DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 is dependent on claim 11, however, claim 12 has limitations lacking antecedence basis due to its dependence on claim 11. Claim 12 provides solution to this issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 22 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150130682) in view of Kitchener (US 20150349425).
Regarding claim 1:
Jung et al. disclose an antenna unit (in Figs. 2 and 3), comprising:
a substrate (100);
a radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), wherein the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10) and the substrate (100) form a cavity (See Figs.);
a radiating patch (200), wherein the radiating patch (200) is provided within the cavity (See Figs.) facing the substrate (100);
at least one feed network (110-130), disposed within the cavity (See Figs.), wherein the feed network (110-130) comprises: a planar transmission line (130) on a side of the substrate (100) facing the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), a coupling end (110, 120) disposed close to a side of the radiating patch (200) and having a set gap (See Figs.; Para. 0039, Lines 5-7) with the radiating patch (200), and a longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) connecting the planar transmission line (130) and the coupling end (110, 120);
wherein the longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) and the coupling end (110, 120) of the feed network (110-130) are integrally molded using a sheet metal process (See Par. “[0050] In detail, each of the first feed 110 and the second feed 120 may have a bent shape formed by bending a metal plate. In this case, the metal plate bent in the shape may have a circular shape, an oval shape, or a polygonal shape.”), and the feed network (110-130) is used for coupling feed to the radiating patch (200; Para. 0039, Lines 5-7);
a metal grounding plate (portion of 10 beneath 100), provided on a side of the substrate (100) facing away from the radiating patch (200).
Jung et al. are silent on that the radiating patch is connected to a side of the radome; and the coupling end is integrally molded with the planar transmission line and the longitudinal connection line using a sheet metal process.
Kitchener discloses (in Fig. 4) the radiating patch (2) is connected to a side of the radome (42); and the coupling end (14a, 14b) is integrally molded with the planar transmission line (10a, 10b) and the longitudinal connection line (8a, 8b) using a sheet metal process (Para. 0037, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radiating patch is connected to a side of the radome; and the coupling end is integrally molded with the planar transmission line and the longitudinal connection line using a sheet metal process as taught by Kitchener into device of Jung et al. for the benefit of achieving a transmission line formed from a metallic strip with that advantage that the transmission line may be convenient to manufacture, and the transmission line may have a dielectric that is predominantly air, which may exhibit less loss than a solid dielectric (Para. 0037, Lines 1-5) and further serve to protect the antenna from the outside environment (Para. 0068, Lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 4:
Jung et al. disclose an orthographic projection of the radiating patch (200) on the substrate (100) covers orthographic projections of the coupling end (110, 120) and the longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) on the substrate (100), as well as covers at least a part of an orthographic projection of the planar transmission line (130) on the substrate (100).
Regarding claim 5:
Jung et al. disclose a first feed network (110, 130) and a second feed network (120, 130) disposed independently of each other (See Figs.), wherein the first feed network (110, 130) comprises: a first planar transmission line (130) on the side of the substrate (100) facing the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), a first coupling end (110) disposed close to the side of the radiating patch (200) and having a set gap (See Figs.) with the radiating patch (200), and a first longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130) connecting the first planar transmission line (130) and the first coupling end (110); the second feed network (120, 130) comprises: a second planar transmission line (130) on the side of the substrate (100) facing the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), a second coupling end (120) disposed close to the side of the radiating patch (200) and having a set gap (See Figs.) with the radiating patch (200), and a second longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 120 and 130) connecting the second planar transmission line (130) and the second coupling end (120); wherein the first planar transmission line (130), the first longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130) and the first coupling end (110) form a micro-strip line (Para. 0051, Lines 4-6) and the second planar transmission line (130), the second longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 120 and 130) and the second coupling end (120) form a micro-strip line (Para. 0051, Lines 4-6).
Jung et al. are silent on that the first planar transmission line, the first longitudinal connection line and the first coupling end form a micro-strip line and are integrally molded using the sheet metal process, and the second planar transmission line, the second longitudinal connection line and the second coupling end form a micro-strip line and are integrally molded using the sheet metal process.
