DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/28/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizaki (WO 2015046015 A1; See English Machine Translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizaki teaches a chemical mechanical polishing cleaning (abstract) solution, comprising, of a strong base (page 7, paragraphs 1-2); 5-30 parts of a weak base (page 7, first paragraph); 0.5-3 parts of a cellulose derivative (page 6, last paragraph); 0.5-2 parts of a chitin derivative (page 8); and 70-95 parts of ultrapure water (page 10, last paragraph).
The recitation of “a post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning (abstract) solution of semiconductor chips” has not been given significant patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure or product, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural/product limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, Yoshizak meets the claimed limitations.
Yoshizaki fails to specifically teach the concentrations of the compositions However, the concentration of the chemical compositions is a result effective variable. The concentrations affect the polishing and cleaning effectiveness. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate concentration of the compositions for the predictable result of effectively polishing and cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration such that it has parts by mass: 5-20 parts of a strong base; 5-30 parts of a weak base; 0.5-3 parts of a cellulose derivative; 0.5-2 parts of a chitin derivative; and 70-95 parts of ultrapure water in order to effectively polish and clean. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the strong base is one or more of an organic strong base and an inorganic strong base (page 7, paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the weak base is an organic alcohol amine (page 7, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the cellulose derivative is one or more of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid, levulinic acid, and 5-aminolevulinic acid (page 6, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the cellulose derivative is 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid and 5- aminolevulinic acid (page 6, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the chitin derivative is one or more of chitosan oligosaccharide, carboxymethyl chitosan, N-acetyl glucose, glucosamine, and carboxymethyl glucosamine (page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the chitin derivative comprises a component A and a component B, wherein the component A is one or more of a chitosan oligosaccharide and a carboxymethyl chitosan (page 8); and the B component is one or more of N-acetyl glucose, glucosamine, and carboxymethyl glucosamine (page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshizaki teaches a method for preparing a chemical mechanical polishing cleaning solution (abstract), comprising: adding a strong base (page 7, paragraphs 1-2) and a weak base (page 7, first paragraph) to ultrapure water (page 10, last paragraph), and mixing uniformly, to obtain a mixture (page 3, second to last paragraph and page 12, third to las paragraph), and adding a cellulose derivative (page 6, last paragraph) and a chitin derivative into the mixture (page 8), and mixing uniformly (page 3, second to last paragraph and page 12, third to las paragraph), to prepare the post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning solution (abstract).
The recitation of “a post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning (abstract) solution of semiconductor chips” has not been given significant patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure or product, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural/product limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, Yoshizak meets the claimed limitations.
Yoshizaki fails to specifically teach the concentrations of the compositions However, the concentration of the chemical compositions is a result effective variable. The concentrations affect the polishing and cleaning effectiveness. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate concentration of the compositions for the predictable result of effectively polishing and cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration such that it has parts by mass: 5-20 parts of a strong base; 5-30 parts of a weak base; 0.5-3 parts of a cellulose derivative; 0.5-2 parts of a chitin derivative; and 70-95 parts of ultrapure water in order to effectively polish and clean. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the organic strong base is a quaternary ammonium hydroxide (page 7, paragraphs 1-2), and the inorganic strong base is one or more of potassium hydroxide and cesium hydroxide (page 7, paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the quaternary ammonium hydroxide is one or more of tetramethyl ammonium hydroxide, tetraethyl ammonium hydroxide, tetrapropyl ammonium hydroxide, tetrabutyl ammonium hydroxide, dimethyldiethyl ammonium hydroxide,
(2-hydroxyethyl)trimethyl ammonium hydroxide, and tris(2-hydroxyethyl)-methyl ammonium hydroxide (page 7, paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshizaki teaches wherein the organic alcohol amine is one or more of monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, N-methyl ethanolamine, N,N-dimethyl ethanolamine, N-ethyl ethanolamine, N-phenyl ethanolamine, N-methyl diethanolamine, isopropanolamine, triisopropanolamine, and diglycolamine (page 7, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshizaki fails to teach wherein a mass ratio of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid to 5-aminolevulinic acid is 4:1-1:4. However, the concentration of the chemical compositions is a result effective variable. The concentrations affect the polishing and cleaning effectiveness. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate concentration of the compositions for the predictable result of effectively polishing and cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration such wherein a mass ratio of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid to 5-aminolevulinic acid is 4:1-1:4 in order to effectively polish and clean. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshizaki fails to teach wherein a mass ratio of the component A to the component B is 3:1-1:3. However, the concentration of the chemical compositions is a result effective variable. The concentrations affect the polishing and cleaning effectiveness. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate concentration of the compositions for the predictable result of effectively polishing and cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration such that a mass ratio of the component A to the component B is 3:1-1:3 in order to effectively polish and clean. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109988675 A; See English Machine Translation provided by applicant) and further in view of Yoshizaki (WO 2015046015 A1; See English Machine Translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches use a method of cleaning semiconductor chips with a post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning solution for copper in cleaning semiconductor chips (abstact), wherein the post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning solution comprises, parts by mass: a strong base (pages 2-5): a weak base (pages 2-5); ultrapure water (page 5). Wang fails to teach a cellulose derivative a chitin derivative.
Yoshizaki teaches a chemical mechanical polishing cleaning (abstract) solution, comprising, of a strong base (page 7, paragraphs 1-2); a weak base (page 7, first paragraph); a cellulose derivative (page 6, last paragraph); a chitin derivative (page 8); and ultrapure water (page 10, last paragraph) in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang such that it includes a cellulose derivative a chitin derivative as taught by Yoshizaki in order to achieve the predictable result of cleaning.
Yoshizaki fails to specifically teach the concentrations of the compositions However, the concentration of the chemical compositions is a result effective variable. The concentrations affect the polishing and cleaning effectiveness. Without evidence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the appropriate concentration of the compositions for the predictable result of effectively polishing and cleaning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration such that it has parts by mass: 5-20 parts of a strong base; 5-30 parts of a weak base; 0.5-3 parts of a cellulose derivative; 0.5-2 parts of a chitin derivative; and 70-95 parts of ultrapure water in order to effectively polish and clean. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 10, the present combination of Wang and Yoshizaki teaches immersing a post-CMP Cu wafer in the post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning solution of semiconductor chips at room temperature or spraying the post- chemical mechanical polishing cleaning solution of semiconductor chips onto the post- CMP Cu wafer (page 11 of Wang); rinsing the immersed Cu wafer or the sprayed Cu wafer with ultrapure water (page 11 of Wang), and drying with high-purity nitrogen to finish cleaning of the post-CMP Cu wafer (page 11 of Wang).
Conclusion
/P.P/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714