DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it fails to comply with MPEP 608.01(b). Specifically, it is a copy of claim 1. Pursuant to MPEP 608.01(b), an abstract must be a narrative summary of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20230115085), in view of Zhang et al. (US 20220264533 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Hu teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver; and a processor (Hu discloses a UE configured to communicate with network nodes. A UE is understood to include at least a transceiver and a processor for wireless communication; [0029], Hu)
configured to:
receive, via the transceiver, a configuration for a radio bearer dedicated to reporting of at least one application layer measurements or quality of experience (QoE) measurements to a network (…the first radio bearer used by the UE to send the QoE measurement result is a radio bearer configured by the MN (base station/master node) for the UE. (i.e., UE receiving the configuration for radio bearer when radio bearer is being configured for UE); [0126], Hu);
receive, via the transceiver, a configuration for a logical channel (LCH) corresponding to the radio bearer (the master access network device configures the first radio bearer for the terminal device, or configures a first logical channel in the radio bearer for the terminal to send the QoE measurement result; [007], Hu)
report, …, the at least one application layer measurements or quality of experience (QoE) measurements to the network (...an RRC message MeasReportAppLayer sent by the UE to the SN is encapsulated in an RRC message MeasReportAppLayer sent by the UE to the MN. MeasReportAppLayer is used to send the QoE measurement result; [0145], Hu).
Hu does not teach a configuration of an uplink (UL) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode restriction corresponding to the LCH nor does Hu teach report via the LCH and based on the HARQ mode restriction corresponding to the LCH.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches, a configuration of an uplink (UL) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode restriction corresponding to the LCH (…the resource information also identifies physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the first UE. In such embodiments, these exemplary methods can also include receiving, from the first UE via the identified PUCCH resources, HARQ feedback associated with the grant of the selected resources; [0023], Zhang. In addition, HARQ procedures should be configured according to the QoS requirements of the associated SL LCH (or SL radio bearer, SLRB); [0122], Zhang. …the network can explicitly indicate an associated HARQ mode or configuration (e.g., whether this SL grant requires a HARQ feedback) or explicitly indicate an association between the resource pool and/or resource grant and a UE SL LCH. Subsequently, when a UE has data available on a particular SL LCH that requires a particular HARQ configuration, the UE transmits the data using a granted SL resource (e.g., in a resource pool) having an HARQ configuration that matches the required particular HARQ configuration (i.e., configuration of an UL HARQ mode restriction corresponding to the LCH); [0122], Zhang)
Report via the LCH and based on the HARQ mode restriction corresponding to the LCH (UE transmits the data using a granted SL resource (e.g., in a resource pool) having an HARQ configuration that matches the required particular HARQ configuration (i.e., reports based on the HARQ mode restriction corresponding to LCH); [0112], Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify teachings of Hu to apply Zhang’s UL HARQ mode restriction for the LCH used to report QoE measurements to improve the reliability of uplink transmission of the reported measurement.
With regards to claim 2, Hu in view of Zhang teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the base station is in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (An access network device 110 is a radio access network (RAN) node (or device) that connects a terminal to a wireless network, and may also be referred to as a base station. Currently, some examples of the RAN node are an evolved NodeB (gNB), a transmission reception point (TRP), an evolved NodeB (eNB)…(i.e., non-terrestrial network (NTN)); [0086], Hu).
With regards to claim 4, Hu in view of Zhang teaches UE of claim 1, wherein the radio bearer dedicated to reporting of the at least application layer measurements of the QoE measurements to the network is a signaling radio bearer 4 (SRB4) (… the SRB 4 may be used to transmit a QoE measurement result…; [0135], Hu).
