DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230156583 A1 (MURRAY et al.) (hereinafter MURRAY) in view of US 20260020079 A1 (Watts et al.) (hereinafter Watts).
In re claims 1 and 13, MURRAY discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2:201) for performing communication in a wireless communication system (Fig. 14E), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 14F:120); and at least one processor (Fig. 14F:118, [0365], “the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120”) connected to the transceiver ([0366], “The processor 118 may perform signal coding, data processing, power control, input/output processing, or any other functionality that enables the WTRU 102 to operate in a wireless environment. The processor 118 may be coupled to the transceiver 120”) and a method performed by the user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system (Fig. 11, [0019], “The UE makes measurements of attributes of the serving and neighbor cells to enable the reselection process”. [0023], “Inter-frequency reselection is based on absolute priorities where a UE tries to camp on the highest priority frequency available”. [0054], “methods, systems, or devices that may assist in performing slice-based cell selection and reselection, offloading of initial access attempts for a given slice to a specific frequency layer, performing slice-aware PLMN selection, performing slice-based barring, performing slice-based Random Access, or performing slice-based paging, among other things”), the method comprising:
receiving a paging message (claim 6, “The method of claim 1, wherein the network slice configuration was received in a paging message”) comprising slice information from a base station ([0388], “Methods, systems, and apparatuses, among other things, as described herein may include the steps of receiving, from a second apparatus, information including a network slice configuration, wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); and based on the network slice configuration, performing, by a first apparatus, the following: cell selection; cell reselection; slice area registration update; radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment; RRC resume; public land mobile network (PLMN) selection; access control; random access; or paging reception... The network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access-stratum signaling message... The second apparatus may be a base station”. Claim 1, “A method comprising: receiving, from a second apparatus, information including a network slice configuration, wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD)”. claim 20, “The method of claim 19, wherein the second apparatus is a base station”. [0057], “Methods, systems, or devices may be used to define a Slice Registration Area, that is used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a subset of cells in the PLMN, and methods for the network to determine when the UE moves in/out of an area where a given slice is available”);
performing cell reselection based on the slice information (Claim 1, “and based on the network slice configuration, performing by a first apparatus: cell selection; cell reselection; slice area registration update; radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment; RRC resume; public land mobile network (PLMN) selection; access control; random access; or paging reception”. [0055], “the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to (re-) select”); and
performing a random-access procedure based on a result of the cell reselection ([0058], “Methods, systems, or devices may perform a slice-aware RRC Connection Establishment/Resume procedure, where a UE that is camped on a cell that does not support the desired slice(s), reselects a cell that does support the desired slice(s) before commencing with the RACH procedure to establish/resume the RRC connection”. [0064], “Methods, systems, or devices may perform slice-based Random Access” (RACH procedure after cell reselection)).
MURRAY does not explicitly disclose performing a random-access procedure based on a result of the cell reselection.
Watts discloses performing a random-access procedure based on a result of the cell reselection ([0003], “If a condition for cell reselection is satisfied during the time period or the restarted time period, the processor may be configured to suspend a data radio bearer (DRB) associated with small data transmission, select a second cell, perform a random access procedure associated with the second cell, and send a small data transmission”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MURRAY with Watts to provide a method and device by which a user equipment (UE) performs cell reselection based on slice information. The advantage of doing so is the slice aware cell selection/reselection and random-access techniques help in supporting higher data-rates, large number of connections, ultra-low latency, high reliability and other emerging business needs.
