DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a National Stage of International application No. PCT/US2023/070435 (filed 07/18/2023), which claims the benefits of US Provisional Application No. 63/390,074 (filed 07/18/2022).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the text ‘in contact with the cornea is changed continuously without manipulating the cornea’ was not lined through in h).
Claims 4 and 10 have a space before the period at the end of the sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, the limitation ‘100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration’ is being interpreted as 100% of the concentration of cryoprotectant in a final solution; e.g. 100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration in a final solution comprising 10% DMSO would be 10%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-10: Claim 1 includes the limitation ‘in contact with the cornea is changed continuously without manipulating the cornea’ at the end of the claim. This limitation was previously part of h) which has been lined through up to the quoted text. It is unclear if this limitation should have been lined through and cancelled along with the rest of h) or whether this limitation should be examined. Additionally, it is unclear what is ‘in contact with the cornea.’ Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 without further clarifying whether the limitation should be included and are thus indefinite. For purposes of compact prosecution, for comparison to prior art, this limitation is being interpreted as being cancelled along with the rest of h).
Further regarding claim 10: Claim 10 recites the limitation ‘the concentration of cryoprotectant in contact with the cornea is changed continuously without manipulating the cornea.’ The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the term ‘manipulation’ includes changing, altering, or influencing the cornea (See Ruble (SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods; 2017), first paragraph). Thus, bringing a cryoprotectant in contact with a cornea would be considered manipulating the cornea under the BRI of the term manipulating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodriguez-Fernandez et al (Int. J. Molecular Sciences, 2021).
Rodriguez-Fernandez et al compares four vitrification protocols for cornea cryopreservation (See abstract). The corneas were obtained from cadaveric human donors (See Sec. 4.1 Corneal Samples). The protocols are referred to as tectonic keratoplasties (TK) protocol, aortic valve (AV) protocol, VS55, and DP6. The TK protocol and AV protocol include addition of cryoprotective agents (CPAs) in three steps (See Table 2). The first Cryoprotectant solutions (CS) contains 2% DMSO, the second CS contains 4% DMSO and the third CS contains 7% DMSO (See Table 2). The corneas were transferred from the CS with a lower concentration of DMSO to the next CS with a higher concentration of DMSO in intervals of 3 min (See Sec. 4.3 Addition of Cryoprotectant Agents and the Cooling Process). Samples in the third CS were cooled and shaken on ice for 10 min prior to freezing (See Sec. 4.3 Addition of Cryoprotectant Agents and the Cooling Process). For the VS55 and DP6 protocols, corneas were deposited in a precooled cryovial and cold CS was added drop-by-drop (See Sec. 4.3 Addition of Cryoprotectant Agents and the Cooling Process). The cryovials were then transferred to cold isopentane and maintained for 10 min prior to transferring the cryovials to liquid nitrogen for storage (See Sec. 4.3 Addition of Cryoprotectant Agents and the Cooling Process).
Rodriguez-Fernandez further discloses thawing protocols for the samples. Thawing of TK protocol corneas included steps of immersing the corneas consecutively in three cold wash solutions of 20% albumin at 5 min intervals. For AV, VS55, and DP6 protocols, cryoprotectant media were eliminated using progressive dilution with cold sale buffer at 5 min intervals until the cornea remained only in wash solution (See Sec. 4.4 Warming Process and the removal of Cryoprotectant Agents).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 7: Rodriguez-Fernandez discloses TK and AV vitrification protocols for corneal cryopreservation which reads on a method for cryopreserving a cornea by vitrification. The corneas used by Rodriguez-Fernandez were obtained from human cadavers which reads on the corneas are human corneas. The TK and AV protocols comprise steps of immersing corneas in a first CS, a second CS, and a third CS in three minute intervals. The first CS has 2% DMSO, the second CS has 4% DMSO, and the third CS has 7% DMSO (reads on 100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration). Thus, the TK and AV protocols of Rodriguez-Fernandez comprising placing the cornea in a cryoprotectant solution and increasing the cryoprotectant concentration in the solution surrounding the cornea from 0% the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification to 100% the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification. Given that the CS are changed in three minute intervals, the corneas would be transferred to the third CS after approximately 6 min which reads on increasing to 100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification in 0-25 min and 5-15 min.
Regarding claim 8: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Rodriguez-Fernandez discloses corneas in the third CS were cooled and shaken on ice for 10 min prior to freezing which reads on maintaining the cornea in a solution containing 100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification for 10-30 min before vitrification.
