DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 contains the verbiage, “transmitting a command to the primary fuel consumer to reducing a hydrogen fuel draw during refueling of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks”, which contains a grammatical error. The phrase "to reducing" should be corrected to "to reduce" . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6 and the disclosure, Applicant’s Specification, para 66 defines “secondary hydrogen fuel tank 106 and the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks 102 collectively provide hydrogen fuel to the primary fuel consumer 104 and the secondary fuel consumer 110”. Applicant additionally discloses a fluid flow diagram at Fig. 3, where hydrogen flows from a filling station to a bank of tanks 102/106 via check valve 108 (presented below, with hydrogen fluid flow annotated as best understood by Examiner):
Additionally, per para 66, check valve 108 opens “at a defined opening pressure” (presumably from either the filling station and/or one or more upstream tanks 102).
However, Applicant further states (para 66) “During normal operation, the CSV 108 is closed and the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks 102 are connected to the secondary hydrogen fuel tank 106.”
It is unclear how closing the check valve 108 would connect tanks 102 (which are upstream of the check valve) with tank 106 (which is downstream of the check valve). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the opposite; for valve 108 to open in order to establish a connection.
Similarly, Applicant states at para 78: “In some embodiments, the controller 112 disconnects the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks 102 by commanding the CSV 108 to open.” Again, this is the exact opposite configuration one of ordinary skill would expect; it is unclear how an open valve “disconnects” the items on either side of said valve.
As best understood by Examiner, it is unclear how to make or use the apparatus as described at paras 66 and 78. Applicant has claimed this configuration at Claim 6; therefore, the scope of Claim 6 is unclear.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 depends upon Claim 6, and therefore suffers the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manga et al. (US 2023/0216070, filed 14 April, 2021).
Regarding Claim 1, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system having a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system (see at least Abstract: "a method is provided by means of which a load (100) operated by the assembly (10) can continue to be operated while a fueling process is carried out by a fueling device 20 assigned to the fuel cells (FC 1, FC 2) of the fuel cell system (Sys A, Sys B)" having
- a plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks (see at least Fig 1 and para 33: Tank A and Tank B) and
- at least one primary hydrogen fuel tank of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks acting as a secondary hydrogen fuel tank during refueling to maintain availability of hydrogen to one or more fuel consumers during refueling of a plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks (per para 35, either of Tank A or Tank B can be either the "primary" or the "secondary" tank. See in particular reference to steps S2-S3, wherein Tank B is assigned as a "secondary tank while Tank A is refueled),
- the method performed by a controller (para 1, "control device by means of which the operation of fuel cells and tank devices is monitored and controlled") and comprising:
- determining whether the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks is set up for refueling (see para 35 and step S1: "the need for refueling of at least one of the tank devices 20 is identified on the basis of a sensor signal, or of a predetermined value of a parameter, by the control device 50 (not shown in any more detail)");
- responsive to determining that the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks is set up for refueling:
- before the refueling process begins: disconnecting a plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from a primary fuel consumer and a secondary fuel consumer while maintaining a connection of the secondary hydrogen fuel tank to at least one of the primary fuel consumer and the secondary fuel consumer (per para 35, and step S2: Sys A, comprising fuel cells FC 1 and FC2 is "isolated from the outputting of power", while per step S3, "the load 100 being operated using the fuel cell system Sys B as a remaining assembly 10 of fuel cell systems"); and
- after the plurality of primary hydrogen tanks have been refueled: connecting the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the secondary hydrogen fuel tank to at least one of the primary fuel consumer and the secondary fuel consumer (per para 35 and step S4: " the refueling operation of the respective tank device 20 is ended, following which, in a step S5, the previously isolated fuel cell system Sys A is connected to the fuel cell system assembly 10 again").