In re claims 2 and 14, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the UE of claim 13, wherein MURRAY discloses the method further comprising transmitting a message comprising UE capability information to the base station, wherein the UE capability information indicates whether the cell reselection is performable based on the slice information ([0089], “For example, the RAN part may comprise of one or more RAN capabilities (for example SDAP capability parameters, PDCP capability parameters, RLC capability parameters, MAC capability parameters or Physical layer capability parameters for e.g. supported frequency ranges or frequency bands, frequency band combinations), one or more RAN characteristics (for example supported service type such as eMBB (Slice suitable for the handling of 5G enhanced Mobile Broadband), URLLC (Slice suitable for the handling of ultra-reliable low latency communications), MioT (Slice suitable for the handling of massive IoT), V2X (Slice suitable for the handling of V2X services)), REDCAP (Slice suitable for the handling of Reduced Capability UEs)), one or more RAN functions (e.g., control plane function, or user plane function), and the required resources (e.g., compute, storage and networking resources)” (UE capability). [0108], “Mechanisms used to prioritize frequencies can be leveraged to “steer” a UE to cells that support specific slices, but this can be too restrictive since it requires cells in a UE’s registration area on a given frequency to support the same slices. Therefore, to enable fast access to the cell supporting the intended slice, there is a need for a mechanism that allows a UE to consider what slice(s) a cell supports when performing cell (re-)selection, and the 5G system needs to be enhanced to allow the UE to determine that slices are supported by a cell” (cell reselection based on slice)).
In re claim 3, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein MURRAY discloses wherein the performing of the cell reselection comprises: setting frequencies supporting the slice information as highest priority frequencies ([0056], “There are methods to perform cell selection using slice-based cell selection criteria. There are mechanisms for determining slice-based reselection priorities handling...There are methods to determine the reselection priority of a given frequency that is a function of the S-NSSAI availability (prioritize the frequence supporting slice information). There are methods to determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells. There are methods for triggering cell reselection evaluation based on the S-NSSAI based cell selection criteria. There are methods to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used by the network to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers when transitioning the UE to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE”); and performing the cell reselection based on the highest priority frequencies (claim 3, “The method of claim 1, wherein the cell selection or cell reselections uses slice priority”. [0023], “Inter-frequency reselection is based on absolute priorities where a UE tries to camp on the highest priority frequency available”).
In re claim 5 the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Watts discloses wherein the performing of the random-access procedure further comprises, when a cell supporting the slice information is not reselected until a timer expires, performing the random-access procedure on a current serving cell ([0109], “Based on re-initiating a small data transfer procedure on a different cell (e.g., a cell other than a serving cell), a different cell group, a different base station (e.g., a different gNB), and/or a different BWP, the WTRU may restart a timer (e.g., a T304 timer), for example, if the T304 timer is running. The WTRU may stop the T304 timer, for example, based on a successful completion of the small data transfer procedure (e.g. via a RA or PUSCH procedure), for example, if the completion is at the target cell. If the T304 timer that started in conjunction with a small data transfer procedure expires, the WTRU may initiate a second cell group (SCG) failure procedure (e.g. if the RA is on an SCG cell), initiate an radio link failure (RLF) procedure (e.g. if the RA is on the special cell (SpCell)), initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure, initiate a RA procedure on the source sell, fall back to the source cell, and/or switch to a different BWP or serving cell and initiate a RA procedure” (when the timer expires RA procedure is initiated, pullback to the source cell or switching to serving cell is performed)).