Regarding claim 9: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Fernandez-Rodriguez et al discloses thawing the corneas cryopreserved using the TK protocol. The thawing method includes steps of immersing the corneas consecutively in three cold wash solutions of 20% albumin at 5 min intervals. Fernandez-Rodriguez does not disclose the wash solution comprises CPAs. Thus, the first was of Rodriguez-Fernandez et al would result in the solution surrounding the cornea having 0% of the target cryoprotectant concentration and would be achieved in 1 step in 0-25 minutes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkins et al (US5518878A).
Wilkins et al discloses a method for vitrifying a cornea equivalent comprising serially immersing the cornea equivalent in a series of cryoprotectant solutions (See claim 1). The method comprises steps of (a) immersing the cornea equivalent in a first cryoprotectant solution having a concentration of 15-35% cryoprotectant, at room temperature for 10-20 min; (b) immersing the cornea equivalent from step (a) in a second cryoprotectant solution having a concentration of 40-60% cryoprotectant solution at a temperature 10° to -2°C for a period of 10-20 min; (c) immersing the cornea equivalent of (b) in a third cryoprotectant solution having a concentration of 100% cryoprotectant solution at a temperature of -10° C to -30° C for 10-20 minutes; (d) cooling the cornea equivalent of step (c) at a rate of -10° C per minute or faster to a temperature at or below -110° C; and (e) storing the vitrified cornea equivalent at or below -110° C (See claim 3). Wilkins et al further discloses a method of thawing the cryopreserved cornea equivalent comprising warming the cornea equivalent at a high rate so that the tissue is thawed in about 1 to 3 seconds (See col. 6 lns 4-13). The cryoprotectant solution is then removed from the thawed tissue within about 15 minutes of thawing by replacing the cryoprotectant solution with an isotonic buffer (See Col 6. Lns 14-21). In an exemplary embodiment, thawing comprises submerging tissue into a 50% first solution with 1M sucrose for 15 min, transferring 25% first solution with 1 M sucrose for 5 min, then replacing the solution with DMEM with 1M sucrose (See Col. 8, lns 10-16).
Regarding claims 1 and 2: Wilkins et al discloses a method of vitrifying a cornea equivalent which reads on a method for cryopreserving a bioartificial cornea by vitrification. The method of Wilkins et al comprises serially immersing the cornea equivalent in a series of cryoprotectant solutions with the final solution having a concentration of 100% cryoprotectant solution which reads on placing the cornea in a cryoprotectant solution and increasing the cryoprotectant concentration in the solution surrounding the cornea from 0% of the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification to 100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification. The method of Wilkins et al comprises immersing the cornea equivalent in a first cryoprotectant solution for 10-20 min, transferring the cornea equivalent to a second cryoprotectant solution for 10-20 min, then transferring to a third cryoprotectant solution comprising 100% cryoprotectant (reads on increasing the cryoprotectant concentration in 3 steps). Thus the cornea equivalent starts at 0% cryoprotectant and is in a first solution for 10-20 min and a second solution for 10-20 min before being transferred to the third solution which comprises 100% cryoprotectant. Because Wilkins et al discloses ranges that can be as long as 40 min before transferring to the 100% cryoprotectant solution, Wilkins et al cannot be held to anticipate the claims which require the cornea to be placed in the 100% cryoprotectant solution within 25 min. However, based on the teachings of Wilkins et al it would have been prima facie obvious to maintain the cornea equivalent in the first solution for as few as 10 min, transfer to the second solution and maintain for as few as 10 minutes, then transfer to the third solution comprising the 100% target cryoprotectant. Thus, the cornea equivalent would go from 0% target cryoprotectant to 100% target cryoprotectant in about 20 min. These lower range values are taught by Wilkins et al, and thus are considered obvious based on a teaching in the prior art. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that they are within the time ranges disclosed as suitable by Wilkins et al.
Regarding claim 8: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Wilkins discloses maintain the cornea equivalent in the third solution, which comprises 100% cryoprotectant for 10-20 minutes prior to vitrification which renders obvious 10-30 min.
Regarding claim 9: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Wilkins discloses a thawing method comprising steps of removing the cryoprotectant solution. Wilkins teaches the solution should be removed within 15 min of thawing. In an exemplary embodiment the solution is removed in three steps. The exemplary method comprises immersing in solution comprising 50% of the first cryopreservation solution + 1 M sucrose for 15 min, then immersing in 25% of the first cryopreservation solution + 1 M sucrose for 5 min, then immersing in a solution comprising DMEM +1M sucrose. Thus the exemplary method reduces the concentration from 100% cryoprotectant to 0% cryoprotectant in 20 min which reads on 0-25 min.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez-Fernandez et al (Int. J. Molecular Sciences, 2021) in view of Lai et al (Hum. Reprod., 2014).
The teachings of Rodriguez-Fernandez et al are set forth above.
