DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20240430810 A1) in view of HUANG (US 20230048026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (¶[0096,97,100–101]; FIG. 3, steps 301/302 performed by the terminal device in 4G/5G NR systems), the method comprising:
determining a first transmission power of a first uplink channel (¶[0101,080],Formula 2; ¶[0109]–[0110]; ¶[0113]–[0114]; Step 301 — UE determines at least two actual transmit powers from at least two expected transmit powers, one-to-one with at least two simultaneously performed uplink transmissions. Expected power P1′ for the 1st uplink transmission is computed per Formula 2 (P0, P_RB, a·PL, P_MCS, P_TPC); where the sum ≤ Pcmax, actual P1 = P1′);
determining a second transmission power of a second uplink channel (¶[0101]; ¶[0110]; ¶[0114]; Same determination for the 2nd uplink transmission → P2′ / P2);
transmitting the first uplink channel to a base station (BS) with the first transmission power (¶[0142], Step 302; ¶[0143]; ¶[0094]; ¶[0102]; ¶[0134]; UE performs the uplink transmission using the actual transmit powers, transmitting to the network device, which ¶[0094] defines to include a base station (gNB/eNB); the transmissions are those "scheduled by a PDCCH" corresponding to CORESETs with different CORESETPoolIndex, ¶[0102]; ¶[0134] has the network device separately indicating each uplink transmission by its own DCI (1st DCI / 2nd DCI));
transmitting the second uplink channel to the BS with the second transmission power (¶[0142]–[0143]; ¶[0102]; ¶[0134]; same, for the 2nd uplink transmission indicated by the 2nd DCI);
wherein the method comprises: based on simultaneous transmission of the first uplink channel and the second uplink channel to the BS (¶[0007]; ¶[0009]; ¶[0101]; ¶[0142]–[0143]; the UE performing a plurality of uplink transmissions simultaneously (multi-station / multi-panel), and the power determination is triggered by that simultaneity),
selecting one transmission power from the first transmission power and the second transmission power by considering based on a first control resource set (CORESET) index and a second CORESET index (¶[0115] (Case a2); ¶[0119] (Manner c1); ¶[0120]; ¶[0123]; ¶[0124]; ¶[0134]; ¶[0102];Case a2: where the sum of expected powers exceeds Pcmax, Manner c1 reduces one of the two — "a first expected transmit power" — by a first value while the other is unchanged (¶[0120]: P1=P1′, P2=P2′−ΔP). Which one is the "first expected transmit power" is identified in ¶[0123] as the power for the 1st uplink transmission, expressly including "an uplink transmission that is scheduled by a PDCCH and that corresponds to CORESET whose CORESET group number is 0"; ¶[0124] gives the converse species, group number n ≥ 1, for the last uplink transmission. ¶[0134] ties the two grants to the two index values (CORESETPoolIndex=0 → 1st DCI; =1 → 2nd DCI), and ¶[0102] requires the two transmissions to be associated with different pool indexes. Alternative path to the same limitation: Method b2 (¶[0130]–[0131]) reduces in ascending order of priority, and Method d1 (¶[0133]–[0134]) derives that priority from the transmission-indication sequence, which is itself set by CORESETPoolIndex.);
reducing the selected transmission power such that a sum of the first transmission power and the second transmission power complies with a maximum transmission power of the UE (¶[0011]; ¶[0118]; ¶[0119]; ¶[0120]; ¶[0067]; ¶[0101]; The first value is expressly ≥ (sum of expected powers − first maximum transmit power); ¶[0120] sets ΔP = P1′+P2′−Pcmax so that P1+P2 = Pcmax, or larger so that P1+P2 < Pcmax. Pcmax is defined as the maximum transmit power usable by the terminal device (¶[0067]) and the "first maximum transmit power" is the UE's maximum transmit power (¶[0101])).
Fan is silent to teaching that wherein the first transmission power based on the first uplink grant; the second transmission power based on the second uplink grant; the first CORESET index related to the first uplink grant; and the second CORESET index related to the second uplink grant.
