Drawings
The drawings were received on January 17th 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 17th 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on June 29th 2026.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on January 17th 202524;
Claims 1-13 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takaki (Patent No. US20190291731A1).
Regarding claim 1 Takaki teaches, a vehicle control device comprising; (See Takaki paragraph 0023; “ A vehicle control apparatus …”); an external environment recognition unit that acquires external environment information at least in front of a host vehicle; (See Takaki paragraph 0023; “…an image capture unit captures images of a region having a wide range that includes directions to the front and to the sides of the host vehicle… a result of the image capture unit capturing images of a region that extends over a wide range that includes directions to the sides the host vehicle…”); a control unit that controls the host vehicle based on the external environment information acquired by the external environment recognition unit; (See Takai paragraph 0023; “A whereby an image capture unit captures images of a region having a wide range that includes directions to the front and to the sides of the host vehicle, with the images captured by the image capture unit being used by the vehicle control apparatus…”); and a storage unit that stores detection information of a moving object acquired by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle overtakes the moving object; (See Takaki paragraph 0038 and 0042; “…the object detection unit 21 uses the well-known template matching method to detect the linear distance r1 and the image orientation θ2 of an object recognized in a captured image. Specifically, the object detection unit 21 first recognizes an object in a captured image by executing template matching processing, using databases that have been stored beforehand…collision avoidance control performed by ECU 20, if it is judged that the host vehicle is making a left turn or a right turn after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object…”); wherein the external environment recognition unit reads past detection information of the moving object stored in the storage unit when a course change of the host vehicle is predicted; (See Takaki paragraph 0043-0044; “With the present embodiment, the overtaking judgement section 24 judges whether the host vehicle has overtaken an object whose image type is that of a pedestrian or a two-wheeled vehicle. For example, if an object is recognized by using a database for pedestrians, the ECU 20 judges that the image type of the object is a pedestrian. If an object is recognized by using a database for two-wheeled vehicles, the ECU 20 judges that the image type of the object is a two-wheeled vehicle…The right/left judgement section 26 judges whether the host vehicle is turning right or left. Here, “determining whether the host vehicle is turning right or left” can signify that the host vehicle is actually turning right or left, or that it is highly probable that the host vehicle is turning right or left. The right/left turn judgement section 26 can judge whether the host vehicle is turning right or left based on outputs from the steering angle sensor 32 or the yaw rate sensor 33, for example.”); determines a possibility of collision between the host vehicle and the moving object, sets, as prediction recognition information, a moving object having a high possibility of colliding with the host vehicle at the course change of the host vehicle, based on the possibility of the collision; (See Takaki abstract; “When there is a possibility of collision between a host vehicle and objects positioned in a detection region in front of the host vehicle, an ECU implements collision avoidance control for preventing the host vehicle from colliding with an object. The ECU detects the objects positioned in the detection region and judges whether, among the detected objects, there is an object that the host vehicle has overtaken and that is capable of moving within a prescribed range in the vehicle width direction of the host vehicle. If it is judged that the host vehicle is turning to the left or to the right after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, the actuation timing of the collision avoidance control is advanced.”); and determines whether or not detection information of a moving object detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes a course is same as past detection information of the moving object included in the prediction recognition information; (See Takaki paragraph 0026; “…a right turn/left turn judgement section that judges whether the host vehicle is turning right or turning left, and an actuation change section which advances the actuation timing of the collision avoidance control when it is judged that the host vehicle is turning right or turning left after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, relative to the actuation timing when it is not judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, and to the actuation timing when it is judged that the host vehicle is not turning right or turning left after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object.”).