Rodriguez-Fernandez et al anticipates claims 1-2 and 7-9.
Further regarding claims 1 and claims 3-8: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Rodriguez-Fernandez et al further discloses vitrification protocols VS55 and DP6. Corneas cryopreserved using VS55 and DP6 comprise steps of depositing a cornea in a precooled cryovial and adding cold CS drop-by-drop which reads on increasing the cryoprotectant concentration continuously. The cryovials were then transferred to cold isopentane and maintained for 10 min prior to transferring the cryovials to liquid nitrogen for storage which reads maintain the cornea in a solution containing said 100% of the target cryoprotectant concentration for vitrification for 10-30 min before vitrification (i.e. claim 8).
Rodriguez-Fernandez et al does not disclose the VS55 and DP6 protocols reach 100% target concentration of cryoprotectant in 0-25 min.
Lai et al teaches a major concern in cryobiology is the potentially lethal mechanical stresses that cells experience as they are exposed to high osmolarity solutions that promote exchange of intracellular water with CPAs (See Sec. Introduction). Introducing a sufficient amount of CPA into the cell is critical to avoid ice formation. However, it is also important to avoid excess CPA exposure time and concentrations as the chemicals are inherently toxic to cells (See Sec. Discussion). This confounding factor gives rise to the desire to decrease exposure time to reduce toxicity effects which directly conflicts with the desire to increase exposure time to reduce osmotic stress (See Sec. Discussion). CPAs should therefore be added gradually to allow cell volume re-expansions through CPA permeation into the cell (See Sec. Discussion).
Given that Rodriguez-Fernandez et al discloses a method vitrification method comprising addition of a CS solution comprising CPAs and Lai et al teaches it is desirable to decrease exposure time of CPAs in order to reduce cell toxicity but also desirable to increase exposure time to reduce osmotic stress on cells, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the length of time required to reach the 100% target cryoprotectant solution, and arrive at the claimed ranges of 0-25 min, 8-12 min, and 5-15 min through routine experimentation in any of the vitrification protocols disclosed by Rodriguez-Fernandez et al. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP2144.05(II)
Claims 1-2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez-Fernandez et al (Int. J. Molecular Sciences, 2021) in view of Puschmann et al (CryoLetters, 2014) and Corning (40 µm Cell Strainer page, 2021).
The teachings of Rodriguez-Fernandez et al are set forth above.
Rodriguez-Fernandez et al anticipates claims 1-2 and 7-9.
Regarding claim 10: Following the discussion of claim 1 above, Rodriguez-Fernandez et al discloses TK and AV vitrification protocols which comprise steps of immersing corneas in three solutions comprising increasing concentrations of DMSO.
Rodriguez-Fernandez et al does not disclose the cornea is manipulated during the method comprising a manipulation means comprising a ring and a suspension means for the ring.
Puschmann et al teaches that vitrification methods comprising steps of transferring a samples from lower CPA concentrations to higher CPA concentrations by transferring samples in a cell strainer between wells of 6 well plates wherein each 6 well plate has a solution comprising a higher CPA concentration (See Fig. 3). The cell strainers of Puschmann et al are round and thus read on a manipulation means comprising a ring. Having the solutions ready in the 6 well plates allows all the plates to be cooled to the optimal temperature prior to transferring the samples (See Sec. LT Set-up 1-sample transfer between different containers during cooling and Fig. 3).
Corning teaches that at the time the instant invention was made, cell strainers comprising a lip (reads on a suspension means for the ring) for aseptic handling with forceps were commercially available.
Given that Rodriguez-Fernandes et al teaches a vitrification method comprising transferring samples to solutions with higher CPA concentrations and Puschmann et al teaches using a cell strainer to transfer samples between 6 well plates comprising solutions with increasing CPA concentrations allows for the solutions to be pre-cooled, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of Rodriguez-Fernandez et al by using a cell strainer to transfer the cornea between the different solutions which reads on manipulating by means of a manipulation means comprising a ring. One would have been motivated to use a cell strainer to transfer the cornea between solutions in the method of Rodriguez-Fernandez et al because Puschmann et al teaches using a cell strainer permits for the samples to be transferred between 6 well plates comprising pre-cooled vitrification solutions with higher concentrations. There is a reasonable expectation of success because both methods teach transferring a sample between solutions with increasing CPA concentrations.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to use a cell strainer comprising a lip, as sold by Corning, in order to aseptically transfer the samples. One would have been motivated to use a cell strainer comprising a lip in order to aseptically transfer the samples between solutions. There is a reasonable expectation of success because cell strainers comprising rings were commercially available.
Conclusion
/MARISOL ANN O'NEILL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633