Kitchener discloses the first feed network (8a, 10a and 14a) and the second feed network (8b, 10b and 14b) are integrally molded using a sheet metal process (Para. 0037, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an antenna array, comprising a plurality of antenna units and the feed network are integrally molded using a sheet metal process as taught by Kitchener into device of Jung et al. for the benefit of achieving a transmission line is formed from a metallic strip with that advantage that the transmission line may be convenient to manufacture, and the transmission line may have a dielectric that is predominantly air, which may exhibit less loss than a solid dielectric (Para. 0037, Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 6:
Jung et al. disclose orthogonal projections of the first planar transmission line (130), the first longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130) and the first coupling end (110) on the substrate (100) are located on a first straight line (See Figs.), and orthogonal projections of the second planar transmission line (130), the second longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 120 and 130) and the second coupling end (120) on the substrate (100) are located on a second straight line (See Figs.), and the first straight line and the second straight line are provided orthogonally (See Figs.).
Regarding claim 7:
Jung et al. disclose an orthographic projection of the first feed network (110, 130) on the substrate (100) does not overlap an orthographic projection of the second feed network (120, 130) on the substrate (100), and a first end of the first planar transmission line (130) away from the first longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130) is provided proximate to a second end of the second planar transmission line (130) away from the second longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 120 and 130).
Regarding claim 26:
Jung et al. disclose an antenna unit (in Figs. 2 and 3) comprises:
a substrate (100);
a radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), wherein the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10) and the substrate (100) form a cavity (See Figs.);
a radiating patch (200), wherein the radiating patch (200) is provided within the cavity (See Figs.) and is connected to a side of the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10) facing the substrate (100);
at least one feed network (110-130), disposed within the cavity (See Figs.), wherein the feed network (110-130) comprises: a planar transmission line (130) on a side of the substrate (100) facing the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), a coupling end (110, 120) disposed close to a side of the radiating patch (200) and having a set gap (See Figs.) with the radiating patch (200), and a longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) connecting the planar transmission line (130) and the coupling end (110, 120);
wherein the planar transmission line (130), the longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) and the coupling end (110, 120) of the feed network (110-130) and the feed network (110-130) is used for coupling feed to the radiating patch (200);
a metal grounding plate (portion of 10 beneath 100), provided on a side of the substrate (100) facing away from the radiating patch (200).
Jung et al. are silent on that an antenna array, comprising a plurality of antenna units; and the planar transmission line, the longitudinal connection line and the coupling end of the feed network are integrally molded using a sheet metal process.
Kitchener discloses (in Fig. 4) an antenna array (30; Para. 0003, Lines 1-3) comprising a plurality of antenna units (30a, 30b); and the planar transmission line (10a, 10b), the longitudinal connection line (8a, 8b) and the coupling end (14a, 14b) of the feed network (defined by 8, 10 and 14) are integrally molded using a sheet metal process (Para. 0105, Lines 1-4)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an antenna array, comprising a plurality of antenna units and the feed network are integrally molded using a sheet metal process as taught by Kitchener into device of Jung et al. for the benefit of achieving a transmission line is formed from a metallic strip with that advantage that the transmission line may be convenient to manufacture, and the transmission line may have a dielectric that is predominantly air, which may exhibit less loss than a solid dielectric (Para. 0037, Lines 1-5) and to further achieve a impedance at several frequencies within the band, so that the impedance match is arranged to be optimized for the band (Para. 0059, Lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 27:
Jung et al. are silent on that feed networks of the plurality of the antenna units are integrally molded using the sheet metal process.
Kitchener discloses feed networks (defined by 8, 10 and 14) of the plurality of the antenna units (30a, 30b) are integrally molded using the sheet metal process (Para. 0105, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feed networks of the plurality of the antenna units are integrally molded using the sheet metal process as taught by Kitchener into device of Jung et al. for the benefit of achieving a transmission line is formed from a metallic strip with that advantage that the transmission line may be convenient to manufacture, and the transmission line may have a dielectric that is predominantly air, which may exhibit less loss than a solid dielectric (Para. 0037, Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 28:
Jung et al. disclose a communication device (as communication base; See Abstract; Para. 0003, Lines 1-4), a plurality of antenna units (Para. 0010, Lines 7-12),
wherein the antenna unit (defined by 10) comprises:
a substrate (100);
a radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), wherein the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10) and the substrate (100) form a cavity (See Figs.);
a radiating patch (200), wherein the radiating patch (200) is provided within the cavity (See Figs.) and is connected to a side of the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10) facing the substrate (100);
at least one feed network (110-130), disposed within the cavity (See Figs.), wherein the feed network (110-130) comprises: a planar transmission line (130) on a side of the substrate (100) facing the radome (the cover disposed directly on 200 in 10), a coupling end (110, 120) disposed close to a side of the radiating patch (200) and having a set gap (See Figs.) with the radiating patch (200), and a longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) connecting the planar transmission line (130) and the coupling end (110, 120);
wherein the planar transmission line (130), the longitudinal connection line (the vertical portion between 110 and 130; 120 and 130) and the coupling end (110, 120) of the feed network (110-130) and the feed network (110-130) is used for coupling feed to the radiating patch (200);
a metal grounding plate (portion of 10 beneath 100), provided on a side of the substrate (100) facing away from the radiating patch (200).
