DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 01/17/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 01/17/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to FR 2207543, filed on 07/22/2022; and is a 371 of PCT/FR2023/050927, filed on 06/21/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, lines 6, 9, 12, 13 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the chassis” should read, “the automotive chassis”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the chassis” should read, “the automotive chassis”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5, lines 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the chassis” should read, “the automotive chassis”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, lines 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the chassis” should read, “the automotive chassis”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the chassis” should read, “the automotive chassis”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the controller” should read, “the drive controller”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
the “system” in claim 1, because A) the word “system” is used as a generic placeholder for “means”, since “system” is a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning, B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (“for handling”), C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
the “lighting device” in claim 1, because A) the word “device” is used as a generic placeholder for “means”, since “device” is a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning, B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (“to light”), C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
the “handling system” in claim 8, because A) the word “system” is used as a generic placeholder for “means”, since “system” is a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning, B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (“to handle”), C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The “system” will be interpreted as a lifting arm, and a basket or bucket or handling forks or any other accessory which permits handling of a load { “at least one lifting arm 51 coupled at one of its ends to the chassis 2, and carrying at its opposite end a basket 52, inside which an operator can take his place. The presence of a basket permits handling of a person and optionally of a load. As a variant, the basket can be replaced by a bucket, handling forks, or any other accessory which permits only handling of a load” [0027]}.
The “lighting device” will be interpreted as “a strip of light-emitting diodes” [0045].
The “handling system” will be interpreted as a lifting arm, and a basket or bucket or handling forks or any other accessory which permits handling of a load { “at least one lifting arm 51 coupled at one of its ends to the chassis 2, and carrying at its opposite end a basket 52, inside which an operator can take his place. The presence of a basket permits handling of a person and optionally of a load. As a variant, the basket can be replaced by a bucket, handling forks, or any other accessory which permits only handling of a load” [0027]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonnefoy (US 2018/0362313), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Bonnefoy discloses a machine {1} for handling one or more of a load and a person, the machine {1} comprising:
an automotive chassis {3} equipped with front and rear wheels {Fig. 1} for traveling along a ground surface {“members for connecting to the ground, such as wheels” [0024]};
a system {7+9: “a lift structure 7 and a platform 9, shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4, supported by the lift structure 7. The platform 9 comprises a wire floor 90 surrounded by a guardrail 92” [0024]} for handling one or more of the load and the person carried by the chassis {3},
at least one lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105: “The control console 50 is provided with a lighting device 52, which may comprise one or several light sources, such as LEDs” [0043]; “the first lighting device comprises two light sources 100 and 101, for example light-emitting diodes (hereinafter LEDs), fastened on the control console 94” [0032]; “This third lighting device advantageously comprises a light source 103, for example an LED” [0040]; “the second lighting device comprises two light sources 104 and 105 fastened on the control console 94” [0038]}; and
a controller {94} for driving the automotive chassis {3: “The platform 9 is equipped with a control console 94 making it possible to control the aerial lift 1” [0028]}, the controller {94} being remotely positionable from the chassis {3 (Figs. 1-3)}, wherein
the automotive chassis {3} extends longitudinally from a front to a rear of the chassis {3} and includes, on at least one lateral flank {5 (flank portion of 5 at both lateral sides of the base of 7 in Fig. 1)}, taken in relation to a front/rear direction of the chassis {3}, at least one technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)} and a cover {96: “foldable protective cover 96” [0039]} for closure of the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)}, wherein the cover {96} is moveable between an open position {Figs. 1-3} and a closed position {“a foldable protective cover 96 making it possible to protect the control members and the other components outside usage ranges of the aerial lift 1. The cover 96 is shown open in FIGS. 1, 2 and 3” [0039]},
at least one of the lighting devices {104, 105 (97): “An inner face of the foldable cover 96 comprises reflective surfaces 97 located across from light sources 104 and 105 such that the reflective surfaces 97 diffuse the light produced by the light sources 104 and 105 on the control console 94, as shown by the light flows F3 and F4 in FIG. 3” [0039]} is fitted on the cover {96}, and
the at least one lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105} is configured,
in the closed position {or open position} of the cover {96}, to light part of a space positioned at a rear of the front wheels {via 52 (Fig. 1)}, taken in relation to the front/rear direction of the chassis {3}, and,
in the open position {Figs. 1-3}, to light an interior of the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2), via 104+105 (97): “An inner face of the foldable cover 96 comprises reflective surfaces 97 located across from light sources 104 and 105 such that the reflective surfaces 97 diffuse the light produced by the light sources 104 and 105 on the control console 94, as shown by the light flows F3 and F4 in FIG. 3, which allows the operator to distinguish the control console 94 clearly enough to view the state of the machine and use the switches and manual control members in the low lighting configuration” [0039]}.
