DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 and 20 have been amended. No Claims have been newly added. No Claims has been/remains canceled. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant amendments towards to Specifications have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/29/2026. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Specifications.
Applicant amendments to the Claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/29/2026. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 9-23 of the remark filed on 07/29/2026, on the newly amended limitations of independent Claim 1: “wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the first message”,
Newly amended limitations of independent claim 10: “wherein the subscription data request comprises an indication of a set of requested services; determine a set of allowed services reachable by the UE via the WLAN, wherein the set of allowed services is based on the set of requested services;” arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615) further in view of Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512) in conjunction Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615) and Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730)). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 15-23, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 1-20 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Woodward-Hong-Kiss teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims and 1 and 14, Mishra-Woodward-Hong-Kiss teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claim 7 and Mishra-Woodward-Zhou-Kiss teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claim 10, rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”) and Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) further in view of Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”)
In regards to Claim 1, Woodward teaches a network apparatus comprising: (Par. (0020-0022); device in WLAN))
a memory; and (Par. (0100-0103); memory)
a processor coupled with the memory and configured to cause the network apparatus to: (Par. (0100-0103); processor with memory))
receive, from a wireless local area network ("WLAN") access network, a first message indicating that a User equipment devices ("UE") requests to establish a connection the WLAN access network using credentials associated with a mobile communication network; (Par. (0019-0021); server receiving message from device for request for authorization to roam in WLAN based on user credentials), (Par. (0028-0030); providing WLAN access corresponding to request for authentication from device by credentials provided)), (Par. (0019); mobile communication network (devices roaming in wireless network))
determine that the UE is authorized by an authentication server in the mobile communication network to connect to the WLAN access network; (Par. (0030-0031); authentication server validates received request corresponding to WLAN access point and determines identity of device)), (Par. (0037-0038); authentication server based on request and credentials determines device is authorized and enabled to roam WLAN network))
Woodward does not explicitly teach determine, in response to the UE being authorized by the authentication server to connect to the WLAN access network, a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE; wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the first message; and transmit, to the WLAN access network, a second message comprising the set of tunnel attributes and an indication to establish a tunnel between the WLAN access network, wherein the second message comprises an instruction that the WLAN access network relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel.
Wherein Hong teaches determine, in response to the UE being authorized by the authentication server to connect to the WLAN access network, a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE; (Par. (0157-0159); after performed and succeeded authentication of UE and access to WLAN, identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE), (Par. (0161-0163); determining a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE (identifying tunnel endpoint information)) (Examiner Note: In the instant application on Par. (0151) of the specification “set of tunnel attributes” corresponding to endpoint, type, identifiers or a combination of thereof. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of the specification that a set of tunnel attributes refers to a combination of tunnel endpoint information or tunnel IDs))
transmit, to the WLAN access network, a second message comprising the set of tunnel attributes and an indication to establish a tunnel between the WLAN access network, wherein the second message comprises an instruction that the WLAN access network relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel. (Par. (0157, 0161-0163); transmitting the set of tunnel attributes (transmitted tunnel endpoint IDs and within control plane message a transmitted tunnel endpoint information) to the WLAN)), (Par. (0161-0163); an indication to establish a tunnel to a first data network (message of a plurality of messages that confirms establishing of transmitted data through WLAN corresponding to tunnel), (Par. (0181-0183); to the network (transport network between WLAN, tunnel and UE)), (Par. (0172-0174); relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel (tunnels between WLAN and USE to allow transmitted data))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Woodward and Hong do not explicitly teach wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the first message; and
Wherein Kiss teaches wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the first message; and (Par. (0029); tunnel attributes (IPsec secure tunnel with permissions/subscriptions) between WLAN access network (WLAN with access through IPsec secure tunnel) a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the first message (data packet that is established used for access between WLAN and IPsec secure tunnel with attributes of permit access and permissions based on data packet))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward and Hong to incorporate the teaching of Kiss to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of authentication failure handling when disallowing access to services and/or to connection establishment with network gateways through untrusted wireless networks by a wireless communication device. (Kiss Par. (0003))
In regards to Claim 14, claim 14 recites similar limitations to independent claim 1 and the teachings of Woodward, Hong and Kiss address all the limitations discussed in independent claim 1 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) and Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) further in view of Mishra et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309755, hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”)
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach wherein the first message comprises a subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") of the UE and an indication of a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network.
