DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the phrase “receiving a detection data of each photovoltaic module” appears to be lacking proper grammar, due to the fact that “data” is plural.
In claim 2, the phrase “for a global photovoltaic power stations” appears to be lacking proper grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “step S11” which is indefinite, because it appears to imply that it is the eleventh step rather than the first step. Does Applicant intend for their to be ten unclaimed steps prior to the first recited steps?
Claim 1 recites “various photovoltaic power stations” which is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the recitation are unclear. Dependent claims 2-12 and 14 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 1 recites “marking the detection data on a pre-prepared electronic map” which is indefinite for two reasons. First, it is unclear how an electronic map can be marked when it has no physical or hardcopy form to mark. Second, it is unclear what exactly a pre-prepared electronic map is and how it compares to, e.g., a “prepared” electronic map. Dependent claims 2-12 and 14 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 1 recites “global photovoltaic modules” which is indefinite for two reasons. First, the meaning of the terminology is unclear. Is the method referring to photovoltaic modules around the world? Second, the recitation is indefinite for lack of proper antecedent basis. How do the global photovoltaic modules relate to the previously recited “each photovoltaic module from various photovoltaic power stations”? Dependent claims 2-12 and 14 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 2 recites “configuring at least one set of RTK positioning devices and detection devices for a global photovoltaic power stations” which is indefinite for two reasons. First, the acronym for “RTK” is not defined within the claim. Second, the meaning of the recitation is unclear.
Claim 6 recites “the step S12 comprises: receiving a low-traffic detection data” which is indefinite, because it is unclear if this “receiving” step is separate and discrete from the previous “receiving” step recited in claim 1 and, if so, how the two steps differ. In other words, if the detection data is already received in claim 1, then what detection data is being received in claim 6?
Claim 14 recites “the computer program is configured to be executed by a processor, to realize the steps of the method according to claim 1” which is indefinite, because claim 1 includes a step of “receiving a detection data”. A computer program cannot literally execute a process to receive data that must necessarily be purposefully sent from outside the scope of the program, just as a cell phone cannot unilaterally execute a process to receive a call from a particular person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites “marking the detection data on a pre-prepared electronic map to generate the electronic map with markings” and “using the electronic map with markings to generate a detection report on the yield and defect distribution of global photovoltaic modules which, analyzed under Step 2A Prong One, is understood as limitations of marking up a map using data and generating a report from the map which all can reasonably be performed using the human mind/with pen and paper, which falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element, “receiving a detection data of each photovoltaic module from various photovoltaic power stations”, which analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two, is understood as adding insignificant extra solution activity in the form of mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as analyzed under Step 2B, the additional elements merely amount to gathering telemetry data. Analyzed under Berkheimer, the act of gathering and sending data over a network has been deemed as well-understood, routine, and conventional by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “sending/receiving data over a network”).
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale as above. Claim 14 does include the additional limitations of a “a computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, characterized in that, the computer program is configured to be executed by a processor”, however, as generally recited, it is interpreted as merely generic computer components for implementing the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For example, claims 2-4 recite additional operations for starting and operating the various detection, collection, and RTK positioning devices, which analyzed under Step 2A Prong One, adds more limitations which can be readily performed using the human mind and/or by hand and thus fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Meanwhile, claim 6 recites additional limitations of using the electronic map which can also be readily performed using the human mind and/or by hand and thus fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Regarding claims 4-6, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 4-6 recite limitations of receiving data and obtaining data which analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two, is understood as adding insignificant extra solution activity in the form of mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, recitations of processing data, when analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two, is understood as generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the particular technological environment or field of use of signal processing (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as analyzed under Step 2B, the additional elements merely amount to receiving and sending data signals. Analyzed under Berkheimer, the act of gathering and sending data over a network has been deemed as well-understood, routine, and conventional by the courts (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “sending/receiving data over a network”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 114898232 A), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a photovoltaic module detection method (abstract, regarding a photovoltaic power station unmanned aerial vehicle inspection method based on photovoltaic string data analysis), characterized in that, the method comprises:
step S11, receiving a detection data of each photovoltaic module from various photovoltaic power stations (p. 1 of translation, referred to hereinafter, regarding collect the operation data of each photovoltaic string in the photovoltaic power station);
step S12, marking the detection data on a pre-prepared electronic map to generate the electronic map with markings (pp. 1-2, regarding the photovoltaic string corresponding to the abnormal value is a suspected faulty string, and the suspected fault is displayed in the virtual scene simulation map; the logical location of the faulty string is marked, and the physical location of the suspected faulty string is mapped);