Regarding claim 2 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein in a case where it is determined that the detection information of the moving object detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes the course is same as the past detection information of the moving object included in the prediction recognition information; (See Takaki paragraph 0026; “…a right turn/left turn judgement section that judges whether the host vehicle is turning right or turning left, and an actuation change section which advances the actuation timing of the collision avoidance control when it is judged that the host vehicle is turning right or turning left after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, relative to the actuation timing when it is not judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, and to the actuation timing when it is judged that the host vehicle is not turning right or turning left after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object.”); the vehicle control device specifies the moving object as the avoidance target with a shortened period for specifying an avoidance target of collision avoidance control, and shifts to the avoidance control or alarm with respect to the moving object; (See Takaki paragraph 0039; “When it is judged that the host vehicle may collide with an object, the control section 23 implements collision avoidance control for avoiding the collision. First, the control section 23 calculates a TTC (Time to Collision: collision margin time), which is an evaluation value indicating how many seconds will elapse until the host vehicle, traveling at its present speed, collides with the object. The control section 23 then compares the calculated TTC with an actuation threshold which determines the timing of actuating the collision avoidance control, and actuates the driving support device 40 if the TTC is equal to or less than the actuation threshold. The actuation threshold is a value for setting the actuation timing of the collision avoidance control. The higher the actuation threshold, the greater will become the value of TTC at which a collision avoidance operation is performed, and the more readily will a collision avoidance operation be actuated. The TTC can be calculated by dividing the distance between the object and the host vehicle, in the travel direction of the host vehicle, by the relative speed of the object with respect to the host vehicle. The relative speed can be calculated based on successive changes in the position P of the object over time.”).
Regarding claim 3 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the prediction recognition information includes a predicted detection timing and a predicted detection region of the moving object; (See Takaki paragraph 0039; “When it is judged that the host vehicle may collide with an object, the control section 23 implements collision avoidance control for avoiding the collision. First, the control section 23 calculates a TTC (Time to Collision: collision margin time), which is an evaluation value indicating how many seconds will elapse until the host vehicle, traveling at its present speed, collides with the object…”); and in at least a part of the external environment information of the host vehicle acquired by the external environment recognition unit; (See Takaki paragraph 0041; “…the image capture unit 31 is limited to the front of the host vehicle, blind spots in which objects cannot be detected will be larger than for the case in which a wide detection region is used, that includes directions to the sides of the host vehicle…”); the vehicle control device sets a predicted detection region in which the moving object is predicted to be detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes the course and sets a predicted detection timing in which the moving object is predicted to be detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes the course; (See Takaki paragraph 0026; “…a right turn/left turn judgement section that judges whether the host vehicle is turning right or turning left, and an actuation change section which advances the actuation timing of the collision avoidance control when it is judged that the host vehicle is turning right or turning left after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, relative to the actuation timing when it is not judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object, and to the actuation timing when it is judged that the host vehicle is not turning right or turning left after it has been judged that the host vehicle has overtaken an object.”); and determines whether or not the detection information of the moving object detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes the course is same as the past detection information of the moving object, based on conditions of the predicted detection timing and the predicted detection region; (See Takaki paragraph 0054-0055; “If it is judged that the host vehicle is turning right or left (step S16: Yes) then in step S17 a judgement result flag 2, which indicates whether the host vehicle is turning right or left, is set to true. On the other hand if it is not judged that the host vehicle is turning right or left (step 516: No), the processing proceeds to step 518.
In step 518, the possibility of collision with a pedestrian is judged. The motion locus of the pedestrian is calculated based on the position P of the pedestrian at successively different time points, and the possibility of collision between the host vehicle and the pedestrian is judged based on this motion locus. If it is judged that there is no possibility of a collision with the pedestrian (step S18: No), this execution of the processing of FIG. 7 is ended.”).
Regarding claim 4 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device determines the possibility of collision by comparing an intersection arrival time of the host vehicle with an intersection arrival time of the moving object calculated based on the past detection information of the moving object; (See Takaki paragraph 0056; “A high reliability of recognition of a pedestrian by the ECU 20 could be made a condition for judging the possibility of collision between the host vehicle and the pedestrian in step S18. In that case, the reliability of recognition of the pedestrian could be calculated based on the cumulative number of times that the pedestrian is detected. For example, performing of the collision possibility judgement in step S18 could be limited to only pedestrians whose cumulative detection count is equal to or greater than a threshold value.”).
