DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/18/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it lists a U.S. Patent Application Publication with the publication number “00004988266”, which does not correspond to a U.S. Patent Application Publication number. It has been placed in the application file, but the U.S. Patent Application Publication has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “small amount” in claim 1 line 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small amount” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, “small amount” will be considered to mean any amount.
Claims 2-6 depend from claim 1 and, therefore, also contain this limitation.
Claim 7 is directed towards “a laser cladding process for a coating material for water erosion resistance of steam turbine blades”. However, claim 7 does not definitely recite any method steps. Instead, it lists a laser power density, use of argon gas, and a powder feeding rate and multi-channel overlap ratio. It is unclear what actual steps are intended to be performed by this method. For the purposes of examination, any laser cladding process with these values will be considered to meet the limitations of claim 7.
Claim 7 contains the limitation “a powder feeding rate of 40-60 r/min” in lines 3-4. It is unclear how a powder feeding rate is measured in revolutions per min. For the purposes of examination, any feed rate will be considered to meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 103290409 A, hereafter Lu ‘409, with machine translation) in view of Rodney et al. (U.S. Patent 6,200,528, hereafter Rodney ‘528).
Note: references to Lu ‘409 will refer to the location in the machine translation.
Claim 1: Lu ‘409 teaches a coating material for improving the erosion resistance of blades ([0001], [0008]) having a composition comprising:
carbon: 0.8-1.2wt% ([0023]),
chromium: 3-6wt% ([0023]),
manganese: 0.2-0.4wt% ([0023]),
molybdenum: 4.5-6wt% ([0023]),
silicon: 0.2-0.35wt% ([0023]),
tungsten: 5.5-6.5wt% ([0023]),
vanadium: 1.5-2.5wt% ([0023]),
and remainder iron and unavoidable impurities ([0023]).
With respect to claim 1, Lu ‘409 does not explicitly teach the claimed concentration ranges of C, Cr, Mn, Mo, Si, W, and V. However, the claimed concentration ranges of C, Cr, Mn, Mo, Si, W, and V are obvious over the concentration ranges taught by Lu ‘409 because they overlap. See MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claim 1, Lu ‘409 does not explicitly teach that the composition contains 0.3-0.8wt% Nb or 0.4-0.6wt% Al.
Rodney ‘528 teaches a coating for erosion resistance (abstract, col 2 ln 52-64) comprising C, Cr, Mn, Mo, Si, W, V, and Fe (abstract). Rodney ‘528 teaches that the coating composition can further contain 0.04-2.5wt% Nb and up to 1.25wt% Al (abstract). Rodney ‘528 teaches that including Nb and Al in these amounts improves the hardness and stability of the coating composition (col 1 ln 66-col 2 ln 41). Both Rodney ‘528 and Lu ‘409 teach coating for erosion resistance (‘409, [0001], [0008]; ‘528, abstract, col 2 ln 52-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the 0.04-2.5wt% Nb and up to 1.25wt% Al taught by Rodney ‘528 to the composition taught by Lu ‘409 because including Nb and Al in these amounts improves the hardness and stability of the coating composition, as taught by Rodney ‘528.
With respect to claim 1, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach the claimed concentration ranges of Nb and Al.
However, the claimed concentration ranges of Nb and Al are obvious over the concentration ranges taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 because they overlap. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 2: It is noted that the claimed ranges of S and P include 0wt%, and, therefore, the limitations of the claim can be met by not including S or P in the composition.
Lu ‘409 does not disclose S or P as even optional components in the composition. Therefore, the composition taught by Lu ‘409 can contain 0 wt% S and P.
Claim 3: Lu ‘409 teaches that the composition can have a particle size of 53-150 µm ([0023]).
With respect to claim 3, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach that the particle size is 15-53 µm. However, the claimed particle size range of 15-53 µm is obvious over the particle size range of 53-150 µm taught by Lu ‘409 because they overlap. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 4: It is noted that the claimed ranges of S and P include 0wt%, and, therefore, the limitations of the claim can be met by not including S or P in the composition.
Lu ‘409 does not disclose S or P as even optional components in the composition. Therefore, the composition taught by Lu ‘409 can contain 0wt% S and P.
With respect to claim 4, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach the claimed concentration ranges of Nb, Si, V, and Al. However, the claimed concentration ranges of Nb, Si, V, and Al are obvious over the concentration ranges taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 because they overlap. See MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claim 4, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach that the C is 0.7wt%, the Cr is 6.5wt%, the Mn is 0.45wt%, the Mo is 6.5wt%, or the W is 7wt%.
However, the claimed composition differs from the composition taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 only in the concentrations of C, Cr, Mn, Mo, and W, and it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claim 5: It is noted that the claimed ranges of S and P include 0wt%, and, therefore, the limitations of the claim can be met by not including S or P in the composition.
Lu ‘409 does not disclose S or P as even optional components in the composition. Therefore, the composition taught by Lu ‘409 can contain 0wt% S and P.
With respect to claim 5, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach the claimed concentration ranges of Nb, Si, V, and Al. However, the claimed concentration ranges of Nb, Si, V, and Al are obvious over the concentration ranges taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 because they overlap. See MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claim 5, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach that the C is 0.7wt%, the Cr is 6.5wt%, the Mn is 0.45wt%, the Mo is 6.5wt%, or the W is 7wt%.
However, the claimed composition differs from the composition taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 only in the concentrations of C, Cr, Mn, Mo, and W, and it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claim 6: It is noted that the claimed ranges of S and P include 0wt%, and, therefore, the limitations of the claim can be met by not including S or P in the composition.
Lu ‘409 does not disclose S or P as even optional components in the composition. Therefore, the composition taught by Lu ‘409 can contain 0wt% S and P.
With respect to claim 6, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach the claimed concentration ranges of Cr, Nb, Si, V, and Al. However, the claimed concentration ranges of Cr, Nb, Si, V, and Al are obvious over the concentration ranges taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 because they overlap. See MPEP 2144.05.
With respect to claim 6, the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 do not explicitly teach that the C is 0.7wt%, the Mn is 0.45wt%, the Mo is 4wt%, or the W is 7wt%.
However, the claimed composition differs from the composition taught by the modified teachings of Lu ‘409 only in the concentrations of C, Mn, Mo, and W, and it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukubayashi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0226843, hereafter Fukubayashi ‘843).
Fukubayashi ‘843 teaches a laser cladding process (abstract) using argon gas to protect a melt pool ([0075]) and feeding powder at a feed rate ([0044]). Fukubayashi ‘843 teaches that the laser power density affects its ability to rapidly melt the cladding material and heat the surface ([0039]), that the feed channel overlap affects uniformity of the formed coating ([0073]).
With respect to claim 7, Fukubayashi ‘843 does not explicitly teach that the laser power density is 100-150 W/mm2. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the laser power density in the laser cladding process taught by Fukubayashi ‘843 because the laser power density affects its ability to rapidly melt the cladding material and heat the surface, as taught by Fukubayashi ‘843. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
With respect to claim 7, Fukubayashi ‘843 does not explicitly teach that the multi-channel overlap ratio is 30-50%. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the multi-channel overlap ratio in the laser cladding process taught by Fukubayashi ‘843 because the feed channel overlap affects uniformity of the formed coating, as taught by Fukubayashi ‘843. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
Conclusion
/BG/
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713