DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20190391410), hereafter referred to as Park1.
Regarding Claim 10, Park1 discloses:
A lens driving device (Fig. 1: 600, 700 – lens driving device) comprising:
a base (Fig 1: 200, 800 – housing 200 and substrate 800; para. 46 – first substrate 800 coupled to bottom of [fixed] housing 200);
a first holder disposed in the base (Fig. 1: 400 – first frame);
a second holder (Fig. 1: 500 – second frame)
disposed in the first holder (para. 36 – second frame 500 may be accommodated in first frame 400);
a third holder (Fig. 1: 330 – third lens frame)
disposed in the second holder (para. 43 – second frame 500 may be disposed between the third frame 330 and the first frame 400);
a first driving unit (Fig. 1: 700 – auto-focus driving part)
configured to move the first holder in a direction along an optical axis (para. 78 – auto-focus driving part 700 may move first frame 400 in optical axis direction);
a second driving unit (Fig. 1: 610 – first disturbance compensation part)
configured to move the second holder in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis (para. 62 – first compensation part 610 may move second frame 500 in first direction [direction different from optical axis]);
a third driving unit (Fig. 1: 620 – second disturbance compensation part)
configured to move the third holder in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first direction (para. 62 – second disturbance compensation part 620 may move third frame 330 in second direction [direction different from optical axis and first direction]);
a first ball (Fig. 1: 930 – third ball/third movable part)
disposed between the base and the first holder (para. 84 – third movable part may come in contact with inner surface of housing 200 and one surface of first frame 400);
a second ball (Fig. 1: 910 – first ball/first movable part)
disposed between the first holder and the second holder (para. 92 – first movable part 910 may be provided between first frame 400 and second frame 500); and
a third ball (Fig. 1: 920 – second ball/second movable part)
disposed between the second holder and the third holder (para. 112 – second movable part 920 may be provided between second frame 500 and third frame 620),
wherein the third ball is disposed between the second holder and the third holder in the first direction (Fig. 5A, 5B: 920 – third ball members 920 arranged at all corners of apparatus, including along the first direction; para. 114 – second movable part 920 supports third frame 330 so that it may be movable in second direction).
Regarding Claim 13, Park1 discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 10 (Fig. 1), wherein
the second ball is disposed between the first holder and the second holder in the second direction (Fig. 3-4: 910 – second ball members 920 arranged at all corners of apparatus, including along the second direction; para. 92 – first movable part 910 may be provided between first frame 400 and second frame 500).
Regarding Claim 17, Park1 discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 10 (Fig. 1), wherein
the third ball is disposed between an inner surface of the second holder and an outer surface of the third holder (para. 112 – second movable part 920 may be provided between second frame 500 and third frame 620).
Regarding Claim 20, Park1 discloses:
A lens driving device (Fig. 1: 600, 700 – lens driving device) comprising:
a fixed unit (Fig 1: 200, 800 – housing 200 and substrate 800; para. 46 – first substrate 800 coupled to bottom of [fixed] housing 200);
a first movable unit (Fig. 1: 400 – first frame)
configured to move in a z-axis direction along an optical axis relative to the fixed unit (para. 78 – auto-focus driving part 700 may move first frame 400 in optical axis direction [z-axis]);
a second movable unit (Fig. 1: 500 – second frame)
configured to move in a y-axis direction perpendicular to the z-axis direction (para. 62 – first compensation part 610 may move second frame 500 in first direction [which may be the y-axis]);
a third movable unit (Fig. 1: 330 – third lens frame)
configured to move in an x-axis direction perpendicular to each of the z-axis direction and the y-axis direction (para. 62 – second disturbance compensation part 620 may move third frame 330 in second direction [ which may be the x-axis]);
a first ball (Fig. 1: 930 – third ball/third movable part)
disposed between a second sidewall of the first movable unit and a second sidewall of the fixed unit (para. 84 – third movable part may come in contact with inner surface of housing 200 and one surface of first frame 400);
a second ball (Fig. 1: 910 – first ball/first movable part)
disposed between a first sidewall of the first movable unit and a first sidewall of the second movable unit (para. 92 – first movable part 910 may be provided between first frame 400 and second frame 500); and
a third ball (Fig. 1: 920 – second ball/second movable part)
disposed between a second sidewall of the second movable unit and the third movable unit (para. 112 – second movable part 920 may be provided between second frame 500 and third frame 620).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park1 (US 20190391410) and Sung (US 20210396950 – see translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Park1 discloses:
A lens driving device (Park1: Fig. 1: 600, 700 – lens driving device) comprising:
a base (Park1: Fig 1: 200, 800 – housing 200 and substrate 800; para. 46 – first substrate 800 coupled to bottom of [fixed] housing 200);
a first holder disposed in the base (Park1: Fig. 1: 400 – first frame);
a second holder (Park1: Fig. 1: 500 – second frame)
disposed in the first holder (Park1: para. 36 – second frame 500 may be accommodated in first frame 400);
a bobbin (Park1: Fig. 1: 330 – third lens frame)
disposed in the second holder (Park1: para. 43 – second frame 500 may be disposed between the third frame 330 and the first frame 400);
a first driving unit (Park1: Fig. 1: 700 – auto-focus driving part)
configured to move the first holder in a z-axis direction along an optical axis (Park1: para. 78 – auto-focus driving part 700 may move first frame 400 in optical axis direction [z-axis]);
a second driving unit (Park1: Fig. 1: 610 – first disturbance compensation part)
configured to move the second holder in a y-axis direction perpendicular to the z-axis direction (Park1: para. 62 – first compensation part 610 may move second frame 500 in first direction [which may be the y-axis]); and
a third driving unit (Park1: Fig. 1: 620 – second disturbance compensation part)
configured to move the bobbin in an x-axis direction perpendicular to the z-axis direction and the y-axis direction (Park1: para. 62 – second disturbance compensation part 620 may move third frame 330 in second direction [which may be the x-axis]), wherein
each of the first to third driving units comprises a coil and a magnet (Park1: Fig.1: 611 and 613, 621 and 623, 710 and 730 – first magnet 611 and coil 613 of first disturbance compensation part 610; second magnet 621 and coil 623 of second disturbance compensation part 620; third magnet 710 and coil 730 of auto-focus driving part 700), wherein the first driving unit comprises
a coil coupled with one of the base (Park1: para. 76-77 – third coil 730 disposed on third substrate 770, which is fixed to the housing 200 [which is a part of the base]) and
the first holder (in the alternative) and
a magnet coupled with the other of the base (in the alternative) and
the first holder (Park1: para. 76 – third magnet 710 may be provided on one surface of first frame 400),
wherein the second driving unit comprises a coil coupled with one of the base (Park1: para. 66 – first coil 613 mounted on second substrate 630, which is fixed to housing 200 [which is a part of the base]) and
the second holder (in the alternative)
and wherein the third driving unit comprises a coil coupled with one of the base (Park1: para. 66 – second coil 623 mounted on second substrate 630, which is fixed to housing 200 [which is a part of the base]) and
the bobbin (in the alternative)
and a magnet coupled with the other of the base (in the alternative) and
the bobbin (Park1: para. 65 – second magnet 621 mounted on third frame 330).
Park1 does not disclose: a magnet coupled with the other of the base and the second holder.
Park1 and Sung are related in that they both disclose lens driving devices.
Sung discloses:
a magnet coupled with the other of the base (in the alternative) and
the second holder (in the alternative; Sung: para. 65 - The frame 1400 [second holder] includes a first magnet 1420).
The benefit of including a magnet in the second holder of a driving device would be to drive the second holder independently of any other holders in the device for more precision control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to rearrange the second magnet of Park1 to be placed onto the second holder of Park1, as taught by Sung, in order to drive the second holder independently of the other holders for more precision control.
Regarding Claim 2, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
the first holder and the second holder are separated from each other (Park1: para. 44 – bottom surface of first frame 400 and bottom surface of second frame 500 may be spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 3, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
a first sidewall of the first holder and a first sidewall of the second holder are overlapped with each other in the x-axis direction (Park1: Fig. 3a: 400, 500 – sidewalls of first frame 400 and second frame 500 overlap in second direction [which may be the x-axis]) and
are disposed at one side of the bobbin (Park1: Fig. 3a – overlapping sidewalls of first frame 400 and second frame are on one side).
Regarding Claim 4, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), comprising
a first ball (Park1: Fig. 1: 930 – third ball/third movable part)
disposed between a second sidewall of the first holder and a second sidewall of the base (Park1: para. 84 – third movable part may come in contact with inner surface of housing 200 and one surface of first frame 400).
Regarding Claim 5, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), comprising
a second ball (Park1: Fig. 1: 910 – first ball/first movable part)
disposed between a first sidewall of the first holder and a first sidewall of the second holder (Park1: para. 92 – first movable part 910 may be provided between first frame 400 and second frame 500).
Regarding Claim 6, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), comprising
a third ball (Park1: Fig. 1: 920 – second ball/second movable part)
disposed between a second sidewall of the second holder and the bobbin (Park1: para. 112 – second movable part 920 may be provided between second frame 500 and third frame 620).
