DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“examination units” in claim 1.
“feedback system” in claim 5
“non-contact reflective acoustic units” in claim 8
“noise handling mechanism” in claim 16
“an examination module” in claim 23
“battery source voltage level measurement module” in claim 25.
“examination unit/module” will be interpreted as “one or more heat based sensors, one or more acoustic sensors, one or more photo optic sensors and one or more motion sensors.” per claim 7
“feedback system” does not have a disclosed equivalent
“non-contact reflective acoustic unit” does not have a disclosed equivalent
“noise handling mechanism” does not have a disclosed equivalent
“battery source voltage level measurement module” does not have a disclosed equivalent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 16, 14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 discloses “a feedback system”, but applicant’s disclosure does not provide a corresponding structure for the feedback system. Per page 8 lines 15-17 of the specification “the one or more motion sensors are configured to evaluate the accuracy of the readings and to give feedback and guidance to the user for accurate measurement.” However, the disclosure does not explicitly state or imply that the feedback system is the motion sensors, and it further unclear how the motion sensor would exclusively communicate feedback to a user.
Claim 8 discloses a “non-contact reflective acoustic units” but applicant’s disclosure does not provide support for said units. Page 3 line 7 and page 8 line 4 repeat the claim without further providing a structure for the unit or a method by which the unit cancels external noise, such as a digital or physical filter.
Claim 14 states “to measure change of position of the animal over time to yield physical parameters.”. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide support as to how the change of position is converted to a physical parameter or provide particular physical parameters that may be derived. Page 8 lines 19-20 of the specification repeats the claim limitation without providing further detail.
Claim 16 recites “ a noise handling mechanism”. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide a structure for said mechanism. Page 3 line 21 and page 8 lines 23-24 of the specification merely repeats the limitation.
Claim 25 recites “ a battery source voltage level measurement module”. Applicant’s disclosure does not provide a structure for said module. Page 14 lines 7-8 of the specification merely repeats the limitation.
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-18, 20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “feedback system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Per page 8 lines 15-17 of the specification “the one or more motion sensors are configured to evaluate the accuracy of the readings and to give feedback and guidance to the user for accurate measurement.” However, the disclosure does not explicitly state or imply that the feedback system is the motion sensors, and it further unclear how the motion sensor would communicate feedback to a user. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “non-contact reflective acoustic units” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Page 3 line 7 and page 8 line 4 repeat the claim without further providing a structure for the unit or a method by which the unit cancels external noise, such as a digital or physical filter.
Claim limitation “feedback system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Per page 8 lines 15-17 of the specification “the one or more motion sensors are configured to evaluate the accuracy of the readings and to give feedback and guidance to the user for accurate measurement.” However, the disclosure does not explicitly state or imply that the feedback system is the motion sensors, and it further unclear how the motion sensor would communicate feedback to a user. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “noise handling mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Page 3 and page 8 of the specification repeats the claim without further providing a structure for the unit or a method by which the unit cancels external noise, such as a digital or physical filter. .
Claim limitation “a battery source voltage level measurement module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Page 14 lines 7-8 merely repeat the claim limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “non-contact reflective acoustic units” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Page 3 line 7 and page 8 line 4 repeat the claim without further providing a structure for the unit or a method by which the unit cancels external noise, such as a digital or physical filter.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The term “essential” in claims 1, 2, 17, 22, and 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essential” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, “essential” renders the subsequent “vital” indefinite, as it is unclear what qualifies as an essential versus unessential vital.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “further comprises a noise handling mechanism to obtain pure data for heart rate.”. It is unclear what “pure data for heart rate” refers to or how the mechanism obtains it. For example, it is unclear if pure data refers to unfiltered data or data that has been filtered to remove artifacts and is thus “pure”. The specification further does not provide a definition.