Regarding claim 2, Bonnefoy discloses the lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105} includes a strip of light-emitting diodes {“The control console 50 is provided with a lighting device 52, which may comprise one or several light sources, such as LEDs” [0043]; “the first lighting device comprises two light sources 100 and 101, for example light-emitting diodes (hereinafter LEDs), fastened on the control console 94” [0032]; “This third lighting device advantageously comprises a light source 103, for example an LED” [0040]; “the second lighting device comprises two light sources 104 and 105 fastened on the control console 94” [0038]}.
Regarding claim 4, Bonnefoy discloses the cover {96} pivots about a longitudinal axis extending in the front/rear direction of the chassis {3 (when the platform 9 is positioned to the left or right of the chassis): via the “turret 5 rotatable relative to the chassis 3 along an axis perpendicular to the rotation axes of the wheels” [0024]}.
Regarding claim 5, Bonnefoy discloses when the controller {94} is positioned remotely from the chassis {3 (Fig. 1)}, the controller {94} has at least one configuration in which the controller is fitted on the system {7+9 (Figs. 2-3)}.
Regarding claim 6, Bonnefoy discloses the system {7+9} includes at least one lifting arm {7} coupled at a first end to the chassis {3 (Fig. 1)}, and, at a second end, the at least one lifting arm {7} carries a basket {9} for an operator {Fig. 1}, and, when the controller {94} is positioned remotely from the chassis {3}, the controller {94} has at least one configuration in which the controller {94} is coupled to the basket {9 (Figs. 2-3)}.
Regarding claim 7, Bonnefoy discloses the controller {94} is a remote control {“The platform 9 is equipped with a control console 94 making it possible to control the aerial lift 1” [0028]} with a radius of action of at least two meters in relation to the chassis {3 (Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 15, Bonnefoy discloses a handling machine {1}, comprising:
a chassis {3};
front and rear wheels {Fig. 1} rotatably connected to the chassis {3: “a chassis 3 equipped with members for connecting to the ground, such as wheels or tracks” [0024]};
a lifting arm {7} pivotably coupled to the chassis {3};
an operator basket {9} pivotably coupled to the lifting arm {7};
a technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)} mounted to the chassis {3 (via 5+7+9)};
a cover {96: “foldable protective cover 96” [0039]} pivotably connected to the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)};
a lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105: “The control console 50 is provided with a lighting device 52, which may comprise one or several light sources, such as LEDs” [0043]; “the first lighting device comprises two light sources 100 and 101, for example light-emitting diodes (hereinafter LEDs), fastened on the control console 94” [0032]; “This third lighting device advantageously comprises a light source 103, for example an LED” [0040]; “the second lighting device comprises two light sources 104 and 105 fastened on the control console 94” [0038]} mounted to the cover {96 (via 5+7+9 for 52, via 9+94 for 103, and via 94 for 101+102+104+105)}; and
a remote drive controller {94} configured to control movement of the chassis {3: “The platform 9 is equipped with a control console 94 making it possible to control the aerial lift 1” [0028]}, the remote drive controller {94} being selectively mountable to one of the chassis {3 (via 7+9)} and the operator basket {9 (Figs. 2-4)}.
Regarding claim 16, Bonnefoy discloses the lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105} includes a strip of light-emitting diodes {“The control console 50 is provided with a lighting device 52, which may comprise one or several light sources, such as LEDs” [0043]; “the first lighting device comprises two light sources 100 and 101, for example light-emitting diodes (hereinafter LEDs), fastened on the control console 94” [0032]; “This third lighting device advantageously comprises a light source 103, for example an LED” [0040]; “the second lighting device comprises two light sources 104 and 105 fastened on the control console 94” [0038]}.