Regarding Claim 4, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system wherein maintaining the connection of the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to one of the primary fuel consumer and the secondary fuel consumer comprises maintaining the connection of the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to the secondary fuel consumer (this action described at para 35, steps S2-S3, as described above in the rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Manga et al. discloses A method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system having a plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to maintain availability of hydrogen to a primary fuel consumer during refueling of at least one of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks, the method performed by a controller and comprising: A method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system (see at least Abstract: "a method is provided by means of which a load (100) operated by the assembly (10) can continue to be operated while a fueling process is carried out by a fueling device 20 assigned to the fuel cells (FC 1, FC 2) of the fuel cell system (Sys A, Sys B)" having
a plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks (see at least Fig 1 and para 33: Tank A and Tank B) and at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to maintain availability of hydrogen to a primary fuel consumer during refueling of at least one of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks (per para 35, either of Tank A or Tank B can be either the "primary" or the "secondary" tank. See in particular reference to steps S2-S3, wherein Tank B is assigned as a "secondary tank while Tank A is refueled),
the method performed by a controller (para 1, "control device by means of which the operation of fuel cells and tank devices is monitored and controlled") and comprising:
- determining whether the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks is set up for refueling (see para 35 and step S1: "the need for refueling of at least one of the tank devices 20 is identified on the basis of a sensor signal, or of a predetermined value of a parameter, by the control device 50 (not shown in any more detail)");
responsive to determining that the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks is set up for refueling:
- before the refueling process begins: disconnecting the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer (per para 35, and step S2: Sys A, comprising fuel cells FC 1 and FC2 is "isolated from the outputting of power"); and
connecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to the primary fuel consumer, thereby maintaining availability of hydrogen to the primary fuel consumer during refueling of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks , (para 35, per step S3, "the load 100 being operated using the fuel cell system Sys B as a remaining assembly 10 of fuel cell systems"; and
- after the plurality of primary hydrogen tanks have been refueled: connecting the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks to the primary fuel consumer (per para 35 and step S4: " the refueling operation of the respective tank device 20 is ended, following which, in a step S5, the previously isolated fuel cell system Sys A is connected to the fuel cell system assembly 10 again").
Regarding Claim 10, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system further comprising disconnecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank from the primary fuel consumer after the plurality of primary hydrogen tanks have been refueled (please see paras 13-16, wherein "the tank device in question" (broadly interpreted by Examiner to mean either the primary or secondary hydrogen fuel tank, as claimed by Applicant) is "isolated from the outputting of power to the load, or which is assigned to the fuel cells of said fuel cell system" for the purposes of refueling said tank. This teaching is applicable to the tank of this claim).
Regarding Claim 11, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system wherein the primary fuel consumer comprises a fuel cell electric vehicle (the Manga reference teaches applicability to a fuel cell vehicle at least at paras 2, 6, and 36).
Regarding Claim 12, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system further comprising:
- connecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to a secondary fuel consumer during normal operation (see at least para 8, wherein the load is operated "using the remaining assembly of fuel cell systems" while the other tank is refueled, and para 9, which describes a steady state wherein both "tank devices" are "assigned to...fuel cell systems...during ongoing operation". Examiner broadly interprets this teaching as reading upon the claim.
- disconnecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank from the secondary fuel consumer before the refueling process begins (please see paras 13-16, wherein "the tank device in question" (broadly interpreted by Examiner to mean either the primary or secondary hydrogen fuel tank, as claimed by Applicant) is "isolated from the outputting of power to the load, or which is assigned to the fuel cells of said fuel cell system" for the purposes of refueling said tank. This teaching is applicable to the tank of this claim); and
- connecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to the secondary fuel consumer after the plurality of primary hydrogen tanks have been refueled (see paras 35-37, which describes the disconnection, refueling, and reconnection process for either (or both) tanks).
Regarding Claim 13, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system further comprising:
- connecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to a secondary fuel consumer during normal operation (see at least para 8, wherein the load is operated "using the remaining assembly of fuel cell systems" while the other tank is refueled, and para 9, which describes a steady state wherein both "tank devices" are "assigned to...fuel cell systems...during ongoing operation". Examiner broadly interprets this teaching as reading upon the claim.); and
- maintaining the connection to the secondary fuel consumer when the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank is connected to the primary fuel consumer (see at least paras 35-37, which describes the processing of maintaining load from a tank while the other tank undergoes the disconnection, refueling, and reconnection process; this overall process is applicable for either (or both) tanks).
Regarding Claim 16, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system further comprising:
- determining whether the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank has to be refueled (para 35, step 1: "the need for refueling of at least one of the tank devices 20 is identified on the basis of a sensor signal, or of a predetermined value of a parameter, by the control device 50 (not shown in any more detail)");
- responsive to determining that the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank has to be refueled:
- before the refueling process begins: disconnecting the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer (see at least paras 35-37, which describes the processing of maintaining load from a tank while the other tank undergoes the disconnection, refueling, and reconnection process; this overall process is applicable for either (or both) tanks); and
- disconnecting the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank from the primary fuel consumer if connected to the primary fuel consumer or from the secondary fuel consumer if connected to the secondary fuel consumer (please see paras 13-16, wherein "the tank device in question" (broadly interpreted by Examiner to mean either the primary or secondary hydrogen fuel tank, as claimed by Applicant) is "isolated from the outputting of power to the load, or which is assigned to the fuel cells of said fuel cell system" for the purposes of refueling said tank. This teaching is applicable to the tanks of this claim); and
- after the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank has been refueled: connecting the plurality of primary hydrogen tanks to the primary fuel consumer (paras 35-37, as explained above).