Claims 2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-15, 18, 20, and 24 are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 13-18, 20, 22-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schab et al. (US 20180263220 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schab discloses a health and wellness system for an animal (title), the health and wellness system comprising: a portable examination device configured to perform one or more aspects of examination of the animal in a non-invasive manner ([0071]: " a wearable MASNS noninvasively attached to an animal that can relay a notification to caretakers—when signs of distress and other serious conditions that require immediate intervention are identified"), the portable examination device comprising one or more examination units for obtaining and recording essential vitals of the animal by a user ([0072]: "a multiplex set of sensors for measuring biometrics, monitoring biologic functions, evaluating posture and motion patterns"); and a processing unit for storing and managing data corresponding to the essential vitals and medical information of the animal ([0072]: "a computational processor for real-time analysis of all sensor inputs to identify, differentiate, and validate specific states and behaviors of an animal;").
Regarding claim 2, Schab discloses wherein the essential vitals comprise one or more of core body temperature of the animal, heart auscultations, lung auscultations as well as pulse and oxygen saturation ([0090]: " monitoring the temperature of an animal using a thermal infrared sensor").
Regarding claim 4, Schab discloses a silicon stencil ([0336]: “, inner liner 110 is formed from silicon, rubber,”) to correctly position the portable examination device on the body of the animal and obtain heart and lung auscultations at different positions ([0164]: “, articulation of the exoskeleton over a range of sizes and geometries to accommodate wearing of the exoskeleton about the neck, leg, or arm of a range of animals. The enclosure can be received within a collar, halter, or other wearable structure. In some embodiments, the exoskeleton is tapered at one or both ends thereof to facilitate insertion into a carrier, such as a collar or halter worn by the animal”, wherein the device is guided into position by the exoskeleton/harness).
Regarding claim 5, Schab further discloses a feedback system for providing feedback about correctness of data acquired by the portable examination device to the user ([0319]: " an UWB-IR sensor to detect the proximity of the target subject animal, where proximity information is used to enable and/or disable systemic functionality and/or provide user feedback.").
Regarding claim 7, Schab discloses wherein the one or more examination units of the portable examination device comprise one or more heat based sensors, one or more acoustic sensors, one or more photo optic sensors and one or more motion sensors ([0073]: "Various MASNS embodiments may contain any combination of an ultrawide band-impulse radar (“UWB-IR”), a thermal infrared sensor (“TIRS”), a microphone, a 3-axis accelerometer, a 3-axis gyroscope, a 3-axis magnetometer, a single-axis barometric pressure sensor, an optical light sensor, and a location sensor (e.g., GPS, WiFi or cellular triangulation).").
Regarding claim 8, Schab discloses wherein the one or more acoustic sensors are mounted on a first wall of the portable examination device and is configured to sense sound from heart and lung area of the animal ([0282]: “the horse's respiratory rate (normal range of about 8-16 breaths per minute) is monitored through the use of an UWB-IR and a microphone;”) and wherein the one or more acoustic sensors comprise non-contact reflective acoustic units that are configured to cancel external noise while recording the heart and lung sounds ([0290]: “Thus, a reduction of the number of variables in data is from 256 to 8. PCA generates orthogonal principle components that have similar variance. Thus, the PCA keeps important information and removes the noise component from the signal in a compact form”).
Regarding claim 10, Schab discloses wherein the one or more heat based sensors comprise temperature sensors having one of infrared (IR) temperature sensors to calculate the core body temperature of the animal ([0090]: " monitoring the temperature of an animal using a thermal infrared sensor", [0323]: “core body temperatures”).
Regarding claim 13, Schab discloses wherein the one or more motion sensors are configured to evaluate the accuracy of the readings and to give feedback and guidance to the user for accurate measurement ([0319]: “where proximity information is used to enable and/or disable systemic functionality and/or provide user feedback.”).
Regarding claim 14, Schab discloses wherein the one or more motion sensors comprise spatial motion sensors having a processing engine to measure change of position of the animal over time to yield physical parameters ([0304]: “The MASNS uses mathematical models to identify behavior patterns in data from one or more accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer, and barometric pressure sensor. The mathematical models are generated using one or many ML techniques. These one or many ML techniques enable AI for the MASNS, where AI provides algorithmic paradigms to assist in the identification of behavior patterns. The models used by the MASNS are generated using supervised and re-enforcement ML methods.”), [0234]: “Many of these physical movements/actions indicating a potential colic are observable through the use of the multi-axis motion sensor coupled with or without other motion sensors.”)