Regarding claim 18, Bonnefoy discloses the cover {96} pivots about a longitudinal axis of the chassis {3 (when the platform 9 is positioned to the left or right of the chassis): via the “turret 5 rotatable relative to the chassis 3 along an axis perpendicular to the rotation axes of the wheels” [0024]}.
Regarding claim 19, Bonnefoy discloses the remote drive controller {94} has a radius of action of at least two meters relative to the chassis {3 (Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 20, Bonnefoy discloses the lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105} is configured to
light a space between the front and rear wheels {via 52 (Fig. 1)} when the cover {96} is closed relative to the technical compartment {and when the cover is open as well}, and
light an interior of the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)} when the cover {96} is open relative to the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2), via 104+105 (97): “An inner face of the foldable cover 96 comprises reflective surfaces 97 located across from light sources 104 and 105 such that the reflective surfaces 97 diffuse the light produced by the light sources 104 and 105 on the control console 94, as shown by the light flows F3 and F4 in FIG. 3, which allows the operator to distinguish the control console 94 clearly enough to view the state of the machine and use the switches and manual control members in the low lighting configuration” [0039]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnefoy in view of Taguma (US 2016/0214671).
Regarding claim 3, Bonnefoy discloses at least part {104, 105} of the lighting device {52, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105} is secured on the cover {96} by a central island {95 (Fig. 3): “central island 95” [0038]}.
However, Bonnefoy does not explicitly disclose at least part of the lighting device is secured on the cover by a lug.
Taguma teaches at least part of the lighting device {62} is secured on the cover {50} by a lug {56: “engagement of the lug 56 with the taillight unit 62 attaches the rear center lower cover 50 and the taillight unit 62 together” [0050]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine for handling one or more of the load and the person, as disclosed by Bonnefoy, such that at least part of the lighting device is secured on the cover by a lug, as taught by Taguma, in order to attach the lighting device and the cover together using a well-known and reliable method [0050], since applicant has not disclosed that at least part of the lighting device being secured to the cover by a lug solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with a lug.
Regarding claim 17, Bonnefoy discloses the lighting device {104, 105} is at least partially secured to the cover {96} by a central island {95 (Fig. 3): “central island 95” [0038]}.
However, Bonnefoy does not explicitly disclose the lighting device is at least partially secured to the cover by a lug.
Taguma teaches a lighting device {62} is at least partially secured to the cover {50} by a lug {56: “engagement of the lug 56 with the taillight unit 62 attaches the rear center lower cover 50 and the taillight unit 62 together” [0050]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handling machine, as disclosed by Bonnefoy, such that the lighting device is at least partially secured to the cover by a lug, as taught by Taguma, in order to attach the lighting device and the cover together using a well-known and reliable method [0050], since applicant has not disclosed that at least part of the lighting device being secured to the cover by a lug solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with a lug.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art of record is Bonnefoy (US 2018/0362313). Examiner attempted two different interpretations of Bonnefoy in order to arrive at all of the limitations of claim 8, however, both came up short in different ways.
Under the first interpretation, Bonnefoy discloses a handling machine {1}, comprising:
a chassis {3} equipped with front and rear wheels {Fig. 1} to move along a ground surface {“an aerial lift 1 comprising a lower part including a chassis 3 equipped with members for connecting to the ground, such as wheels or tracks” [0024]};
a handling system {7+9: “a lift structure 7 and a platform 9, shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4, supported by the lift structure 7. The platform 9 comprises a wire floor 90 surrounded by a guardrail 92” [0024]} mounted to the chassis {3} and configured to handle one or more of a load and a person {Fig. 1};
a drive controller {94} configured to control movement of the chassis {3} along the ground surface {“The platform 9 is equipped with a control console 94 making it possible to control the aerial lift 1” [0028]}, the controller {94} being remotely positionable from the chassis {3};
a technical compartment {50} positioned on a lateral flank {5 (flank portion of 5 at both lateral sides of the base of 7 in Fig. 1)} of the chassis {3: “a control console 50, for example provided on one side of the turret 5” [0043]};
a cover {outer portion of 5 surrounding 50 (Fig. 1)} connected to the technical compartment {50}; and
a lighting device {52: “The control console 50 is provided with a lighting device 52, which may comprise one or several light sources, such as LEDs” [0043]} mounted to the cover {outer portion of 5 surrounding 50 (Fig. 1)}, the lighting device {52} being configured to
light a space rearward of the front wheels when the cover {outer portion of 5 surrounding 50 (Fig. 1)} is in the closed position {Fig. 1}.
