Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/997,631 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘631 application disclose all of the limitations required by claims 1, 13 and 14 of the instant application as detailed below.
Instant Application
18/997,631
Claim 1: A video coding method comprising: receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video;
receiving or signaling a selection of first and second reference lines among a plurality of reference lines that neighbor the current block; blending the first and second reference lines into a fused reference line;
generating a prediction of the current block by using samples of the fused reference line; and encoding or decoding the current block by using the generated prediction.
Claim 1: A video coding method comprising:
receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video;
receiving or signaling a selection of first and second reference lines among a plurality of reference lines that neighbor the current block;
blending samples of the first and second reference lines, each blended sample generated by combining a sample in the first reference line with a sample in the second reference line that is identified according to an intra-prediction mode; generating a prediction of the current block with the intra-prediction mode by using the blended samples; and
encoding or decoding the current block by using the generated prediction.
Claims 13-14 similarly corresponding to claims 14-15 of the ‘631 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (2019/0141318).
In regard to claim 1 Li discloses a video coding method comprising:
receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video (Li general Figs 3-6 and pars 63-124 for details of encoding and decoding video, particularly note pars 73-75 and Fig. 4a for dividing an input picture into blocks during encoding and pars 113 and Fig. 6 for parsing block information including quantized transform coefficient blocks during decoding);
receiving or signaling a selection of first and second reference lines among a plurality of reference lines that neighbor the current block (Li pars 169-180 particularly note par. 173 signaling reference line indices for multiple reference lines, thus inherently including at least an index for first and second reference lines);
blending the first and second reference lines into a fused reference line (Li par. 173 note blending multiple reference lines with weighting);
generating a prediction of the current block by using samples of the fused reference line (Li par. 173 note reference lines are blended to compute predicted sample values for a current block);
encoding or decoding the current bock by using the generated prediction (Li note Fig. 4b 445 and Fig. 6 645 for intra prediction using a generated intra predictor during encoding and decoding)
In regard to claim 4 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li further discloses that each reference line comprises a set of pixel samples that forms an L-shape near the current block (Li Fig. 13 and pars 139-141 note L- shaped reference sample lines).
In regard to claim 5 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li further discloses that the plurality of reference lines comprise one reference line that is adjacent to the current block and two or more reference lines that are not adjacent to the current block (LI Fig. 13 and pars 139-141 note reference line 0 adjacent to the current block, also note plural reference lines 1-m or 1-n that are not adjacent to the current block).
In regard to claim 6 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 5 above. Li further discloses that the first reference line is adjacent to the current block (Li par. 155 note when signaling plural reference lines, reference line indices may include a pair of indices being 0 and 3, hence the first reference line may be line 0 which is adjacent to the current block).
In regard to claim 7 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 5 above. Li further discloses that the first and second reference lines are not adjacent to the current block (Li par. 155 note when signaling plural reference lines, reference line indices may include a pair of indices being 1 and 2, hence both the first and second references lines are not adjacent to the current block).
In regard to claim 8 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li further discloses that the selection of the first and second reference lines comprises an index that represents a combination that includes the first and second reference lines, wherein different combinations of two or more reference lines are represented by different indices (Li par 179-180 note jointly indicating combinations of reference lines using a single syntax element, also note that a unique set of table information maybe signaled for each combination of reference lines).
In r3egard to claim 9 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 8 above. Li further discloses that the different indices representing different combinations of reference lines are determined based on costs of the different combinations (Li pars 317-346 for three approaches to determining selected reference line indices particularly note pars. 328, 332 and 341 each approach determines a selected set of reference lines based on the costs of the various combinations).
In regard to claim 10 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 8 above. further discloses that each combination further specifies an intra-prediction mode by which the prediction of the current block is generated based on the fused reference line (Li par. 171 note signaled intra prediction mode which determines how reference lines are signaled).
In regard to claim 11 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li further discloses that the received or signaled selection of the first and second reference line comprises first and second indices (Li par. 173 note reference line indices can be signaled for multiple reference lines).
In regard to claim 12 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 11 above. Li further discloses that the first index identifies the first reference line and the second index is an offset to be added to the first index for identifying the second reference line (Li par. 176 note predicting reference line indices, particularly note that the predictor may be a default reference line index e.g. line index 0, further note par. 177 a predictor flag may indicate whether the line index is equal to the predictor value, or whether another value that can be a differential value is included to signal the index, thus a first flag may be sent to indicate that a first reference line is the default reference line, e.g. reference line 0, and a second index may indicate a differential value, or offset, from the default reference line).
Claims 13 and 14 recite an apparatus and decoding method corresponding to the coding method of claim 1 above. Refer to the statements made in regard to claim 1 above for the rejection of claims 13 and 14 which will not be repeated here for brevity. In particular regard to claims 13 and 14 Li further discloses a decoding method (Li Figs 5-6 and pars. 105-124 note decoding) and a coding apparatus (Li Fig. 1 and pars 52-65, further note Figs 3-4b pars 68-104 for details of encoding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Mora et al (2020/0296356).
In regard to claim 2 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. It is noted that Lee does not disclose a histogram of gradients (HoG). However, Mora discloses:
deriving a histogram of gradients (HoG) comprising a plurality of bins corresponding to different intra prediction angles, wherein an entry is made to a bin when a gradient computed based on the fused reference line indicates a particular intra prediction angle that corresponds to the bin (Mora pars 208-210 note histogram shown in Fig. 5 showing various HEVC prediction mode bins with values based on a gradient value computed for each pixel in an application area; also note par. 2 and Fig. 7 of Li showing that each of the HEVC/H.265 prediction modes corresponds to a prediction angle)
identifying two or more intra prediction modes based on the HoG (Mora par. 210 note selecting two intra prediction modes i.e. modes 10 and 18),
wherein the prediction of the current block is generated based on the identified two or more intra prediction modes (Mora par. 210 two intra prediction modes are used to predict a current block, also note Li pars 205-207 for weight prediction using two intra modes).
It is therefore considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize the advantage of using a HoG as taught by Mora to select the intra prediction modes of Li in order to gain the advantage of avoiding selection of unreliable intra predictors as suggested by Mora (Mora par. 213).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kim et al (2022/007027).
In regard to claim 3 refer to the statements made in the rejection of claim 1 above. It is noted that Li does not disclose details of a linear model. However Kim discloses a cross component linear model (CCLM) used with multiple reference line prediction in which a linear model is derived based on luma and chroma component samples of the fused reference line, wherein the prediction of the current block is chroma prediction generated by applying the derived linear model to luma samples of the current block (Kim Figs 12-15 and pars 155-156 note applying CCLM with MRL, note chroma uses an average MRL index further note predicting chroma sample values using luma information, further note pars 157-185 for linear models predicting the chroma samples of a current block based on the luma samples).
It is therefore considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize the advantage of including CCLM as taught by Kim in the invention of Li in order to predict chroma components, from luma components in sub-sampled chroma formats as suggested by Li (Li par. 97).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20260046447 A1 CHIANG; Man-Shu et al.
US 20250294171 A1 TSAI; Chia-Ming et al.
US 20240380879 A1 WANG; Yang et al.
US 20240236308 A1 TENG; CHIH-YU et al.
US 20220329800 A1 Ray; Bappaditya et al.
US 20190281290 A1 LEE; Jin-Ho et al.
/JEREMIAH C HALLENBECK-HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481