Wherein Mishra teaches wherein the first message comprises a subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") of the UE and (Par. (0040-0043); message sent comprises network access identifier (subscriber identifier with matching subscriber record that is sent in request message of UE)), (Par. (0039); the first message comprises the SUCI (message with subscriber identifier and record as concealed 104@home.com)
an indication of a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network. (Par. (0020 and 0054-0055); messages with set of services corresponding to record and second subscriber identifier with access services)), (Par. (0015); second set of services (VoIP, WhatsApp etc.)), (Par. (0025); WLAN))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Mishra to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of bypassing traffic and implementing authentication methods in mobile networks over wide networks. (Mishra Par. (0002-0003))
In regards to Claim 15, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach wherein the first message comprises a subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") of the UE and an indication of a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network.
Wherein Mishra teaches wherein the first message comprises a subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") of the UE and (Par. (0040-0043); message comprises network access identifier (subscriber identifier with matching subscriber record that is sent in request message)), (Par. (0039); the first message comprises the SUCI (message with subscriber identifier and record as concealed 104@home.com)
an indication of a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network. (Par. (0020 and 0054-0055); messages with set of services corresponding to record and second subscriber identifier with access services)), (Par. (0015); second set of services (VoIP, WhatsApp etc.)), (Par. (0025); WLAN))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Mishra to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of bypassing traffic and implementing authentication methods in mobile networks over wide networks. (Mishra Par. (0002-0003))
Claim(s) 3, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) and Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) further in view of Liao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210058748, hereinafter referred to as “Liao”)
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach wherein, the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to: transmit, to a Unified Data Management function ("UDM") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising an access network identifier and a requested service identity, wherein the requested service identity identifies a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network; and receive, from the UDM, a response message containing an allowed service identity.
Wherein Liao teaches wherein, the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to: transmit, to a Unified Data Management function ("UDM") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising an access network identifier and a requested service identity, (Par. (0051-0052); request message sent to UDM with service ID), (Par. (0048-0049); request with network ID)), (Par. (0039); mobile network))
wherein the requested service identity identifies a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network; and (Par. (0051-0052); the requested service identity (request message with service ID)), (Par. (0189-0191); identifies a second set of services (group based services with service ID)), (Par. (0034 and 0113-0114); be reachable via the WLAN access network (WLAN with UEs being provided different service and second set of services(different service types and services corresponding to service ID)), (Par. (0159-0161); different services))
receive, from the UDM, a response message containing an allowed service identity. (Par. (0208-0211); UDM receives response message with service ID that indicates success and policies for service ID with expected access))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Liao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of transmitting messages to all device of WLAN network by formatting packets and allowing UE’s to subscribe and be delivered data over channel more securely. (Liao Par. (0003-0005 and 0040-0042))
In regards to Claim 13, the combination of Woodward, Hong, and Kiss do not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to retrieve an allowed service identity for the UE, in response to determining that the UE is authorized by the authentication server to connect to the WLAN access network, wherein the allowed service identity identifies the set of allowed services reachable via the WLAN.
Wherein Liao teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to retrieve an allowed service identity for the UE, (Par. (0047-0049 and 0191-0192); providing and forwarding the service ID of the UE))
in response to determining that the UE is authorized by the authentication server to connect to the WLAN access network, (Par. (0047-0049 and 0051-0052); authorization of UE based on service ID)), (Par. (0058-0059); provided access to WLAN))
wherein the allowed service identity identifies the set of allowed services reachable via the WLAN. (Par. (0047-0049 and 0051-0052); allowed service identity (service ID that is authorized access) Par. (0189-0191); identifies a first set of services reachable via the WLAN (group based services corresponding to service ID)), (Par. (0034 and 0113-0114); reachable via the WLAN (WLAN with UEs being provided different service and second set of services(different service types and services corresponding to service ID)), (Par. (0159-0161); different services))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Liao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of transmitting messages to all device of WLAN network by formatting packets and allowing UE’s to subscribe and be delivered data over channel more securely. (Liao Par. (0003-0005 and 0040-0042))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach retrieving an allowed service identity for the UE, in response to determining that the UE is authorized by the authentication server to connect to the WLAN access network, wherein the allowed service identity identifies the set of allowed services reachable via the WLAN.