With regards to claim 7, Hu and Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 including the configuration of the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponding to the LCH indicates there is no HARQ mode restriction associated with the LCH (… while a SL LCH not supporting HARQ feedback can select any available SL resource pool (i.e., configuration indicating that no HARQ mode restriction is associated with the LCH); [0149], Zhang). Motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
With regards to claim 8, Hu teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver; and a processor (Hu discloses a UE configured to communicate with network nodes. A UE is understood to include at least a transceiver and a processor for wireless communication; [0029], Hu)
configured to:
perform an application layer measurement or a quality of experience (QoE) measurement for an application executing on the UE (Hu teaches a basic idea of a minimization of drive tests (MDT) technology is that operators replace some conventional drive test work with measurement sending that is performed by commercial terminals of subscribed users, to automatically collect measurement data of the terminals, to detect problems and faults in the wireless network for optimization. Hu further teaches in addition to the foregoing measurement configuration information, the information received by the access network device from the CN or the OAM may further include other information of QoE measurement (for example, an area scope of the QoE measurement and a service type of the QoE measurement), and the like. A method for selecting UE by the access network device to perform QoE measurement is basically the same as that of common MDT measurement; [0004, 0102], Hu);
prepare a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message for reporting the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement, via the transceiver, using a radio bearer to a base station or a network (…when the first radio bearer is an SRB ...an RRC message MeasReportAppLayer sent by the UE to the SN is encapsulated in an RRC message MeasReportAppLayer sent by the UE to the MN (i.e., base station). MeasReportAppLayer is used to send the QoE measurement result (UE must prepare the RRC message before it is sent); [0145], Hu);
determine a content of the RRC signaling message (Hu teaches determining the content of the RRC signaling message by determining whether the RRC message includes an encapsulated MeasReportAppLayer and/or indication information identifying whether the QoE measurement corresponds to the SN or the MN; [0145], Hu);
… determination of the content of the RRC signaling message, … for reporting the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (Hu teaches determining the content of the RRC signaling message by determining whether the RRC message includes an encapsulated MeasReportAppLayer and/or indication information identifying whether the QoE measurement corresponds to the SN or the MN. Hu further teaches MeasReportAppLayer is used to send the QoE measurement result (UE must prepare the RRC message before it is sent); [0145], Hu).
Hu does not teach determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode corresponding to the radio bearer.
However, in the same of field of endeavor Zhang teaches determining a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode corresponding to the radio bearer (Zhang teaches determining a HARQ mode corresponding to an LCH by configuring one or more HARQ modes for one or more LCSs and selecting an LCH having an HARQ configuration compatible with the transmission; [0151, 0158], Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to employ Zhang’s LCH-specific HARQ configuration in Hu’s QoE reporting procedure so that, after determining the contents of the RRC signaling message to be transmitted on a particular radio bearer/LCH, the UE determines and applies the HARQ mode corresponding to that bearer/LCH, thereby ensuring compatibility between the transmitted signaling and the configured HARQ operation.
With regards to claim 9, Hu teaches through Zhang the UE of claim 8, wherein the content of the RRC signaling message comprises an identity of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement or a type of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (Hu teaches determining the content of the RRC signaling message by determining whether the RRC message includes an encapsulated MeasReportAppLayer and/or indication information identifying whether the QoE measurement corresponds to the SN or the MN. Hu further teaches MeasReportAppLayer is used to send the QoE measurement result (UE must prepare the RRC message before it is sent); [0145], Hu).
With regards to claim 10, Hu and Zhang discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the HARQ mode corresponding to the radio bearer for reporting the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement is preconfigured at the UE by the base station or the network corresponding to the identity of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement, or the type of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (Hu teaches determining the identity/type of the QoE measurement included in the RRC signaling message; [0145], Hu. Zhang teaches that the network preconfigures the HARQ mode associated with the logical channel used to transmit the message; [0151], Zhang. Thereby the combination teaching a HARQ mode preconfigured by the network corresponding the reported measurement). Motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 8.
With regards to claim 16, Hu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 8, wherein the base station is in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (An access network device 110 is a radio access network (RAN) node (or device) that connects a terminal to a wireless network, and may also be referred to as a base station. Currently, some examples of the RAN node are an evolved NodeB (gNB), a transmission reception point (TRP), an evolved NodeB (eNB)…(i.e., non-terrestrial network (NTN)); [0086], Hu)
With regards to claim 17, Hu and Zhang disclose the UE of claim 8, wherein the radio bearer is a signaling radio bearer 4 (SRB4) (…the first radio bearer is an SRB, the first radio bearer may be an SRB 4…; [0135], Hu).