In re claims 7 and 15, MURRAY discloses a base station (Fig. 14a: 114 a, 114b, 114c, [0310], “The communications system 100 may also include a base station 114a and a base station 114b...”) for performing communication in a wireless communication system (Fig. 14E, [0312], “The base station 114a may be configured to transmit or receive wireless signals within a particular geographic region, which may be referred to as a cell”), the base station comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 14B, [0326], “As shown in FIG. 14B, the RAN 103 may include Node-Bs 140a, 140b, and 140c, which may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs”); and at least one processor (Fig. 14G:91) connected to the transceiver and a method performed by the base station in a wireless communication system (Fig. 10, [0326], “FIG. 14B is a system diagram of an example RAN 103 and core network 106 that may implement methods, systems, and devices of RAN slicing”), the method comprising:
transmitting a paging message (claim 6, “The method of claim 1, wherein the network slice configuration was received in a paging message”) comprising slice information ([0388], “Methods, systems, and apparatuses, among other things, as described herein may include the steps of receiving, from a second apparatus, information including a network slice configuration, wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD); and based on the network slice configuration, performing, by a first apparatus, the following: cell selection; cell reselection; slice area registration update; radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment; RRC resume; public land mobile network (PLMN) selection; access control; random access; or paging reception... The network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access-stratum signaling message... The second apparatus may be a base station”. Claim 1, “A method comprising: receiving, from a second apparatus, information including a network slice configuration, wherein the network slice configuration comprises network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI), slice/service type (SST), or slice differentiator (SD)”. claim 20, “The method of claim 19, wherein the second apparatus is a base station”. [0057], “Methods, systems, or devices may be used to define a Slice Registration Area, that is used to inform a UE of the availability of a network slice within a subset of cells in the PLMN, and methods for the network to determine when the UE moves in/out of an area where a given slice is available”) to a user equipment (UE) ([0388], “the first apparatus may be a user equipment”); and
performing a random-access procedure based on a result of cell reselection based on the slice information ([0058], “Methods, systems, or devices may perform a slice-aware RRC Connection Establishment/Resume procedure, where a UE that is camped on a cell that does not support the desired slice(s), reselects a cell that does support the desired slice(s) before commencing with the RACH procedure to establish/resume the RRC connection”. [0064], “Methods, systems, or devices may perform slice-based Random Access” (RACH procedure after cell reselection)).
MURRAY does not explicitly disclose performing a random-access procedure based on a result of cell reselection based on the slice information.
Watts discloses performing a random-access procedure based on a result of the cell reselection ([0003], “If a condition for cell reselection is satisfied during the time period or the restarted time period, the processor may be configured to suspend a data radio bearer (DRB) associated with small data transmission, select a second cell, perform a random access procedure associated with the second cell, and send a small data transmission”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MURRAY with Watts to provide a method and device by which a user equipment (UE) performs cell reselection based on slice information. The advantage of doing so is the slice aware cell selection/reselection and random-access techniques help in supporting higher data-rates, large number of connections, ultra-low latency, high reliability and other emerging business needs.
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the method of claim 7, wherein MURRAY discloses the method further comprising receiving a message comprising UE capability information from the UE, wherein the UE capability information indicates whether the cell reselection is performable based on the slice information ([0089], “For example, the RAN part may comprise of one or more RAN capabilities (for example SDAP capability parameters, PDCP capability parameters, RLC capability parameters, MAC capability parameters or Physical layer capability parameters for e.g. supported frequency ranges or frequency bands, frequency band combinations), one or more RAN characteristics (for example supported service type such as eMBB (Slice suitable for the handling of 5G enhanced Mobile Broadband), URLLC (Slice suitable for the handling of ultra-reliable low latency communications), MioT (Slice suitable for the handling of massive IoT), V2X (Slice suitable for the handling of V2X services)), REDCAP (Slice suitable for the handling of Reduced Capability UEs)), one or more RAN functions (e.g., control plane function, or user plane function), and the required resources (e.g., compute, storage and networking resources)” (UE capability). [0108], “Mechanisms used to prioritize frequencies can be leveraged to “steer” a UE to cells that support specific slices, but this can be too restrictive since it requires cells in a UE’s registration area on a given frequency to support the same slices. Therefore, to enable fast access to the cell supporting the intended slice, there is a need for a mechanism that allows a UE to consider what slice(s) a cell supports when performing cell (re-)selection, and the 5G system needs to be enhanced to allow the UE to determine that slices are supported by a cell” (cell reselection based on slice)).
