CTFR 18/996,730 CTFR 82228 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 01. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment 02. This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 02/05/2026 . Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL , as necessitated by amendment. Response to Arguments 07-38 03. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim s 1 – 20 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 04. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 05. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 06. Claim s 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatzgern et al. (US PGPub 2015/0262428) , hereinafter “Tatzgern”, in view of Johnson et al. (US PGPub 2021/0194547) , hereinafter “Johnson” . Consider claim 1 , Tatzgern discloses a computer-implemented method of enabling search in an augmented reality interface (paragraphs [0002], [0004], [0030], a method is performed that allows for a user to search in an interface of an augmented reality) , the method comprising: generating, by a computing system with one or more processors, an interface depicting an augmented reality (AR) view including image data of at least a portion of a physical real-world environment for display by the computing system (paragraphs [0005], [0017], [0029], [0030], [0037], an augmented reality interface is generated, which is done so by utilizing computing hardware, such as a mobile computing device. The augmented reality includes a view of the real world and is instanced based on the location of a user or user device); displaying, by the computing system, one or more filter elements within the interface, a respective filter element in the one or more filter elements being associated with a point of interest type (paragraphs [0054], [0064], [0112], the display allows for filters that are user selectable, such that the filters affect which and how points of interest are displayed on the augmented reality); accessing, by the computing system from a database of geographic locations, data describing a plurality of points of interest within the portion of the physical real-world environment (paragraphs [0029], [0038], [0050], [0055], [0060], points of interest are obtained from databases, such that the information relating to the points of interest are obtained and displayed in the augmented reality); receiving, by the computing system, a selection of a respective filter element from the one or more displayed filter elements, wherein the respective filter element is associated with a point of interest [type] (paragraphs [0038] – [0040], [0054], [0064], [0081], a user is able to select different components on the augmented reality, such as by selecting different POIs and making selections that filter the POIs. For example, a user can expand upon POIs or provide a maximum distance to the POIs); providing, by the computing system for display in the AR view, a filter-based set of augmented reality elements associated with the set of filtered points of interest, wherein the filter-based set of augmented reality elements represents the filtered points of interest (paragraphs [0038], [0054], [0064], [0081], the augmented reality is updated based on selections that user makes within the interface. For example, a user can select a type of cuisine that they would like to search for, and the interface of the augmented reality would be updated based on that selection). However, Tatzgern does not specifically teach that the filtering of the points of interest is based on the type of point of interest, and that that then limits the displayed points of interest to that type. In the same field of endeavor, Johnson discloses a method comprising: the respective filter element is associated with a point of interest type (paragraph [0102], Fig. 11A, a filtering element can be associated with point of interest category); filtering, by the computing system, the data describing the plurality of points of interest to generate a set of filtered points of interest that have a point of interest type that matches the point of interest type associated with the respective filter element (paragraphs [0102], [0103], Fig. 11A, 11B, a filtered set of point of interest is determined based on the selection of a filtering element, such as a category, wherein the points of interest that are then displayed are based on the category selected). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the filtering of points of interest by a selection category taught by Johnson into the augmented reality viewing for points of interest based on user selections taught by Tatzgern for the purpose of allowing a user to have better control over the augmented reality so that only places of interest would be displayed, which would allow a user to more quickly and easily get to the information they desire. Consider claim 2 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: a plurality of points of interest in the plurality of points of interest are associated with merchants (paragraph [0050], the points of interest can be for stores, such as restaurants or retail stores). Consider claim 3 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: prior to receiving the selection of respective filter element: displaying, by the computing system, an initial set of augmented reality elements associated with an initial set of points of interest (paragraphs [0029], [0068], Fig. 1A, an initial set of points of interest are displayed); in response to receiving the selection of the respective filter element, updating, by the computing system, the AR view to remove at least one augmented reality element in the initial set of augmented reality elements (paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0033], a user performing selections on the points of interest can allow for other points of interest to no longer be displayed, so that the view does not become cluttered). Consider claim 4 , and as applied to claim 3 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: one or more points of interest in the initial set of points of interest are included within the set of filtered points of interest (paragraphs [0061], [0062], the points of interest that are displayed can be based off the initial POIs, as well as the POIs that are updated as a result of the user performing actions on the interface). Consider claim 5 , and as applied to claim 3 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: the initial set of augmented reality elements are associated with one or more entities currently displayed in the AR view (paragraphs [0051], [0057], the augmented reality is designed to show a display that has the included elements that are useful for the user). Consider claim 6 , and as applied to claim 3 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: the initial set of augmented reality elements are selected for display based on one or more detected