In the same field of endeavor, HAUNG teaches a method performed by a UE in a wireless communication system, wherein the first transmission power based on the first uplink grant; the first CORESET index related to the first uplink grant (¶[0253]; ¶[0448]; ¶[0450]; ¶[0235]; ¶[0245]; FIG. 10; the network transmits UL grant 1006 in a CORESET with coresetPoolIndex=0, scheduling PUSCH 1. ¶[0448]/¶[0450] recite a first uplink grant scheduling the first uplink transmission, carried by DCI in the first CORESET associated with the first CORESET pool index); and
the second transmission power based on the second uplink grant, the second CORESET index related to the second uplink grant (¶[0253]; ¶[0448]; ¶[0450]; ¶[0235]; ¶[0245]; FIG. 10; the network transmits UL grant 1008 in a CORESET with coresetPoolIndex=1, scheduling PUSCH 2, simultaneously with PUSCH 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan's method of determining actual transmit powers for at least two simultaneously performed uplink transmissions with HUANG’s teachings of a first uplink grant and a second uplink grant, each received in a CORESET associated with a respective CORESET pool index, scheduling a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH that overlap in the time domain, and of type-1 and type-2 configured grants as alternative bases for such concurrent uplink transmissions. The motivation for doing so is expressly supplied by the references themselves. HUANG recognizes that concurrent uplink transmission via multiple UE panels requires further design, and specifically that it is unclear when such transmission is unavailable due to power limitation, and HUANG’s own remedies for the power-limited case are to scale both transmit powers together or to abandon one of the two transmissions entirely. Fan addresses this same recognized need with a more granular remedy: rather than scaling both powers or dropping a transmission, Fan reduces the power of only one of the two transmissions, identified by the CORESET group number of the CORESET in which its scheduling PDCCH was received, so that the summed actual transmit power does not exceed the UE's maximum transmit power. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Fan's technique to HUANG’s concurrently scheduled PUSCH pair in order to preserve both uplink transmissions rather than dropping one, thereby achieving the improved uplink throughput Fan identifies as the object of its method, and to keep the transmit power of the higher-priority transmission relatively higher, which Fan identifies as improving transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fan and HUANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein based on that at least one of the first uplink grant and the second uplink grant is a type 1 configured grant (CG), a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource index related to a corresponding uplink grant is considered to be a CORESET index related to the corresponding uplink grant (HUANG teaches: ¶[0348]; ¶[0353]; ¶[0340]; the concurrent uplink transmissions may be based on one or more configured grants, which "may be type-1 CG" — characterized as applied without L1 signaling activation. ¶[0340] confirms a configured grant PUSCH is one of the uplink channels at issue.
Regarding SRS resource index treated as the CORESET index: ¶[0379]–[0380]; ¶[0268]–[0273]; ¶[0326]; ¶[0330]–[0331]; ¶[0402]–[0403]; ¶[0241]; Huang makes the SRS resource set and the CORESET pool index interchangeable handles for the same TRP/panel association; ¶[0379] equates a TRP with a coresetPoolIndex; ¶[0380] equates the same TRP with an SRS resource set. ¶[0272]–[0273] index the two pathloss estimates by coresetPoolIndex=0/1 while ¶[0268]–[0271] index the identical pair by first/second SRS resource. ¶[0330]–[0331] and ¶[0402]–[0403] associate each panel's maximum transmit power with its SRS resource set. Most directly, ¶[0326] performs a two-way selection between PUSCH 1 and PUSCH 2 based on the lower or higher SRS resource set ID — the same comparison ¶[0447] performs on CORESET pool indices).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fan and HUANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein based on that at least one of the first uplink grant and the second uplink grant is a type 2 configured grant (CG), a CORESET index related to the type 2 CG is an index of a CORESET in which downlink control information including an activation indicator of the type 2 CG is received (HUANG teaches L1 signaling activation; transmission's index is the pool index of the CORESET in which its DCI was received; ¶[0253], ¶[0448], ¶[0348], ¶[0353]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fan and HUANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein among the first transmission power and the second transmission power, a transmission power of an uplink channel to be transmitted based on an uplink grant related to a higher CORESET index between the first CORESET index and the second CORESET index is selected (Fan teaches: Manner c1 species, ¶[0124], ¶[0134], ¶[0102]; The power selected for reduction may be that of the last uplink transmission, expressly identified as the one scheduled by a PDCCH corresponding to a CORESET whose group number is n, n ≥ 1 — as opposed to the group-number-0 species of ¶[0123]. With two transmissions on different pool indexes (¶[0102]) mapped to 0 and 1 (¶[0134]), selecting the n ≥ 1 transmission is selecting the higher index).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fan and HUANG teaches the method of claim 1, comprising, based on that the selected transmission power is reduced to a minimum transmission power, reducing the other transmission power (Fan teaches that Selected transmission power reduced to a minimum transmission power; ¶[0125]; ¶[0126]; ¶[0130]–[0131]; Fan expressly caps how far the selected power goes down: the first expected transmit power is reduced "to as low as 0",¶[0125], or "to as low as a threshold P_thr", ¶[0126]. Method b2 states the same floor generically — each reduced expected transmit power is ≥ a first power value, which may be ≥ 0 (¶[0130]). Based on that, reducing the other transmission power; ¶[0125]; ¶[0126]; ¶[0131]. Both optional examples recite exactly the claimed contingency: where the sum still exceeds Pcmax after the selected power has bottomed out at 0 or at P_thr, the terminal device performs further power reduction on another expected transmit power until the total is not greater than Pcmax. ¶[0131] repeats this for the priority path — reduction continues to the next uplink transmission once the current one has been reduced to the first power value).