In re claim 9, the combination discloses the method of claim 7, wherein MURRAY discloses wherein the performing of the random-access procedure comprises performing the random-access procedure on a cell reselected by setting frequencies supporting the slice information as highest priority frequencies ([0056], “There are methods to perform cell selection using slice-based cell selection criteria. There are mechanisms for determining slice-based reselection priorities handling...There are methods to determine the reselection priority of a given frequency that is a function of the S-NSSAI availability (prioritize the frequence supporting slice information). There are methods to determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells. There are methods for triggering cell reselection evaluation based on the S-NSSAI based cell selection criteria. There are methods to control the slice-based cell selection and reselection behavior of the UE, which may be used by the network to “steer” the UE towards cells that support specific S-NSSAIs or to “offload” the UE to specific cells or frequency layers when transitioning the UE to RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE”. Claim 3, “The method of claim 1, wherein the cell selection or cell reselections uses slice priority”. [0023], “Inter-frequency reselection is based on absolute priorities where a UE tries to camp on the highest priority frequency available”).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Watts discloses wherein the performing of the random-access procedure further comprises, when a cell supporting the slice information is not reselected until a timer expires, performing the random access procedure on a current serving cell ([0109], “Based on re-initiating a small data transfer procedure on a different cell (e.g., a cell other than a serving cell), a different cell group, a different base station (e.g., a different gNB), and/or a different BWP, the WTRU may restart a timer (e.g., a T304 timer), for example, if the T304 timer is running. The WTRU may stop the T304 timer, for example, based on a successful completion of the small data transfer procedure (e.g. via a RA or PUSCH procedure), for example, if the completion is at the target cell. If the T304 timer that started in conjunction with a small data transfer procedure expires, the WTRU may initiate a second cell group (SCG) failure procedure (e.g. if the RA is on an SCG cell), initiate an radio link failure (RLF) procedure (e.g. if the RA is on the special cell (SpCell)), initiate an RRC re-establishment procedure, initiate a RA procedure on the source sell, fall back to the source cell, and/or switch to a different BWP or serving cell and initiate a RA procedure” (when the timer expires RA procedure is initiated, pullback to the source cell or switching to serving cell is performed)).
Claims 4, 6, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230156583 A1 (MURRAY et al.) (hereinafter MURRAY) in view of US 20260020079 A1 (Watts et al.) (hereinafter Watts) and in further view of 3GPP TS 38.300 V17.1.0, Technical Specification, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; NR and NG-RAN Overall Description; Stage 2 (Release 17), June 2022 (hereinafter 3GPP).
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the performing of the cell reselection comprises: setting a slice included in the slice information as a highest priority network slice access stratum group (NSAG); and performing the cell reselection based on the highest priority NSAG.
3GPP discloses wherein the performing of the cell reselection comprises: setting a slice included in the slice information as a highest priority network slice access stratum group (NSAG); and performing the cell reselection based on the highest priority NSAG (section 16.3.3a: slice aware cell reselection, “Slice specific cell reselection information can be included in SIB16 and in RRCRelease messages. The slice specific cell reselection information may include reselection priorities per NSAG per frequency and corresponding list(s) of cells where the slices of the NSAG are supported or not supported. In the UE, NAS provides the NSAG(s) and their priorities to be considered during cell reselection...”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MURRAY with Watts and 3GPP to provide a method and device by which a user equipment (UE) performs cell reselection based on slice information. The advantage of doing so is the slice aware cell selection/reselection and random-access techniques help in supporting higher data-rates, large number of connections, ultra-low latency, high reliability and other emerging business needs.
In re claim 6, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein MURRAY discloses wherein the paging message comprises a paging record comprising the slice information ([0229], “Fig. 7 is an exemplary illustration of Slice-Aware RRC Connection Establishment Procedure (MT Access). In Fig. 7, at step 270, the UE 201 camps on Cell1 221 that does not support S-NSSAIx. At step 271, the UE 201 receives a Page for MT access for 5-NSSAIx. The Page may be initiated by the RAN or CN...At step 272, the UE 201 determines the serving cell, e.g. Cell.sub.1 221, does not support S-NSSAIx, e.g. the desired slice, and reselects Cell.sub.2 222 that does support S-NSSAIx. The desired slice may be determined by the AS directly, e.g. from the S-NSSAI(s) included in the Paging Record”), but does not explicitly disclose and the slice information comprises information related to an NSAG.
