Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application with claim 1 being independent, as set forth in the Preliminary Amendment dated January 17, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is not understood what is meant by "when pressed once in control." For purposes of examination, the Examiner will assume this statement means --when pressed once--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Int'l Pub. No. WO 2020/147559 to Liu et al. ("Liu") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0235542 to Yun et al. ("Yun"):
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a measurement device (Figures 1 and 7) comprising an upper housing (top shell 110) and a lower housing (bottom shell 111), and a blood oxygen collection apparatus (biosensor 120 and transparent lens 14 collect PPG signals (middle of page 7 of translation) which can be used to obtain blood oxygen readings (end of page 11 of translation) such that they are a blood oxygen collection apparatus), an electrocardiogram collection apparatus (collection electrode plates 1300) … which are embedded in a groove of the upper housing (see groove in Figure 1), and a power supply apparatus (power management circuit 715, battery 154, etc.), a circuit mainboard (signal processing circuit 12) and a key (power switch 151) which are provided between the upper housing and the lower housing (see Figure 1);
wherein the electrocardiogram collection apparatus comprises a first electrode slice and a second electrode slice that are embedded in grooves at both ends of the upper housing, respectively (see two collection electrode plates in grooves at both ends of top shell 110 in Figure 1);
a hollow portion is provided at a center position of any one of electrode slices (), and the blood oxygen collection apparatus is disposed at the hollow portion (the transparent lens 14 of the blood oxygen collection apparatus is disposed in hollow portion of right collection electrode plate 1300 in Figure 1).
While Liu discloses how PPG and ECG signals can be transmitted to a mobile phone for processing and display of results (bottom of page 11 of the translation), Liu appears to be silent regarding the measurement device itself having a display screen lens embedded into the groove of the upper housing.
Nevertheless, Yun teaches (Figure 1B) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for an electronic monitoring device 10 to include a housing 11 having a first/upper surface into which first and second electrodes 12-1, 12-2, an optical sensor 13, and a display 14 (which necessarily includes a lens) are embedded (note how [0046] discloses how the first and second electrodes 12-1, 12-2, an optical sensor 13, and a display 14 are exposed through the front surface 11f per [0046] and [0121] discloses how the housing accommodates a display in which the first and second electrodes are disposed), where the display 14 outputs biometric information per [0060] which would advantageously allow a user to directly observe biometric information through the device 10 instead of relying on another device for viewing such information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the measurement device of Liu to have a display screen lens embedded into the groove of the upper housing as taught by Yun to advantageously allow a user to directly observe biometric information through the device 10 instead of relying on another device for viewing such information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Regarding claim 6, the Liu/Yun combination discloses the measurement device of claim 1, further including wherein the two electrode slices are made of gold plated copper or nickel plated copper (see bottom of page 9 of translation of Liu).
Regarding claim 7, the Liu/Yun combination discloses the measurement device of claim 1, further including wherein the key is configured to start or stop acquiring electrocardiogram data and blood oxygen data of a user, when pressed once in control (middle of page 10 of translation of Liu).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Int'l Pub. No. 2020/147559 to Liu et al. ("Liu") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0235542 to Yun et al. ("Yun"), and further in view of CN Patent No. 204500639 to Yi et al. ("Yi") and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0106811 to Quinnell et al. ("Quinnell"):
Regarding claim 2, the Liu/Yun combination discloses the measurement device of claim 1, but appears to be silent regarding wherein through holes are provided on the upper housing and the circuit mainboard, both the first electrode slice and the second electrode slice are provided with pins, and two pins connect the two electrode slices with the circuit mainboard through the through hole of the upper housing and the through hole of the circuit mainboard.
