DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“refrigerant pumping unit” in claim 1.
“heat exchanging unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (US 20240324146), hereinafter referred to as Jia
Re claim 1, Jia teaches an immersion cooling device that cools a heating element (121) provided on a board (12), the immersion cooling device comprising:
a casing group including inclined casings (see Fig 8, inclined casings 1), each of which has a box shape extending downward toward a first side in a horizontal direction and each of which is configured to accommodate the heating element (see Fig 8), and configured by arranging the inclined casings in an up-down direction (see Fig 8);
a supply-side header (51) extending in the up-down direction on a second side in the horizontal direction of the casing group and configured to introduce a first refrigerant into each of the inclined casings (see Fig 8);
a discharge-side header (52) extending in the up-down direction on the first side in the horizontal direction of the casing group and configured to receive introduction of the first refrigerant from each of the inclined casings (see Fig 8);
a refrigerant pumping unit (313) configured to pump the first refrigerant from the discharge-side header to the supply-side header; and
a heat exchange unit (321) configured to cool the first refrigerant by exchanging heat between a second refrigerant supplied from an outside and the first refrigerant (e.g. ¶ 62, “The heat exchanger 321 is connected to an external cooling water source. The external cooling water source flows through the heat exchanger 321, exchanges heat with the coolant in the heat exchanger 321, and takes away heat of the coolant to cool the coolant”).
Re claim 7, Jia teaches the immersion cooling device according to Claim 1, further comprising: a nozzle (c) provided in each of the inclined casings and configured to jet the first refrigerant supplied from the supply-side header (see e.g. Fig 3c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia, in view of Lin et al. (US 20220272873), hereinafter referred to as Lin.
Re claim 2, Jia teaches the immersion cooling device according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of supply-side connection lines (see line connected to a) configured to connect the supply-side header and each of the inclined casings to each other in a state in which the supply-side header and each of the inclined casings communicate with each other; and
Jia does not teach the limitation of a valve provided for each of the inclined casings and configured to open and close the supply- side connection lines.
However, Lin teaches teaches a server cooling system comprising a valve (4) provided for each of casings (101) and configured to open and close a supply- side connection lines (see where 4 is).
Therefore at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jia and integrated a valve provided for each of the inclined casings and configured to open and close the supply- side connection lines, as taught by Lin, in order to achieve beneficial effects of uniform flows, heat dissipation, and cooling (see Lin ¶ 8).
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia.
Re claim 6, Jia teaches the immersion cooling device according to Claim 1. Jia does not teach the limitation of wherein the heat exchange unit is provided below the casing group. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to arrange the heat exchange unit below the casing group, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C)
Re claim 8, Jia teaches the immersion cooling device according to Claim 1. Jia does not explicitly teach the limitation of further comprising: seal portions provided in end portions of each of the inclined casings on the first side in the horizontal direction and on the second side in the horizontal direction and configured to suppress leakage of the first refrigerant. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that seal portions provided in end portions of each of the inclined casings on the first side in the horizontal direction and on the second side in the horizontal direction and configured to suppress leakage of the first refrigerant, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Jia and integrated seal portions provided in end portions of each of the inclined casings on the first side in the horizontal direction and on the second side in the horizontal direction and configured to suppress leakage of the first refrigerant, as taught by Lin, in order to prevent leak.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892.
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 8/7/2026