Regarding claim 15, Schab discloses a filtering circuitry to capture heart and lung auscultations of the animal ([0289] :“The respiratory and heart rates are determined by analyzing data provided by an UWB-IR. Respiratory rate and heart rate algorithm flow charts are illustrated in FIG. 19 and FIG. 20 respectively. The UWB-IR provides times of flight of radio frequency signal for a specific range. FIG. 21A shows one reading of an UWB-IR sensor.”).
Regarding claim 16, Schab discloses a noise handling mechanism to obtain pure data for heart rate ([0289]: “The respiratory and heart rates are determined by analyzing data provided by an UWB-IR”).
Regarding claim 17, Schab discloses wherein the processing unit comprises a pet data repository for storing data corresponding to the essential vitals of the animal recorded by the portable examination device ([0312]: “The MASNS maintains a historical record of past sensor data for each individual animal, which—after a specified period of time—can be fed back into the data analysis system in order to tailor acceptable limits of the various data parameters being monitored.”), storing medical history and other related information of the animal, and a management system for managing the data of the animal ([0158]: “or other authorized user can remotely query the MASNS device and receive, via a visual dashboard from a computer, tablet, or smart phone, real-time and historical metrics on data acquired.”).
Regarding claim 18, Schab discloses wherein the processing unit further comprises a pet owner module and a veterinarian module connected with each other ([0072]: “and a wireless transceiver for bidirectional communications to transmit notifications to a caretake.”), wherein the pet owner module comprises a memory unit and a processor embedded in the medical examination device ([0174]: “, electronic module(s) with microcontroller(s) and microprocessor(s),”), and wherein the veterinarian module comprises a trained reference medical data repository ([0306] In some embodiments, cameras are used in controlled environments to record video of subject animals using the MASNS. The MASNS does not require cameras, but utilizes them in controlled environments to accumulate a training set for the ML algorithms. Experts use the videos, time intervals from the NED algorithm, and data from one or more accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer, and barometric pressure sensor to label time intervals. The labeled datasets are used to build a training set to define models for one or more targeted behavior patterns.)
Regarding claim 20, Schab discloses wherein each of the pet owner module and the veterinarian module comprises a video streaming module for enabling video streaming of the user with a medical professional. ([0306] In some embodiments, cameras are used in controlled environments to record video of subject animals using the MASNS)
Regarding claim 22, Schab discloses ,wherein the processing unit comprises a first interface for the user that provides generic health of the pet with an alert system to enable the user to connect with a medical professional ([0330]: “In one embodiment, the information (including real-time data) gathered by the MASNS can be streamed, or otherwise transmitted to, and displayed on, a remote device.”) and a second interface for the medical professional that provides real time data about the animal on all the essential vitals ([0158]: “If the system determines that the animal is experiencing distress during this analysis phase, the MASNS will proceed to the notification phase and send a wireless signal to a central computing station where a pre-defined cascading communication protocol will be executed to notify the animal's caretaker(s) of their distress state and location for intervention. At any point the caretaker(s) or other authorized user can remotely query the MASNS device and receive, via a visual dashboard from a computer, tablet, or smart phone, real-time and historical metrics on data acquired”)
Regarding claim 23, Schab discloses a health and wellness system for an animal (title) comprising: an examination module configured to capture sensor data corresponding to essential vitals of the animal from one or more sensors ([0072]: "a multiplex set of sensors for measuring biometrics, monitoring biologic functions, evaluating posture and motion patterns"); a pet data repository for storing sensor data ([0312]: “maintains a historical record of past sensor data for each individual animal”); a microcontroller configured to obtain the sensor data as input and process ([0174]: “The microprocessor is programmed to analyze and control the functions of the electronic components in the MASNS device”); and a wireless fidelity based high speed radio module configured for direct data communication with a remote cloud server ([0330]: “the information (including real-time data) gathered by the MASNS can be streamed, or otherwise transmitted to, and displayed on, a remote device. At any time the user may query the MASNS through the wireless network. Once queried, the MASNS can transmit records of the data parameters monitored by the MASNS to user's remote device, including but not limited to, a computer, a tablet, and a smart phone. This feature allows a user to conveniently check on the status of any animal being monitored in a real-time fashion from a remote location,”).