Wherein Liao teaches retrieving an allowed service identity for the UE, (Par. (0047-0049 and 0191-0192); providing and forwarding the service ID of the UE))
in response to determining that the UE is authorized by the authentication server to connect to the WLAN access network, (Par. (0047-0049 and 0051-0052); authorization of UE based on service ID)), (Par. (0058-0059); provided access to WLAN))
wherein the allowed service identity identifies the set of allowed services reachable via the WLAN. (Par. (0047-0049 and 0051-0052); allowed service identity (service ID that is authorized access) Par. (0189-0191); identifies a first set of services reachable via the WLAN (group based services corresponding to service ID)), (Par. (0034 and 0113-0114); reachable via the WLAN (WLAN with UEs being provided different service and second set of services(different service types and services corresponding to service ID)), (Par. (0159-0161); different services))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Liao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of transmitting messages to all device of WLAN network by formatting packets and allowing UE’s to subscribe and be delivered data over channel more securely. (Liao Par. (0003-0005 and 0040-0042))
In regards to Claim 17, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach retrieving the allowed service identity comprises: transmit, to a Unified Data Management function ("UDM") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising an access network identifier and a requested service identity, wherein the requested service identity identifies a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network; and receiving, from the UDM, a response message containing the allowed service identity.
Wherein Liao teaches wherein retrieving the allowed service identity comprises: (Par. (0047-0049 and 0191-0192); providing and forwarding the service ID of the UE))
transmit, to a Unified Data Management function ("UDM") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising an access network identifier and a requested service identity, (Par. (0051-0052); request message sent to UDM with service ID), (Par. (0048-0049); request with network ID)), (Par. (0039); mobile network))
wherein the requested service identity identifies a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN access network; and (Par. (0051-0052); the requested service identity (request message with service ID)), (Par. (0189-0191); identifies a second set of services (group based services with service ID)), (Par. (0034 and 0113-0114); be reachable via the WLAN access network (WLAN with UEs being provided different service and second set of services(different service types and services corresponding to service ID)), (Par. (0159-0161); different services))
receiving, from the UDM, a response message containing the allowed service identity. (Par. (0208-0211); UDM receives response message with service ID that indicates success and policies for service ID with expected access))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Liao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of transmitting messages to all device of WLAN network by formatting packets and allowing UE’s to subscribe and be delivered data over channel more securely. (Liao Par. (0003-0005 and 0040-0042))
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) and Dao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190158985, hereinafter referred to as “Dao”) further in view of Cai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200028921, hereinafter referred to as “Cai”)
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss teach the network apparatus of claim 1, Hong further teaches wherein, to determine the set of tunnel attributes, the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to: (Par. (0161-0163); determining a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE (identifying tunnel endpoint information))
wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: (Par. (0157-0159); identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE)
a tunnel type,
a tunnel medium type,
a tunnel client endpoint, (Par. (0157-0159); after performed and succeeded authentication of UE and access to WLAN, identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE)
a tunnel server endpoint,
a tunnel client authentication identifier,
a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach transmit, to a Network Repository Function ("NRF") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising an allowed service identity; and receive, from the NRF, a response message containing the set of tunnel attributes associated with the allowed service identity,
Wherein Cai teaches transmit, to a Network Repository Function ("NRF") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising an allowed service identity; and (Par. (0021); sending to the NRF a request with service ID), (Par. (0142); allowed service identity (list of accessible corresponding to service IDs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Cai to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a mobile network, with the motivation of authorizing user equipment devices based on request service information to determine access. (Cai Par. (0057-0059))
Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Cai do not explicitly teach receive, from the NRF, a response message containing the set of tunnel attributes associated with the allowed service identity,
Wherein Dao teaches receive, from the NRF, a response message containing the set of tunnel attributes associated with the allowed service identity, (Par. (0231 and 0270-0272); sending to NRF message with tunnel ID and service Identifier)), 9Par. (0070 and 0085); message sent to NRF corresponding to tunnel endpoint identifiers and service identifiers))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Cai to incorporate the teaching of Dao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network with tunnel and identifier information, with the motivation of creating a security infrastructure for devices in communication based on processing access rights and identifiable information to enforce decision. (Dao Par. (0030 and 0047-0048))
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) and Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) further in view of Dao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190158985, hereinafter referred to as “Dao”)
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Woodward, Hong, and Kiss teach the network apparatus of claim 1, Woodward further teaches the network apparatus of claim 1, receive configuration information, (Par. (0017); receiving configuration information (receiving IP address information))
Woodward does not explicitly teach wherein, to determine the set of tunnel attributes, the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to: wherein the set of tunnel attributes is determined from an allowed service identity, using the received configuration information, wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof.
