DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on September 8, 2026. Claims 5-10 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
III. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
IV. Claims 5-6 and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN” in lines 8-9. This appears to be a grammatical error and should be changed to -in a case that the UE accesses the SNPN- to be corrected.
Claim 6 recites “in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN” in line 10. This appears to be a grammatical error and should be changed to -in a case that the UE accesses the SNPN- to be corrected.
Claims 8-9 contain the acronyms “ME” and “5GS” without first spelling out the acronym. It would be more appropriate if the first occurrence on the acronym were spelled out with the acronym following in parenthesis.
Claim 10 recites “being in operating in” in line 3. This appears to be a grammatical error and should be changed to -the UE operating in- to be corrected.
Claim 10 recites “in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN” in lines 6-7. This appears to be a grammatical error and should be changed to -in a case that the UE accesses the SNPN- to be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
V. Claims 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the same counter” in line 7. It is unclear what “the same counter” refers to because the claim does not earlier mention a counter. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotations from claim 5, “the same counter” as “a counter”.
Claim 8 is dependent on claim 5 and is rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 5.
Claim 10 recites “the same counter” in line 5. It is unclear what “the same counter” refers to because the claim does not earlier mention a counter. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotations from claim 10, “the same counter” as “a counter”.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Double Patenting
VI. Claims 5-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-9 of copending Application No. 18/996,949. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the 18/996,949 application teach similar limitations on an UE operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode.
Claim Mapping:
Claim 5 of the instant application and claim 4 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/996,949 is mapped below.
Instant Application
Patent Application No. 18/996,949
Claim 5. A user equipment (UE) comprising: transmission and reception circuitry; and controlling circuitry,
wherein the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode, and the controlling circuitry uses the same counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over non-3GPP access and in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN).
Claim 4. A user equipment (UE) comprising: transmission and reception circuitry; and controlling circuitry,
wherein the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode, and the controlling circuitry uses the same SNPN-specific attempt counter for non-3GPP access in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over non-3GPP access and in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN),
Claims 6-10 are also rejected under obviousness-type double patenting by claims 5-9 respectively of the 18/996,949 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
VII. Claims 5- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Won (US 2021/0051577 A1), hereinafter referred to as Won 1.
Regarding claim 5 Won 1 teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: transmission and reception circuitry (208, Figure 2); and controlling circuitry (204. Figure 2) (see paragraphs [0068] – [0069]), wherein the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode (see paragraph [0080], The UE is operating in SNPN access mode and shall maintain counters for non-3GPP access types. This reads on wherein the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode), and the controlling circuitry uses the same counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over non-3GPP access and in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (see paragraph [0062], The UE is configured to use only a single counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for GPRS services” events and a single counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for 5GS services over non-3GPP access” events. The GPRS service event is considered a service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN). This reads on the controlling circuitry uses the same counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over non-3GPP access and in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN)).
Regarding claim 6 Won 1 teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: transmission and reception circuitry (208, Figure 2); controlling circuitry (204, Figure 2); and storage circuitry (206, Figure 2) (see paragraphs [0068] – [0069]), wherein the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode (see paragraph [0080], The UE is operating in SNPN access mode and shall maintain counters for non-3GPP access types. This reads on wherein the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode), the storage circuitry stores a counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, and the storage circuitry maintains the counter stored on the storage circuitry in a case that the UE accesses the SNPN directly over the non-3GPP access (see paragraphs [0080]; [0082] [0084], The UE shall maintain for each of the entries of access in the list of subscriber data at least one or more counters. An SNPN attempt counter for non-3GPP type access, the counter being configured to count access attempts via non-3GPP access only. One counter for the entry for the current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access events. This reads on the storage circuitry stores a counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, and the storage circuitry maintains the counter stored on the storage circuitry in a case that the UE accesses the SNPN directly over the non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 7 Won 1 teaches wherein the counter is used in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and in the case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over the non-3GPP access (see paragraph [0062], The UE is configured to use only a single counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for GPRS services” events and a single counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for 5GS services over non-3GPP access” events. The GPRS service event is considered a service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN). This reads on wherein the counter is used in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and in the case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over the non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 8 Won 1 teaches wherein in a case that the transmission and reception circuitry received a reject cause value over the non-3GPP access, the controlling circuitry increments the counter, the reject cause value indicates Illegal UE, Illegal ME, or 5GS services not allowed, and the reject cause value is further included in a registration reject message without integrity protection or a service reject message without the integrity protection (see paragraphs [0087]; [0089]; [0091]; [0135], If the UE receives a rejection message from a network (sometimes called a reject message), such as after sending a request for registration or a request for provisioning of a service to the UE, the UE can evaluate the rejection message. In the context of 5G networks, the UE receives a REGISTRATION REJECT or SERVICE REJECT message without integrity protection with one or more of select 5GMM cause value. The cause value can be 5GS update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED. Illegal UE, or illegal ME. This reads on wherein in a case that the transmission and reception circuitry received a reject cause value over the non-3GPP access, the controlling circuitry increments the counter, the reject cause value indicates Illegal UE, Illegal ME, or 5GS services not allowed, and the reject cause value is further included in a registration reject message without integrity protection or a service reject message without the integrity protection).
Regarding claim 9 Won 1 teaches limitations as recited in claim 8 and therefore claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 10 Won 1 teaches a communication method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (see paragraphs [0068] – [0069]), the communication control method comprising: the UE operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode (see paragraph [0080], The UE is operating in SNPN access mode and shall maintain counters for non-3GPP access types. This reads on the UE is operating in a Stand-alone Non-public Network (SNPN) access operation mode), and using the same counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over non-3GPP access and in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) (see paragraph [0062], The UE is configured to use only a single counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for GPRS services” events and a single counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for 5GS services over non-3GPP access” events. The GPRS service event is considered a service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN). This reads on the using the same counter for an event that an entry for a current SNPN is considered invalid for non-3GPP access, in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service directly over non-3GPP access and in a case that the UE accesses to the SNPN service via a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN)).
Conclusion
VIII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Won Pub. No.: US 2021/0258857 A1, hereinafter Won 2 discloses methods, apparatuses, and computer program products for managing a device network capabilities in private networks including non-3GPP access which may be used in the counter for the entry for current SNPN considered invalid for non-3GPP access, that can also be used to express access to SNPN services via a PLMN (see paragraphs [0383] – [0390]).
Tiwari et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0051566 A1 discloses method and system for managing closed access group feature for user equipment and network including the UE sets the counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for GPRS services” events and the counter for “SIM/USIM considered invalid for 5GS services over non-3GPP access, then the UE sets the counter for “the entry for the current SNPN considered invalid for 3GPP access” events to the UE implementation-specific maximum value in case of the PLMN (see paragraph [0059]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
September 8, 2026