Regarding claim 5 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein in a case where it is determined that the detection information of the moving object detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes the course is same as the past detection information of the moving object included in the prediction recognition information; (See Takaki paragraph 0054-0055; “If it is judged that the host vehicle is turning right or left (step S16: Yes) then in step S17 a judgement result flag 2, which indicates whether the host vehicle is turning right or left, is set to true. On the other hand if it is not judged that the host vehicle is turning right or left (step 516: No), the processing proceeds to step 518.
In step 518, the possibility of collision with a pedestrian is judged. The motion locus of the pedestrian is calculated based on the position P of the pedestrian at successively different time points, and the possibility of collision between the host vehicle and the pedestrian is judged based on this motion locus. If it is judged that there is no possibility of a collision with the pedestrian (step S18: No), this execution of the processing of FIG. 7 is ended.”); the vehicle control device shortens a tracking processing time for specifying an avoidance target of collision avoidance control and specifies the moving object as the avoidance target; (See Takaki paragraph 0052 and Figure 7; “In step S15 the speed difference between the pedestrian and the host vehicle, in the travel direction of the host vehicle, is calculated. The speed difference can for example be calculated based on time-axis changes in the position of the pedestrian, detected in executions of step S11. Step S15 corresponds to a speed difference calculation section.”).
Regarding claim 6 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 3, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device sets the predicted detection region in a part of an image captured by a camera sensor that images at least a front of the host vehicle; (See Takaki paragraph 0023;”… an image capture unit captures images of a region having a wide range that includes directions to the front…”).
Regarding claim 7 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device performs the collision possibility determination as needed until the host vehicle reaches an intersection; (See Takaki paragraph 0041; “…In FIG. 5, when the host vehicle turns left at the intersection, an object Ob is located at a blind spot that is outside the detection area DA of the image capture unit 31, so that the ECU 20 cannot detect the position P of the object. As shown in FIG. 6, as the degree of turn of the host vehicle CS increases, the object comes within the detection area DA from the dead spot, and the ECU 20 then detects the position P of the object. In the example of FIG. 6, since the distance from the object Ob to the host vehicle CS in the travel direction of the host vehicle is short, there is a danger that the timing at which the ECU 20 actuates collision avoidance control with respect to the object Ob will be delayed.”).
Regarding claim 8 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 3, Takaki further teaches, wherein in a case where the moving object included in the prediction recognition information is not detected in the predicted detection region even after the predicted detection timing, the vehicle control device deletes the prediction recognition information from the storage unit; (See Takaki paragraph 0049; “…When an object has been detected in a captured image as shown in FIG. 8, if that same object is not thereafter detected in the detection area, as shown in FIG. 9, then it is judged that the target object has been passed by. Step S12 corresponds to an overtaking judgement step.”).
Regarding claim 9 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device sets a reliability with respect to the prediction recognition information, based on a time when the moving object is detected and detection accuracy, and uses the reliability to determine consistency between the detection information and the past detection information; (See Takaki paragraph 0038-0039; “…As shown in FIG. 4 the collision judgement section 22 calculates the motion trajectory of the object based on different positions P of the object at a series of points in time. In FIG. 4, the motion trajectory is calculated based on the positions P1 to P5 of the object at times t1 to t5. With the calculated motion trajectory extended toward the host vehicle CS, it is judged that there is a possibility the host vehicle will collide with the object if the extension line of the motion trajectory comes within a collision lateral position range CSP that is set in front of the host vehicle.
When it is judged that the host vehicle may collide with an object, the control section 23 implements collision avoidance control for avoiding the collision. First, the control section 23 calculates a TTC (Time to Collision: collision margin time), which is an evaluation value indicating how many seconds will elapse until the host vehicle, traveling at its present speed, collides with the object. The control section 23 then compares the calculated TTC with an actuation threshold which determines the timing of actuating the collision avoidance control, and actuates the driving support device 40 if the TTC is equal to or less than the actuation threshold. The actuation threshold is a value for setting the actuation timing of the collision avoidance control.”).