Wherein Hong teaches wherein, to determine the set of tunnel attributes, the processor is configured to cause the network apparatus to: (Par. (0161-0163); determining a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE (identifying tunnel endpoint information))
wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof. (Par. (0157-0159); identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach wherein the set of tunnel attributes is determined from an allowed service identity, using the received configuration information,
Wherein Dao teaches wherein the set of tunnel attributes is determined from an allowed service identity, using the received configuration information, (Par. (0070 and 0085); message received corresponding to configuration information (IP address received in message) with service identifier and tunnel endpoint information))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Dao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network with tunnel and identifier information, with the motivation of creating a security infrastructure for devices in communication based on processing access rights and identifiable information to enforce decision. (Dao Par. (0030 and 0047-0048))
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) and Salkintzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180167983 hereinafter referred to as “Salkintzis”) further in view of Lindeheimer et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20160044037, hereinafter referred to as “Lindeheimer”)
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach the second message comprises an access accept message comprising the set of tunnel attributes, a success indication, and a session key and the first message and second message are protocol messages exchanged during a Non-Seamless WLAN Offloading ("NSWO") authentication procedure.
Wherein Salkintzis teaches the second message comprises an access accept message comprising the set of tunnel attributes, a success indication, and (Par. (0056-0058); set of tunnel attributes (packet with tunnel data/status)), (Par. (0061-0063 and 0070-0071)) transmit an accept message (sending accept response) comprising a set of tunnel attributes (packet with tunnel status) a success indication (notify and message for successful))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Salkintzis to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of establishing secure connection utilizing Non-Seamless WLAN Offload and identifying the identity of devices and exchanges to regulate access in the network. (Salkintzis Par. (0011 and 0062-0064))
Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Salkintzis do not explicitly teach a session key and the first message and second message are protocol messages exchanged during a Non-Seamless WLAN Offloading ("NSWO") authentication procedure.
Wherein Lindeheimer teaches a session key, (Par. (0087 and 0064); EAP success message with session key))
the first message and second message are protocol messages exchanged during a Non-Seamless WLAN Offloading ("NSWO") authentication procedure. (Par. (0073 and 0085); first message (message from server) and access accept message (accept message)), (Par. (0048); NSWO))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Salkintzis to incorporate the teaching of Lindeheimer to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of creating more authentication methods in a mobile wireless system to determine authorized users based on subscriptions and various key exchanges to evaluated authenticity. (Lindeheimer Par. (0003-0005 and 0064-0066))
In regards to Claim 20, claim 20 recites similar limitations to dependent claim 6 and the teachings of Woodward, Hong, Kiss, Salkintzis and Lindeheimer address all the limitations discussed in dependent claim 6 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309755, hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”), Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”) and Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) further in view of Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”)
In regards to Claim 7, Mishra teaches an apparatus in a wireless local area network ("WLAN") access network, the apparatus comprising: (Par. (0024); device in mobile network))
a memory; and a (Par. (0035); memory))
processor coupled with the memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (Par. (0033-0035) processor with memory))
initiate a Non-Seamless WLAN Offloading ("NSWO") authentication procedure with a User equipment devices ("UE"); (Par. (0039-0042 and 0047-0048); NWSO and validating mobile device with subscriber identifier))
receive a network access identifier from the UE during the NSWO authentication procedure, (Par. (0040-0042); receiving network access identifier (subscriber identifier)of mobile device corresponding to NWSO))
wherein the network access identifier comprises a subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") of the UE and an indication of a set of requested services to be reachable via the access network; (Par. (0040-0043); network access identifier comprises a subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") (identifier corresponding to subscriber identifier with matching subscriber record), (Par. (0039); the first message comprises the SUCI (message with subscriber identifier and record as concealed 104@home.com) (Par. (0020); subscriber concealed identity ("SUCI") (subscriber identifier) with an indication of a first set of requested services to be reachable via the access network (subscriber record and subscriber identifier with list of services in which the mobile device is permitted access))
wherein the first message comprises the SUCI and the indication of the set of requested services; (Par. (0040-0043); network access identifier corresponding to subscriber identifier with matching subscriber record that is sent in request message), (Par. (0039); the first message comprises the SUCI (message with subscriber identifier and record as concealed 104@home.com) (Par. (0020 and 0054); set of services corresponding to record and second subscriber identifier with access services)), (Par. (0015); second set of services (VoIP, WhatsApp etc.))