However, in the first interpretation, Bonnefoy does not disclose a cover connected to the technical compartment and moveable between an open position and a closed position; or the lighting device being configured to light an interior of the technical compartment when the cover is in the open position (emphasis added).
Under the second interpretation, Bonnefoy discloses a handling machine {1}, comprising:
a chassis {3} equipped with front and rear wheels {Fig. 1} to move along a ground surface {“an aerial lift 1 comprising a lower part including a chassis 3 equipped with members for connecting to the ground, such as wheels or tracks” [0024]};
a handling system {7+9: “a lift structure 7 and a platform 9, shown in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4, supported by the lift structure 7. The platform 9 comprises a wire floor 90 surrounded by a guardrail 92” [0024]} mounted to the chassis {3} and configured to handle one or more of a load and a person {Fig. 1};
a drive controller {94} configured to control movement of the chassis {3} along the ground surface {“The platform 9 is equipped with a control console 94 making it possible to control the aerial lift 1” [0028]}, the controller {94} being remotely positionable from the chassis {3};
a technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)} positioned on the chassis {3 (via 5+7+9)};
a cover {96: “foldable protective cover 96” [0039]} connected to the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2)} and moveable between an open position {Figs. 1-3} and a closed position {“a foldable protective cover 96 making it possible to protect the control members and the other components outside usage ranges of the aerial lift 1. The cover 96 is shown open in FIGS. 1, 2 and 3” [0039]}; and
a lighting device {52+101+102+103+104+105: “The control console 50 is provided with a lighting device 52, which may comprise one or several light sources, such as LEDs” [0043]; “the first lighting device comprises two light sources 100 and 101, for example light-emitting diodes (hereinafter LEDs), fastened on the control console 94” [0032]; “This third lighting device advantageously comprises a light source 103, for example an LED” [0040]; “the second lighting device comprises two light sources 104 and 105 fastened on the control console 94” [0038]} mounted to the cover {96 (via 5+7+9 for 52, via 9+94 for 103, and via 94 for 101+102+104+105)}, the lighting device {52+101+102+103+104+105} being configured to
light a space rearward of the front wheels {via 52 (Fig. 1)} when the cover {96} is in the closed position {or open position}, and
light an interior of the technical compartment {Fig. 3 (III in Fig. 2), via 104+105 (97): “An inner face of the foldable cover 96 comprises reflective surfaces 97 located across from light sources 104 and 105 such that the reflective surfaces 97 diffuse the light produced by the light sources 104 and 105 on the control console 94, as shown by the light flows F3 and F4 in FIG. 3, which allows the operator to distinguish the control console 94 clearly enough to view the state of the machine and use the switches and manual control members in the low lighting configuration” [0039]} when the cover {96} is in the open position {Figs. 1-3}.
However, in the second interpretation, Bonnefoy does not disclose a technical compartment positioned on a lateral flank of the chassis.
Furthermore, this interpretation relies on a) the lighting device being interpreted as multiple lighting devices in order to arrive at the open and closed position lighting limitations, and b) several of the multiple lighting devices being mounted to the cover indirectly. The rejection of claim 1 in view of Bonnefoy relies on a) and b) as well, but the key difference is claim 1 states, “at least one lighting device”, which makes the interpretation of the lighting device as multiple lighting devices much more reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, regarding claim 8, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses a handling machine, comprising:
a chassis equipped with front and rear wheels to move along a ground surface;
a handling system mounted to the chassis and configured to handle one or more of a load and a person;
a drive controller configured to control movement of the chassis along the ground surface, the controller being remotely positionable from the chassis;
a technical compartment positioned on a lateral flank of the chassis;
a cover connected to the technical compartment and moveable between an open position and a closed position; and
a lighting device mounted to the cover, the lighting device being configured to
light a space rearward of the front wheels when the cover is in the closed position, and
light an interior of the technical compartment when the cover is in the open position (emphasis added).
Accordingly, claims 9-14 are allowable by virtue of dependence from claim 8.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614