DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 13, 21-25, 29, 37-41, and 45 are currently pending and under examination (claim set as filed on 12/18/2025). Claims 2, 6, 10-12, 14-20, 26-28, 30-36, 42-44, and 46-68 are cancelled.
Priority
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. SE 2230243-4, filed on 7/18/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 and thus the effective filing date of this application is 7/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2025 was considered, initialed, and attached hereto. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 13, 21-25, 29, 37-41, and 45 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1, 21, and 37 recite “a ready- to-use product comprising at least 10 grams (dry weight)”. Appropriate correction is required to remove the parentheses and correct the recited language to “a ready- to-use product comprising at least 10 grams in dry weight” for clarity purposes.
Claims 3-5, 7-9, and 13 are objected to for depending on claim 1. Claims 22-25 and 19 are objected to for depending on claim 21. Claims 38-41 and 45 are objected to for depending on claim 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 21-25, 29, 37-41, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Israelsen (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2008/0311097 A1 – date of publication 12/18/2008).
Israelson’s general disclosure relates to a treatment strategy of using fermented cereal gruel comprising probiotics to improve gastrointestinal disorders in a subject (see abstract).
Regarding claims 1, 21, and 37, Israelsen teaches the administering of at least 10 g of a ready-to-use fermented cereal gruel composition (see [0030]) comprising one or more Lactobacillus spp. such as Lactobacillus plantarum 299 or Lactobacillus plantarum 299v (see [0065]). As the instant specification does not provide a definition of the term “therapeutically effective amount”, under broadest reasonable interpretation the amount of “at least 10 g” reads on the limitation. Israelsen discloses the administered probiotic strain(s) colonize(s) the human intestine (see [0056]), suggesting the fermented gruel composition is administered to humans. Israelsen further discloses the fermented gruel composition is intended to treat inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) (see [0029]) and impaired mucus barriers in the gastrointestinal tract (see [0055]).
Regarding claims 13, 29, and 45, Israelsen teaches the fermented gruel composition is administered daily (see [0030]).
Regarding claims 22-25 and 38-41, Israelsen teaches the fermented gruel composition is administered to treat impaired gut barrier/gut permeability-related disorders such as irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) (see [0029]) which includes ulcerative colitis (UC) and Crohn’s disease (CD) (see [0039).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Israelsen (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2008/0311097 A1 – date of publication 12/18/2008) and further in view of Lee (Lee et al., “Lactobacillus attenuates progression of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease by lowering cholesterol and steatosis”, 2020 Sep 13, Clinical and Molecular Hepatology, 27, pgs. 110-124).
Israelson’s general disclosure has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Israelsen teaches the fermented gruel composition can be used to treat inflammatory disorders such as IBD (see [0029]).
Israelsen does not teach the composition can treat extra-intestinal inflammation wherein the inflammation is chronic and/or low-grade.
Lee’s general disclosure relates to the administering of an anti-inflammatory Lactobacillus plantarum probiotic to treat liver inflammation diseases, which are correlated with gut microbiota imbalances/inflammation (see pg. 112, ¶ 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the administering of a probiotic Lactobacillus plantarum strain to mice with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) (see pg. 112, ¶ 4) which is a type of extra-intestinal chronic inflammation.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the fermented gruel composition as taught in Israelsen to treat extra-intestinal inflammation as taught by Lee. One would be motivated to do so because Lee teaches that imbalances in the gut microbiome extend beyond the gastrointestinal tract and in fact are associated with liver inflammatory diseases (see Lee pg. 112, ¶ 2), and furthermore that probiotics such as Lactobacillus can have anti-inflammatory effects (see Lee pg. 112, ¶ 3). Thus the ordinary artisan would have been able to improve upon Israelsen’s disclosure which uses a Lactobacillus plantarum probiotic to treat gut inflammation by advantageously expanding its use to include the entire gut-liver axis as discussed in Lee (see Lee pg. 112, ¶ 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 7-9, the combined references teach the composition is administered to subjects experiencing non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) which is an extra-intestinal inflammatory chronic liver disease (see Lee pg. 112, ¶ 4 and pg. 111 – “Introduction”).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references teach the chronic liver inflammation is associated with NAFLD (see Lee pg. 112, ¶ 4). The combined references disclose the administered probiotic strain(s) colonize(s) the human intestine (see Israelsen [0056]), which suggests it is administered to humans.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence Information
/EMMALEE R WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653