Mishra does not explicitly teach transmit, to an authentication proxy in a mobile communication network, a first message indicating that the UE requests to connect to the WLAN access network using credentials associated with the mobile communication network, receive, from the authentication proxy, a second message comprising a set of tunnel attributes, wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the set of requested services, wherein the second message comprises an instruction that the WLAN access network relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel; establish a tunnel using the set of tunnel attributes; and relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel between the WLAN access network and the data network.
Wherein Woodward teaches transmit, to an authentication proxy in a mobile communication network, a first message indicating that the UE requests to connect to the WLAN access network using credentials associated with the mobile communication network, (Par. (0019-0021); authentication proxy (authentication server) is sent and receives message from device for request for authorization to roam in WLAN based on user credentials), (Par. (0020); to authentication proxy (server corresponding to proxy))(Par. (0028-0030); providing WLAN access corresponding to request for authentication from device by credentials provided)), (Par. (0019); mobile communication network (devices roaming in wireless network))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra to incorporate the teaching of Woodward to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of authenticated device roaming in a wireless local area network and to monitor levels of access and roaming by authenticating users. (Woodward Par. (0001-0005))
Mishra and Woodward do not explicitly teach receive, from the authentication proxy, a second message comprising a set of tunnel attributes, wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the set of requested services, wherein the second message comprises an instruction that the WLAN access network relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel; establish a tunnel using the set of tunnel attributes; and relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel between the WLAN access network and the data network.
Wherein Hong teaches receive, from the authentication proxy, a second message comprising a set of tunnel attributes, (Par. (0157, 0161-0163); the authentication proxy (WLAN access/authentication association that performs authentication) is transmitted and receives the set of tunnel attributes (transmitted tunnel endpoint IDs and within control plane message a transmitted tunnel endpoint information) to the WLAN)), (Par. (0161-0163); an indication to establish a tunnel to a first data network (message that confirms establishing of transmitted data through WLAN corresponding to tunnel), (Par. (0181-0183); to a first data network (transport network between WLAN, tunnel and UE)),
wherein the second message comprises an instruction that the WLAN access network relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel; (Par. (0157, 0161-0163); transmitting the set of tunnel attributes within message (transmitted tunnel endpoint IDs and within control plane message a transmitted tunnel endpoint information amongst plurality of messages) to the WLAN)), (Par. (0172-0174); relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel (tunnels between WLAN and USE to allow transmitted data))
establish a tunnel using the set of tunnel attributes; and (Par. (0161-0163); an indication to establish a tunnel to a first data network (message that confirms establishing of transmitted data through WLAN corresponding to tunnel))
relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel between the WLAN access network and the data network. (Par. (0172-0174); relay all traffic of the UE via the tunnel (tunnels between WLAN and UE to allow transmitted data))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra and Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Mishra, Woodward and Hong do not explicitly teach wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the set of requested services,
Wherein Kiss teaches wherein the tunnel attributes describe a tunnel between the WLAN access network and a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the set of requested services, (Par. (0029); tunnel attributes (IPsec secure tunnel with permissions/subscriptions) between WLAN access network (WLAN with access through IPsec secure tunnel) a data network providing a set of allowed services based on the first message (data packet that is established used for access between WLAN and IPsec secure tunnel with attributes of permit access and permissions based on data packet))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra, Woodward and Hong to incorporate the teaching of Kiss to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of authentication failure handling when disallowing access to services and/or to connection establishment with network gateways through untrusted wireless networks by a wireless communication device. (Kiss Par. (0003))
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Mishra, Woodward, Hong and Kiss teach the apparatus of claim 7, Mishra further teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first data network supports access to the set of allowed services and (Par. (0020); list of services permitted access), (Par. (0025); first data network (WLAN network with traffic))
Mishra and Woodward do not explicitly teach wherein, to establish the tunnel, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to establish the tunnel with a first data network, wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof.
