DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 01/21/2025. The applicant submits one Information Disclosure Statement dated 01/21/2025. The applicant makes a claim to Domestic priority to an application filed on 07/26/2023. The applicant makes a claim to Foreign priority to an application filed on 07/29/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim has double the word “on”. Deletion of the second is requested. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental concept of evaluation without significantly more. The claims are evaluated under the 2019 Subject Matter Guidance and the MPEP. Example 37 of the 2019 guidance is the reference for the analysis.
STEP 1
The claims recite an apparatus and a method. Both independent claims identify one of the four statutory categories and therefore pass Step 1.
STEP 2A PRONG I
Independent claim 1 is reproduced below with claim elements identified as evaluated under the 2019 Guidance.
Claim 1
An apparatus comprising:
a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive audiovisual data, wherein the audiovisual data represents a scene; (pre-solution activity)
a first source, wherein the first source provides a vehicle motion signal, wherein the vehicle motion signal is indicative of a motion of a vehicle; (pre-solution activity)
a second source, wherein the second source provides a relative user motion signal, wherein the relative user motion signal is indicative of a motion of a user relative to the vehicle; (pre-solution activity)
a predictor circuit, wherein the predictor circuit is arranged to generate a predicted relative user motion signal by applying a prediction model to the vehicle motion signal; (abstract idea of a mental concept of evaluation)
a residual signal generator circuit, wherein the residual signal generator circuit is arranged to generate a residual user motion signal, wherein the residual user motion signal is indicative of at least a component of a difference between the relative user motion signal and the predicted relative user motion signal; (abstract idea of a mental concept of evaluation)
a view pose determiner circuit, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine a view pose based on the residual user motion signal and the predicted relative user motion signal; (abstract idea of a mental concept of evaluation) and
a renderer circuit, wherein the renderer circuit is arranged to render an audiovisual signal from the audiovisual data for the view pose. (post solution activity)
With respect to the MPEP section 2106.07 the overall inventive concept is maintaining proper display within a virtual reality display as the user is moving within a moving body. The clauses do not identify what data is collected regarding the movement of the vehicle or the orientation of the VR headset to identify a threshold of operation. The claim identifies generic structure in the pre and post solution features. Thus, the other functional operations may be performed in the mind as evaluating the status of the display relative to the surrounding environment. The dependent claims are further operations of evaluating but do not identify the specific data collected that requires a specific structure or performs calculations too complex for the human mind. Therefore, with respect to section 2106.04(a)(2(III) of the MPEP, the functional operations may be performed in the mind. The claims do not identify any operations so complex that the functions require a specific computer or the human mind cannot observe there is a discrepancy between what is displayed and the surrounding environment.
With respect to example 37 of the guidance, the independent and dependent claims do not comply with guidance by failing to identify the specific data collected to determine whether the display needs to be adjust for changes in the surrounding environment. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2A Prong I.
STEP 2A Prong II
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to satisfy MPEP 2106.04(d)(1,2). The claims fail to identify how the invention is new or an improvement in the art of virtual reality. The claims are so broad they fail to identify what data is specifically collected and how it is processed and then how the data is applied to the invention. The claims do not identify what is specifically measured in the vehicle or the person wearing the headset. The claims are just a general concept of aspirational results of the idea. With respect the 2019 Guidance, the claims fail to identify in the same manner as the failure of the requirements of the MPEP. The claims fail to identify how the result is achieved, how the data is collected, what data is collected, and what is implemented. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2A Prong II.
STEP 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims fail to satisfy the MPEP 2106.05(a-h). The claims do not identify how the evaluation is applied to satisfy the inventive concept. The claims do not identify how the displayed images are altered to comply with change in the environment surrounding the user. The claims fail to satisfy the 2019 Guidance by failing to be specific the structure used to collect the data, how the data is processed, and finally how the result is implemented in the structure to change the display. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson US 2023/0206781 in view of Foxlin US 5,645,077.