Nevertheless, Yi teaches (Figure 2 and top half of page 3 of translation) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for a measurement device to include an electrode plate 52 having pins that pass through a housing shell (which would necessarily be through a through hole of such housing shell) to connect the electrode plate 52 with a main board 40 which provides a convenient manner of both structurally connecting the electrode plate to the housing shell and electrically connecting the electrode plate to the main board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for through holes to be provided on the upper housing and pints to be provided on the first and second electrode slices which connect the two electrode slices with the circuit mainboard through the through hole of the upper housing in the system of the Liu/Yun combination as taught by Yi to advantageously provide a convenient manner of both structurally connecting the electrode plate to the housing shell and electrically connecting the electrode plate to the main board. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Furthermore, while Yi might not specifically disclose the pins to pass through through-holes of the main board, Quinnell teaches ([0133] and Figure 7) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for an electrode to be connected to a circuit board via a conductive fastener/pin that passes through a through hole of a circuit board which advantageously provides an effective and efficient manner of structurally and electrically connecting an electrode to a main circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the pins of the Liu/Yun/Yi combination to pass through through-holes of the main board similar to as taught by Quinnell to advantageously provide an effective and efficient manner of structurally and electrically connecting an electrode to a main circuit board. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Int'l Pub. No. 2020/147559 to Liu et al. ("Liu") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0235542 to Yun et al. ("Yun"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0172499 to Marriott et al. ("Marriott"):
Regarding claim 3, the Liu/Yun combination discloses the measurement device of claim 1, further including wherein the circuit mainboard comprises a blood oxygen sensor (biosensor 120 of Lin), a display screen (display 14 of Yun as already discussed) and a data processing module (signal processing circuit 12 necessarily includes a processor (data processing module)),
wherein the blood oxygen sensor comprises a light [emitter]… and a [receiver] (the middle of page 7 of the translation of Liu discloses how the biosensor 120 collects a PPG signal while the top of page 8 of the translation discloses use of infrared and red light in conjunction with the transparent lens (which is part of the blood oxygen collection apparatus); the blood oxygen sensor therefore necessarily includes a light emitter to emit such infrared and red light and a light receiver/sensor to receive such light after reflecting off of the user),
the light emitting diode is configured to emit red light and infrared light (top of page 8 of the translation of Liu),
the receiving diode is configured to receive multi-channel optical signals resulting from reflecting or transmitting the red light and infrared light from human tissues, convert the multi-channel optical signals into a digital signal and transmit the digital signal to the data processing module, wherein the data signal comprises red light Photoplethysmography (PPG) waveform data and infrared light PPG waveform data (this is exactly how PPG devices such as that of Lin operate; also see the top of page 9 of the translation of Liu which discusses how the PPG signals (which includes red/infrared per the top of page 8) are processed);
…receive the digital signal and electrocardiogram data, convert the digital signal into blood oxygen data, and obtain a blood pressure value by processing the infrared light PPG waveform data and the electrocardiogram data (the top of page 9 of the translation of Liu discloses receiving processed PPG and ECG signals and determining blood oxygen saturation, blood pressure trends, and electrocardiogram parameters which necessarily includes converting the digital signal into SpO2 data and processing infrared light PPG waveform data and the ECG data to obtain a blood pressure value); and
the display screen is configured to display the blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data and the blood pressure value through the display screen lens in the groove of the upper housing (the bottom of page 15 to page 16 of the translation of Liu discloses displaying the various determined parameters (which includes the above-noted blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data, and the blood pressure trends/values); furthermore, the monitoring device of Liu includes a display screen per the above-discussed combination with Yun such that the parameters are displayed on such display screen; again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the measurement device of Liu to have a display screen lens embedded into the groove of the upper housing as taught by Yun to advantageously allow a user to directly observe biometric information through the device 10 instead of relying on another device for viewing such information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.).
