DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 has been considered and placed on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 teaches recites the limitation "…wherein the amount of doppler spread corresponds to a spectral width of a doppler power spectrum of the TRS contained in the TRS resource set " in lines 2-3 (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the bold emphasis phrase was not mentioned previously.
Claim 14 teaches recites the limitation "…wherein the amount of doppler spread corresponds to a spectral width of a doppler power spectrum of the TRS contained in the TRS resource set " in lines 2-3 (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the bold emphasis phrase was not mentioned previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (WO 2021/183662 A1, hereinafter, “Manolakos”, provided in the 01/17/2025 IDS) in view of PATCHAVA et al. (US 2023/0327827 A1, hereinafter, “Patchava”).
Consider claim 11, Manolakos teaches a first wireless communication device (see figures 1-4) comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver, a processor and memory (see at least figure 8), the first wireless communication device configured to: receive, from a second wireless communication device, first information indicating a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource set and configuration information for doppler of the TRS set (see at least figure 13 and claim 1, Manolakos teaches receiving a first information indicating a plurality (set) of TRS a configuration information (indication of a quasi-co-location relationship includes Doppler information of the TRS set, claims 3-4)); receive, from the second wireless communication device, a TRS of the TRS resource set (see at least figure 13 (1305-1310) and claim 1, Manolakos teaches receive a TRS using the TRS set); determine an amount of doppler spread based on (1) the received TRS and (2) the configuration information for doppler of the TRS set (see at least claims 1, 8 and figure 13, Manolakos teaches determine a value of doppler spread based on received TRS and via quasi-co location (pre-compensation) indication information); and send, to the second wireless communication device, second information indicating the amount of doppler spread (see at least claim 8 (lines 8-10) where Manolakos teaches transmit to base station a report (second information) indicating a doppler spread value).
Manolakos teaches TRS set (see above), however, did not particularly teach TRS resource set (or TRS resource). Patchava teaches said technique (see at least paras. 5-8, and 96 Patchava teaches TRS set(s) having TRS resource(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Manolakos and teach TRS resource set (or TRS resource), as taught by Patchava, thereby, having efficient precoding for TRS.
Manolakos teaches configuration information for doppler (see above), however, did not explicitly teach configuration information for doppler precoding. Patchava teaches said technique
(see at least abstract, paras. 5-10, 96 and figure 7 (710), Patchava teaches configuration information for doppler precoding of TRS resource set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Manolakos and teach configuration information for doppler precoding, as taught by Patchava, thereby, having efficient precoding for TRS.
Consider claim 1: all the limitations in method claim 1 are included in the apparatus claim 11, therefore, claim 1 is subjected to the same rejection applied to claim 11.
Consider claims 2 and 12, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches wherein the doppler precoding is a non-codebook precoding (see at least paras. 5-8 in Patchava, where Patchava teaches orthogonal time frequency space (OTFS) precoding, thus, non-codebook precoding).
Consider claims 3 and 13, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches receiving, from the second wireless communication device, a request to determine the amount of doppler spread, and wherein determining an amount of doppler spread over a TRS contained in the TRS resource set is responsive to the request (see at least paras. 49-51 in Manolakos, where Manolakos teaches a Doppler pre-compensation permitting to determine accurate Doppler spread; abstract, paras. 5-10, 96 and figure 7 (710), Patchava teaches see at least paras. 5-8, and 96 Patchava teaches TRS set(s) having TRS resource(s)).
Consider claims 4 and 14, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches wherein the amount of doppler spread corresponds to a spectral width of a doppler power spectrum of the TRS contained in the TRS resource set (see at least paras. 92 in Manolakos, where Manolakos teaches the value of Doppler spread being based on Doppler spectrum).
Consider claims 5 and 15, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches the TRS resource set comprises a set of resource elements in one or several orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing symbols for reception of TRS signals sent by the second wireless communication device (see at least paras. 4-10 in Patchava, where Patchava teaches TRS set includes TRS samples in OFDM (OTFS) communication).
Consider claims 6 and 16, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches the second
information is sent to the second wireless communication device through a shared data channel (see at least paras. 48 and 82 in Manolakos regarding shared data channel communication).
Consider claims 7 and 17, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches determining a speed of the first wireless communication device, and wherein the second information further indicates the speed of the first wireless communication device (see at least paras. 82-83 and claim 13 in Manolakos, Manolakos teaches determining speed of the UE and the second information indicates the speed (Doppler) of the UE).
Consider claims 8 and 18, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches the second information further indicates a high-speed condition, on condition that the speed is above a first threshold (see at least para. 22 and claim 13 in Manolakos where reporting Doppler/speed condition above a threshold).
Consider claims 9 and 19, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches the second
information further indicates a high Doppler condition, on condition that the amount of doppler
spread is above a second threshold (see at least para. 22 and claim 13 in Manolakos where reporting Doppler/speed condition above a threshold).
Consider claims 10 and 20, Manolakos in view of Patchava teaches the first wireless communication device is a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) and the second wireless communication device is a base station, a roadside unit, and/or a WTRU (see at least figures 1-3 in Manolakos; figures 1-2 in Patchava).
Conclusion
FITWI Y. HAILEGIORGIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/FITWI Y HAILEGIORGIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2632