Regarding Claim 7, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 6 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
the third ball is disposed between the second holder and the bobbin in the x-axis direction (Park1: Fig. 3-4: 920 – second movable parts 920 arranged at all corners of apparatus, including along the second direction; para. 114 – second movable part 920 supports third frame 330 so that it may be movable in second direction [which may be the x-axis]).
Regarding Claim 8, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 5 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
the second ball is disposed between the first holder and the second holder in the y-axis direction (Park1: Fig. 3-4: 910 – first movable parts 910 arranged at all corners of apparatus, including along the first direction; para. 99 – first movable part 910 may be moved in first direction [which may be the y-axis]).
Regarding Claim 9, Park1-Sung discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
the first holder comprises a hole (Park1: Fig. 1: 400 – first frame has open portion), and wherein
the magnet of the second driving unit is disposed on the hole of the first holder to be overlapped with the first holder in the x-axis direction (Park1: para. 166 – portions of first frame 400 corresponding to magnet 611 may be formed to be open).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park1-Sung as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim (US 20200341291).
Regarding Claim 11, Park1 discloses:
the lens driving device of claim 1 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65).
Park1 does not disclose: A camera device comprising: a printed circuit board; an image sensor disposed on the printed circuit board; the lens driving device of claim 1 disposed on the printed circuit board; and a lens coupled with the lens driving device.
Park1-Sung and Lim are related in that they both disclose lens driving devices.
Lim discloses:
A camera device (Lim: Title – Lens Driving Apparatus and Camera Module Including the Same) comprising:
a printed circuit board (Lim: Fig. 5: 620 – printed circuit board);
an image sensor disposed on the printed circuit board (Lim: Fig. 1, 5: 610 – image sensor disposed on circuit board); and a lens (Lim: para. 65 – plurality of lenses provided in lens barrel on optical axis).
The benefit of including a lens in a lens driving device would be to refract light through the lens driving device in order to capture an image, as taught by Lim (Lim: para. 63 – camera module may include a lens that refracts light reflected from a subject),
Furthermore, the benefit of including a printed circuit and image sensor onto a lens driving device with a lens would be to convert the light incident through the lens into an electrical signal which may be processed, as taught by Lim (Lim: para. 71 – image sensor unit 600, comprising the image sensor and printed circuit board, converts incident light into an electrical signal)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to dispose the lens driving device of Park1-Sung onto the circuit board and image sensor of Lim, and including the lens of Lim, in order to convert an image captured by the lens into an electrical signal which may be processed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Park1-Sung-Lim combination as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Sang Ok Park (US 20210396950), hereafter Park2.
Regarding Claim 12, Park1-Sung-Lim discloses:
The camera device of Claim 11 (Park1: Fig.1; Sung: para. 65; Lim: Fig. 1, 5).
Park1-Lim does not disclose: An optical instrument comprising: a main body; the camera device of claim 11 disposed on the main body; and a display disposed on the main body to output one or more of videos and images captured by the camera device.
Park1-Sung-Lim and Park2 are related in that they all disclose lens driving devices.
Park2 discloses:
An optical instrument (Park2: Title – Lens Driving Apparatus, and Camera Module and Optical Device Comprising Same) comprising:
a main body (Park2: Fig. 28: 850 - body);
and a display disposed on the main body to output one or more of videos and images captured by the camera device (Park2: Fig. 29, 30: 751 – display module).
The benefit of including a camera device into an optical instrument with a body and a display would be to allow a user to interface with the camera device and interact with any visual input/output shown by the display, as taught by Park2 (Park2: para. 641 – generate visual, audible, or tactile input/output to control the operation of the terminal [i.e. camera device]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to dispose the camera device of Park1-Sung-Lim onto the optical instrument and display of Park2, in order to allow a user to interface with the camera device and interact with any visual input/output shown by the display.
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park1 as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Sung.
Regarding Claim 14, Park1 discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 10 (Park1: Fig. 1), wherein
the first driving unit comprises a first magnet (Park1: Fig. 1: 710 – third magnet)
disposed on the first holder (Park1: para. 76 – third magnet 710 may be provided on one surface of first frame 400) and
a first coil (Park1: Fig. 1: 730 – third coil)
configured to interact with the first magnet (Park1: para. 79 – electromagnetic interaction between third magnet 710 and third coil 730 generates driving force), wherein
the second driving unit comprises a second magnet (Park1: Fig. 1: 611 – first magnet) and
a second coil (Fig. 1: 613 – first coil)
configured to interact with the second magnet (Park1: para. 68 – electromagnetic interaction between first magnet 611 and first coil 613 generates driving force), and wherein
the third driving unit comprises a third magnet (Park1: Fig. 1: 621 – second magnet)
disposed on the third holder (Park1: para. 65 – second magnet 621 mounted on third frame 330) and
a third coil (Park1: Fig. 1: 623 – second coil)
configured to interact with the third magnet (Park1: para. 69 – electromagnetic interaction between second magnet 621 and second coil 623 generates driving force).