While the Liu/Yun combination might be silent regarding the data processing module of the monitoring device (rather than a data processing module of a separate mobile device) receiving the digital signal and electrocardiogram data, converting the digital signal into blood oxygen data, and obtaining the blood pressure value by processing the infrared light PPG waveform data and the electrocardiogram data, Yun already teaches (Figure 8) how it was known in the healthcare informatics art for an electronic device 800 to include a display 860 and processor 850 configured to receive signals from various sensors/electrodes and utilize one or more processing modules 841-846 to analyze the signals, determine measurements, and display the same on the display 860 ([0089]-[0099]) which advantageously allows the device to directly determine measurements from received signals (e.g., rather than having to send the signals to another device and receive analytics therefrom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the data processing module of the monitoring device itself (rather than a data processing module of a separate mobile device) to receive the digital signal and electrocardiogram data, convert the digital signal into blood oxygen data, and obtain the blood pressure value by processing the infrared light PPG waveform data and the electrocardiogram data similar to as taught by Yun to advantageously allow the device to directly determine measurements from received signals (e.g., rather than having to send the signals to another device and receive analytics therefrom). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Furthermore, the Liu/Yun combination might be silent regarding the light emitter and receiver specifically being a light emitting diode and a receiving diode.
Nevertheless, Marriott teaches ([0033]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for PPG sensors to commonly include LEDs and corresponding photodiodes or other light sensitive sensors/detectors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the light emitter and receiver of the Liu/Yun combination to specifically respectively be a light emitting diode and a receiving diode as taught by Marriott because doing so is common in the art, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 9, the Liu/Yun/Marriott combination discloses the measurement device of claim 3, further including wherein the power supply apparatus comprises a … charging receiver module (charger 20 in Figure 14) and a power supply module (battery 154),
the … charging receiver module is configured to receive electric energy and charge the power supply module (the top half of page 10 of the translation of Liu discloses how the charger 20 charges battery 154 (whereby the charger 20 would need to receive electric energy to charge the batter 154)); and
the power supply module is configured to supply the electric energy to the blood oxygen sensor, the display screen and the data processing module (the battery 154 necessarily supplies the electric energy to the blood oxygen sensor, the display screen and the data processing module because that is the purpose of batteries).
However, the Liu/Yun/Marriott combination might be silent regarding the charging receiver module being wireless.
Nevertheless, Yun teaches ([0157]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for an electronic monitoring device 1001 to include a power management IC that implements a wireless charging method of the device which would advantageously avoid the need to carry extra wires for charging the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for charging receiver module to be wireless as taught by Yun to advantageously avoid the need to carry extra wires for charging the device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Int'l Pub. No. 2020/147559 to Liu et al. ("Liu") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0235542 to Yun et al. ("Yun") and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0172499 to Marriott et al. ("Marriott"), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,563 to Shaga et al. ("Shaga"):
Regarding claim 4, the Liu/Yun/Marriott combination discloses the measurement device of claim 3, further including wherein a first aperture, … [is] provided … in the groove of the upper housing directly below the hollow portion (see below annotated version of Figure 1 of Liu),
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hollow portion)]
[AltContent: textbox (First aperture)][AltContent: arrow]
wherein the first aperture is configured to transmit the red light and infrared light emitted by the light emitting diode to the blood oxygen collection apparatus (the red/infrared light of top of page 8 of the translation of Liu would pass through the above aperture to lens 14 (part of blood oxygen collection apparatus));
…
…
However, the Liu/Yun/Marriott combination appears to be silent regarding a first aperture, baffle, and second aperture being provided side by side in the groove of the upper housing, where the second aperture is configured to transmit the multi-channel optical signals to the receiving diode; and the baffle is configured to isolate light emitted by the light emitting diode from the multi-channel optical signals received by the receiving diode.
Nevertheless, Shaga teaches (Figures 4A-4B and 15:35-16:46) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for a sensing housing assembly 460 to include various cavities/apertures 462 divided by light blocking walls (baffles), whereby a first cavity/aperture is configured to transmit light emitted by a light emitter 410a, 410b, a second cavity/aperture is configured to transmit optical signals to a light sensor 410c, and the baffle/light blocking wall is configured to isolate light emitted by the light emitting diode from optical signals received by the receiving diode. This arrangement advantageously prevents non-reflected emitted light from being received by the receiver thus avoiding incorrect readings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a first aperture, baffle, and second aperture to be provided side by side in the groove of the upper housing, where the second aperture is configured to transmit the multi-channel optical signals to the receiving diode; and the baffle is configured to isolate light emitted by the light emitting diode from the multi-channel optical signals received by the receiving diode in the system of the Liu/Yun/Marriott combination as taught by Shaga to advantageously prevent non-reflected emitted light from being received by the receiver and thus avoids incorrect readings. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Int'l Pub. No. 2020/147559 to Liu et al. ("Liu") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0235542 to Yun et al. ("Yun"), and further in view of Int'l Pub. No. WO 2017/215409 to Dang et al. ("Dang"):
Regarding claim 8, the Liu/Yun combination discloses the measurement device of claim 3, but appears to be silent regarding wherein the measurement device further comprises a through hole provided on either side of the measurement device for tethering the measurement device.
