DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 2, “rods-configured” appears to contain a typographical error (the strikethrough font between the words).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a spacer” in claim 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9 and 11-13, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah (WO-2020089248-A1; see translation).
Regarding claim 1, Salah discloses a spacer for acquiring 2D or 3D representations of teeth of a user with an image acquisition device (e.g., Figs. 4D, 5B and 6; Abstract; page 2, lines 15-21), comprising:
- a tubular portion (Fig. 4D and annotated Fig. 5B, below) having a longitudinal axis, e.g., O (id.) and
- a support assembly 14 (Fig. 6) attached to the tubular portion (Fig. 5B), comprising at least one edge, e.g., 22a and 22b (Fig. 6; page 7, lines 3-6), defining an oral opening 24 (id.) and at least two wings 26a, 26b (Fig. 6) comprising free ends (id.) for separating the cheeks of a user (page 7, line 11) the support assembly 14 being elastically deformable when pressure is applied to the wings in the direction of the longitudinal axis so as to rotate the free ends about a center of rotation V (page 7, lines 7-10; page 9, lines 3-4; cf. annotated Fig. 11b, below),
the support assembly 14 being deformable between a rest configuration wherein the distance between the free ends of the wings 26a, 26b is at its maximum and a contracted configuration (i.e., the insertion configuration) wherein the distance between the free ends of the wings is less than that of the rest configuration to enable insertion into the mouth (page 13, lines 6-12),
the center of rotation V of the free ends appears to be located, in the rest configuration, at a distance from the edge 22a/22b (cf. annotated Fig. 11B, below), measured in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis O, of less than or equal to 2 cm (id.) and situated between the ends of the edges 22a, 22b, but a particular distance is not explicitly provided.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the center of rotation V of the free ends, in the rest configuration to be at a distance from the edge 22a/22b, measured in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis O, of less than or equal to 2 cm, e.g., to maintain the center or rotation V close to the edge 22a/22b, which supports the lips, to facilitate flexion and conform to the shape of a user’s mouth.
Regarding claim 2, the support assembly 14 comprises at least two parts 28a, 28b each supporting a wing 26a, 26b, respectively (the support assembly is one piece and made of plastic; Fig. 6 and page 7, line 17) and attached to the tubular portion (annotated Fig. 5b, above) by a first pivot connection 27’a (as well as by a second pivot connection 27’b) (Figs. 5b and 6; page 7, lines 18-30) allowing a relative movement of the wings 26a, 26b with respect to the tubular portion (supra).
Regarding claim 3, the support assembly 14 (Fig. 6) comprises two first parts 28a, 28b attached to the tubular portion by the first pivot connection 27’a and the second pivot connection 27’b and two second parts (annotated Fig. 6, below; page 7, lines 18-30) each attached to a first part (28b, 28a) by a second pivot connection 25 (id.; page 7, lines 7-10; page 9, lines 3-4) allowing a relative movement between the first parts 28a, 28b and the second parts (id.), the second parts supporting the wings (26b, 26a).
Regarding claim 4, the support assembly 14 comprises two parts 28a, 28b each supporting a wing 26a, 26b, respectively, the at least one edge 22a, 22b connecting the two parts via a flexible section 25 configured to be elastically deformable when pressure is applied to the wings in the direction of the longitudinal axis O (page 7, lines 7-10; page 9, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, the support assembly 14 comprises an integral elastic return member (e.g., the widened attachment area) at each end of the flexible section 25 (Fig. 6), which, because of its wider dimensions, would increase the rigidity of the flexible section 25 (cf. page, 7, lines 7-10 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, the support assembly 14 is a plastic one-piece structure (Fig. 6 and page 7, line 17).
Regarding claim 11, the tubular portion (annotated Fig. 5B, above) comprises a hollow passage (cf. Fig. 4D) configured to receive an image acquisition device 16 (Fig. 2A; page 2, lines 19-21; page 6, line 36 - page 7, line 1) in an acquisition position wherein the image acquisition device has at least a partial view of the oral opening (id.).
Regarding claim 12, the spacer of Salah is configured to receive and hold a mobile phone 16 (Fig. 2A; page 2, lines 19-21; page 6, line 36 - page 7, line 1), the mobile phone 16 being attached to the spacer (Fig. 4D) so that the image acquisition device of the mobile phone 16 has at least a partial view of the oral opening (Fig. 2A; page 2, lines 19-21; page 6, line 36 - page 7, line 1).
Regarding claim 13, Salah discloses a method of acquiring a 2D or 3D representation by means of a spacer (e.g., Figs. 4D, 5B and 6; Abstract; page 2, lines 15-21) according to claim 1, said method comprising the following steps:
a) at least partial insertion, by the user, of the spacer into the mouth of the user to a service position (page 13, lines 6-15) wherein the image acquisition device has a view of the teeth of the user through the oral opening 24 (id; Fig. 6; page 7, lines 3-6), the wings 26a, 26b (Fig. 6) of the spacer separating the lips of the user to expose said teeth (Fig. 6; page 7, lines 3-6; page 13, lines 6-15);
b) activation of the image acquisition device so as to acquire said 2D or 3D representation (page 13, lines 6-20);
c) modification of the positioning of the oral opening 24 relative to the user, by rotation around the user, and/or modification of the position of the tubular portion (Figs. 4D, 5A and annotated Fig. 5B, above) with respect to the support assembly 14 (Fig. 6) (page 13, lines 21-23; page 14, lines 1-3), then return to step b) (id.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah (WO-2020089248-A1; see translation) in view of Sanders (CN-103957835-A; see translation).
Salah discloses the claimed invention, including wings 26a, 26b formed of plastic (page 7, line 17), which constitutes a core, but does not disclose the core being covered with a layer.
Sanders discloses a dental device that contacts oral tissue (i.e., gums) configured as a plastic (i.e., polymer) core covered with a protective layer (para. 0125) to offer protection to oral tissue.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to cover the plastic wings 26a, 26b of Salah with a protective layer, in view of Sanders, to offer protection to oral tissue.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to overcome the objection note above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the center of rotation, Examiner acknowledges that the specification provides a technical effect and solves a specific problem. However, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Salah also provides a technical effect and solves a specific problem for its center of rotation (Salah, page 7, lines 3-6, machine translation):
As shown in FIG. 6, it preferably has a rim, preferably in two parts 22a and 22b, extending around a spacer opening 24 of axis X and arranged so that the lips of the patient can there rest, allowing the patient's teeth to appear through said retractor opening. The patient's lips are then rolled up around the patient's teeth.
This is further shown in Fig. 11B. By placing the center of rotation of the free ends as shown and described, the patient’s lips are able to rest at that location.
In addition, Applicant’s argument that the alleged center of rotation is substantially further away than 2 cm from the oral opening does not appear to measure in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis, as claimed and set forth in the rejection.
The center of rotation of the free ends is close to the lips so the lips can rest at that location upon insertion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to place the center of rotation of the free ends at a distance from the edge, as claimed, less than or equal to 2 cm, e.g., to support the lips, to facilitate flexion, and to conform to the shape of a user’s mouth, as stated in the rejection.
For these reasons, the arguments are not found to be persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773