Wherein Hong teaches wherein, to establish the tunnel, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to establish the tunnel with a first data network, (Par. (0161-0163); an indication to establish a tunnel to a first data network (message that confirms establishing of transmitted data through WLAN corresponding to tunnel), (Par. (0181-0183); toa first data network (transport network between WLAN, tunnel and UE))
wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof. (Par. (0157-0159); identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra, Woodward and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309755, hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”), Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) and Salkintzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180167983 hereinafter referred to as “Salkintzis”) further in view of Lindeheimer et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20160044037, hereinafter referred to as “Lindeheimer”)
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Mishra, Woodward, Hong and Kiss do not explicitly teach the second message comprises an access accept message comprising the set of tunnel attributes, a success indication, and a session key, and the first message and the second message are protocol messages exchanged during the NSWO authentication procedure.
Wherein Salkintzis teaches the second message comprises an access accept message comprising the set of tunnel attributes, a success indication, and (Par. (0056-0058); set of tunnel attributes (packet with tunnel data/status)), (Par. (0061-0063 and 0070-0071)) transmit an accept message (sending accept response) comprising a set of tunnel attributes (packet with tunnel status) a success indication (notify and message for successful))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra, Woodward, Hong and Kissto incorporate the teaching of Salkintzis to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of establishing secure connection utilizing Non-Seamless WLAN Offload and identifying the identity of devices and exchanges to regulate access in the network. (Salkintzis Par. (0011 and 0062-0064))
Mishra, Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Salkintzis do not explicitly teach a session key, and the first message and the second message are protocol messages exchanged during the NSWO authentication procedure.
Wherein Lindeheimer teaches a session key, and (Par. (0087 and 0064); EAP success message with session key))
the first message and the second message are protocol messages exchanged during the NSWO authentication procedure. (Par. (0073 and 0085); first message (message from server) and second message (accept message)), (Par. (0048); NSWO))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra, Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Salkintzis to incorporate the teaching of Lindeheimer to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of creating more authentication methods in a mobile wireless system to determine authorized users based on subscriptions and various key exchanges to evaluated authenticity. (Lindeheimer Par. (0003-0005 and 0064-0066))
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309755, hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”), Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”) and Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) further in view of Zhou et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170238223, hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”)
In regards to Claim 10, Mishra teaches a network apparatus comprising: (Par. (0024); device in mobile network))
a memory; and (Par. (0024); device in mobile network))
a processor coupled with the memory and configured to cause the network apparatus to: (Par. (0033-0035) processor with memory))
receive, from an authentication server in a mobile communication network, an authentication request comprising a Non-Seamless Wireless local area network Offloading ("NSWO") indicator and an identity of a User equipment devices ("UE"), (Par. (0039-0043 and 0047-0048); transmitting and receiving a request with network corresponding to NSWO and parameter indicators to AAA server with identity of UE (subscriber identifier of mobile device))
Mishra does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication request indicates an attempt by the UE to connect to a Wireless Local Area Network ("WLAN") using credentials associated with the mobile communication network; transmit, to the authentication server, an authentication vector for the UE; receive, from a NSWO function and in response to successful authentication of the UE, a subscription data request, wherein the subscription data request comprises an indication of a set of requested services; determine a set of allowed services reachable by the UE via the WLAN, wherein the set of allowed services is based on the set of requested services; and transmit, to the NSWO function, a subscription data response indicating a first set of services reachable by the UE via the WLAN.
Wherein Woodward teaches wherein the authentication request indicates an attempt by the UE to connect to a Wireless Local Area Network ("WLAN") using credentials associated with the mobile communication network; (Par. (0019-0021); server receiving message from device for request for authorization to roam in WLAN based on user credentials), (Par. (0028-0030); providing WLAN access corresponding to request for authentication from device by credentials provided)), (Par. (0019); mobile communication network (devices roaming in wireless network))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra to incorporate the teaching of Woodward to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of authenticated device roaming in a wireless local area network and to monitor levels of access and roaming by authenticating users. (Woodward Par. (0001-0005))
Mishra and Woodward do not explicitly teach transmit, to the authentication server, an authentication vector for the UE; receive, from a NSWO function and in response to successful authentication of the UE, a subscription data request, wherein the subscription data request comprises an indication of a set of requested services; determine a set of allowed services reachable by the UE via the WLAN, wherein the set of allowed services is based on the set of requested services; and transmit, to the NSWO function, a subscription data response indicating a first set of services reachable by the UE via the WLAN.