Nevertheless, Dang teaches (middle of page 4 of translation) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to for a casing of a smart health portable detection device to include a hole through which a strip/strap can be passed (where such hole would thus necessarily be provided on at least one (either) side of the device) to attach the device to a desired portion of the body (for tethering the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the measurement device of the Liu/Yun combination to further include a through hole provided on either side of the measurement device for tethering the measurement device as taught by Dang to conveniently allow the device to be tethered/attached/secured to a desired portion of the user's body or the like. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the Liu/Yun/Marriott/Shaga combination discloses the measurement device of claim 4, but fails to further specifically disclose or suggest wherein the blood oxygen collection apparatus comprises a light emitting lens, a reflecting lens and a light shielding pad, wherein the light shielding pad is provided with a third aperture and a fourth aperture, the third aperture is disposed above the first aperture, and the fourth aperture is disposed above the second aperture; the light emitting lens is disposed above the third aperture, and is configured to transmit the red light and infrared light emitted by the light emitting diode, and filter out other light other than the red light and infrared light; the reflecting lens is disposed above the fourth aperture, and is configured to transmit the multi-channel optical signals and filter out other optical signals other than the multi-channel optical signals; and the light shielding pad is configured to block an influence of external light on transmission of the red light, the infrared light and the multi-channel optical signals.
Regarding claims 10-15, the Liu/Yun/Marriott combination discloses the measurement device of claim 3, but fails to further specifically disclose or suggest wherein the data processing module comprises an Analog Front End (AFE) chip, a first Micro Control Unit (MCU), a serial interface, a second MCU, a data storage module, a clock module and a communication module; the AFE chip is configured to simultaneously collect the digital signal and the electrocardiogram data, and convert the digital signal into the blood oxygen data; the first MCU is configured to process the infrared light PPG waveform data and the electrocardiogram data to obtain the blood pressure value; the serial interface is configured to transfer the blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data and the blood pressure value from the first MCU to the second MCU; the second MCU is configured to receive the blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data and the blood pressure value, and transmit the blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data and the blood pressure value to the data storage module, the display screen and the communication module; the data storage module is configured to store the blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data and the blood pressure value; the communication module is configured to transmit the blood oxygen data, the electrocardiogram data and the blood pressure value to a communication terminal; and the clock module is configured to provide time.3
Regarding claims 16-20, the Liu/Yun/Marriott fails to specifically disclose or suggest a measurement method using the measurement device of claim 1 that includes acquiring infrared light Photoplethysmography (PPG) waveform data, blood oxygen data and electrocardiogram data at the same time; acquiring, when a waveform of the electrocardiogram data is stable, a pulse wave peak subsequent to an electrocardiogram wave peak in the infrared light PPG waveform data whenever the electrocardiogram wave peak is acquired, and determining the electrocardiogram wave peak and the pulse wave peak as a group of electrocardiogram and pulse wave peaks; selecting a specified time of the infrared light PPG waveform data from a duration between time corresponding to the electrocardiogram wave peak and time corresponding to the pulse wave peak in the group of electrocardiogram and pulse wave peaks; and obtaining a blood pressure value corresponding to each group of electrocardiogram and pulse wave peaks according to a first preset parameter, a second preset parameter and the specified time.
Conclusion
/JONATHON A. SZUMNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686