store fronts in image data used to depict at least a portion of a physical real-world environment in the AR view (paragraph [0050], Fig. 1A, the augmented reality includes real-world data that can be designed to display physical store locations). Consider claim 7 , and as applied to claim 3 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: the initial set of augmented reality elements are selected for display based on a visibility determination for one or more points of interest with a predetermined distance from the computing device system (paragraphs [0051], [0068], the distance to the points of interest is used as a means to determine which points of interest are to be displayed in the augmented reality). Consider claim 8 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: a respective AR element in the filter-based set of augment reality elements is displayed proximate to a point of interest with which it is associated in the AR view (paragraphs [0050], [0068], [0082], the proximity of the points of interest to other elements is determined and used as a means to display them). Consider claim 9 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: accessing, by the computing system, image data from a camera associated with the computing system (paragraph [0031], a camera is used to capture images); analyzing, by the computing system, the image data to identify one or more entities within the image data based on store fronts associated with the entities (paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0036], [0050], images taken from the camera are used to determine data, such as retail stores and associated information); displaying, by the computing system, an AR element in the AR view positioned near a feature in the image data associated with a corresponding entity (paragraphs [0032], [0041], elements of the augmented reality are displayed based on the obtained image data). Consider claim 10 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: determining, by the computing system, a location of the computing system; and wherein the plurality of points of interest within the portion of the physical real-world environment are within a predetermined distance of the location of the computing system (paragraphs [0051], [0057], [0068], the points of interest, which are displayed based on their real world location, are determined based on a location or distance from a particular point, such as a user or user device). Consider claim 11 , and as applied to claim 10 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: the predetermined distance is based on a walking time from the location of the computing system (paragraphs [0051], [0075], an estimated travel time is determined for the points of interest). Consider claim 12 , and as applied to claim 11 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: the predetermined distance is based on an estimated walking time of 5 minutes from the location of the computing system (paragraphs [0051], [0075], the travel time can be estimated to be any amount of time). Consider claim 13 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: at least one point of interest in the set of filtered points of interest are not displayed within the AR view (paragraphs [0029], [0030], not all points of interest are displayed in the augmented reality view). Consider claim 14 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: a displayed AR element is associated with a group including a plurality of points of interest (paragraphs [0050], [0057], a cluster of points of interest is determined) Consider claim 15 , and as applied to claim 14 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: a respective point of interest has an associated point of interest type and the plurality of points of interest included in the group have a common the-same point of interest type (paragraphs [0044], [0061], a type of point of interest, such as a restaurant type, is determined for the points of interest). Consider claim 16 , and as applied to claim 15 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: determining, by the computing system, that two or more augmented reality elements are displayed within a predetermined distance in the AR view (paragraphs [0050], [0068], [0088], a cluster of points of interest can be determined based on a distance from the view of the augmented reality); in response to determining that two or more augmented reality elements are displayed, combining the two or more augmented reality elements into a signal group augmented reality element in the AR view (paragraphs [0050], [0057], a cluster of points of interest can be formed, such that the cluster is determined to be displayed in the augmented reality). Consider claim 17 , and as applied to claim 1 above , Tatzgern discloses a method comprising: receiving, by the computing system, user input indicating a first entity in the AR view (paragraph [0036], a user selects a point of interest); analyzing, by the computing system, the image data displayed in the AR view to extract one or more characteristics of the first entity (paragraphs [0036], [0038], the selection of a points of interest allows for display of additional data); accessing, by the computing system from the database of geographic locations, data identifying a specific location in the database of geographic locations based on the one or more characteristics of the first entity (paragraphs [0036], [0038] – [0040], the selection of a point of interest by a user allows for that node to be explored). Claims 18 – 20 recite the same claim limitations found in claims 1 and 2, except that either a method, device, or medium is claimed. Since the same claim limitations are otherwise present, claims 18 – 20 are rejected under the same rational as that provided with respect to claims 1 and 2 . Conclusion 07-40 AIA 07. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. 08. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Christopher Raab whose telephone number is (571) 270-1090. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ajay Bhatia can be reached on (571) 272-3906. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free) or 703-305-3028. /CHRISTOPHER J RAAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156 May 28, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 2 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 3 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 4 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 5 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 6 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 7 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 8 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 9 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 10 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 11 Art Unit: 2156 Application/Control Number: 18/996,730 Page 12 Art Unit: 2156