Park1 does not disclose that the second magnet is disposed on the second holder.
Park1 and Sung are related in that they both disclose lens driving devices.
Sung discloses that the second magnet is: disposed on the second holder (Sung: para. 65 - The frame 1400 [second holder] includes a first magnet 1420)
The benefit of including a magnet in the second holder of a driving device would be to drive the second holder independently of any other holders for more precision control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to rearrange the second magnet of Park1 to be placed onto the second holder of Park1, as taught by Sung, in order to drive the second holder independently of the other holders for more precision control.
Regarding Claim 15, the Park1-Sung combination discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 14 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), comprising
a substrate (Park1: Fig. 1: 630, 770 – second and third substrates)
disposed on the base (Park1: Fig. 1: 630, 770 – substrates connected to housing 200, connected to the base), wherein
the substrate comprises first and third portions disposed opposite to each other (Park1: Fig. 1: 630, 770 – second substrate 630 has a wall disposed opposite to the third substrate wall 770), and
a second portion (Park1: Fig. 1: 630 – second substrate has two additional walls)
connecting the first portion and the third portion (Park1: Fig. 1: 630 – additional walls of second substrate 630 connects the wall portion of the second substrate [third portion] and the third substrate portion [first portion]), wherein
the first coil is disposed on the first portion of the substrate (Park1: Fig. 1: 730 – third coil; para. 77 – third coil mounted on third substrate 770), wherein
the second coil is disposed on the second portion of the substrate (Park1: Fig. 1: 613 – first coil; para. 66 – first coil 613 mounted on second substrate 630), and wherein
the third coil is disposed on the third portion of the substrate (Park1: Fig. 1: 623 – second coil; para. 66 – second coil 623 mounted on second substrate 630).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park1-Sung as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of Min (US 20240040253).
Regarding Claim 16, the Park1-Sung combination discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 15 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), comprising:
a second yoke (Park1: Fig. 8: 231 – first yokes)
disposed at a position corresponding with the second magnet at the second portion of the substrate (Park1: Fig. 8 – corresponds to first magnet 611); and
a third yoke (Park1: Fig. 8: 233 – second yoke)
disposed at a position corresponding with the third magnet at the third portion of the substrate (Park1: Fig. 8 – corresponds to second magnet 623).
Park1 does not disclose: a first yoke disposed at a position corresponding with the first magnet at the first portion of the substrate.
Park1-Sung and Min are related in that they all disclose lens driving devices.
Min discloses:
a first yoke (Min: Fig. 17: 150 – second yoke)
disposed at a position corresponding with the first magnet at the first portion of the substrate (Min: para. 140 – second yoke 150 may attract second magnet 220; para. 136 – second coil [corresponding to second magnet] may move holder in optical axis direction).
The benefit of including a yoke corresponding to a magnet that drives a movable part in an optical axis direction would be to provide an attractive force to maintain contact between the movable part and the base in which it is disposed, as taught by Min (Min: para. 140 – second yoke 150 may attract second magnet 220; contact between housing [movable part] and second ball and contact between base [fixed part] and second ball may be maintained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to add the second yoke of Min, into the lens driving device of Park1 such that it corresponds to the first magnet, in order to provide an attractive force to maintain contact between the movable part and the base in which it is disposed.
Regarding Claim 18, the Park1-Sung combination discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 14 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
the first holder comprises a hole (Park1: Fig. 1, 2: 400 – openings in first frame 400), and wherein
the second magnet is disposed in the hole of the first holder to be overlapped with the first holder in the first direction (Park1: para. 165 – portions of first frame 400 corresponding to first magnet 611 may be formed to be open).
Regarding Claim 19, the Park1-Sung combination discloses:
The lens driving device of claim 14 (Park1: Fig. 1; Sung: para. 65), wherein
the second holder comprises a hole (Park1: Fig. 1, 3A – second frame 500 has accommodating opening that matches with opening of first frame 400), and wherein
the third magnet is disposed in the hole of the second holder to be overlapped with the second holder in the second direction (Park1: Fig. 1: 621 – third magnet fits into openings of first and second holders; para. 65 – second magnet 621 mounted on third frame 330).
Conclusion
/C.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871