With regards to claim 18, Hu teaches a base station, comprising:
a transceiver; and a processor configured to (Hu discloses a base station configured to communicate with network nodes. A base station is understood to include at least a transceiver and a processor for wireless communication; [0003], Hu):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) and via the transceiver, a configuration for a signaling radio bearer 4 (SRB4) for reporting of an application layer measurement or a quality of experience (QoE) measurement to a core network or the base station (Hu teaches…the first radio bearer used by the UE to send the QoE measurement result is a radio bearer configured by the MN (base station/master node) for the UE. (i.e., the base station is transmitting to UE as a result UE is receiving it). Hu further teaches … the SRB 4 may be used to transmit a QoE measurement result…; [0126, 0135], Hu);
transmit, to the UE and via the transceiver, a configuration for a logical channel (LCH) corresponding to the SRB4 (the master access network device (i.e., base station) configures the first radio bearer for the terminal device (i.e., UE), or configures a first logical channel in the radio bearer for the terminal to send the QoE measurement result (i.e., base station transmitting in order for the UE to receive). Hu further teaches … the SRB 4 may be used to transmit a QoE measurement result…; [0007, 0135], Hu).
Hu does not teach a configuration of an uplink (UL) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode restriction corresponding to the LCH nor does Hu teach report via the LCH and based on the HARQ mode restriction corresponding to the LCH.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches, a configuration of an uplink (UL) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) mode restriction corresponding to the LCH (…the resource information also identifies physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the first UE. In such embodiments, these exemplary methods can also include receiving, from the first UE via the identified PUCCH resources, HARQ feedback associated with the grant of the selected resources; [0023], Zhang. In addition, HARQ procedures should be configured according to the QoS requirements of the associated SL LCH (or SL radio bearer, SLRB); [0122], Zhang. …the network can explicitly indicate an associated HARQ mode or configuration (e.g., whether this SL grant requires a HARQ feedback) or explicitly indicate an association between the resource pool and/or resource grant and a UE SL LCH. Subsequently, when a UE has data available on a particular SL LCH that requires a particular HARQ configuration, the UE transmits the data using a granted SL resource (e.g., in a resource pool) having an HARQ configuration that matches the required particular HARQ configuration (i.e., configuration of an UL HARQ mode restriction corresponding to the LCH); [0122], Zhang)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify teachings of Hu to apply Zhang’s UL HARQ mode restriction for the LCH used to report QoE measurements to improve the reliability of uplink transmission of the reported measurement.
With regards to claim 20, Hu discloses through Zhang, the base station of claim 18, wherein:
the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to an identity of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement or a type of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (Hu teaches determining the identity/type of the QoE measurement included in the RRC signaling message; [0145], Hu. Zhang teaches that the network preconfigures the HARQ modes/restrictions associated with the logical channel used to transmit the message; [0151], Zhang. Thereby the combination teaching a HARQ mode preconfigured by the network corresponding the reported measurement). Motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 18.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Zhang, further in view of Tsai et al. (US 20220311558)
With regards to claim 3,
Hu in view of Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim 3 except for the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to HARQ mode A; and the processor is configured to start a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for the HARQ process in a first symbol after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the application layer measurements or the quality of experience (QoE) measurements.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches
the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to HARQ mode A (For HARQ mode A: The UL HARQ retransmission (for a HARQ process) is enabled…; [0094], Tsai);
And the processor is configured to start a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for the HARQ process in a first symbol after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the application layer measurements or the quality of experience (QoE) measurements (After receiving the PDCCH and/or transmitting the PUSCH, the UE may determine whether to start the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL based on the indication(s) for the HARQ modes of the UL HARQ (re-)transmission. The indication(s) may include a first indication as to whether the UL HARQ retransmission is HARQ mode A/HARQ mode B and/or a second indication as to whether the UE could expect the UL retransmission before or after an RTT duration; [0127], Tsai).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate Tsai’s HARQ mode A and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer into the Hu/Zhang system because Tsai teaches a known HARQ timing procedure for PUSCH transmissions. Applying the known timer procedure to the HARQ configuration of Zhang would have predictably enabled proper HARQ process timing during QoE reporting.
With regards to claim 5, Hu in view of Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim 3 except for the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to HARQ mode B; and the processor is configured to refrain from starting a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for the HARQ process after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the application layer measurements or the quality of experience (QoE) measurements.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches
the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to HARQ mode B (UL HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is HARQ mode B; [0126], Tsai)
the processor is configured to refrain from starting a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for the HARQ process after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the application layer measurements or the quality of experience (QoE) measurements (If the indication(s) indicates HARQ mode B, the UE may not start (i.e., refrain) the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first transmission (within a bundle) of the corresponding PUSCH transmission. Specifically, the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be HARQ mode B; [0129], Tsai).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the combined teachings of Hu and Zhang to employ Tsai’s HARQ mode B, in which the UE refrains from starting the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer after the first PUSCH transmission, because Tsai teaches this as an alternative HARQ operating mode. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting either Mode A or Mode B according to the configured HARQ mode is a predictable implementation of known HARQ procedures.