Regarding Claim 17, Manga et al. discloses a method in a continuous hydrogen delivery system further comprising connecting the secondary fuel consumer to at least the at least one secondary hydrogen tank if the secondary fuel consumer is present (see at least para 8, wherein the load is operated "using the remaining assembly of fuel cell systems" while the other tank is refueled, and para 9, which describes a steady state wherein both "tank devices" are "assigned to...fuel cell systems...during ongoing operation". Examiner broadly interprets this teaching as reading upon the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manga et al.
Regarding Claim 18, Manga et al. teaches the claimed invention, to include at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank (see the rejection of Claim 9 above), but does not discuss the sizing of said tank. The Manga reference is therefore silent on “sizing the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank based on fuel consumption and how long a shutdown of the primary fuel consumer needs to be avoided during refueling of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks”, as claimed by Applicant.
However, Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would know how, and be motivated to size a hydrogen tank appropriately in order to provide enough fuel for the task at hand; doing so would be a matter of routine optimization and design choice with a reasonable expectation of success from a limited pool of options. The Manga reference is therefore considered to teach this claim. Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manga et al., in view of Ardanese et al. (US 2021/0218043).
Regarding Claim 2, the Manga reference teaches the claimed invention, to include a plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks connected to a primary fuel consumer (see the rejection of Claim 1 above). However, the Manga reference does not explicitly disclose a valve, and is therefore technically silent on a method step of “disconnecting the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer comprises commanding a valve to close to prevent hydrogen fuel to flow through the valve”, as claimed by Applicant.
However, valves are well-known, and Ardanese et al. teaches disconnecting the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer comprises commanding a valve to close to prevent hydrogen fuel to flow through the valve.
Specifically, the Ardanese reference teaches a device (pressure-based latching switch 100) that "generally allows automatic fuel tank switching at a remote site based on one or more pressure set points". See paras 37-38 and 59. Item 100 further comprises "on-tank valve 92, the receptacles 90a-90b, a shuttle valve 108, multiple check valves 110a-110b, multiple filters 102a-102b and multiple valves 104a-104b, 106a-106b and 112a-112b" (Fig.3 and para 60), controlled by controller 84 (para 47) to provide fuel to fuel cell 82 from fuel tanks 70a and 70b (paras 53-55). The Ardanese reference further teaches the closing of multiple valves during the disconnection (or opening valves during the connection) of tanks 70a and 70b via first and second receptacles 90a-90b. See at least paras 67-68, and 70.
The Manga and Ardanese references each teach controlling hydrogen flow to a consuming device. The Ardanese reference provides specific guidance, and teaches the ability to selectively control flow from two sources via a pressure-based latching switch, allowing automated control of the flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the specific guidance of the Ardanese reference into the disclosure of Manga et al., by adding the pressure-based latching switch 100 and its valve components, in order to achieve automated flow control.
Claims 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manga et al., in view of Borck (US 2004/0118476).
Regarding Claim 5, Manga et al. discloses a continuous hydrogen delivery system comprising:
- a plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks configured to provide hydrogen fuel to a primary fuel consumer and a secondary fuel consumer (see para 35 and step S1: "the need for refueling of at least one of the tank devices 20 is identified on the basis of a sensor signal, or of a predetermined value of a parameter, by the control device 50 (not shown in any more detail)". See also the rejection of Claim 1 above).
- at least one primary hydrogen fuel tank of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks configured to act as a secondary hydrogen fuel tank during refueling to maintain availability of hydrogen to one or more fuel consumers during refueling of a plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks (see at least Abstract: "a method is provided by means of which a load (100) operated by the assembly (10) can continue to be operated while a fueling process is carried out by a fueling device 20 assigned to the fuel cells (FC 1, FC 2) of the fuel cell system (Sys A, Sys B)";
- a controller (para 1, "control device by means of which the operation of fuel cells and tank devices is monitored and controlled") configured to perform operations comprising:
- determining whether the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks is set up for refueling (see para 35 and step S1: "the need for refueling of at least one of the tank devices 20 is identified on the basis of a sensor signal, or of a predetermined value of a parameter, by the control device 50 (not shown in any more detail)");
- responsive to determining that the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks is set up for refueling:
- before the refueling process begins: disconnecting a plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer while maintaining a connection of the secondary hydrogen fuel tank to at least one of the primary fuel consumer and the secondary fuel consumer (per para 35, and step S2: Sys A, comprising fuel cells FC 1 and FC2 is "isolated from the outputting of power", while per step S3, "the load 100 being operated using the fuel cell system Sys B as a remaining assembly 10 of fuel cell systems"); and
- after the plurality of primary hydrogen tanks have been refueled: connecting the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the secondary hydrogen fuel tank to at least one of the primary fuel consumer and the secondary fuel consumer (per para 35 and step S4: " the refueling operation of the respective tank device 20 is ended, following which, in a step S5, the previously isolated fuel cell system Sys A is connected to the fuel cell system assembly 10 again").