As per claim 1, An apparatus comprising:
a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive audiovisual data, wherein the audiovisual data represents a scene; (Robinson paragraph 0123 discloses, “the at least one may include one or more of a first visual data, a first audio data and a first haptic data.”)
a first source, wherein the first source provides a vehicle motion signal, wherein the vehicle motion signal is indicative of a motion of a vehicle; (Robinson paragraph 0145 discloses, “a first presentation sensor data corresponding to at least one first presentation sensor 828 associated with the first vehicle.”)
a second source, wherein the second source provides a relative user motion signal, wherein the relative user motion signal is indicative of a motion of a user relative to the vehicle; (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle.”)
a predictor circuit, wherein the predictor circuit is arranged to generate a predicted relative user motion signal by applying a prediction model to the vehicle motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43)
a residual signal generator circuit, wherein the residual signal generator circuit is arranged to generate a residual user motion signal, wherein the residual user motion signal is indicative of at least a component of a difference between the relative user motion signal and the predicted relative user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 13 lines 56 – 60)
a view pose determiner circuit, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine a view pose based on the residual user motion signal and the predicted relative user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6) and
a renderer circuit, wherein the renderer circuit is arranged to render an audiovisual signal from the audiovisual data for the view pose. (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle. Further, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one accelerometer sensor configured to monitor an uneven movement of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the prediction model comprises a temporal filtering of the vehicle motion signal. (Foxlin Col 13 lines 61 – 67 and Col 14 lines 1 – 8)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 3, The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the predictor circuit is arranged to apply a temporal filtering to the relative user motion signal so as to generate a filtered relative user motion signal, wherein the predictor circuit is arranged to apply a temporal filtering to the relative user motion signal so as to predict the predicted relative user motion signal based on the filtered relative user motion signal. (Foxlin Col 21 lines 62 – 67) and (Robinson paragraph 0303 discloses, “The data from the helmet and/or neck may be fused in such a way as to predict accurate head position and tracking (e.g., as described above). The historical tracking of the helmet's position may be used to predict a future position of the helmet. By understanding the direction, location, and forces being applied to the helmet, a near-future position (e.g., 50 ms, 100 ms, 1 sec) into the future may be made.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the prediction model comprises a biomechanical model. (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future. In some embodiments, along with transmitting data indicative of the position and orientation of various objects to each vehicle for display, the server may also send a plurality of future times and associated predicted positions and orientations for various objects as shown at 2204.”)
As per claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to apply a different weighting to the predicted relative user motion signal than to the residual user motion signal. (Foxlin Col 21 lines 19 – 27)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to apply a different temporal filtering to the predicted relative user motion signal than to the residual user motion signal. (Foxlin Col 21 lines 62 – 67) and (Robinson paragraph 0303 discloses, “The data from the helmet and/or neck may be fused in such a way as to predict accurate head position and tracking (e.g., as described above). The historical tracking of the helmet's position may be used to predict a future position of the helmet. By understanding the direction, location, and forces being applied to the helmet, a near-future position (e.g., 50 ms, 100 ms, 1 sec) into the future may be made.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine a first view pose contribution from the predicted relative user motion signal, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine a second view pose contribution from the residual user motion signal, and wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to generate the view pose by combining the first view pose contribution and the second view pose contribution. (Robinson paragraph 0182 discloses, “The sensor data may include data received from one or more internal sensors to track and localize the pilot's head within the cockpit of the aircraft. Further, the sensor data may include data received from one or more external sensors to track the position and orientation of the aircraft. Further, the data received from the one or more internal sensors and the one or more external sensors may be combined to provide a highly usable augmented reality solution in a fast-moving environment.”)
