DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6,7,8,10,12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following phrases are indefinite because the meets and bounds of the phrase are unascertainable: “hook-like member” (cl 6:2); “hook-like member” (cl 7:1-2 and 4-5); “for example..one recess” (cl 10:3-4); and “preferably…side surface” (cl 12:5).
The following phrases are indefinite because they lack antecedent basis in the claim: “the positive-fit connection” (cl 8:4); and “the top of the anchoring pin” (cl12:3).
The phrase “0,5 meter” (cl 17:3) is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by it. If the phrase is meant to be –0.5 meter--, it should be changed.
Corrections are required.
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warner et al (USP2018/0141277).
Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are examined for its recited structure rather than how the apparatus is used or what the apparatus does. MPEP 2114.
1. (Original) A printing platform (Warner et al: paras 0034-0035; figs 1 and 7-9; stage 80); for supporting an object that is manufactured from layers of material extruded by an additive manufacturing nozzle (Warner et al: paras. 0006-0008; figs 1 and 7-9), the printing platform comprising:
a platform body having multiple holes (Warner et al: paras. 0006-0008, 0034-0035, and 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9; fixture 85/702 with holes 708); and
anchoring pins configured to be filled with material extruded by the additive manufacturing nozzle and each anchoring pin is adapted to be arranged in one of the holes of the platform body (Warner et al: paras. 0006-0008, 0034-0035, and 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9; receptacle 35/704/904 constitute the anchoring pins that are filled with extruded material from the additive manufacturing nozzle).
2. (Original) A printing platform according to claim 1, wherein each hole extends through the platform body from a top to a bottom of the platform body (Warner et al: paras. 0034-0035 and 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9).
3. (Currently Amended) A printing platform according to claim 1 [[ or 2]], wherein the holes are arranged in a pattern which, seen from above, is defined by rows of holes and/or columns of holes (Warner et al: paras. 0034-0035 and 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9).
4. (Currently Amended) A printing platform according to claim 1, wherein the anchoring pins are connected in the holes by means of a frictional connection (Warner et al: para. 0049; figs 1 and 7-9).
5. (Currently Amended) A printing platform according to claim 1, wherein the anchoring pins are connected in the holes by means of a positive-fit connection (Warner et al: para. 0049; figs 1 and 7-9).
6. (Original) A printing platform according to claim 5, wherein each anchoring pin is provided with at least one hook-like member (Warner et al: para. 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9; feature 910/918 constitutes the at least one hook-like member).
9. (Currently Amended) A printing platform according to claim 1, wherein each anchoring pin comprises an interior space which can be filled with material extruded by the additive manufacturing nozzle, wherein the interior space has a non- releasing printing material configuration (Warner et al: para. 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9; the interior surface of the receptacle that contacts the extruded material constitutes non-release printing material configuration).
12. (Currently Amended) A printing platform according to claim 1, wherein a top edge of the anchoring pin between a side surface of the anchoring pin and the top of the anchoring pin is provided with an outwardly extending flange seen from the centre line of the anchoring pin with respect to an outer anchoring pin side surface, preferably a substantially cylindrical outer anchoring pin side surface (Warner et al: para. 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9; feature 910/918 constitutes the outwardly extending flange).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warner et al (USP2018/0141277).
15. (Currently Amended) A method for producing an object that is manufactured from layers of material extruded by an additive manufacturing nozzle using a printing platform according to claim 1. (Warner et al: paras. 0006-0008, 0034-0035, and 0049-0051; figs 1 and 7-9; stage 80 including fixtures 85/702 and receptacles receptacle 35/704/904 are used in an additive manufacturing process).
Claim(s) 10,11,13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner et al (USP2018/0141277) as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of Warner et al are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 10, Warner et al do not teach a positive-fit connection. Since it is well-known in the composite molding art to improve bonding between materials by using mechanical fixtures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a positive or mechanical fixture on the interior surface of the receptacles of Warner et al in order to improve the bonding between the extruded material and the receptacle.
Regarding claim 11, Warner et al do not teach at least one material outflow opening. Since it is well-known in the composite molding art to improve bonding between materials by using mechanical fixtures like pass-through openings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a pass-through opening through wall of each receptacle of Warner et al in order to improve the bonding between the extruded material and the receptacle.
Regarding claim 13, Warner et al do not teach a beveled edge. Since it is well-known in the composite molding art to improve bonding between materials by using beveled edges to create a flush connection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a beveled edge around the holes of Warner et al in order to improve the contact between the receptacles and holes of Warner et al.
Regarding claim 14, Warner et al do not teach a beveled edge. Since it is well-known in the composite molding art to improve bonding between materials by using beveled edges to create a flush connection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a beveled edge around the holes of Warner et al in order to improve the contact between the receptacles and holes of Warner et al by creating a flush connection.
Claims 16, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7,8, and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teaches additive manufacturing platforms/building plates: USPs20170036400,12576095,10406759; and CA2980453.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744