Wherein Kiss teaches wherein the subscription data request comprises an indication of a set of requested services; (Par. (0041 and 0022, 0035); request corresponding to subscription for UE and connection with services from service provider))
determine a set of allowed services reachable by the UE via the WLAN, wherein the set of allowed services is based on the set of requested services; and (Par. (0029); UE in connection with access WLAN with one or more services based on allowed permit access and permissions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra and Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Kiss to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of authentication failure handling when disallowing access to services and/or to connection establishment with network gateways through untrusted wireless networks by a wireless communication device. (Kiss Par. (0003))
Mishra, Woodward and Kiss do not explicitly teach transmit, to the authentication server, an authentication vector for the UE; receive, from a NSWO function and in response to successful authentication of the UE, a subscription data request, transmit, to the NSWO function, a subscription data response indicating a first set of services reachable by the UE via the WLAN.
Wherein Zhou teaches transmit, to the authentication server, an authentication vector for the UE; (Par. (0234 and 0291); sending to server the authentication vectors))
receive, from a NSWO function and in response to successful authentication of the UE, a subscription data request; and (Par. (0248-0253); server authenticates UE identity then UE transmits a subscription data request (request message for subscription information)), (Par. (0096-0097); from a NSWO function (UE corresponding to NSWO))
transmit, to the NSWO function, a subscription data response indicating a first set of services reachable by the UE via the WLAN. (Par. (0307-0310); transmitted success message with subscription information and indicating by user service paths)). ((Par. (0256-0258, 0272); response message is transmitted by UE that includes indication of service paths)), (Par. (0096-0097); from a NSWO function (UE corresponding to NSWO))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra and Woodward and Kiss to incorporate the teaching of Zhou to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of allowing UE’s to establish authentication based on indicators and communicate information through the network and be accepted by multiple devices. (Zhou Par. (0013-0019))
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Mishra, Woodward, Kiss and Zhou teach the network apparatus of claim 10, Mishra further teaches the network apparatus of claim 10, wherein the subscription data request comprises a subscriber permanent identity ("SUPI") of the UE and (Par. (0039 and 0040-0043); request with subscriber identifier and used to match subscriber record that is sent in request message), (Par. (0024 and 0029-0031); subscriber permanent identity ("SUPI") (same subscriber identifier that is assigned)), (Examiner Note: In the specification there is no clear definition as to what a subscriber permanent identity ("SUPI") represents only stated on Par. (0079). Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted that a subscriber permanent identity ("SUPI") represents a subscriber identifier associated with a subscriber request and a permanent not changing identifier))
requested service identity identifying a set of requested services to be reachable via the WLAN. (Par. (0039 and 0040-0043); requested service identity (request with subscriber identifier)), (Par. (0020 and 0054); requested service identity (subscriber identifier) identifying a second set of services to be reachable (subscriber record and subscriber identifier with list of services in which the mobile device is permitted access)), (Par. (0015); second set of services (VoIP, WhatsApp etc.)), (Par. (0025); reachable via the WLAN (WLAN)))
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309755, hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”), Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”) Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) and Zhou et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170238223, hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”) further in view of Li et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170265238, hereinafter referred to as “Li”)
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Mishra, Woodward, Kiss and Zhou do not explicitly teach wherein the subscription data response comprises an allowed service identity for the UE, and wherein the allowed service identity is based on: configuration information, subscription data corresponding to the UE, an access network identity of the WLAN, a requested service identity, or combinations thereof.