Regarding claim 10 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device reads the past detection information, as a trigger of reading the past detection information, when a travel route of the host vehicle is calculated based on map information and it is determined that a possibility of turning right/left at an intersection is high; (See Takaki paragraph 0034; “The navigation apparatus 50 provides road information concerning the road on which the host vehicle is traveling. The navigation apparatus 50 can include for example a memory for recording map information, and a location specifying unit for specifying the location of the host vehicle on a map by using position information transmitted from GPS (Global Positioning System) satellites. Hence the navigation apparatus 50 refers to road information concerning the surroundings of the host vehicle based upon the host vehicle position in a specific map. The referenced road information is then transmitted to the ECU 20. The road information can for example include curvature information indicating the state of curvature of the road on which the host vehicle is traveling, and information indicating whether there is a traffic intersection ahead of the host vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 11 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device reads the past detection information, as a trigger of reading the past detection information, when it is determined based on an intersection recognition result by the external environment recognition unit that a possibility of turning right/left at an intersection is high; (See Takaki paragraph 0024; “When the host vehicle is turning right or left at an intersection, the detection area will change together with the changes in direction of the host vehicle, and an object positioned at a blind spot may come within the detection area. In that case there is a danger that the object and the host vehicle will be close to one another when the object is detected, and that the timing of actuating the collision avoidance control will be delayed. In particular, when the detection area is limited to the front of the host vehicle, blind spots where the object cannot be detected will be larger than for the case in which the detection area extends over a wide range that includes directions to the sides of the host vehicle. As a result, there is an increased probability of an object entering the detection area from a blind spot while the host vehicle is turning right or left, and there is an increased frequency of delays in actuating the collision avoidance control.”).
Regarding claim 12 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, Takaki further teaches, wherein the vehicle control device reads the past detection information, as a trigger of reading the past detection information, when intersection information acquired by road-to-vehicle communication is used and it is determined that a possibility of turning right/left at an intersection is high; (See Takaki paragraph 0034 and 0044; “The navigation apparatus 50 provides road information concerning the road on which the host vehicle is traveling. The navigation apparatus 50 can include for example a memory for recording map information, and a location specifying unit for specifying the location of the host vehicle on a map by using position information transmitted from GPS (Global Positioning System) satellites. Hence the navigation apparatus 50 refers to road information concerning the surroundings of the host vehicle based upon the host vehicle position in a specific map. The referenced road information is then transmitted to the ECU 20. The road information can for example include curvature information indicating the state of curvature of the road on which the host vehicle is traveling, and information indicating whether there is a traffic intersection ahead of the host vehicle… The right/left judgement section 26 judges whether the host vehicle is turning right or left. Here, “determining whether the host vehicle is turning right or left” can signify that the host vehicle is actually turning right or left, or that it is highly probable that the host vehicle is turning right or left.”).
Regarding claim 13 Takaki teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 3, Takaki further teaches, wherein in a case where it is determined that the detection information of the moving object detected by the external environment recognition unit when the host vehicle changes the course is not same as the past detection information of the moving object included in the prediction recognition information, the vehicle control device cancels setting of the predicted detection region; (See Takaki paragraph 0047-0048; “In step S11, a decision is made as to whether a target object is detected. A pedestrian who is moving in the same direction as the host vehicle, and whose distance from the host vehicle in the vehicle width direction is equal to or less than a threshold, is detected as an object that can move within a predetermined range in the vehicle width direction of the host vehicle. The motion direction of the pedestrian is judged based on a time-axis sequence of changes in position P of the pedestrian. Step S11 corresponds to an object detection step.
In FIG. 8, the ECU 20 detects a pedestrian who is moving in the same travel direction as the host vehicle, with the distance D from the center of the host vehicle CS to the pedestrian, in the vehicle width direction, being equal to or less than a threshold Th1. The threshold Th1 is set based on the distance from the center of the object to a side of the detection area, as measured in the vehicle width direction. If no target object is detected (step S11: No), this execution of the processing of FIG. 7 is ended.”).
Conclusion
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666