As per claim 8, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to extract a first motion component from the predicted relative user motion signal by attenuating temporal frequencies, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine the view pose to include a contribution from the first motion component. (Foxlin Col 21 lines 62 – 67) and (Robinson paragraph 0303 discloses, “The data from the helmet and/or neck may be fused in such a way as to predict accurate head position and tracking (e.g., as described above). The historical tracking of the helmet's position may be used to predict a future position of the helmet. By understanding the direction, location, and forces being applied to the helmet, a near-future position (e.g., 50 ms, 100 ms, 1 sec) into the future may be made.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 9, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to detect a user gesture motion component in the residual user motion signal, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to extract a first motion component from the residual user motion signal based on the user gesture motion component, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine the view pose to include a contribution from the user gesture motion component. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 13 lines 56 – 60)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 10, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the predictor circuit is arranged to determine the predicted relative user motion signal based on a correlation of the relative user motion signal and the vehicle motion signal. (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”)
As per claim 11, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the predicted relative user motion signal and the residual user motion signal is indictive of a plurality of pose components, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine the view pose based on on a first pose component of the plurality of pose components using a first dependency, wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine the view pose based on a second pose component of the plurality of pose components using a second dependency, wherein the first dependency is different from the second dependency. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 12, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive processing data, wherein the processing data is indicative of processing of at least one of the predicted relative user motion signal and the residual user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43)
wherein the view pose determiner circuit is arranged to determine the view pose in accordance with processing instructions of the processing data. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 13, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the predictor circuit is arranged to generate the predicted relative user motion signal based on the residual user motion signal. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 13 lines 56 – 60)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 14, A method comprising:
receiving audiovisual data, wherein the audiovisual data represents a scene; (Robinson paragraph 0123 discloses, “the at least one may include one or more of a first visual data, a first audio data and a first haptic data.”)
providing a vehicle motion signal, wherein the vehicle motion signal is indicative of a motion of a vehicle; (Robinson paragraph 0145 discloses, “a first presentation sensor data corresponding to at least one first presentation sensor 828 associated with the first vehicle.”)
providing a relative user motion signal, wherein the relative user motion signal is indicative of a motion of a user relative to the vehicle; (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle.”)
generating a predicted relative user motion signal by applying a prediction model to the vehicle motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43)
generating a residual user motion signal, wherein the residual user motion signal is indicative of at least a component of a difference between the relative user motion signal and the predicted relative user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 13 lines 56 – 60)
determining a view pose based on the residual user motion signal and the predicted relative user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6) and
rendering an audiovisual signal for the view pose from the audiovisual data. (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle. Further, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one accelerometer sensor configured to monitor an uneven movement of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 15, A computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 14. (Robinson paragraph 0259)
.As per claim 16, The method of claim 14, wherein the view pose depends on the use motion signal in a first manner, wherein the view pose depends on the predicted relative user motion signal in a second manner, wherein the first manner is different from the second manner. (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 17, The method of claim 14, wherein the prediction model comprises a temporal filtering of the vehicle motion signal. (Robinson paragraph 0201)
As per claim 18, The method of claim 16, further comprising: applying a temporal filtering to the relative user motion signal so as to generate a filtered relative user motion signal; and applying a temporal filtering to the relative user motion signal so as to predict the predicted relative user motion signal based on the filtered relative user motion signal. (Foxlin Col 21 lines 62 – 67) and (Robinson paragraph 0303 discloses, “The data from the helmet and/or neck may be fused in such a way as to predict accurate head position and tracking (e.g., as described above). The historical tracking of the helmet's position may be used to predict a future position of the helmet. By understanding the direction, location, and forces being applied to the helmet, a near-future position (e.g., 50 ms, 100 ms, 1 sec) into the future may be made.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 19, The method of claim 14, wherein the prediction model comprises a biomechanical model. (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future. In some embodiments, along with transmitting data indicative of the position and orientation of various objects to each vehicle for display, the server may also send a plurality of future times and associated predicted positions and orientations for various objects as shown at 2204.”)
