DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunimitsu et al (US 2003/0098203 hereinafter “Kunimitsu”).
In regards to claim 1:
Kunimitsu teaches an engine oil cooling structure of an engine, the engine comprising a crankcase (27), the crankcase being provided with an oil filter mounting chamber having a cylindrical shape (housing filter 90), the cooling structure comprising a water channel (73), a water inlet of the water channel communicating with a water pump (66), the crankcase being provided with a main oil channel (91) for conveying engine oil, wherein the crankcase is further provided with a heat conducting thin wall (Shown below in annotated Figure 6), an inner cavity of the heat conducting thin wall forms the oil filter mounting chamber, the oil filter mounting chamber communicates with the main oil channel (Shown in Figure 4), the water channel is arranged around an outer side wall of the heat conducting thin wall (Shown in Figure 6), and a water outlet of the water channel communicates with a cooling water channel arranged in the same direction as and adjacent to the main oil channel (the water channel as shown below in annotated Figure 6 flows both horizontally and vertically, and Figure 4 of Kunimitsu shows the oil passage 91 flowing vertically and horizontally into the oil filter chamber).
Annotated Figure 6 of Kunitmisu
In regards to claim 2:
Kunimitsu teaches the water inlet and the water outlet of the water channel are respectively arranged close to both axial ends of the oil filter mounting chamber, wherein close is defined as being a short distance away (as defined by www.google.com with the search term “close definition”).
In regards to claim 3:
Kunimitsu teaches an inner wall of the main oil channel is provided with lubricating oil channels (93, 94, 95) communicating with revolute pairs of a crankshaft (42), a cavity having a bar shape and arranged in the same direction as the main oil channel is formed between the main oil channel (91) and a middle section of the cooling water channel (flowing through clutch housing 28 and described in Paragraph [0066]), and a position of the lubricating oil channel (93) closest to the oil filter mounting chamber in a direction in which the main oil channel is disposed is opposite to a position of the cavity (Shown below in Annotated section of Figure 4 of Kunimitsu).
Annotated section of Figure 4 of Kunimitsu
In regards to claim 4:
Kunimitsu teaches a combustion cylinder (44) connected to a crankcase (27), and a main oil channel (91) and a cooling water channel (74) located in the crankcase and arranged close to the combustion cylinder.
In regards to claim 5:
Kunimitsu teaches the outer side wall of the heat conducting thin wall is provided with heat radiating fins (97) disposed along an axial direction of the oil filter mounting chamber.
In regards to claim 6:
Kunimitsu a first end of the oil filter mounting chamber has an open shape disposed outwardly (Shown below in Annotated section of Figure 6 of Kunimitsu).
Annotated section of Figure 6 of Kunimitsu
In regards to claim 7:
Kunimitsu a plurality of the heat radiating fins are provided and circumferentially spaced around the outer side wall of the heat conducting thin wall (Paragraph [0064] describes the plurality of fins being formed unitarily as fins (96) on a covering member 77, wherein the fins extend axially along the side wall and are spaced circumferentially).
In regards to claim 8:
Kunimitsu the water channel covers an outer surface of the heat conducting thin
wall at a second end of the oil filter mounting chamber, and the heat radiating fins (97) extend onto the outer surface of the heat conducting thin wall at the second end of the oil filter mounting chamber (Shown below in Annotated section of Figure 6 of Kunimitsu).
Annotated Figure 6 of Kunimitsu
Conclusion
/JAMES J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3747 /HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747