With regards to claim 6, Hu teaches through Zhang and Tsai the UE of claim 5 including the processor is configured to refrain from starting a drx- RetransmissionTimeUL timer for the HARQ process (… the UE may stop the timer drx-RetransmissionTimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process… ; [0130], Tsai). Motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 5.
With regards to claim 19, Hu teaches through Zhang the base station of claim 18, wherein:
the UL HARQ mode restriction is determined based on a reliability associated with an application executing on the UE of the corresponding application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (…These services may have diverse QoS requirements (e.g., in terms of reliability and latency), with HARQ configurations being appropriate for the services associated with the respective SL LCHs. For example, a SL LCH supporting high reliability and high latency services is configured such that the UE transmitting SL data associated with these services expects HARQ feedback…; [0124], Zhang).
Hu in view of Zhang does not teach the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to HARQ mode A, HARQ mode B, or none.
However in the same field of endeavor Tsai discloses the UL HARQ mode restriction corresponds to HARQ mode A, HARQ mode B, or none (the UE 20 may receive indication(s) for HARQ modes of UL HARQ (re-)transmission (e.g., HARQ mode A and/or HARQ mode B) from the BS 21; [0102], Tsai);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the combined teachings of Hu and Zhang to employ Tsai’s HARQ mode A and/or mode B, because Tsai teaches this as an alternative HARQ operating mode. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting either Mode A or Mode B according to the configured HARQ mode is a predictable implementation of known HARQ procedures.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Zhang, further in view of Kumar et al. (US 20250330846) hereinafter “Kumar 846”, and further in view of Tsai.
With regards to claim 11, Hu teaches through Zhang the UE of claim 8, except for the content of the RRC signaling message comprises the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement visible to a radio access network (RAN); the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode A; and the processor is configured to start a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for a HARQ process in a first symbol after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement using the radio bearer.
However in the same field of endeavor “Kumar 846” teaches the content of the RRC signaling message comprises the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement visible to a radio access network (RAN) (the wireless communications system 300 may support techniques for configuring an SRB (e.g., SRB4) for small data transmissions carrying QoE measurements (e.g., set sdt-SRB4-Indication-r18 ENUMERATED for small data transmission carrying QoE measurements, at least for RAN-visible QoE measurements); [0145], “Kumar 846”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate “Kumar 846” RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE reporting into the combined Hu/Zhang system because “Kumar 846” teaches using such reporting classifications for different network purposes. Applying these known reporting classifications to Hu/Zhang system would have predictably provided appropriate handling of QoE information.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches
the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode A (For HARQ mode A: The UL HARQ retransmission (for a HARQ process) is enabled…(i.e., the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode A); [0094], Tsai);
the processor is configured to start a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for a HARQ process in a first symbol after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement using the radio bearer (After receiving the PDCCH and/or transmitting the PUSCH, the UE may determine whether to start the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL based on the indication(s) for the HARQ modes of the UL HARQ (re-)transmission. The indication(s) may include a first indication as to whether the UL HARQ retransmission is HARQ mode A/HARQ mode B and/or a second indication as to whether the UE could expect the UL retransmission before or after an RTT duration (PUSCH conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement using the radio bearer); [0127], Tsai).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate Tsai’s HARQ mode A and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer into the Hu, Zhang, and “Kumar 846” system because Tsai teaches a known HARQ timing procedure for PUSCH transmissions. Applying the known timer procedure to the HARQ configuration of Zhang would have predictably enabled proper HARQ process timing during QoE reporting.
