraph [0103] of HÖHN states that synchronizer body (22) is provided on an outer circumference of the ring gear and rigidly connected thereto (e.g. pressed-fitted or integrally formed). This describes a radial arrangement relative to the ring gear not axial offset at a distal extension. Furthermore, as shown in annotated Fig.3 above, the synchronizer body (22) extends along the same axial region as ring gear with which the pinion gear (6’) meshes. Likewise, second brake (26) is arranged radially outward of the second ring gear along the same axial region where the second pinion gear (6’) meshes. Accordingly, the limitation of “the first brake has a portion overlapping the first pinion gear of the first planetary gear mechanism when viewed in a radial direction; the second brake has a portion overlapping the second pinion gear of the second planetary gear mechanism when viewed in the radial direction” is disclosed by HÖHN.
2-Applicant argued “In addition, as shown for example in Figure 3 of HÖHN, the lock device 2 and the ring gear 16 are arranged side by side along the axial direction, resulting in a longer overall axial length and failing to achieve the advantageous effect of the present invention's overlapping arrangement.”
- In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees, the claim is now required the brake overlaps the pinion gear, not ring gear. As shown in annotated Fig.3 above, the synchronizer body (22) extends along the same axial region as ring gear with which the pinion gear (6’) meshes. Likewise, second brake (26) is arranged radially outward of the second ring gear along the same axial region where the second pinion gear (6’) meshes. In addition, HÖHN discloses the first planetary gear mechanism (10) has a portion overlapping the second planetary gear mechanism (12) when viewed in an axial direction (as shown in Fig.1, carrier S of 10 overlaps with sun shaft 1 in X direction ), and the actuator (48, 50, 52) includes a component (52) interposed between the first brake (22,34) and the second brake (26,40) in the axial direction (as shown in Fig.3, 52 is disposed between the two brakes), the component (52) being different from the first brake (22,34) and the second brake (26,40). Accordingly, the limitation of “the first brake has a portion overlapping the first pinion gear of the first planetary gear mechanism when viewed in a radial direction; the second brake has a portion overlapping the second pinion gear of the second planetary gear mechanism when viewed in the radial direction; "the first planetary gear mechanism has a portion overlapping the second planetary gear mechanism when viewed in an axial direction," and "the actuator includes a component interposed between the first brake and the second brake in the axial direction, the component being different from the first brake and the second brake." is disclosed by HÖHN.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655A