isNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both “nodes” and “concrete core”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be no period after “the lower bed of the base plate” and “the upper closing slab of the base plate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Caruso et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0331358).
As per claim 1, Caruso teaches a semi-submersible platform for supporting a wind turbine, the semi-submersible platform comprising:
-a mixed structure with two portions:
-a first concrete caisson-type structure (Caruso: 1; para. 119), which serves as hydrodynamic stability and flotation of the semi-submersible platform, said first concrete caisson-type structure consisting of:
-a base plate (2), with a triangular-or quadrangular-shaped ground plan and straight parallelepiped shape (figure 1), formed from a lower bed, with vertical perimeter walls (23, 24) and inner partition walls (27), and closed by an upper closing slab (25), forming a hollow and closed body (figure 5), entirely of reinforced concrete (para. 115); and
-cylindrical and/or frustoconical bodies (8), with a vertical axis (3, 4, 5), hollow, made of reinforced concrete, bases of which are embedded in the base plate in areas close to base plate vertices (figure 1), wherein said cylindrical and/or frustoconical bodies are closed at a top by means of circular covers (12); and
-a second structure consisting of a transition piece as an element that distributes service loads of the wind turbine to the concrete caisson-type structure, consisting of an all-steel piece, which connects the base plate to a lower end of the tower of the wind turbine at connection points located on each side of the base plate (figure 1).
As per claim 2, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein a configuration of the base plate of the first concrete caisson-type structure has a ground plan according to an equilateral triangle with rounded edges (Caruso: para. 60; triangular layout with all vertices connected to the intermediate point 6).
As per claim 3, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein the base plate of the first concrete caisson-type structure has a concentric inner recess with the same configuration as the base plate, which serves to lighten said base plate and serves to optimize the hydrodynamic operation of the semi-submersible platform as a whole, improving damping of the semi-submersible platform against a heave motion (Caruso: para. 130; The flat base permit a significant increase in the damping.).
As per claim 4, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein the connection points between the metal transition piece and the first concrete caisson-type structure comprise a ring- or crown-shaped piece with a polygonal ground plan in a lower portion of the transition piece, which connects to a concrete core formed in the base plate by means of horizontal and vertical post-tensioned bars (Caruso: figure 7; para. 67; para. 64; para. 73; Four vertical bodies with a polygonal cross-section connected to each other.).
As per claim 5, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein the connection points between the metal transition piece and the first concrete caisson-type structure are located in the center of each side of the base plate (Caruso: figure 7).
As per claim 6, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein the connection points between the metal transition piece and the first concrete caisson-type structure are two on each side of the base plate (Caruso: figure 7).
As per claim 7, the platform of claim 4 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein, depending on the loads transmitted by the wind turbine, the connection nodes between the metal transition piece and the first concrete caisson-type structure are housed in the base plate or at a higher elevation, above the upper closing slab of said base plate, in which case, the polygonal prism formed by the concrete walls extends above the base plate (Caruso: figure 6).
As per claim 8, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches
wherein inside the base plate and/or inside the cylindrical bodies there is a water ballast and a set of pumps and pipes that the water ballast to be transferred from one cylinder to the others to stabilize the semi-submersible platform against the heeling that may occur during the service phase due to the operation of the wind turbine and the loads of waves, wind and currents (Caruso: para. 135-136).
As per claim 9, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso further teaches wherein a constituent material of the first concrete caisson-type structure: base plate and of the cylindrical and/or frustoconical bodies is reinforced, prestressed and post-tensioned concrete (Caruso: para. 141), wherein post-tensioning elements are distributed and located in the following areas:
-the lower bed of the base plate.
-the upper closing slab of the base plate.
-at the connection nodes for connecting the transition piece to the first concrete caisson-type structure (Caruso: para. 73; para. 168; The completion of the platform with the post tensioning cables must be tensioned.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0331358) in view of Dagher et al. (U.S. Patent 9,518,564).
As per claim 10, the platform of claim 1 is as described. Caruso does not explicitly teach the following, however, Dagher teaches wherein the first concrete caisson-type structure is made of reinforced concrete with fibers and/or resin-coated or glass fiber reinforced polyester (GRP) bars (Dagher: col. 4, 65-67).
The sole difference between Caruso and the claimed subject matter is that Caruso does not disclose specific type of reinforced concrete. Dagher shows that reinforced concrete with fibers. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the type of reinforced concrete of Dagher for the Caruso’s teaching of reinforced concrete. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another produces a predictable result rendering the claim obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ma et al. – U.S. Publication No. 2023/0211857 – Teaches a wind turbine floater with a triangle shape.
Cobian – U.S. Publication No. 2022/0162825 – Teaches an offshore maritime structure with polygonal base with columns.
/SHEETAL R PAULSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615