Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin (2022/0124497).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a user equipment (UE, abstract) comprising transmission/reception circuitry (Figure 2, transceiver 204), a controlling circuitry (processor 203), and storage circuitry (memory 202), wherein in a case that the UE supports access to a stand-alone non public network (SNPN, private 5g network 120, Figure 1) providing access for localized services, the controlling circuitry manages a permanently forbidden SNPN for access list (PLMN/SNPN list 222, also Figure 4, permanently forbidden SNPN list 420). Lin further discloses in a case that the UE performs a registration procedure to a SNPN, the transmission/reception circuitry is configured to transmit an ID of the SNPN to a network (Figure 3, step 312) and receive from the network a registration reject message including a cause value (Figure 3, step 313) indicating permanently not authorized for the SNPN (para 25). Lin also discloses the controlling circuitry stores the ID of the SNPN in the list stored by the storage circuitry, based on the cause value (para 26-27, also see para 29).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses a communication control method performed by a user equipment (UE, abstract), the communication control method comprising: in a case that the UE supports access to a stand-alone non public network (SNPN, private 5g network 120, Figure 1) providing access for localized services, managing a permanently forbidden SNPN for access list (PLMN/SNPN list 222, also Figure 4, permanently forbidden SNPN list 420). Lin further discloses in a case that the UE performs a registration procedure to a SNPN, the transmission/reception circuitry is configured to transmit an ID of the SNPN to a network (Figure 3, step 312) and receive from the network a registration reject message including a cause value (Figure 3, step 313) indicating permanently not authorized for the SNPN (para 25). Lin also discloses the controlling circuitry stores the ID of the SNPN in the list stored by the storage circuitry, based on the cause value (para 26-27, also see para 29).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase "registration procedure to . Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khirallah (12470908) discloses the use of closed access groups (SNPNs) for registration to a user equipment.
Won (12294932) discloses UE capabilities that can enable/disable registration/access processes.
Rajendran (2024/0187981) discloses SNPN lists including forbidden lists between a user equipment and a network/SNPN.
Prabhakar (11665632) discloses SNPN registration/roaming based on SNPN lists.
Won (2021/0051577) discloses the use of forbidden SNPN lists and the use of timers in a registration process.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641