Regarding claim 25, Schab discloses further comprises a battery source voltage level measurement module configured to measure the voltage level of the battery source ([0169]: “In some embodiments, an LED or other indicator is visible through the liner or on the exoskeleton to provide the user with a status indicator or the device function, alert level, battery level”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schab in view of Ecosoph GMBH (DE 202020103476 U1).
Regarding claim 11, Schab discloses wherein the one or more temperature sensors are mounted on a side wall of the portable examination device ([0338]: “Various components may be housed within different segments 102 of the exoskeleton and portions of liner 110. For example, a process may be located in one segment, a first sensor in another segment, a second sensor in another segment, and a battery in still another segment.” Fig 28 element 102). Schab fails to disclose wherein the one or more temperature sensors are configured to obtain temperature reading of the animal merely by getting in contact with anal verge area of the animal
Ecosoph GMBH discloses wherein the one or more temperature sensors ([0011]: “The sensor values that can be measured include…body temperature,”) are configured to obtain temperature reading of the animal merely by getting in contact with anal verge area of the animal ([0029]: “The sensors can be placed on the neck, ear, under the skin on the neck, in the stomach, on the abdomen above the skin, in the vagina, in the anus, or on the leg”).
As Schab discloses the device may be placed in multiple locations ([0164]: “articulation of the exoskeleton over a range of sizes and geometries to accommodate wearing of the exoskeleton about the neck, leg, or arm of a range of animals. The enclosure can be received within a collar, halter, or other wearable structure”), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device disclosed by Schab to include placement in the anal verge area as disclosed by Ecosoph GMBH in order to obtain measurements in a more acceptable location to the animal or expand the relevancy of the data acquired (Ecosoph GMBH [0013]).
Claim(s) 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schab in view of Jumbe et al. (US 20250271896 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Schab discloses the system as claimed in claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the one or more photo optic sensors comprise a foldable SPO2 measurement unit having a foldable SPO2 measurement member for measuring SPO2 readings of the animal merely by contacting the foldable SPO2 measurement member with one of lips of the animal.
Jumbe discloses wherein the one or more photo optic sensors comprise a foldable SPO2 measurement unit ([0008]: “provided sensor-based devices having a foldable configuration”) having a foldable SPO2 measurement member for measuring SPO2 readings of the animal merely by contacting the foldable SPO2 measurement ([0027]: “the first sensor comprises one or more of a vibroacoustic sensor, a PPG/SpO2 sensor”) member with one of lips of the animal ([0025]: “the enclosure has a configuration which is wearable by a user against or proximate a body part of the user and which is selected from one or more of… a mouth piece”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system disclosed by Schab to include the foldable spO2 sensor disclosed by Jumbe in order to reduce proximity to other sensors (Jumbe [0005]).
Regarding claim 24, Schab discloses the health and wellness system as claimed in claim 23 but fails to disclose wherein the pet data repository comprises a data storage system configured to store various data relating to the animal acquired by the one or more sensors and various medical data acquired during medical examination.
Jumbe discloses a data storage system configured to store various data relating to the animal acquired by the one or more sensors and various medical data acquired during medical examination ([0032]: “further comprises a storage unit communicatively connected to one or both of the first sensor and the second sensor for storing data collected by the one or both of the first sensor and the second sensor.”).
As Schab discloses storage of sensor data ([0312]: “The MASNS maintains a historical record of past sensor data for each individual animal”) but fails to specifically disclose a data storage system, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system disclosed by Schab to include the storage unit disclosed by Jumbe in order ensure retention of user data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Couse (US 20140267299 A1) – discloses a health and wellness system for an animal
/KAVYA SHOBANA BALAJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DEVIN B HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791