3GPP discloses and the slice information comprises information related to an NSAG (section 16.3.3a: slice aware cell reselection, “Slice specific cell reselection information can be included in SIB16 and in RRCRelease messages. The slice specific cell reselection information may include reselection priorities per NSAG per frequency and corresponding list(s) of cells where the slices of the NSAG are supported or not supported. In the UE, NAS provides the NSAG(s) and their priorities to be considered during cell reselection...” (wherein the slice specific cell reselection information includes reselection priorities per NSAG, and NAS provides the NSAG and priorities thereof during cell reselection)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MURRAY with Watts and 3GPP to provide a method and device by which a user equipment (UE) performs cell reselection based on slice information. The advantage of doing so is the slice aware cell selection/reselection and random-access techniques help in supporting higher data-rates, large number of connections, ultra-low latency, high reliability and other emerging business needs.
In re claim 10, the combination discloses the method of claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the performing of the random-access procedure comprises performing the random-access procedure on a cell reselected by setting a slice included in the slice information as a highest priority network slice access stratum group (NSAG).
3GPP discloses wherein the performing of the random-access procedure comprises performing the random-access procedure on a cell reselected by setting a slice included in the slice information as a highest priority network slice access stratum group (NSAG) (section 16.3.3a: slice aware cell reselection, “Slice specific cell reselection information can be included in SIB16 and in RRCRelease messages. The slice specific cell reselection information may include reselection priorities per NSAG per frequency and corresponding list(s) of cells where the slices of the NSAG are supported or not supported. In the UE, NAS provides the NSAG(s) and their priorities to be considered during cell reselection...”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MURRAY with Watts and 3GPP to provide a method and device by which a user equipment (UE) performs cell reselection based on slice information. The advantage of doing so is the slice aware cell selection/reselection and random-access techniques help in supporting higher data-rates, large number of connections, ultra-low latency, high reliability and other emerging business needs.
In re claim 12, the combination discloses the method of claim 7, wherein MURRAY discloses wherein the paging message comprises a paging record comprising the slice information ([0229], “Fig. 7 is an exemplary illustration of Slice-Aware RRC Connection Establishment Procedure (MT Access). In Fig. 7, at step 270, the UE 201 camps on Cell1 221 that does not support S-NSSAIx. At step 271, the UE 201 receives a Page for MT access for 5-NSSAIx. The Page may be initiated by the RAN or CN...At step 272, the UE 201 determines the serving cell, e.g. Cell.sub.1 221, does not support S-NSSAIx, e.g. the desired slice, and reselects Cell.sub.2 222 that does support S-NSSAIx. The desired slice may be determined by the AS directly, e.g. from the S-NSSAI(s) included in the Paging Record”), but does not explicitly disclose and the slice information comprises information related to an NSAG.
3GPP discloses and the slice information comprises information related to an NSAG (section 16.3.3a: slice aware cell reselection, “Slice specific cell reselection information can be included in SIB16 and in RRCRelease messages. The slice specific cell reselection information may include reselection priorities per NSAG per frequency and corresponding list(s) of cells where the slices of the NSAG are supported or not supported. In the UE, NAS provides the NSAG(s) and their priorities to be considered during cell reselection...” (wherein the slice specific cell reselection information includes reselection priorities per NSAG, and NAS provides the NSAG and priorities thereof during cell reselection)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MURRAY with Watts and 3GPP to provide a method and device by which a user equipment (UE) performs cell reselection based on slice information. The advantage of doing so is the slice aware cell selection/reselection and random-access techniques help in supporting higher data-rates, large number of connections, ultra-low latency, high reliability and other emerging business needs.
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649