Jung et al. are silent on that an antenna array, comprising a plurality of antenna units; and the feed network are integrally molded using a sheet metal process.
Kitchener disclose (in Fig. 4) an antenna array (30), comprising a plurality of antenna units (30a, 30b); and the feed network (8, 10, 14) are integrally molded using a sheet metal process (Para. 0105, Lines 1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an antenna array, comprising a plurality of antenna units and the feed network are integrally molded using a sheet metal process as taught by Kitchener into device of Jung et al. for the benefit of achieving a transmission line is formed from a metallic strip with that advantage that the transmission line may be convenient to manufacture, and the transmission line may have a dielectric that is predominantly air, which may exhibit less loss than a solid dielectric (Para. 0037, Lines 1-5).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150130682) in view of Kitchener (US 20150349425) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Parsche (US 20120287017).
Regarding claim 2:
Jung as modified are silent on that both the radiating patch and the metal grounding plate have a metal mesh-like structure.
Parsche discloses (in Fig. 1) both the radiating patch (40) and the metal grounding plate (51) have a metal mesh-like structure (Para. 0035, Lines 2-4; Para. 0046, Lines 2-6; Para. 0051, Lines 3-4; Para. 0052, Lines 2-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement both the radiating patch and the metal grounding plate have a metal mesh-like structure as taught by Parsche into the modified device of Jung for the benefit of allowing light to pass through regardless of color or wavelength (Para. 0053, Lines 1-2; Para. 0056, Lines 3-4).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150130682) in view of Kitchener (US 20150349425) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Edwards et al. (US 20210265745).
Regarding claim 3:
Jung as modified disclose that the radiating patch (200) is fixedly connected to the radome (10) via an insulating material (Para. 0052, Lines 5-6) and the metal grounding plate (defined by the bottom portion of 10) is fixedly connected to the substrate (100; Para. 0052, Lines 4-7).
Jung as modified are silent on that the radiating patch is fixedly connected to the radome via an optical adhesive.
Edwards et al. disclose (in Fig. 7) the radiating patch (106) is fixedly connected to the radome (130) by means of an optical adhesive (136), and the metal grounding plate (154) is fixedly connected to the substrate (140) by means of the optical adhesive (Para. 0089, Lines 3-5 – the 154 sandwiched into the multi-layer dielectric layers, 142 using epoxy, a high-strength structural adhesive).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radiating patch is fixedly connected to the radome by means of an optical adhesive, and the metal grounding plate is fixedly connected to the substrate by means of the optical adhesive as taught by Edwards et al. into the modified device of Jung for the benefit of for the benefit of providing structural and mechanical support for device (Para. 0093, Lines 5-6).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150130682) in view of Kitchener (US 20150349425) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Baks et al. (US 20180159203).
Regarding claim 10:
Jung as modified are silent on that an orthographic projection of the first coupling end on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second coupling end on the substrate, the first coupling end is provided below the second coupling end, the first coupling end is bent at the overlap towards a side close to the substrate, and the second coupling end is bent at the overlap towards a side away from the substrate.
Baks et al. disclose (in Fig. 1) an orthographic projection of the first coupling end (112-1) on the substrate (120) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second coupling end (114-1) on the substrate (120), the first coupling end (112-1) is provided below the second coupling end (114-1), the first coupling end (112-1) is bent at the overlap towards a side close to the substrate (120), and the second coupling end (114-1) is bent at the overlap towards a side away from the substrate (120).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an orthographic projection of the first coupling end on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second coupling end on the substrate, the first coupling end is provided below the second coupling end, the first coupling end is bent at the overlap towards a side close to the substrate, and the second coupling end is bent at the overlap towards a side away from the substrate as taught by Baks et al. into the modified device of Jung for the benefit of achieving antenna feed lines formed within the package substrate designed to have equalized lengths to optimize antenna operation (Para. 0025, Lines 2-4).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150130682) in view of Kitchener (US 20150349425) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20150214634).