step S13, using the electronic map with markings to generate a detection report on the yield and defect distribution of global photovoltaic modules (p. 2, regarding determine the failure type and failure level of the PV string or the PV module it belongs to according to the UAV detection image, and calculate the impact of the failure on the power generation of the PV string according to the PV string operation data, and obtain operation and maintenance measures).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the invention in claim 1, characterized in that, before the step S11, the method comprises: configuring at least one set of RTK positioning devices and detection devices for a global photovoltaic power stations (Examiner notes that such detection devices are inherent given the data collection operation described on p. 1); before starting the detection devices, using the RTK positioning devices to pre-prepare the electronic map of the global photovoltaic modules (p. 1, regarding establish an electronic map of the photovoltaic power station about the distribution of photovoltaic strings).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the invention in claim 1, characterized in that, a photovoltaic power station is also equipped with a movable device, the detection devices and the RTK positioning devices are installed on the movable device and move with the movable device (see again p. 2 regarding the UAV patrol); before the step S11, the method also comprises: assigning a scheduled movement task for the movable device (see again p. 2); assigning a scheduled detection task for the detection devices and the RTK positioning devices (see again p. 2); and the scheduled movement task and the scheduled detection task are executed synchronously (see again p. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the invention in claim 3, characterized in that, the detection devices comprise a collection device and an information processor (p. 2, regarding use the UAV to conduct patrol inspection of the planned route, and collect the infrared and visible light of the suspected faulty strings Double-light image, obtain UAV detection image) ; the collection device is composed of multiple collection points (see again p. 2); before the step S11, the method also comprises: starting the detection devices, the collection device, and the RTK positioning devices according to the scheduled detection task (see again pp. 1-2); collecting an on-site data of each photovoltaic module through the collection device (see again pp. 1-2); obtaining a position data of the photovoltaic module through the RTK positioning devices (see again pp. 1-2); binding the on-site data of the photovoltaic module with the position data through the information processor (pp.1-2, regarding the photovoltaic string corresponding to the abnormal value is a suspected faulty string, and the suspected fault is displayed in the virtual scene simulation map. The logical location of the faulty string is marked, and the physical location of the suspected faulty string is mapped), and then performing defect detection on the on-site data of the photovoltaic module to generate detection data with the position data and detection results (p. 2, regarding determine the failure type and failure level of the PV string or the PV module it belongs to according to the UAV detection image, and calculate the impact of the failure on the power generation of the PV string according to the PV string operation data).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the invention in claim 1, characterized in that, the step S12 comprises: receiving a low-traffic detection data (see again p. 1); according to a position data in the detection data, finding a corresponding photovoltaic module in the electronic map (see again pp. 1-2); marking detection results on the photovoltaic module to generate the electronic map with the markings (see again pp. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a photovoltaic module detection apparatus (abstract), characterized in that, the detection apparatus is moveable in a photovoltaic power station (see pp. 1-2 regarding the UAV), and the apparatus comprises: a data receiving module, configured to receive a detection data of each photovoltaic module from various photovoltaic power stations (p. 2, regarding use the UAV to conduct patrol inspection of the planned route, and collect the infrared and visible light of the suspected faulty strings Double-light image, obtain UAV detection image); a map marking module, configured to mark the detection data on a pre-prepared electronic map to generate the electronic map with markings (p. 2, regarding obtain the corresponding physical location of the faulty string through the logical position of the suspected faulty string marked in the virtual scene simulation map, establish a navigation route, and conduct operation and maintenance work based on the physical location of the suspected faulty string and according to the operation and maintenance measures); a report generating module, configured to generate a detection report on the yield and defect distribution of global photovoltaic modules using the electronic map with markings (see again p. 2); the data receiving module and the map marking module are set in a control box (inherent given a UAV).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, characterized in that, the computer program is configured to be executed by a processor, to realize the steps of the method according to claim 1 (p. 10, regarding some of the described embodiments are described herein as methods or combinations of method elements that can be implemented by a processor of a computer system or by other means for performing the described functions; see rejection of claim 1 detailed hereinabove).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a) Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b) Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c) Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d) Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 114898232 A), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the invention in claim 1, characterized in that, after the step S11, the method comprises: processing the detection data (see again p. 2); outputting the data (p. 10, regarding the computing device includes at least one output device).
Zhang does not appear to specifically disclose processing with lossless compression technology to obtain low-traffic detection data; and outputting the low-traffic data using 5G network technology.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the invention such that the detection data is processed with lossless compression technology to obtain low-traffic detection data, since the equivalence of generic compression technology with lossless compression technology for their use in the bandwidth/low-traffic data art and the selection of any known equivalents to lossless compression technology would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Specifically, lossless compression technology is well-known and conventionally used to reduce the bandwidth size without sacrificing fidelity.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the invention such that the low-traffic detection data is outputted using 5G network technology, since the equivalence of generic network technology with 5G network technology for their use in the data transmission art and the selection of any known equivalents to 5G network technology would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The purpose would be to ensure that the data can be easily transmitted wirelessly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Specifically, while the prior art of Zhang discloses the use of an unmanned aerial vehicle, Zhang does not teach a vehicle having the configuration as recited in claim 8. Dependent claims 9-12 depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648