DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Weitnauer [US 20140378809 A1].
As per claim 1, Weitnauer teaches a heart rate detection system (Weitnauer Fig 1), comprising:
acquisition means for acquiring heartbeat data indicating a heartbeat of a person to be measured (Weitnauer Fig 1A item 31, Fig 2 step 114 ¶0029, radar data regarding heart rate is acquired) in each of a plurality of time windows based on a Doppler signal (Weitnauer Fig 5A, 5B temporal windows);
conversion means for converting respective pieces of the heartbeat data into frequency spectra (Weitnauer Fig 2 step 112, Fig 1A, . Item 28/33, ¶0029 “Method 110 may be performed by UWB sensing system 14 (e.g. by digital signal processing system 33 or digital signal processing system 33 in combination with controller 28”. Item 28/33 is equivalent component);
peak identification means for identifying peaks included in each of the frequency spectra (Weitnauer Fig 4, identifying frequency domain peaks (pa, pb…) at frequency locations (e.g. DFT bin). Item 28/33 is equivalent component);
peak tracking means for determining whether corresponding peaks are present in the frequency spectra (Weitnauer Fig 2 step 118-120, ¶0044, ¶0045 “discerning ascertaining local maxima (peaks) in frequency domain data 116” by thresholding process. Item 28/33 is equivalent component) relating to a predetermined number of consecutive time windows (Weitnauer Fig 2 step 112, Fig 4, 5A-5B, ¶0066-¶0070, DFT bins comprising the spectra and peaks are related to the “successive temporal windows”), the predetermined number being three or more (Weitnauer ¶0068 “block 210 comprises applying a DFT to each block 206 temporal window W1, W2, W3, . . . of time domain data...”); and
heart rate generation means for generating a heart rate of the person to be measured based on a result of the determination (Weitnauer Fig 2 step 124, ¶0057 “discerned harmonic(s) 120 to use for the purpose of determining heart rate estimate 124”. Item 28/33 is equivalent component).
As per claim 2, Weitnauer further teaches wherein the heart rate generation means is configured to generate, when the corresponding peaks are present in the frequency spectra relating to the predetermined number of consecutive time windows, the heart rate of the person to be measured based on at least some of the corresponding peaks (Weitnauer Fig 2 step 124 is performed when harmonics relating to HR is present. Further, ¶0091 “looping back to block 112 via path 111…method 110 may perform one iteration of method 110 and output a corresponding heart rate estimate 124 at a rate corresponding to once for each temporal offset t.sub.0. In such embodiments, each successive iteration of block 112 (e.g. method 200), input time domain data 114 may comprise a new available window W.sub.1, W.sub.2, W.sub.3...” each loop is another time window, where processing is performed for HR estimate).
As per claim 3, Weitnauer further teaches wherein the peak tracking means is configured to determine that the corresponding peaks are present when values of frequencies of peaks relating to temporally adjacent time windows are within a predetermined range (Weitnauer ¶0054 “ peak location fpeak may be considered to be approximately equal to fpeak =if where i=1, 2, 3 . . . if the location fpeak is within a suitable threshold window. In some embodiments, this threshold window may be set at i f.+-..α … Candidate paths that do not satisfy the harmonic test may be rejected and candidate paths that do satisfy the harmonic test may be retained as candidates for members of the heart rate harmonic set or discerned harmonic(s) 120.”)
As per claim 4, Weitnauer further teaches the peak tracking means is configured to determine that the corresponding peaks are present when all values of frequencies of peaks relating to the predetermined number of consecutive time windows are within a predetermined range (Weitnauer ¶0054 same as claim 3 above. Note I f =1f, 2f, 3f, etc.. implies all frequencies of concern).
As per claim 8, it is directed to method of claim 1 and is rejected for same reasons as above.
As per claim 9, Cho further teaches a non-transitory computer readable information storage medium storing a program (Weitnauer ¶0101).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. References cites in PTO are considered relevant to the claimed invention. None of references anticipate, amplitude ratio calculation means for calculating an amplitude ratio of a peak included in each of the frequency spectra to another peak, wherein the heart rate generation means is configured to generate the heart rate of the person to be measured further based on the amplitude ratio as in claim 1 or wherein the heart rate generation means includes means for calculating temporary heart rates corresponding to the respective time windows, and wherein the heart rate generation means is configured to avoid generating the heart rate of the person to be measured when the number of temporary heart rates that satisfy a predetermined criterion among the temporary heart rates calculated during a predetermined period is smaller than a predetermined number as in claim 7. Further, examiner does not find it obvious to modify references of record to show all these limitations in combination with the parent claims.
Conclusion
/Oommen Jacob/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797