Regarding claim 8:
Jung as modified are silent on that the first feed network further comprises a third planar transmission line on the substrate and connected to the first end, and the second feed network further comprises a fourth planar transmission line on the substrate and connected to the second end; wherein the third planar transmission line is connected to the first planar transmission line at an angle greater than or equal to 90° and less than or equal to 135°, and the fourth planar transmission line is connected to the second planar transmission line at an angle greater than or equal to 90° and less than or equal to 135°.
Lee et al. disclose that the first feed network (220) further comprises a third planar transmission line (310a) on the substrate (200) and connected to the first end (210), and the second feed network (240) further comprises a fourth planar transmission line (310b) on the substrate (200) and connected to the second end (230); wherein the third planar transmission line (310a) is connected to the first planar transmission line (310d) at an angle greater than or equal to 90° and less than or equal to 135° (See Fig. 2), and the fourth planar transmission line (310b) is connected to the second planar transmission line (310c) at an angle greater than or equal to 90° and less than or equal to 135° (See Fig. 2); wherein the first feed network (220) and the second feed network (240) are mirror symmetrical about a center of the radiating patch (500; see Figs. 1 and 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first feed network further comprises a third planar transmission line on the substrate and connected to the first end, and the second feed network further comprises a fourth planar transmission line on the substrate and connected to the second end; wherein the third planar transmission line is connected to the first planar transmission line at an angle greater than or equal to 90° and less than or equal to 135°, and the fourth planar transmission line is connected to the second planar transmission line at an angle greater than or equal to 90° and less than or equal to 135° as taught by Lee et al. into the modified device of Jung for the benefit of achieving a miniature dual-polarized dipole antenna having a wide bandwidth, high isolation characteristics, and a high gain can be provided (See Abstract; Para. 0007, Lines 1-3; Para. 0064, Lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 11:
Jung as modified are silent on that a sum of lengths of the first planar transmission line, the first longitudinal connection line, and the first coupling end is a quarter wavelength of an operating frequency of the antenna unit, and a sum of lengths of the second planar transmission line, the second longitudinal connection line, and the second coupling end is a quarter wavelength of the operating frequency of the antenna unit.
Lee et al. disclose that it may be known that frequencies radiated based on signals delivered through the first and second feed are approximately matched (Para. 0060, Lines 4-7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first and the second feed networks as quarter wavelength of the operating frequency of the antenna unit to provide impedance matching at the feed thereby facilitating maximum power transfer as a result reducing reflection loss, especially since such design consideration would have been knowledge within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, thereby suggesting the obviousness of the design consideration.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150130682) in view of Kitchener (US 20150349425) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Jin et al. (US 20240222854).
Regarding claim 22:
Jung et al. disclose a shape of the radiating patch comprises a square, a tangent square, a circle or a tangent polygon (Para. 0017, Lines 1-3; Para. 004, Lines 1-3; Para. 0052, Lines 2-5).
Jung as modified are silent on that a ratio of a size of the radiating patch to a wavelength of an operating frequency of the antenna unit is 0.44 to 0.48, wherein a material of the substrate comprises PC, COP, PET, PMMA or glass, and a material of the radome comprises PC, COP, PET or PMMA.
Jin et al. disclose (in Figs. 1 and 2) a material of the substrate (1) comprises PC, COP, PET, PMMA or glass (Para. 0055, Lines 1-5), and a material of the radome (2) comprises PC, COP, PET or PMMA (Para. 0105, Lines 1-6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a material of the substrate comprises PC, COP, PET, PMMA or glass, and a material of the radome comprises PC, COP, PET or PMMA as taught by Jin et al. into the modified device of Jung for the benefit of achieving good light transmittance without affecting the reflection and the accumulation of the electric signals (Para. 0105, Lines 12-16).
Jung as modified are silent on that a ratio of a size of the radiating patch to a wavelength of an operating frequency of the antenna unit is 0.44 to 0.48.
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious matter design consideration to implement a ratio of a size of the radiating patch to a wavelength of an operating frequency of the antenna unit is 0.44 to 0.48 as claimed, since the size of a radiating patch relative to the wavelength of the operating frequency are known design parameters affecting resonant characteristics of a patch antenna. The selection of a radio within the claimed range would have involved no more than routine optimization of a known result-effective variable to obtain the desired operating characteristics. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13, 15, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845