Regarding claim 6, Fan teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that (Fan, ¶[0329]), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations comprising:
determining a first transmission power of a first uplink channel (¶[0101,080],Formula 2; ¶[0109]–[0110]; ¶[0113]–[0114]; Step 301 — UE determines at least two actual transmit powers from at least two expected transmit powers, one-to-one with at least two simultaneously performed uplink transmissions. Expected power P1′ for the 1st uplink transmission is computed per Formula 2 (P0, P_RB, a·PL, P_MCS, P_TPC); where the sum ≤ Pcmax, actual P1 = P1′);
determining a second transmission power of a second uplink channel (¶[0101]; ¶[0110]; ¶[0114]; Same determination for the 2nd uplink transmission → P2′ / P2);
transmitting the first uplink channel to a base station (BS) with the first transmission power (¶[0142], Step 302; ¶[0143]; ¶[0094]; ¶[0102]; ¶[0134]; UE performs the uplink transmission using the actual transmit powers, transmitting to the network device, which ¶[0094] defines to include a base station (gNB/eNB); the transmissions are those "scheduled by a PDCCH" corresponding to CORESETs with different CORESETPoolIndex, ¶[0102]; ¶[0134] has the network device separately indicating each uplink transmission by its own DCI (1st DCI / 2nd DCI));
transmitting the second uplink channel to the BS with the second transmission power (¶[0142]–[0143]; ¶[0102]; ¶[0134]; same, for the 2nd uplink transmission indicated by the 2nd DCI);
wherein the method comprises: based on simultaneous transmission of the first uplink channel and the second uplink channel to the BS (¶[0007]; ¶[0009]; ¶[0101]; ¶[0142]–[0143]; the UE performing a plurality of uplink transmissions simultaneously (multi-station / multi-panel), and the power determination is triggered by that simultaneity),
selecting one transmission power from the first transmission power and the second transmission power by considering based on a first control resource set (CORESET) index and a second CORESET index (¶[0115] (Case a2); ¶[0119] (Manner c1); ¶[0120]; ¶[0123]; ¶[0124]; ¶[0134]; ¶[0102];Case a2: where the sum of expected powers exceeds Pcmax, Manner c1 reduces one of the two — "a first expected transmit power" — by a first value while the other is unchanged (¶[0120]: P1=P1′, P2=P2′−ΔP). Which one is the "first expected transmit power" is identified in ¶[0123] as the power for the 1st uplink transmission, expressly including "an uplink transmission that is scheduled by a PDCCH and that corresponds to CORESET whose CORESET group number is 0"; ¶[0124] gives the converse species, group number n ≥ 1, for the last uplink transmission. ¶[0134] ties the two grants to the two index values (CORESETPoolIndex=0 → 1st DCI; =1 → 2nd DCI), and ¶[0102] requires the two transmissions to be associated with different pool indexes. Alternative path to the same limitation: Method b2 (¶[0130]–[0131]) reduces in ascending order of priority, and Method d1 (¶[0133]–[0134]) derives that priority from the transmission-indication sequence, which is itself set by CORESETPoolIndex);
reducing the selected transmission power such that a sum of the first transmission power and the second transmission power complies with a maximum transmission power of the UE (¶[0011]; ¶[0118]; ¶[0119]; ¶[0120]; ¶[0067]; ¶[0101]; The first value is expressly ≥ (sum of expected powers − first maximum transmit power); ¶[0120] sets ΔP = P1′+P2′−Pcmax so that P1+P2 = Pcmax, or larger so that P1+P2 < Pcmax. Pcmax is defined as the maximum transmit power usable by the terminal device (¶[0067]) and the "first maximum transmit power" is the UE's maximum transmit power (¶[0101])).