With regards to claim 12, Hu teaches through Zhang the UE of claim 8, except for the content of the RRC signaling message comprises the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement not visible to a radio access network (RAN); the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode A; and the processor is configured to start a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for a HARQ process in a first symbol after ending of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor “Kumar 846” discloses the content of the RRC signaling message comprises the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement not visible to a radio access network (RAN) (QoE measurements which are not decoded (e.g., not capable of being decoded) by the network entity 105-a but rather passed on to the MCE for processing (e.g., “RAN-invisible” or “RAN-unaware” QoE parameters); [0120], “Kumar 846”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate “Kumar 846” RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE reporting into the combined Hu/Zhang system because “Kumar 846” teaches using such reporting classifications for different network purposes. Applying these known reporting classifications to Hu/Zhang system would have predictably provided appropriate handling of QoE information.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches
the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode A (For HARQ mode A: The UL HARQ retransmission (for a HARQ process) is enabled…(i.e., the determined HARQ mode); [0094], Tsai);
the processor is configured to start a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for a HARQ process in a first symbol after ending of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (After receiving the PDCCH and/or transmitting the PUSCH, the UE may determine whether to start the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL based on the indication(s) for the HARQ modes of the UL HARQ (re-)transmission. The indication(s) may include a first indication as to whether the UL HARQ retransmission is HARQ mode A/HARQ mode B and/or a second indication as to whether the UE could expect the UL retransmission before or after an RTT duration (PUSCH conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement using the radio bearer); [0127], Tsai).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate Tsai’s HARQ mode A and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer into the Hu/Zhang system because Tsai teaches a known HARQ timing procedure for PUSCH transmissions. Applying the known timer procedure to the HARQ configuration of Zhang would have predictably enabled proper HARQ process timing during QoE reporting.
With regards to claim 13, Hu teaches through Zhang the UE of claim 8, except for the content of the RRC signaling message comprises the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement not visible to a radio access network (RAN); the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode B; and the processor is configured to refrain from starting a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for a HARQ process after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor “Kumar 846” discloses the content of the RRC signaling message comprises the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement not visible to a radio access network (RAN) (QoE measurements which are not decoded (e.g., not capable of being decoded) by the network entity 105-a but rather passed on to the MCE for processing (e.g., “RAN-invisible” or “RAN-unaware” QoE parameters); [0120], “Kumar 846”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate “Kumar 846” RAN-visible and RAN-invisible QoE reporting into the combined Hu/Zhang system because “Kumar 846” teaches using such reporting classifications for different network purposes. Applying these known reporting classifications to Hu/Zhang system would have predictably provided appropriate handling of QoE information.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches
the determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode B (UL HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is HARQ mode B (i.e., determined HARQ mode corresponds to HARQ mode B); [0126], Tsai)
the processor is configured to refrain from starting a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer for a HARQ process after an end of a first transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) conveying at least one of the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (If the indication(s) indicates HARQ mode B, the UE may not start (i.e., refrain) the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first transmission (within a bundle) of the corresponding PUSCH transmission. Specifically, the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be HARQ mode B; [0129], Tsai).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the combined teachings of Hu, Zhang, and “Kumar846” to employ Tsai’s HARQ mode A and/or mode B, in which the UE refrains from starting the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL timer after the first PUSCH transmission, because Tsai teaches this as an alternative HARQ operating mode. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting either Mode A or Mode B according to the configured HARQ mode is a predictable implementation of known HARQ procedures.
With regards to claim 14, Hu, Zhang, “Kumar 846”, and Tsai discloses the UE of claim 13, including wherein the processor is configured to refrain from starting a drx- RetransmissionTimeUL timer for the HARQ process (… the UE may stop the timer drx-RetransmissionTimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process… ; [0130], Tsai). Motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Zhang and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 20250330847 A1) hereinafter “Kumar 847”.
With regards to claim 15, Hu teaches through Zhang the UE of claim 8, wherein:
the processor is configured to,
determine the HARQ mode based on the QoS flow of the application associated with the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement being reported using the radio bearer (…HARQ procedures should be configured according to the QoS requirements of the associated SL LCH (or SL radio bearer, SLRB)…; [0121], Zhang).
Hu in view of Zhang does not teach determine the content of the RRC signaling message based on a quality of service (QoS) flow mapped to a data radio bearer for a communication service of the application associated with the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement.
However in the same field of endeavor “Kumar 847” discloses determining the content of the RRC signaling message based on a quality of service (QoS) flow mapped to a data radio bearer for a communication service of the application associated with the application layer measurement or the QoE measurement (…the UE may send the START and STOP indication to the node (MN, SN, or both) to which QoS flow ID/DRB ID/PDU session ID belongs. For example, if a QoE session uses split DRB, then the UE may send the START and STOP indication to both the MN and the SN…; [0112], “Kumar 847”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate “Kumar 847” QoS flow to DRB mapping into the combined Hu/Zhang system to associate the QoE reporting with the corresponding communication service, thereby allowing Zhang’s HARQ configuration to be applied to the appropriate bearer and QoS flow. Such a modification would have been a predictable application of known 5G QoS management techniques.
Conclusion
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/EMMANUEL L MOISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2455