As per claim 20, The method of claim 14, further comprising applying a different weighting to the predicted relative user motion signal than to the residual user motion signal. (Foxlin Col 21 lines 62 – 67) and (Robinson paragraph 0303 discloses, “The data from the helmet and/or neck may be fused in such a way as to predict accurate head position and tracking (e.g., as described above). The historical tracking of the helmet's position may be used to predict a future position of the helmet. By understanding the direction, location, and forces being applied to the helmet, a near-future position (e.g., 50 ms, 100 ms, 1 sec) into the future may be made.”)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 21, The method of claim 14, further comprising applying a different temporal filtering to the predicted relative user motion signal than to the residual user motion signal. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 22, The method of claim 14, further comprising:
determining a first view pose contribution from the predicted relative user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0145 discloses, “a first presentation sensor data corresponding to at least one first presentation sensor 828 associated with the first vehicle.”)
determining a second view pose contribution from the residual user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle.”) and
generating the view pose by combining the first view pose contribution and the second view pose contribution. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 13 lines 56 – 60)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 23, The method of claim 14, further comprising: extracting a first motion component from the predicted relative user motion signal by attenuating temporal frequencies; (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43) and
determining the view pose to include a contribution from the first motion component. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 24, The method of claim 14, further comprising:
detecting a user gesture motion component in the residual user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
extracting a first motion component from the residual user motion signal based on the user gesture motion component; (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6) and
determining the view pose to include a contribution from the user gesture motion component. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 25, The method of claim 14, further comprising determining the predicted relative user motion signal based on a correlation of the relative user motion signal and the vehicle motion signal. (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 26, The method of claim 14, further comprising:
determining the view pose based on a first pose component of a plurality of pose components using a first dependency; (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43)
determining the view pose based on a second pose component of the plurality of pose components using a second dependency, wherein the first dependency is different from the second dependency, wherein at least one of the predicted relative user motion signal and the residual user motion signal is indictive of the plurality of pose components. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 27, The method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving processing data, wherein the processing data is indicative of processing of at least one of the predicted relative user motion signal and the residual user motion signal; (Robinson paragraph 0201 discloses, “the server may receive data indicative of a vehicle's past position in space. At 2202, the server may predict the vehicle's position into the future. For example, the server may fit a curve through a vehicle's discreet positions in space extending back in time, for example, for a number of seconds. Based on received sensor outputs from the vehicle and the historical data, the server may apply a model to predict the position and orientation of the vehicle forward in time at discrete points, for example, several seconds into the future.”) and (Foxlin Col 20 lines 31 – 43) and
determining the view pose in accordance with processing instructions of the processing data. (Robinson paragraph 0053 discloses, “the processing device 210 may be configured for generating a corrected display data based on the at least one display data and the correction data. Further, the correction data may include an instruction to shift a perspective view of the at least one display data to compensate for the disturbance in the spatial relationship between the display device 206 and the user 204. Accordingly, the correction data may be generated contrary to the disturbance in the spatial relationship.”) and (Foxlin Col 22 lines 2 – 6)
Robinson discloses a system, method, apparatus, and devices for facilitating a virtual experience. Robinson does not disclose a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Foxlin teaches a residual signal generator or residual vehicle pose. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Foxlin et.al. into the invention of Robinson. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate display of a virtual environment during portable operations.
As per claim 28, The method of claim 14, further comprising generating the predicted relative user motion signal based in dependence on the residual user motion signal. (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle. Further, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one accelerometer sensor configured to monitor an uneven movement of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle.”)
As per claim 29, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the view pose depends on the use motion signal in a first manner, wherein the view pose depends on the predicted relative user motion signal in a second manner, wherein the first manner is different from the second manner. (Robinson paragraph 0155 discloses, “the head mount display 1200 may include a presentation sensor 1206 (such as the first presentation sensor 828) configured for sensing at least one first physical variable (such as the movement) associated with the head mount display 1200, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle. For instance, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one camera configured to monitor a movement, or compression of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle. Further, the presentation sensor 1206 may include at least one accelerometer sensor configured to monitor an uneven movement of the head mount display 1200 associated with the vehicle, such as due to a G-Force, a frictional force, and an uneven movement of the vehicle.”)
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664