Fan is silent to teaching that wherein the first transmission power based on the first uplink grant; the second transmission power based on the second uplink grant; the first CORESET index related to the first uplink grant; and the second CORESET index related to the second uplink grant.
In the same field of endeavor, HAUNG teaches a device wherein the first transmission power based on the first uplink grant; the first CORESET index related to the first uplink grant (¶[0253]; ¶[0448]; ¶[0450]; ¶[0235]; ¶[0245]; FIG. 10; the network transmits UL grant 1006 in a CORESET with coresetPoolIndex=0, scheduling PUSCH 1. ¶[0448]/¶[0450] recite a first uplink grant scheduling the first uplink transmission, carried by DCI in the first CORESET associated with the first CORESET pool index); and
the second transmission power based on the second uplink grant, the second CORESET index related to the second uplink grant (¶[0253]; ¶[0448]; ¶[0450]; ¶[0235]; ¶[0245]; FIG. 10; the network transmits UL grant 1008 in a CORESET with coresetPoolIndex=1, scheduling PUSCH 2, simultaneously with PUSCH 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan's method of determining actual transmit powers for at least two simultaneously performed uplink transmissions with HUANG’s teachings of a first uplink grant and a second uplink grant, each received in a CORESET associated with a respective CORESET pool index, scheduling a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH that overlap in the time domain, and of type-1 and type-2 configured grants as alternative bases for such concurrent uplink transmissions. The motivation for doing so is expressly supplied by the references themselves. HUANG recognizes that concurrent uplink transmission via multiple UE panels requires further design, and specifically that it is unclear when such transmission is unavailable due to power limitation, and HUANG’s own remedies for the power-limited case are to scale both transmit powers together or to abandon one of the two transmissions entirely. Fan addresses this same recognized need with a more granular remedy: rather than scaling both powers or dropping a transmission, Fan reduces the power of only one of the two transmissions, identified by the CORESET group number of the CORESET in which its scheduling PDCCH was received, so that the summed actual transmit power does not exceed the UE's maximum transmit power. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Fan's technique to HUANG’s concurrently scheduled PUSCH pair in order to preserve both uplink transmissions rather than dropping one, thereby achieving the improved uplink throughput Fan identifies as the object of its method, and to keep the transmit power of the higher-priority transmission relatively higher, which Fan identifies as improving transmission efficiency.
Regarding claims 7-10, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2-5, respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Fan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store at least one program code comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Fan, ¶[0329]), cause a user equipment (UE) to perform operations, the operations comprising:
determining a first transmission power of a first uplink channel (¶[0101,080],Formula 2; ¶[0109]–[0110]; ¶[0113]–[0114]; Step 301 — UE determines at least two actual transmit powers from at least two expected transmit powers, one-to-one with at least two simultaneously performed uplink transmissions. Expected power P1′ for the 1st uplink transmission is computed per Formula 2 (P0, P_RB, a·PL, P_MCS, P_TPC); where the sum ≤ Pcmax, actual P1 = P1′);
determining a second transmission power of a second uplink channel (¶[0101]; ¶[0110]; ¶[0114]; Same determination for the 2nd uplink transmission → P2′ / P2);
transmitting the first uplink channel to a base station (BS) with the first transmission power (¶[0142], Step 302; ¶[0143]; ¶[0094]; ¶[0102]; ¶[0134]; UE performs the uplink transmission using the actual transmit powers, transmitting to the network device, which ¶[0094] defines to include a base station (gNB/eNB); the transmissions are those "scheduled by a PDCCH" corresponding to CORESETs with different CORESETPoolIndex, ¶[0102]; ¶[0134] has the network device separately indicating each uplink transmission by its own DCI (1st DCI / 2nd DCI));
transmitting the second uplink channel to the BS with the second transmission power (¶[0142]–[0143]; ¶[0102]; ¶[0134]; same, for the 2nd uplink transmission indicated by the 2nd DCI);
wherein the method comprises: based on simultaneous transmission of the first uplink channel and the second uplink channel to the BS (¶[0007]; ¶[0009]; ¶[0101]; ¶[0142]–[0143]; the UE performing a plurality of uplink transmissions simultaneously (multi-station / multi-panel), and the power determination is triggered by that simultaneity),