Wherein Li teaches wherein the subscription data response comprises an allowed service identity for the UE, and (Par. (1214); subscription message with service identifier that matches))
wherein the allowed service identity is based on: (Par. (1212); service identifier with service that is supported)
configuration information, subscription data corresponding to the UE, an access network identity of the WLAN, a requested service identity, or combinations thereof. (Par. (1212-1214); subscription data corresponding to the UE (first and second device with subscription message and identifier))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishra, Woodward, Kiss and Zhou to incorporate the teaching of Li to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of authentication of User equipment devices using identifiers communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of establishing a wireless connection using identifiers to distinguish users and create an authentication process where speed is maintained and data transmission is not reduced. (Li Par. (0003-0006 and 0027-0029))
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”), Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) Liao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210058748, hereinafter referred to as “Liao”) and Cai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200028921, hereinafter referred to as “Cai”) further in view of Dao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190158985, hereinafter referred to as “Dao”)
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss teach the method of claim 14, Hong further teaches wherein determining the set of tunnel attributes comprises: (Par. (0161-0163); determining a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE (identifying tunnel endpoint information))
wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof. (Par. (0157-0159); identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE), (Par. (0157-0159); after performed and succeeded authentication of UE and access to WLAN, identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Liao do not explicitly teach transmitting, to a Network Repository Function ("NRF") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising the allowed service identity; and receiving, from the NRF, a response message containing the set of tunnel attributes associated with the allowed service identity,
Wherein Cai teaches transmitting, to a Network Repository Function ("NRF") in the mobile communication network, a request message comprising the allowed service identity; and (Par. (0021); sending to the NRF a request with service ID), (Par. (0142); allowed service identity (list of accessible corresponding to service IDs))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong and Liao to incorporate the teaching of Cai to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a mobile network, with the motivation of authorizing user equipment devices based on request service information to determine access. (Cai Par. (0057-0059))
Woodward, Hong, Kiss, Liao and Cai do not explicitly teach receiving, from the NRF, a response message containing the set of tunnel attributes associated with the allowed service identity,
Wherein Dao teaches receiving, from the NRF, a response message containing the set of tunnel attributes associated with the allowed service identity, (Par. (0231 and 0270-0272); sending to NRF message with tunnel ID and service Identifier)), (Par. (0070 and 0085); message sent to NRF corresponding to tunnel endpoint identifiers and service identifiers))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong, Kiss, Liao and Cai to incorporate the teaching of Dao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network with tunnel and identifier information, with the motivation of creating a security infrastructure for devices in communication based on processing access rights and identifiable information to enforce decision. (Dao Par. (0030 and 0047-0048))
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20130031615, hereinafter referred to as “Woodward”), Hong et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180054730, hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) Kiss et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170094512, hereinafter referred to as “Kiss”) and Liao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210058748, hereinafter referred to as “Liao”) further in view of Dao et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190158985, hereinafter referred to as “Dao”)
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Woodward, Hong and Kiss teach the method of claim 14, Woodward further teaches the method of claim 14, receiving configuration information, (Par. (0017); receiving configuration information (receiving IP address information))
Woodward does not explicitly teach wherein determining the set of tunnel attributes comprises: wherein the set of tunnel attributes is determined from the allowed service identity, using the received configuration information, wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof.
Wherein Hong teaches wherein determining the set of tunnel attributes comprises: (Par. (0161-0163); determining a set of tunnel attributes associated with the UE (identifying tunnel endpoint information))
wherein the set of tunnel attributes comprises: a tunnel type, a tunnel medium type, a tunnel client endpoint, a tunnel server endpoint, a tunnel client authentication identifier, a tunnel server authentication identifier, or combinations thereof. (Par. (0157-0159); identifying information of a set of a set of tunnel attributes comprises: tunnel client endpoint (tunnel endpoint IDs) associated with UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward to incorporate the teaching of Hong to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network, with the motivation of preventing service disruptions and transmitting large amounts of data at a high speed in wireless network and save service providers high costs with secure frequencies. (Hong Par. (0001-0005))
Woodward, Hong, Kiss and Liao do not explicitly teach wherein the set of tunnel attributes is determined from the allowed service identity, using the received configuration information,
Wherein Dao teaches wherein the set of tunnel attributes is determined from the allowed service identity, using the received configuration information, (Par. (0070 and 0085); message received corresponding to configuration information (IP address received in message) with service identifier and tunnel endpoint information))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woodward, Hong, Kiss, and Liao to incorporate the teaching of Dao to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of User equipment devices communicating in a WLAN network with tunnel and identifier information, with the motivation of creating a security infrastructure for devices in communication based on processing access rights and identifiable information to enforce decision. (Dao Par. (0030 and 0047-0048))
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BISCHINGER; Kurt (U.S Pub. No. 20190386991) “DETECTION OF A USER EQUIPMENT DEVICES TYPE RELATED TO ACCESS, SERVICES AUTHORIZATION AND/OR AUTHENTICATION”. Considered this reference because it addressed service and subscriber identifiers in a wireless mobile network.
Gupta; Vivek G. (U.S Pub. No. 20240251239) “TECHNOLOGIES FOR NON-SEAMLESS WIRELESS LOCAL AREA ACCESS OFFLOAD”. Considered this application because it relates to non-seamless wireless local area access.
KHARE; Saurabh (U.S Pub. No. 20240224028) “REAUTHENTICATION AND REVOCATION IN NON-SEAMLESS WIRELESS LOCAL AREA NETWORK OFFLOAD ACCESS ENVIRONMENT”. Considered this application because it addressed UE’s in a mobile network with the concept of non-seamless wireless local area network offload access environment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497 /ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497