Further regarding Claim 5, the Manga reference teaches the claimed invention, to include a plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks connected to a primary fuel consumer (see the rejection of Claim 1 above). However, the Manga reference does not explicitly disclose a valve, and is therefore technically silent on “a first valve connected between the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the secondary hydrogen fuel tank; a second valve connected between the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the primary fuel consumer; (and) a third valve connected between the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the secondary fuel consumer”, as claimed by Applicant.
However, valves are well-known, and Borck teaches:
- a first valve (Fig 9 and para 29, control valve 124), connected between the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks (tanks 102, 103) and the secondary hydrogen fuel tank (tank 101);
- a second valve (control valve 126) connected between the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the primary fuel consumer (110, disclosed to be the fuel tank of a vehicle per para 34); and
- a third valve (either of valves 128, 129), connected between the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks and the secondary fuel consumer (104, broadly interpreted by Examiner to be connected to another "consumer").
The Manga and Borck references each teach controlling hydrogen flow to a consuming device. The Borck reference provides specific guidance, and teaches the ability to selectively control flow from multiple sources via control valves, allowing automated control of the flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the specific guidance of the Borck reference into the disclosure of Manga et al., by adding the aforementioned valve components, in order to achieve automated flow control.
Regarding Claim 6, the above combination of the Manga and Borck references therefore teaches a continuous hydrogen delivery system wherein the controller is configured to disconnect the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer by commanding the first valve to open.
In the interests of compact prosecution and in light of the rejection of Claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) (see above), Examiner interprets this claim as what would normally be expected by one of ordinary skill in the art- that is, "the controller is configured to connect the plurality of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks from the primary fuel consumer by commanding the first valve to open". Borck teaches a "system controller (not shown)" in control of first valve 124. See at least paras 38 and 71.
Regarding Claim 8, the above combination of the Manga and Borck references (in light of Examiner’s interpretation of Claim 6), additionally teaches a continuous hydrogen delivery system wherein the controller is configured to maintain the connection of the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to one of the primary fuel consumer and the secondary fuel consumer by maintaining the connection of the at least one secondary hydrogen fuel tank to the secondary fuel consumer (in the above combination of the Manga and Borck references, the control mechanism of either Manga or Borck would control valve opening in the manner described in Manga et al., para 35, steps S2-S3, and as explained above in the rejections of Claims 1, 4, and 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manga et al., in view of Redmond (US 2004/0023087).
Regarding Claim 14, the Manga reference teaches the claimed invention, to include a “secondary fuel consumer) see at least paras 8-9 and the recipient “load” 100), but doesn’t explicitly recite said secondary fuel consumer/load as bring a hydrogen catalytic heater, as claimed by Applicant.
However, hydrogen catalytic heaters are well-known, and Redmond teaches a (secondary) fuel consumer compris(ing) a hydrogen catalytic heater. Redmond discloses that "hydrogen from an accessory bottle or from the cassette may directly power a catalytic heater" at para 73.
The Manga and Redmon references each teach fluid hydrogen distribution to power a device. Redmond additionally teaches that it is known to power catalytic heaters with hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to power a catalytic heater with the hydrogen-supplied apparatus of Manga et al. (if so desired) as taught by Redmond, if only for the obvious advantage of gaining heating capability for hydrogen-based power systems.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, Claims 3, 7, and 15 are each drawn towards transmitting a command to the primary fuel consumer to reducing a hydrogen fuel draw during refueling of the plurality of primary hydrogen fuel tanks. Although the Manga and other references above teach the ability to continuously provide power during refueling, all are silent on this limitation. Examiner concludes that it would amount to impermissible hindsight to modify either Manga et al. or the above secondary references to achieve this feature, there being no reason to do so.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M AFFUL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753