selecting one transmission power from the first transmission power and the second transmission power by considering based on a first control resource set (CORESET) index and a second CORESET index (¶[0115] (Case a2); ¶[0119] (Manner c1); ¶[0120]; ¶[0123]; ¶[0124]; ¶[0134]; ¶[0102];Case a2: where the sum of expected powers exceeds Pcmax, Manner c1 reduces one of the two — "a first expected transmit power" — by a first value while the other is unchanged (¶[0120]: P1=P1′, P2=P2′−ΔP). Which one is the "first expected transmit power" is identified in ¶[0123] as the power for the 1st uplink transmission, expressly including "an uplink transmission that is scheduled by a PDCCH and that corresponds to CORESET whose CORESET group number is 0"; ¶[0124] gives the converse species, group number n ≥ 1, for the last uplink transmission. ¶[0134] ties the two grants to the two index values (CORESETPoolIndex=0 → 1st DCI; =1 → 2nd DCI), and ¶[0102] requires the two transmissions to be associated with different pool indexes. Alternative path to the same limitation: Method b2 (¶[0130]–[0131]) reduces in ascending order of priority, and Method d1 (¶[0133]–[0134]) derives that priority from the transmission-indication sequence, which is itself set by CORESETPoolIndex.);
reducing the selected transmission power such that a sum of the first transmission power and the second transmission power complies with a maximum transmission power of the UE (¶[0011]; ¶[0118]; ¶[0119]; ¶[0120]; ¶[0067]; ¶[0101]; The first value is expressly ≥ (sum of expected powers − first maximum transmit power); ¶[0120] sets ΔP = P1′+P2′−Pcmax so that P1+P2 = Pcmax, or larger so that P1+P2 < Pcmax. Pcmax is defined as the maximum transmit power usable by the terminal device (¶[0067]) and the "first maximum transmit power" is the UE's maximum transmit power (¶[0101])).
Fan is silent to teaching that wherein the first transmission power based on the first uplink grant; the second transmission power based on the second uplink grant; the first CORESET index related to the first uplink grant; and the second CORESET index related to the second uplink grant.
In the same field of endeavor, HAUNG teaches a device wherein the first transmission power based on the first uplink grant; the first CORESET index related to the first uplink grant (¶[0253]; ¶[0448]; ¶[0450]; ¶[0235]; ¶[0245]; FIG. 10; the network transmits UL grant 1006 in a CORESET with coresetPoolIndex=0, scheduling PUSCH 1. ¶[0448]/¶[0450] recite a first uplink grant scheduling the first uplink transmission, carried by DCI in the first CORESET associated with the first CORESET pool index); and
the second transmission power based on the second uplink grant, the second CORESET index related to the second uplink grant (¶[0253]; ¶[0448]; ¶[0450]; ¶[0235]; ¶[0245]; FIG. 10; the network transmits UL grant 1008 in a CORESET with coresetPoolIndex=1, scheduling PUSCH 2, simultaneously with PUSCH 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan's method of determining actual transmit powers for at least two simultaneously performed uplink transmissions with HUANG’s teachings of a first uplink grant and a second uplink grant, each received in a CORESET associated with a respective CORESET pool index, scheduling a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH that overlap in the time domain, and of type-1 and type-2 configured grants as alternative bases for such concurrent uplink transmissions. The motivation for doing so is expressly supplied by the references themselves. HUANG recognizes that concurrent uplink transmission via multiple UE panels requires further design, and specifically that it is unclear when such transmission is unavailable due to power limitation, and HUANG’s own remedies for the power-limited case are to scale both transmit powers together or to abandon one of the two transmissions entirely. Fan addresses this same recognized need with a more granular remedy: rather than scaling both powers or dropping a transmission, Fan reduces the power of only one of the two transmissions, identified by the CORESET group number of the CORESET in which its scheduling PDCCH was received, so that the summed actual transmit power does not exceed the UE's maximum transmit power. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Fan's technique to HUANG’s concurrently scheduled PUSCH pair in order to preserve both uplink transmissions rather than dropping one, thereby achieving the improved uplink throughput Fan identifies as the object of its method, and to keep the transmit power of the higher-priority transmission relatively higher, which Fan identifies as improving transmission efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220322245 A1; US 20230300756 A1; US 20250168783 A1.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648